Nanotechnology News
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:45am EDT

More Nanotechnology News
July 26, 2016

A 'Smart Dress' for Oil-Degrading Bacteria

July 22, 2016 — The modified polyelectrolyte-magnetite nanocoating was applied to functionalize the cell walls of oil decomposing bacteria Alcanivorax ... read more

July 20, 2016 — Scientists have come up with a new chemical reaction for the synthesis of low-dimensional polymers that can be rationalized as phthalocyanine ... read more

Key Improvement for Fuel Cells: Work Improves Understanding of Process That Stops Reactions

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have determined a key step in improving solid oxide fuel cells, a promising clean energy technology that has struggled to gain wide acceptance in the marketplace. The researchers ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Taking a page from Jonathan Swift's 'Gulliver's Travels,' a team of scientists has created malleable and microscopic self-assembling particles that can serve as the next ... read more

July 15, 2016 — A study that a new material made of carbon nanotubes supports the growth of nerve fibers, bridging segregated neural explants and providing a functional re-connection. The study also observed ... read more

Easier, Faster, Cheaper: A Full-Filling Approach to Making Nanotubes of Consistent Quality

July 15, 2016 — Just as many of us might be resigned to clogged salt shakers or rush-hour traffic, those working to exploit the special properties of carbon nanotubes have typically shrugged their shoulders when ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Combined experimental and theoretical work opens a unique capability for studying mechanical activation and processing at the single-molecule level, elementary reactions that are involved in many ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Scientists have made an object disappear by using a material with nano-size particles that can enhance specific properties on the object's ... read more

July 14, 2016 — "Rivet graphene" has enhanced electronic properties and the ability to be transferred from one surface to another without contaminating polymers, according to ... read more

July 14, 2016 — A new strain of bacteria that spins out extremely thin and highly conductive wires made up of solely of non-toxic, natural amino acids has been developed by scientists. They say the wires, which ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Pour some water into your glass of ouzo or pastis, and the beverage will change from transparent to milky: this is the well-known 'Ouzo effect'. But what will happen if you simply place a ... read more

July 14, 2016 — A series of luminescent compounds has been developed that change emission colors upon mechanical stimuli. Although such compounds have attracted much attention with hopes of various applications, it ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Significant new potentials for light harvesting through narrowing the bandgap of titania and graphene quantum dots have been uncovered by ... read more

July 13, 2016 — An engineer has invented a method for analyzing nanowires at temperatures approaching 800 degrees Fahrenheit in first-ever experiments, showing the valuable role the materials could play in ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Proponents of clean energy will soon have a new source to add: osmotic power. Or more specifically, energy generated by a natural phenomenon occurring when fresh water comes into contact with ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Plastic packaging might seem impenetrable -- and sometimes nearly impossible to remove -- but water molecules can still pass through. And this permeability to moisture can limit the lifespan of a ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A lightweight telescope that a team of NASA scientists and engineers is developing specifically for CubeSat scientific investigations could become the first to carry a mirror made of carbon nanotubes ... read more

July 12, 2016 — One scientist would like to put sand into your computer. Not beach sand, but silicon dioxide nanoparticles coated with a high dielectric constant polymer to inexpensively provide improved cooling for ... read more

July 12, 2016 — Researchers provide an overview of existing paths to 3-D materials, but the ultimate goal is to create and customize material at the atomic scale. Material would be assembled atom by atom, much like ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A technique that allows humanmade DNA shapes to be placed wherever desired -- to within a margin of error of just 20 nanometers -- now removes a major hurdle for the large-scale integration of ... read more

Friday, July 22, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016