Anthropology News
May 4, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:01pm EDT

More Anthropology News
May 4, 2016

Apr. 19, 2016 — Latest analysis shows that human limbs share a genetic programme with the gills of cartilaginous fishes such as sharks and skates, providing evidence to support a century-old theory on the origin of ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Items, which were found at the wreck of a 17th-century ship in the Wadden Sea near Texel, include a very luxurious gown that has remained remarkably well ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — New research suggests that humans became the large-brained, large-bodied animals we are today because of natural selection to increase brain size. The work contradicts previous models that treat ... read more

Vladimir Is Thrilled by the Sungarian Man: Archaeologists Studied Tools Made by Homo Sapiens Who Had Lived Near Vladimir

Apr. 14, 2016 — Archaeologists have studied the objects made of bone, antler and ivory, that were found at the Sungir archaeological site. They managed to learn how the Homo sapiens processed solid organic materials ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Fire, a tool broadly used for cooking, constructing, hunting and even communicating, was arguably one of the earliest discoveries in human history. But when, how and why it came to be used is hotly ... read more

Handwriting Analysis Provides Clues for Dating of Old Testament Texts

Apr. 12, 2016 — Widespread literacy was required for the composition of key Old Testament texts, a new study suggests. It provides, for the first time, empirical evidence of literacy in the final days of the Kingdom ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A review of latest genetic evidence suggests infectious diseases are tens of thousands of years older than previously thought, and that they could jump between species of 'hominin.' ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — High-resolution, aerial imagery bears significance for researchers on the ground investigating how remote, ancient Maya civilizations used and conserved ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — Hundreds of iconic moai statues stand testament to the vibrant civilization that once inhabited Easter Island, but there are far fewer clues about why this civilization mysteriously vanished. Did ... read more

Primate Evolution in the Fast Lane

Apr. 7, 2016 — The pace of evolution is typically measured in millions of years, as random, individual mutations accumulate over generations, but researchers have uncovered a new mechanism for mutation in primates ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — The Neanderthal counterpart of the human Y chromosome, or male sex chromosome, appears to have died out. Why this happened is up for ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Paleontologists have found that muscle-scarred fossil leg bones of one of the closest cousins of dinosaurs that lived approximately 240 million years ago can shine new light on a large unknown: How ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — The heavily studied yet largely unexplained disappearance of ancestral Pueblo people from southwest Colorado is not all that unique, say scientists. They say the region saw three other cultural ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — The first large-scale study of ancient DNA from early American people has confirmed the devastating impact of European colonization on the Indigenous American populations of the ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — Analyses of cloth remains found near a gold/silver funerary mask in the Samdzong tomb complex in Nepal point to connections with north-east Asia and suggest the possibility that Samdzong was inserted ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — The Mayas influenced the Spanish colonists' religious architecture. The research compares Spanish colonial churches and Maya dwellings on the Yucatán Peninsula in Mexico and ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Researchers have discovered the fossil of a 305-million-year-old arachnid, which will help scientists to understand more about the early origins of modern-day ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — An ancient species of pint-sized humans discovered in the tropics of Indonesia may have met their demise earlier than once believed, according to scientists who reinvestigated the original finding. ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — A new study finds that the Ice-Age diet -- a high-protein intake of large animals -- triggered physical changes in Neanderthals, namely a larger ribcage and a wider ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — Archaeologists in Italy have discovered what may be a rare Etruscan sacred text likely to yield rich details about Etruscan worship and early beliefs of a lost culture fundamental to western ... read more

Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015