Earthquakes News
July 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:27pm EDT

More Earthquakes News
July 30, 2016

Elderly Japanese Most Resilient in Wake of Triple Disaster, Study Finds

July 19, 2016 — Older people in Japan are more resistant to the impacts of disasters on their health than younger generations, a study ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Two massive blob-like structures lie deep within the Earth, roughly on opposite sides of the planet. The two structures, each the size of a continent and 100 times taller than Mount Everest, sit on ... read more

June 20, 2016 — By carefully analyzing the data recorded by the EarthScope Plate Boundary Observatory's GPS array researchers discovered nearly 125 mile-wide 'lobes' of uplift and subsidence -- a few ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Researchers are breaking ground on the complexity of earthquakes and the possibility to forecast ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Basalt from a common type of volcano shows a surprising contribution from the descending oceanic plate. Analyses show that magnesium atoms are somehow drawn out of the crust, deep below the ... read more

June 13, 2016 — Scientists have succeeded in theoretically determining the electrical conductivity of NaCl solution (salt water) in a high-temperature and high-pressure environment at ground depths ranging from 10 ... read more

June 13, 2016 — In the days following the April 2015 earthquake in Nepal, afterslip produced little surface evidence of continued movement. That meant only one of two things could be happening: either the part of ... read more

June 10, 2016 — Super-computer modelling of Earth's crust and upper-mantle suggests that ancient geologic events may have left deep 'scars' that can come to life to play a role in earthquakes, ... read more

A Warning System for Tsunamis

May 24, 2016 — Scientists have developed the Time Reverse Imaging Method to take real-time data from the ocean sensors and use that information to recreate what the tsunami looked like when it was born. Once ... read more

May 18, 2016 — New geologic mapping in the Himalayan mountains of Kashmir between Pakistan and India suggests that the region is ripe for a major earthquake that could endanger the lives of as many as a million ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Earthquakes triggered by human activity have been happening in Texas since at least 1925, and they have been widespread throughout the state ever since, according to a new historical review of the ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Scientists have found evidence of a huge asteroid that struck the Earth early in its life with an impact larger than anything humans have experienced. Tiny glass beads called spherules, found in ... read more

May 13, 2016 — A team of researchers have estimated the probability of a Magnitude 9+ earthquake in the Aleutian Islands -- an event with sufficient power to create a mega-tsunami especially threatening to ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Researchers have compiled the first global set of observations of flow within the Earth's mantle -- the layer between the crust and the core -- and found that it is moving much faster than has ... read more

Scientists Track Greenland's Ice Melt With Seismic Waves

May 6, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new technique to monitor the seasonal changes in Greenland's ice sheet, using seismic vibrations generated by crashing ocean waves. The results may help scientists ... read more

Seismic Response of Fiber-Reinforced Concrete Coupled Walls

May 6, 2016 — Use of Fiber-Reinforced Concrete in construction will allow for the use of less and simpler steel reinforcement while maintaining good structural behavior and potentially reducing the amount of ... read more

May 5, 2016 — New research indicates that slow-motion earthquakes or 'slow-slip events' can rupture the shallow portion of a fault that also moves in large, tsunami-generating earthquakes. The finding ... read more

May 3, 2016 — The southeastern United States should, by all means, be relatively quiet in terms of seismic activity. It's located in the interior of the North American Plate, far away from plate boundaries ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Normally, it takes weeks to repair the cracking or spalling of columns on just one bridge damaged in an earthquake. Now a team of researchers has developed a new process of fixing damaged bridge ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Rainwater may play an important role in the process that triggers earthquakes, according to new research. Researchers have identified the sources and fluxes of the geothermal fluids and mineral veins ... read more

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015