Earthquakes News
September 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:31pm EDT

More Earthquakes News
September 27, 2016

Sep. 27, 2016 — The Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) has been able to detect a gravity wave wafting through space from two colliding black holes billions of years ago. Now a group has built ... read more

The Math of Earthquakes

Aug. 18, 2016 — A computational science doctoral student has successfully tied a new mathematical modeling process to the study of ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — Where a tectonic plate dives under another, in the so-called subduction zones at ocean margins, many strong earthquakes occur. Especially the earthquakes at shallow depths often cause tsunamis. How ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Deep down below us is a tug of war moving at less than the speed of growing fingernails. Keeping your balance is not a concern, but how the movement happens has been debated among geologists. New ... read more

July 26, 2016 — A new earthquake-resilient pipeline has been designed to better protect southern California’s water utility network from natural disasters. The test mimicked a fault rupture that can occur during ... read more

July 26, 2016 — Tilted pillars, cracked steps, and sliding stone canopies in a number of 7th-century A.D. temples in northwest India are among the telltale signs that seismologists are using to reconstruct the ... read more

Magma Build-Up May Put Salvadoran Capital at Risk

July 25, 2016 — The build-up of magma six kilometres below El Salvador’s Ilopango caldera means the capital city of San Salvador may be at risk from future eruptions, researchers have ... read more

July 21, 2016 — The triggering of small, deep earthquakes along California's San Andreas Fault reveals depth-dependent frictional behavior that may provide insight into patterns signaling when a major quake ... read more

Elderly Japanese Most Resilient in Wake of Triple Disaster, Study Finds

July 19, 2016 — Older people in Japan are more resistant to the impacts of disasters on their health than younger generations, a study ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Preparation and good timing enabled researchers to collect a unique data set following the 2014 South Napa earthquake that showed different parts of the fault, sometimes only a few kilometers apart, ... read more

July 14, 2016 — The Bárdarbunga eruption on Iceland has broken many records. The event in 2014 was the strongest in Europe since more than 240 years. The hole it left behind, the so-called caldera, is the biggest ... read more

July 13, 2016 — To monitor a segment of the North Anatolian seismic fault near Istanbul, an international team of researchers has installed a network of transponders on the floor of the Sea of Marmara. The aim is to ... read more

July 11, 2016 — A huge earthquake may be building beneath Bangladesh, the most densely populated nation on earth. Scientists say they have new evidence of increasing strain there, where two tectonic plates underlie ... read more

Understanding Tsunamis With EM Fields

July 7, 2016 — New research shows that important focal parameters of tsunamigenic earthquakes -- particularly fault dip direction -- can be extracted from tsunami-borne electromagnetic fields. Such details may ... read more

New Study Upends a Theory of How Earth's Mantle Flows

July 6, 2016 — A new study carried out on the floor of Pacific Ocean provides the most detailed view yet of how the earth's mantle flows beneath the ocean's tectonic plates. The findings appear to upend a ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A volcano erupting on a small island in the Sub Antarctic is depositing ash over one of the world's largest penguin colonies. Zavodovski Island is a small island in the South Sandwich ... read more

Fukushima and the Oceans: What Do We Know, Five Years On?

June 30, 2016 — A major international review of the state of the oceans five years after the Fukushima disaster shows that radiation levels are decreasing rapidly except in the harbor area close to the nuclear plant ... read more

Plate Tectonics Without Jerking: Detailed Recordings of Earthquakes on Ultraslow Mid-Ocean Ridges

June 29, 2016 — The earthquake distribution on ultra-slow mid-ocean ridges differs fundamentally from other spreading zones. Water circulating at a depth of up to 15 kilometers leads to the formation of rock that ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Two massive blob-like structures lie deep within the Earth, roughly on opposite sides of the planet. The two structures, each the size of a continent and 100 times taller than Mount Everest, sit on ... read more

June 20, 2016 — By carefully analyzing the data recorded by the EarthScope Plate Boundary Observatory's GPS array researchers discovered nearly 125 mile-wide 'lobes' of uplift and subsidence -- a few ... read more

Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Sunday, December 6, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015