New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Anthropology News

March 1, 2024

Top Headlines
 

A detailed survey of the volcanic underwater deposits around the Kikai caldera in Japan clarified the deposition mechanisms as well as the event's magnitude. As a result, the research team found that the event 7,300 years ago was the largest ...
Neanderthals created stone tools held together by a multi-component adhesive, a team of scientists has discovered. Its findings, which are the earliest evidence of a complex adhesive in Europe, suggest these predecessors to modern humans had a ...
By analysing ancient DNA, an international team of researchers have uncovered cases of chromosomal disorders, including what could be the first case of Edwards syndrome ever identified from prehistoric ...
A new study explores the weight great fossil sites have on our understanding of evolutionary relationships between fossil groups and quantified the power these sites have on our understanding of evolutionary history. Surprisingly, the authors ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

A mortuary practice known as Log Coffin culture characterizes the Iron Age of highland Pang Mapha in northwestern Thailand. Between 2,300 and 1,000 years ago, individuals were buried in large wooden ...

Using advanced geospatial modeling to compare environmental and archaeological evidence, researchers found evidence that connects ancient mobility and subsistence strategies to cultural connections ...

Archaeologists have debated whether Neanderthals or modern humans made stone tools that are found at sites across northern Europe and date from about 40,000 years ago. A new excavation at one site in ...

A new study, which centers on evidence from skulls of a 6-million-year-old fossil ape, Lufengpithecus, offers important clues about the origins of bipedal locomotion courtesy of a novel method: ...

Analysis of the remains of 24 individuals from the Wilamaya Patjxa and Soro Mik'aya Patjxa burial sites in Peru shows that early human diets in the Andes Mountains were composed of 80 percent ...

DNA from ancient feces can offer archaeologists new clues about the life and health of Japanese people who lived thousands of years ago, according to a new ...

Of all the organisms that photosynthesize, land plants have the most complex form. How did this morphology emerge? A team of scientists has taken a deep dive into the evolutionary history of ...

An international team of researchers has uncovered a remarkable genetic phenomenon in lycophytes, which are similar to ferns and among the oldest land plants. Their study reveals that these plants ...

For almost 200 years, archaeologists have been puzzled by a mysterious brown stain on the ancient Greek Parthenon temple in Greece. Now, researchers have conducted new scientific analyses, and their ...

Researchers have linked the travels of a 14,000-year-old woolly mammoth with the oldest known human settlements in Alaska, providing clues about the relationship between the iconic species and some ...

Human activity, from burning fossil fuels and fireplaces to the contaminated dust produced by mining, alters Earth's atmosphere in countless ways. Records of these impacts over time are ...

A new study shows how state-of-the-art methods and perspectives from archaeology, history, and palaeoecology are shedding new light on 5,500 years of urban ...

Researchers have developed a new technique to measure the number of chromosomes in ancient genomes more precisely, using it to identify the first prehistoric person with mosaic Turner syndrome ...

The North Arabian Desert oases were inhabited by sedentary populations in the 4th and 3rd millennia BCE. A fortification enclosing the Khaybar Oasis -- one of the longest known going back to this ...

Scientists have investigated lamprey embryos using cutting-edge microscopic techniques to reveal interesting insights about vertebrate head evolution, clarifying an unresolved mystery in basic ...

The largest ever primate Gigantopithecus blacki went extinct when other Asian great apes were thriving, and its demise has long been a mystery. A massive regional study of 22 caves in southern China ...

Picrodontids -- an extinct family of placental mammals that lived several million years after the extinction of the dinosaurs -- are not primates as previously ...

Researchers have discovered an ancient Roman temple that adds significant insights into the social change from pagan gods to Christianity within the Roman ...

Primate social organization is more flexible than previously assumed. According to a new study, the first primates probably lived in pairs, while only around 15 percent of individuals were ...

Forests on the west slope of Oregon's Cascade Range experienced fire much more often between 1500 and 1895 than had been previously ...

Tuesday, February 6, 2024
Friday, February 2, 2024
Wednesday, January 31, 2024
Monday, January 29, 2024
Wednesday, January 24, 2024
Tuesday, January 23, 2024
Thursday, January 18, 2024
Wednesday, January 17, 2024
Thursday, January 11, 2024
Wednesday, January 10, 2024
Friday, January 5, 2024
Wednesday, January 3, 2024
Thursday, December 28, 2023
Thursday, December 21, 2023
Friday, December 15, 2023
Thursday, December 14, 2023
Wednesday, December 13, 2023
Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
Friday, December 1, 2023
Thursday, November 30, 2023
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Monday, November 27, 2023
Wednesday, November 22, 2023
Tuesday, November 21, 2023
Monday, November 20, 2023
Monday, November 13, 2023
Thursday, November 9, 2023
Wednesday, November 8, 2023
Monday, November 6, 2023
Thursday, November 2, 2023
Wednesday, October 25, 2023
Tuesday, October 24, 2023
Friday, October 20, 2023
Thursday, October 19, 2023
Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Monday, October 16, 2023
Wednesday, October 11, 2023
Tuesday, October 10, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Monday, October 2, 2023
Friday, September 29, 2023
Thursday, September 28, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Friday, September 22, 2023
Thursday, September 21, 2023
Wednesday, September 20, 2023
Tuesday, September 19, 2023
Monday, September 18, 2023
Thursday, September 7, 2023
Tuesday, September 5, 2023
Monday, September 4, 2023
Thursday, August 31, 2023
Tuesday, August 29, 2023
Monday, August 28, 2023
Wednesday, August 23, 2023
Tuesday, August 22, 2023
Friday, August 18, 2023
Wednesday, August 16, 2023
Monday, August 14, 2023
Thursday, August 10, 2023
Tuesday, August 8, 2023
Thursday, August 3, 2023
Thursday, July 27, 2023