NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Nanotechnology News
October 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:47am EDT

More Nanotechnology News
October 28, 2016

Oct. 24, 2016 — Layers of graphene separated by nanotube pillars of boron nitride may be a suitable material to store hydrogen fuel in cars, according to ... read more

Oct. 24, 2016 — A new family of self-assembled nanomaterials capable of storing large amounts of tensile strain, without damage to the crystalline structure, is currently being developed by ... read more

Polymer Scaffolds Build a Better Pill to Swallow

Oct. 21, 2016 — Nanoparticle drugs can make it easier for medications to reach their targets, say researchers. The researchers have developed a polymeric 'scaffold' that helps drugs that often have trouble ... read more

Oct. 21, 2016 — A fast nanoscale optical transistor has been created using gold nanoantenna assisted phase transition. The work opens up new directions in antenna-assisted switches and optical ... read more

New Nanomedicine Approach Aims to Improve HIV Drug Therapies

Oct. 21, 2016 — New research aims to improve the administration and availability of drug therapies to HIV patients through the use of ... read more

Oct. 20, 2016 — Electronics that can be embedded in clothing are a growing trend. However, power sources remain a problem. Scientists have now introduced thin, flexible, lithium ion batteries with self-healing ... read more

Oct. 20, 2016 — The amount of light passing through an opaque layer, can be enhanced using smart techniques. At the same time, the amount of reflected light diminishes, researchers show. It’s as if light speckles ... read more

Tiny Gold Particles Could Be Key to Developing a Treatment for Pancreatic Cancer

Oct. 19, 2016 — A diagnosis of pancreatic cancer is often a death sentence because chemotherapy and radiation have little impact on the disease. In the U.S. this year, some 53,000 new cases will be diagnosed, and ... read more

Oct. 18, 2016 — A chemist has won a grant to access a supercomputer network funded by the U.S. National Science Foundation. The research group will use its time to better define the atom-to-atom interactions of ... read more

Oct. 18, 2016 — Graphene coating protects glass from corrosion, a new study as demonstrated. This research can contribute to solving problems related to glass corrosion in several industries, say the study's ... read more

Scientists Develop a Semiconductor Nanocomposite Material That Moves in Response to Light

Oct. 17, 2016 — A revolutionary, light-activated semiconductor nanocomposite material has been created that can be used in a variety of applications, including microscopic actuators and grippers for surgical robots, ... read more

Team Finds Order in a Process Previously Assumed to Be Random

Oct. 17, 2016 — Scientific discoveries often arise from noticing the unexpected. Such was the case when researchers, studying a tiny device that has become increasingly important in disease diagnostics and drug ... read more

Oct. 17, 2016 — A new type of atomic force microscope (AFM) uses nanowires as tiny sensors. Unlike standard AFM, the device with a nanowire sensor enables measurements of both the size and direction of ... read more

Oct. 14, 2016 — A team of researchers has demonstrated infrared imaging of an organic semiconductor known for its electronics capabilities, revealing key nanoscale details about the nature of its crystal features ... read more

Oct. 14, 2016 — Less than a micrometer thin, bendable and giving all the colors that a regular LED display does, it still needs ten times less energy than a Kindle tablet. Sharing such a description, researchers ... read more

Researchers Create 3-D Full-Color Holographic Images With Nanomaterials

Oct. 13, 2016 — Researchers are creating a new approach to reconstruct 3-D full-color holographic images by using just one layer of nanoscale metallic film. This work has a huge potential to change our daily lives ... read more

Oct. 13, 2016 — Nature has inspired generations of people, offering a plethora of different materials for innovations. One such material is the molecule of the heritage, or DNA, thanks to its unique self-assembling ... read more

Oct. 12, 2016 — In a new twist to waste-to-fuel technology, scientists have developed an electrochemical process that uses tiny spikes of carbon and copper to turn carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, into ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — In a breakthrough for future optical-electronic hybrid computers, scientists have developed an ultrafast technique that can track light and electrons as they travel through a nanostructured ... read more

Oct. 11, 2016 — Researchers have for the first time, developed a smart textile from carbon nanotube and spandex fibers that can both sense and move in response to a stimulus like a muscle or ... read more

Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016