NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Extinction News
February 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:55pm EST

More Extinction News
February 28, 2017

It May Not Have Been Too Late to Save 'Extinct' Pigeon

Feb. 27, 2017 — The Passenger Pigeon, a species of pigeon that died out in the early years of the 20th century, could have been saved even after it was considered doomed to extinction. As a result of this research, ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — If degraded and logged areas of tropical forests are left to nature, the populations of certain endangered tree species are not able to recover. This applies in particular to trees with large fruit ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Although it was known that the number of alien species increased during the last decades, it remained unclear whether or not the accumulation of alien species has already reached a point of ... read more

Some Marine Creatures May Be More Resilient to Harsher Ocean Conditions Than Expected

Feb. 15, 2017 — As the world continually emits carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, the oceans are taking a hit, absorbing some of it and growing more acidic. Among other effects, scientists have found that coral ... read more

Desert Songbirds May Face Expanding Threat of Lethal Dehydration

Feb. 13, 2017 — A new study of songbird dehydration and survival risk during heat waves in the desert Southwest suggests that some birds are at risk of lethal dehydration and mass die-offs when water is scarce, and ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — A giant pterosaur – a toothless flying reptile with a 10 metre wingspan – may have been the dominant predator in ancient Romania, suggests new research. The creature has a considerably shorter ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A research team has found a way to translate their knowledge of blue whales off California and in the eastern tropical Pacific Ocean to the other side of the world, revealing those areas of the ... read more

Rethink Needed to Save Critically Endangered Black Rhinoceros

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new strategy of conservation must be adopted if the black rhinoceros is to be saved from extinction, concludes a new ... read more

Carnivores More Seriously Threatened by Roads Than Previously Acknowledged

Feb. 8, 2017 — The effects of roads on carnivores have obviously been underestimated in worldwide species conservation. This is the conclusion of the first comprehensive global study on this topic. The protection ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — How old were the oldest dinosaurs? This question remains largely unanswered. The natural life span of these long-extinct giants is of interest to scientists, in combination with questions regarding ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — For marine protected areas established to help coral reefs recover from overfishing, size really does seem to make a difference, say ... read more

The Solution from the Skies to Save Endangered Species

Feb. 6, 2017 — The world’s first astrophysics-ecology drone project could be the answer to many global conservation efforts, say ... read more

Researchers Investigate Decline in South Africa's Forest-Birds

Feb. 3, 2017 — Forest-dwelling bird species are disappearing from some of South Africa's indigenous forests, with forest birds in the Eastern Cape being the most affected. A new study showed that the ranges of ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — World-first research on the Great Barrier Reef has shown how 'weed-like' algae will kill vital coral because of increased carbon dioxide concentrations in the ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Climate change is one of the most powerful stressors threatening marine biomes. It is hoped that identifying areas of resilience will provide managers valuable decision-making guidance. A survey of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Using remote sensing cameras and sound recorders, scientists have captured rare video footage of a newly discovered population of critically endangered monkeys in one of the most remote regions in ... read more

Scat Sniffer Dogs Tell Researchers a Lot About Endangered Lizards

Jan. 31, 2017 — Dogs can be trained to find almost anything, but one researcher had them detect something a little unusual -- the scat of endangered blunt-nosed leopard lizards. The dogs helped find out how ... read more

Too Many Deer Are Bad for the Forest

Jan. 30, 2017 — Overabundant deer can spell trouble for people, including frequent car collisions and the spread of zoonotic diseases. But deer can also disrupt wildlife communities -- such as forest songbirds -- by ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — Bumblebees recently became the first species from the U.S. to be placed on the endangered species list, but an entomologist said bumblebee endangerment is nothing to be bugged ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — The cane toad, which overran Australia when introduced there, and Panama's iconic, endangered golden frog both belong to the family Bufonidae. Researchers combed through many research papers to ... read more

Monday, February 27, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, January 2, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016