Extinction News
July 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:22am EDT

More Extinction News
July 31, 2016

July 21, 2016 — Manned submersible Curasub, sneaking around the twilight depths of the Caribbean island of Curacao in search of currently unknown species, has found yet another new one. The newly discovered ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Human disturbance negatively affects the pollination and seed dispersal of forest trees – an effect that can be observed in both tropical and temperate forests. This is the key result of a ... read more

July 19, 2016 — A male-killing microbe has now been identified in a tropical butterfly called the African Queen, which leads to the death of all sons when a mother is ... read more

July 19, 2016 — A new study of fossil fishes from Middle Triassic sediments on the shores of Lake Lugano provides new insights into the recovery of biodiversity following the great mass extinction event at the ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Look into any nutrient-rich pond almost anywhere in the world and you will find Daphnia pulex, a tiny crustacean (also called a water flea) that is a source of food for fish and fascination for ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Scientists have shed light on why life on Earth took millions of years to recover from the greatest mass extinction of all ... read more

July 19, 2016 — A new study of nearly 22,000 fossils finds that ancient plankton communities began changing in important ways as much as 400,000 years before massive die-offs ensued during the first of Earth's ... read more

July 17, 2016 — Researchers are shedding light on how often and where species hybridize through time, thanks to the rediscovery of 40-year-old tissue samples preserved at the LSU Museum of Natural Science. In a ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Ptarmigan, which live in cold ecosystems, are not strongly affected by fluctuations in seasonal weather at two populations studied in Colorado, report ... read more

July 15, 2016 — A new hypothesis on the extinction of dinosaurs and ammonites at the end of the Cretaceous Period has been proposed by a research ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Luzon, the largest island in the Philippines, is home to the world's greatest concentration of unique mammal species -- 93 percent of the land mammals there are found nowhere else. A new paper ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Levels of global biodiversity loss may negatively impact on ecosystem function and the sustainability of human ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Widely hailed as a renewable natural resource, tropical timber from old-growth tropical forests is selectively logged worldwide at an unprecedented scale. A new study reveals that once prime tropical ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Reptiles are exceedingly popular as pets, trade is booming. Between 2004 and 2014, official imports to the EU came to just under 21 million live specimens, more than six million of these ended up on ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A lone and unique population of about 30 reddish to dark violet-maroon orchids grows on the small patch of land between the borders of two Colombian departments. However, its extremely small habitat ... read more

Ancient Supernovae Buffeted Earth's Biology With Radiation Dose, Researcher Says

July 11, 2016 — Ancient supernovae likely exposed biology on our planet to a long-lasting gust of cosmic radiation, which also affected the atmosphere, new research suggests. This would have had a massive effect on ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Amphibians that tolerate higher temperatures are likely to fare better in a world affected by climate change, disease and habitat loss, according to two recent ... read more

Marine Heatwave Triggers Dramatic Ecosystem Transition

July 7, 2016 — Rapid warming off the western coast of Australia has transformed large stretches of kelp forests into tropical and subtropical marine ecosystems, a new study ... read more

Rhesus Macaques May Be Preying on Bird Eggs in Silver Springs

July 7, 2016 — A new study in Florida is suggesting that that more needs to be learned about animals' habits and impacts so that park staff can make science-based decisions on how to manage non-native ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Sunday, July 17, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Sunday, May 29, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016