Nanotechnology News
May 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:48am EDT

More Nanotechnology News
May 30, 2016

May 20, 2016 — A new combination approach of nanoparticles and liposomes successfully delivered a potent TRAIL sensitizer followed by the anti-cancer protein ... read more

May 19, 2016 — A group of scientists has succeeded in synthesizing nanoparticles of ultrapure silicon, which exhibited the property of efficient photoluminescence, (secondary light emission after photoexcitation), ... read more

Novel Gene Therapy Shows Potential for Lung Repair in Asthma

May 18, 2016 — A new study has demonstrated a way to deliver a nanoparticle-based gene therapy, in order to repair lungs damaged by chronic allergic asthma and to reduce inflammation that causes asthma attacks. The ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Members of a research group have designed a nanomaterial that changes color when it interacts with ions and other small molecules during a chemical ... read more

May 17, 2016 — DNA-based straight and branched polymers or nanomaterials that can be created and dissolved using biocompatible methods are now possible thanks to the work of biomedical ... read more

Unveiling the Electron's Motion in a Carbon Nanocoil

May 16, 2016 — Scientists have discovered how the electrical resistivity of carbon nanocoils (CNCs) depends on their geometry. The finding, which required development of a new resistivity measuring apparatus, paves ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Physicists have succeeded in measuring the very weak van der Waals forces between individual atoms for the first time. To do this, they fixed individual noble gas atoms within a molecular network and ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Researchers found how substantial linear defects in a new semiconductor create entirely new properties. Some of these properties indicate the defects might even mediate superconducting ... read more

May 12, 2016 — Stanford and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory jointly run the world's leading program for isolating and studying diamondoids — the tiniest possible specks of diamond. Found naturally in ... read more

How Nanoparticles Flow Through the Environment

May 12, 2016 — Carbon nanotubes remain attached to materials for years while titanium dioxide and nanozinc are rapidly washed out of cosmetics and accumulate in the ground. Researchers have developed a new model to ... read more

How Silver Could Be Key to Gold-Standard Flexible Gadgets

May 11, 2016 — New research has described how silver nanowires are proving to be the ideal material for flexible, touch-screen technologies while also exploring how the material can be manipulated to tune its ... read more

Making Organs Transparent to Improve Nanomedicine

May 11, 2016 — Treating a disease without causing side effects is one of the big promises of nanoparticle technology. But fulfilling it remains a challenge. One of the obstacles is that researchers have a hard time ... read more

Platinum, Puddles, and Water's True Nature

May 10, 2016 — Scientists made a "stop action movie" of tiny ice crystals melting and eventually wetting a platinum surface using a nanoscale technique they devised; the physics of wetting is crucial to ... read more

Graphene Flakes to Calm Synapses

May 10, 2016 — Graphene technology opens up new horizons for treatment of disease, report scientists. Traditional treatments for neurological diseases generally include drugs that act on the brain or neurosurgery. ... read more

May 10, 2016 — A nanoparticle commonly used in food, cosmetics, sunscreen and other products can have subtle effects on the activity of genes expressing enzymes that address oxidative stress inside two types of ... read more

First Single-Enzyme Method to Produce Quantum Dots Revealed

May 9, 2016 — Engineers have successfully demonstrated the first precisely controlled, biological way to manufacture quantum dots using a single-enzyme, paving the way for a significantly quicker, cheaper and ... read more

May 9, 2016 — Researchers have unveiled a new nanoparticle amplifier that can generate infrared light and boost the output of one light by capturing and converting energy from a second ... read more

May 9, 2016 — An electron microscopy technique for visualizing how lithium ions migrate at the nanoscale could help improve the performance of lithium-ion ... read more

Small and Powerful: Pushing the Boundaries of Nano-Magnets

May 6, 2016 — Researchers built extremely small, thermally stable magnetic particles with magnetic properties comparable to some rare earth magnets, the strongest permanent magnets ever created. These tiny magnets ... read more

Catalytic Nanocages: Hollow and Filled With Potential

May 6, 2016 — Catalytic nanocages, which are tiny, open structures with reactive surfaces that could boost key chemical processes, are notoriously difficult to synthesize. Scientists recently succeeded in a new ... read more

Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016