Extinction News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:24pm EDT

More Extinction News
May 28, 2016

Habitat Quality Drives Birds' Reproductive Success

May 18, 2016 — Five songbird species in California's oak woodlands each seek out a different habitat to maximize their reproductive success, according to new ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Rubber plantations are a rapidly spreading agroecosystem in Southeast Asia and they are likely to have profound impacts on biodiversity due to the disruption of the natural landscape. Therefore, ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Fish provide protein to billions of people and are an especially critical food source in the developing world. Today marine biologists confirmed a key factor that could help them thrive through the ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Mexican authorities are being called on to immediately and indefinitely close all fisheries within the habitat of Mexico's critically endangered vaquita porpoise. Only around 60 vaquitas ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Scientists say that the high levels of poaching forest elephants will result in a loss of the oldest, wisest matriarchs, who are living libraries of their vast rainforest domain. Without these ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Red knot birds are becoming smaller as temperatures warm in their Arctic breeding grounds. But the migrating birds don't pay the price for this climate-caused shrinkage until they arrive at the ... read more

May 12, 2016 — A new study paints a gloomy picture of the future of tropical coral reefs. Researchers say Acropora, the most common genus of coral with the most different species, could lose the fight against the ... read more

Cooperation, Not Struggle for Survival, Drives Evolution, Say Researchers

May 12, 2016 — Using a new conceptual evolutionary model, investigators have reviewed the debated mechanism of speciation, suggesting that competition and a struggle for the existence are not the main drivers of ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Mountain gorillas from Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda eat up to 30 kilos of plants a day and their diet is highly varied in a habitat that is becoming increasingly fragmented as a result of ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Scientists have discovered rapidly rising seasonal sea temperatures are the likely trigger for coral reproduction allowing them to predict when mass spawning will ... read more

May 10, 2016 — Coral bleaching and death can have dramatic repercussions for how small reef fish learn about and avoid predators, say researchers after a world first ... read more

Global Scientific Community Must Secure Health of Planet, Report Urges

May 10, 2016 — The first annual State of the World's Plants report, which involved more than 80 scientists and took a year to produce, is a baseline assessment of current knowledge on the diversity of plants ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Mosasaurs -- an extinct group of aquatic reptiles that thrived during the Late Cretaceous period -- possibly were "endotherms," or warm-blooded creatures. Mosasurs were large aquatic ... read more

Deadly Fungus Threatens African Frogs

May 6, 2016 — Misty mountains, glistening forests and blue-green lakes make Cameroon, the wettest part of Africa, a tropical wonderland for amphibians. Africa has been mostly spared from the deadly and rampant ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Newly-discovered fossils of the Triassic marine reptile Atopodentatus unicus have revealed that the animal had a bizarre hammerhead-shaped jaw apparatus. It used its strange jaw to feed on plants, ... read more

May 6, 2016 — The Australian Government has listed the iconic Tasmanian swift parrot as critically endangered, lifting its status from endangered. The reclassification comes after researchers found the swift ... read more

May 6, 2016 — An international research team has studied the geographical pattern of the evolution of corals and reef fish. Their findings show that today's geographical distribution of tropical marine ... read more

May 5, 2016 — The primary threat to vultures is the presence of toxins in the carrion they consume. Losses of vultures can allow other scavengers to flourish, and proliferation of such scavengers could bring ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have found an evolutionary connection between dinosaurs and dung beetles. Scientists uncovered the first molecular evidence indicating that dung beetles evolved in association with ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Three species of shark, tiger, lemon and Caribbean reef, all use deeper coral reefs in the Virgin Islands, but only lemon shark presence was associated with seasonal grouper spawning aggregations, ... read more

Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016