NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Anthropology News
October 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:32pm EDT

More Anthropology News
October 1, 2016

Sep. 1, 2016 — Climate change was less important for technological innovation among Stone Age humans than previously ... read more

Destruction of Old St Paul's Cathedral Highlights Devastating Impact of Great Fire of London

Sep. 1, 2016 — "Thus lay in ashes that most venerable Church, one of the most antient pieces of early piety in the Christian world," wrote John Evelyn in September 1666. On the 350th anniversary of the ... read more

Aug. 30, 2016 — A new project has overturned the theory that the evolution of human intelligence was simply related to the size of the brain -- but rather linked more closely to the supply of blood to the ... read more

Aug. 30, 2016 — Plants -- even relatively small ones -- played a crucial role in establishing a beachhead for life on land, according to recent work by an international team of researchers. The group found that ... read more

Emoticons in Ancient Egypt

Aug. 30, 2016 — The advent of script has never managed to eliminate the use of symbols. This is the finding of research carried out on Ancient Egyptian identity ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — Micro-fossils trapped in dental calculus reveal that Late Mesolithic foragers were consuming domesticated plant foods c. 6600 BC, almost 400 years earlier than previously ... read more

Fish Were More Prominent in Early Alaskans' Diets, Isotope Study Determines

Aug. 29, 2016 — Ice age inhabitants of Interior Alaska relied more heavily on salmon and freshwater fish in their diets than previously thought, according to a new study. A team of researchers made the discovery ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — Lucy, the most famous fossil of a human ancestor, probably died after falling from a tree, according to a new study. Researchers have found that the injury Lucy sustained was consistent with a ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — There's no need to reinvent the genetic wheel. That's one lesson of a new study that looks to the saliva of humans, gorillas, orangutans, macaques and African green monkeys for insights ... read more

One of the Most Significant Etruscan Discoveries in Decades Names Female Goddess Uni

Aug. 24, 2016 — Archaeologists translating a very rare inscription on an ancient Etruscan temple stone have discovered the name Uni -- an important female goddess. The discovery indicates that Uni -- a divinity of ... read more

Aug. 24, 2016 — The Caribbean islands form a natural laboratory for the study of evolution due to their unique biological and geological features. There has been heated discussion since the early 20th century on how ... read more

High-Tech Imaging Reveals Precolonial Mexican Manuscript Hidden from View for 500 Years

Aug. 18, 2016 — Researchers have used high-tech imaging to uncover the details of a rare Mexican codex dating from before the colonization of the Americas. The newly revealed codex, or book, has been hidden from ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Humans living in the pre-Hispanic Mexican city of Teotihuacan may have bred rabbits and hares for food, fur and bone tools, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — Ancient hieroglyphic texts reveal Mayans made major discovery in math and astronomy, a researcher suggests. This study blends the study of Mayan hieroglyphics (epigraphy), archaeology and astronomy ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — A cache of exquisitely preserved bones, found in a coal mine in the state of Gujarat, India, appear to be the most primitive primate bones yet discovered, according to a new analysis. Their ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Schizophrenia poses an evolutionary enigma. The disorder has existed throughout recorded human history and persists despite its severe effects on thought and behavior, and its reduced rates of ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — Humans have evolved a disproportionately large brain as a result of sizing each other up in large cooperative social groups, researchers have ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — A team has discovered hundreds of fragments belonging to frescoes from the Roman period, in the Zippori National Park. The fragments, which contain figurative images, floral patterns and geometric ... read more

The Hunt for War Treasure in the Philippines Has Hidden Meanings

Aug. 10, 2016 — Many believe that enormous quantities of gold lie buried somewhere in the Philippines. According to a popular account, Japanese soldiers used the Philippines as a base to hide treasures they had ... read more

New Piltdown Hoax Analysis Points to Work of 'Lone Forger'

Aug. 10, 2016 — Latest analysis of the famous Piltdown Man forgeries points the finger of suspicion even more firmly at their discoverer, Charles ... read more

Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016