Extinction News
April 30, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:39pm EDT

More Extinction News
April 30, 2017

Apr. 11, 2017 — The discovery of three extinct species and new insights to a fourth indicates a little-known family of marsupials, the Palaeothentidae, was diverse and existed over a wide range of South America as ... read more

Fish Social Lives May Be Key to Saving Coral Reefs

Apr. 10, 2017 — Fish provide a critical service for coral reefs by eating algae that can kill coral and dominate reefs if left unchecked. A new study, which analyzed the social feeding behavior of reef fish, ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — The skeleton of a small, short-snouted reptile found in China was recently identified as the oldest known member of the phytosaurs -- an extinct group of large, semi-aquatic reptiles that ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Scientists have discovered a new species of worm-snail on a shipwreck in the Florida Keys. The new species, which is colorful and shoots mucus webs to trap food, is likely an invasive species from ... read more

Apr. 4, 2017 — Skeletons and shells first came into being 550 million years ago as the chemical make-up of seawater changed, a study ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — The gradual decline of the dinosaurs and pterosaurs presumably came before the impact of the Chicxulub asteroid and the global mass extinction at the end of the Cretaceous Period, new research ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Some fungal viruses (mycoviruses) that infect fungi associated with forest trees are able to cross the barriers between distantly related fungal species, report researchers. This overturns the former ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Is it a boy or is it a girl? For baby sea turtles it's not that cut and dry. Because they don't have an X or Y chromosome, baby sea turtles' sex is defined during development by the ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Sixteen million years ago, the reptile Diplocynodon ratelii lived in wooded ecosystems among the lakes and pools of what we know today as Catalonia (Spain). Fossils found at the Els Casots site in ... read more

Cornering Endangered Species

Mar. 28, 2017 — Geographic areas occupied by certain species shrink as they decline in abundance, leaving them more vulnerable to extinction by harvest, concludes new ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Mammal teeth, jaw bones and muscles evolved to produce side-to-side motions of the jaw, or yaw, that allowed our earliest ancestors to grind food with their molars and eat a more diversified diet, ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — In the South China Sea, a 2°C rise in the sea surface temperature in June 2015 was amplified to produce a 6°C rise on Dongsha Atoll, a shallow coral reef ecosystem, killing approximately 40 percent ... read more

Strong Interaction Between Herbivores and Plants

Mar. 23, 2017 — Important findings have been revealed on the interaction between nutrient availability and the diversity of consumer species in freshwater environments. A better understanding of this interaction ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have studied the development of the amphibian and reptile fauna in Western Siberia during the past twelve million years. In their study, they demonstrate that the species diversity of both ... read more

Research Questions Effectiveness of Translocation Conservation Method

Mar. 22, 2017 — A DNA study of endangered greater prairie chickens in Illinois indicates that supplementing the dwindling population with birds from out of state did not improve genetic ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — It's not every day someone gets to say, 'I've discovered a new species.' It's a claim that biologist Chris Funk can happily make. Funk and collaborators, who've spent ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The snake fauna of Central and South America seems largely under-researched, since as many as thirty-three species of a single genus have been discovered in the last ten years only. Recently, a team ... read more

New Hope for the Saiga Antelope?

Mar. 22, 2017 — The Saiga Antelope, which is currently threatened with extinction, used to be much more flexible in its habitat and food choices in the past than previously assumed, scientists have discovered. Based ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Birds benefit from flocking together -- even when they're not of a feather. According to a new study, China's endangered crested ibises benefit from joining forces with other, more ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The discovery of a new species of hard coral, found on Lord Howe Island, suggests that the fauna of this isolated location in the Tasman Sea off south eastern Australia is even more distinct than ... read more

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017