NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Extinction News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:24pm EST

More Extinction News
February 20, 2017

Feb. 8, 2017 — A research team has found a way to translate their knowledge of blue whales off California and in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean to the other side of the world, revealing those areas of the ... read more

Rethink Needed to Save Critically Endangered Black Rhinoceros

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new strategy of conservation must be adopted if the black rhinoceros is to be saved from extinction, concludes a new ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — For marine protected areas established to help coral reefs recover from overfishing, size really does seem to make a difference, say ... read more

The Solution from the Skies to Save Endangered Species

Feb. 6, 2017 — The world’s first astrophysics-ecology drone project could be the answer to many global conservation efforts, say ... read more

Researchers Investigate Decline in South Africa's Forest-Birds

Feb. 3, 2017 — Forest-dwelling bird species are disappearing from some of South Africa's indigenous forests, with forest birds in the Eastern Cape being the most affected. A new study showed that the ranges of ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — World-first research on the Great Barrier Reef has shown how 'weed-like' algae will kill vital coral because of increased carbon dioxide concentrations in the ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Climate change is one of the most powerful stressors threatening marine biomes. It is hoped that identifying areas of resilience will provide managers valuable decision-making guidance. A survey of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Using remote sensing cameras and sound recorders, scientists have captured rare video footage of a newly discovered population of critically endangered monkeys in one of the most remote regions in ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Too Many Deer Are Bad for the Forest

Jan. 30, 2017 — Overabundant deer can spell trouble for people, including frequent car collisions and the spread of zoonotic diseases. But deer can also disrupt wildlife communities -- such as forest songbirds -- by ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — Bumblebees recently became the first species from the U.S. to be placed on the endangered species list, but an entomologist said bumblebee endangerment is nothing to be bugged ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — The cane toad, which overran Australia when introduced there, and Panama's iconic, endangered golden frog both belong to the family Bufonidae. Researchers combed through many research papers to ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — During the last Ice Age, Australia, Tasmania and New Guinea formed a single landmass, called Sahul. It was a strange and often hostile place populated by a bizarre cast of giant ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — New remote sensing maps of the forest canopy in Peru identify new regions for conservation effort. Scientists used airborne laser-guided imaging spectroscopy, to identify preservation targets by ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Current nature reserves are not very suitable for the critically endangered Critically Endangered Leadbeater's Possum, but expansion of nature reserves might come at the expense of other ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — A trove of exceptionally preserved Jurassic marine fossils discovered in Canada, rare for recording soft-bodied species that normally don't fossilize, is expanding scientists' view of the ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a 100-million-year-old insect preserved in amber with a triangular head, almost-alien and 'E.T.-like' appearance and features so unusual that it has been placed ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Rare and extinct animals are preserved in jars of alcohol in natural history museum collections around the world, which provide a wealth of information on the changing biodiversity of the planet. ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Paleontologists, picking through a bounty of fossils from Montana, have discovered something unexpected — a new species of lizard from the late dinosaur era, whose closest relatives roamed in ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Chimpanzees are an endangered species and scientists and conservationists are turning to the NASA-US Geological Survey Landsat satellites to help bolster their efforts to preserve their forest ... read more

Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, January 2, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016