Anthropology News
May 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:32pm EDT

More Anthropology News
May 31, 2016

Genomic Study Tracks African-American Dispersal in the Great Migration

May 27, 2016 — An assessment of genomic diversity in the United States of America clarifies the role of pre-Civil War admixture and early 20th century transit routes in shaping the migration history and genomic ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Neanderthals in Europe showed signs of nutritional stress during periods of extreme cold, suggesting climate change may have contributed to their demise around 40,000 years ... read more

May 11, 2016 — In what is considered one of the oldest and most important archaeological digs in North America, scientists have uncovered what they believe are the bones of a 13,000- to 14,000-year-old ancient, ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Dromedaries have been used for transportation for over 3,000 years. But it was not known where they were first domesticated or which genetic structure was selected in the process. A team of ... read more

Sex Difference in Sports Interest: What Does Evolution Say?

May 5, 2016 — Sports are enormously popular, and one striking pattern is that boys and men are typically much more involved than are girls and women. This sex difference has policy implications, and it raises ... read more

May 5, 2016 — An accurate method to simulate prehistoric movements of people based upon current topographical satellite data may prove useful in determining early human population dynamics even when no genetic ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Researchers have unearthed a "mother lode" of a half-dozen fossil primate species in southern China.These primates eked out an existence just after the Eocene-Oligocene transition, when ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Analyses of ancient DNA from prehistoric humans paint a picture of dramatic population change in Europe from 45,000 to 7,000 years ago, according to a new study. The new genetic data reveal two big ... read more

May 2, 2016 — One of the skeletal markers that anthropologists use to decipher the past, linear enamel hypoplasia, might need to be looked at in a new light. Scientists show that LEH, a result of stress during an ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — New research suggests that the very oldest pieces of rock on Earth -- zircon crystals -- are likely to have formed in the craters left by violent asteroid impacts that peppered our nascent planet, ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Brain sleep appeared early in vertebrate evolution. Researchers describe the existence of REM and slow-wave sleep in the Australian dragon, with many common features with mammalian sleep: a phase ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Researchers have identified a key action of a watershed gene critical to bone formation and the evolution of vertebrates. The Sp7 or Osterix gene more than likely emerged from an ancestral gene ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — <p>The pre-Columbian settlements in Amazonia were not limited to the vicinities of rivers and lakes. One example of this can be found in the Santarém region in Brazilian Amazonia, where most ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Over hundreds of thousands of years, the Neandertal lineage developed successfully in western Eurasia and survived severe fluctuations between colder and warmer climactic cycles of the Ice Age. The ... read more

Novel Collagen Fingerprinting Identifies a Neanderthal Bone Among 2,000 Fragments

Apr. 22, 2016 — Scientists have used a new molecular fingerprinting technique to identify one Neanderthal bone from around 2,000 bone fragments. All the tiny pieces of bone were recovered from a key archaeological ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research based on high-resolution x-ray movies reveals that despite having extremely underdeveloped muscles and wings, young birds acquire a mature flight stroke early in their development, ... read more

Iron Age Man Was as Fond of Swiss Cheese as We Are

Apr. 21, 2016 — Archaeologists have uncovered evidence that Swiss cheesemaking dates back to prehistoric times, paving the way for such delicacies as Gruyere and ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research examining the DNA of North American mammoths challenges the way we categorize a species. Several species of mammoth are thought to have roamed across the North American continent. The ... read more

Ancient DNA Reveals Evolution of Giant Bears in the Americas

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers are shedding new light on the evolution of what are believed to be the largest bears that ever walked the ... read more

DNA Sat Nav Uncovers Ancient Ashkenaz, Predicts Where Yiddish Originated

Apr. 19, 2016 — The origin of Yiddish, the millennium old language of Ashkenazic Jews, is something which linguists have questioned for decades. Yiddish is thought to have been invented by Iranian and Ashkenazic ... read more

Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016