NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Nanotechnology News
February 19, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:18pm EST

More Nanotechnology News
February 19, 2017

Feb. 17, 2017 — Engineers have developed a material that could reduce signal losses in photonic devices. The advance has the potential to boost the efficiency of various light-based technologies including fiber ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — Scientists have developed a method to obtain structural details on molecules in lipid membranes near gold nanoparticles. Their method, called SABERS, could help researchers who study drug delivery ... read more

Turning Up the Heat for Perfect (Nano)diamonds

Feb. 14, 2017 — For use in quantum sensing, the bulk nanodiamond crystal surrounding the point defect must be highly perfect. Any deviation from perfection will adversely affect the quantum behavior of the material. ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Cancer cells have been observed being targeted and killed from the inside with metal-based compound, report researchers. The compound, Organo-Osmium FY26, attacks the weakest part of cancer cells. ... read more

Feb. 11, 2017 — It’s all about the layers, say scientists. Encapsulating a drug in corn protein nanoparticles and then covering with them milk protein can make children’s medications better tasting and ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Researchers have developed a new approach to dynamically tune the micro- and nano-scale roughness of atomically thin MoS2, and consequently the appropriate degree of hydrophobicity for various ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — Scientists have discovered the unique properties of two-dimensional (2D) materials and metals grown on graphene, graphite, and other carbon coated ... read more

Assembly of Micro-/meso-/macroporous Carbon Optimized for Li-S Batteries

Feb. 9, 2017 — High volume ratio of carbon micropores combined with the assembly of meso-/macropores remarkably improve the capabilities of Li-S batteries, which relieve shuttle effect by strong physical absorption ... read more

Direct Radiolabeling of Nanomaterials

Feb. 9, 2017 — Positron emission tomography plays a pivotal role for monitoring the distribution and accumulation of radiolabeled nanomaterials in living subjects. The radioactive metals are usually connected to ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Chemical engineers build simulations based on samples from unconventional, organic shale formations that can help predict how much oil and gas a well might produce and how best to extract ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — The first flat lens that works within a continual bandwidth of colors, from blue to green, has now been developed by researchers. This bandwidth, close to that of an LED, paves the way for new ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — A new study has solved the contact resistance problem of metal-semiconductor, which had remained unsolved for almost 50 ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — Inspired by the hair of blue tarantulas, researchers have made a 3-D printed structural-colored material that has a viewing angle of 160 degrees, the largest of any synthetic structural colors ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — New research provides scientists looking at single molecules or into deep space a more accurate way to analyze imaging data captured by microscopes, telescopes and other ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — A research team has developed the Nano MRI Lamp, a new technology platform that tunes the magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) signals “ON” only in the presence of the targeted disease. This study ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Unavoidably, each digital information we send around the globe is prone to be lost. Travelling long ways in wires, the initial signal decays and scatters by colliding with impurities and neighboring ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Researchers have devised a rapid screening method to select the most promising nanoparticles, thereby fast-tracking the development of future treatments. In less than a week, they are able to ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — An important breakthrough has been reached in the development of energy-efficient electronic circuits using transistors based on ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Researchers working with magnetic nanoparticles approached computational scientists to help solve a unique problem: to model magnetism at the atomic level using experimental data from a real ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — The electronic data connections within microchips are increasingly becoming a bottleneck in the exponential growth of data traffic. Optical connections are the obvious successors but optical data ... read more

Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016