Anthropology News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:29pm EDT

More Anthropology News
July 24, 2016

July 11, 2016 — Searching for simple inherited dental characteristics that could lead to genes controlling tooth development, researchers have uncovered an easy-to-measure trait that tracks primate evolution over ... read more

July 11, 2016 — New archaeological evidence suggests that Brazilian capuchins have been using stone tools to crack open cashew nuts for at least 700 years. Researchers say, to date, they have found the earliest ... read more

July 8, 2016 — D-PLACE is an open-access database that brings together a dispersed body of information on the language, geography, culture and environment of more than 1,400 human societies. It comprises ... read more

July 7, 2016 — The fossilised remnants of tube-like 'dwellings' which housed a primitive type of prehistoric sea worm on the ocean floor have been identified in a new study. According to researchers, the ... read more

July 6, 2016 — Grisly evidence has been uncovered by researchers that Neanderthals butchered their own kind some 40,000 years ago, opening up many possibilities regarding the way late Neanderthals dealt with their ... read more

July 5, 2016 — To get at the heart of Malagasy genetic ancestry and reconstruct their history, a researcher team investigated genome-wide genotyping data of Malagasy populations along with populations across the ... read more

Reconstruction of 12,000 Year Old Funeral Feast Brings Ancient Burial Rituals to Life

July 5, 2016 — The woman was laid on a bed of specially selected materials, including gazelle horn cores, fragments of chalk, fresh clay, limestone blocks and sediment. Tortoise shells were placed under and around ... read more

June 30, 2016 — Evolution follows the path of least resistance, which can result in suboptimal physical traits that don't ideally match the functional need, according to a new ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Astronomers are exploring what might be described as the first astronomical observing tool, potentially used by prehistoric humans 6,000 years ago. They suggest that the long, narrow entrance ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Crucial new evidence has revealed modern humans (Homo sapiens) were likely using fire at Liang Bua 41,000 years ago, narrowing the time gap between the last hobbits (Homo floresiensis) and the first ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Our ancestors evolved three times faster in the 10 million years after the extinction of the dinosaurs than in the previous 80 million years, according to researchers. The team found the speed of ... read more

June 27, 2016 — A new study of the 37,000-year old remains of the 'Deep Skull' -- the oldest modern human discovered in island South-East Asia -- has revealed this ancient person was not related to ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Researchers are excavating human remains from caves in Palawan Island in the Philippines to learn more about the diversity of burial and other cultural practices over the past 10,000 ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Fish have evolved the ability to live on land many times, challenging the perception that this extreme lifestyle shift was likely to have been a rare occurrence in ancient times. New research shows ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Researchers have conducted the first ancient DNA investigation of the Himalayan arc, generating genomic data for eight individuals ranging in time from the earliest known human settlements to the ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Giant Ice Age species including elephant-sized sloths and powerful sabre-toothed cats that once roamed the windswept plains of Patagonia, southern South America, were finally felled by a perfect ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Researchers have analyzed ancient DNA of Neolithic domestic goats to reveal that the goats were introduced into the Southern Caucasus from the Fertile Crescent during the early sixth millennium BC, ... read more

June 9, 2016 — Researchers are resurrecting ancient bacterial protein complexes to determine how 3.5-billion-year-old cells functioned versus cells of today. Surprisingly, they are not that different. Despite a ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Analysis of a wealth of new data contradicts an earlier claim that LB1, an ~80,000 year old fossil skeleton from the Indonesian island of Flores, had Down syndrome, and further confirms its status as ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Analysis of oxygen isotopes in fossil teeth from red deer near the Adriatic Sea suggest that they migrated seasonally, which may have driven the movements of the Paleolithic hunter-gatherers that ate ... read more

Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016