Sports News
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:00pm EST

More Sports News
February 13, 2016

Athlete Passion Linked to Acceptance of Performance Enhancing Drugs

Feb. 4, 2016 — The more of a certain kind of passion varsity athletes have for their sport, the more favourable their attitudes towards the use of performance enhancing drugs, or PEDs, according to a recent study. ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Researchers evaluate a decade's worth of post-fight medical examinations to shed new light on injury risks of combative sports. The research offers a first-of-its-kind glimpse into the dangers ... read more

Cheerleading Could Help Challenge Gender Stereotypes, Study Says

Nov. 3, 2015 — Cheerleading has the potential to challenge traditional ideas about gender and to be an inclusive activity for both boys and girls, say authors of a new report. The study examined the educational and ... read more

Race Starts Could Give Some Athletes an Unfair Advantage

Oct. 28, 2015 — The alerting effect means competitors who have longer start processes finish slower, affecting standings aggregated across more than one heat. Effect is enough to deny a ... read more

Why 'Respect' for Sporting Greats Provides Fast-Track Up Coaching Ladder

Sep. 30, 2015 — A study of senior decision-makers in some of England and Wales' top professional football and rugby union clubs suggests that former top-class players are being fast-tracked up the coaching ... read more

NFL Fans, ESPN Reporters Overly Optimistic About Team Prospects

Sep. 9, 2015 — US fans of the National Football League and sports reporters assigned to specific teams have unrealistic expectations about how well their team will perform, finds new research. The study also ... read more

Disabilities: Playing Adaptive Sports Linked to Higher Employment, Economic Impact

Aug. 25, 2015 — A new study finds playing an adaptive sport can have dramatic results on the athlete and the ... read more

Don't Talk About Golf: How Caddies Help Elite Golfers Stay in the Zone

July 15, 2015 — The support offered by caddies can help elite golfers stay ‘in the zone’ even under the pressure of major championships, new research has revealed. The study was conducted with 10 European Tour ... read more

Women's Sport Participation and Gender Equality: African Women in the Beautiful Game

June 24, 2015 — Despite a notably high percentage of women in political positions, South Africa has high rates of rape and domestic violence, suggesting poor gender equality, widespread discrimination and male ... read more

Black Athletes Stereotyped Negatively in Media Compared to White Athletes

June 2, 2015 — New research has revealed racial stereotyping in the way media portray athletes. Researchers found that media stories on African-American athletes focus primarily on criminal actions while stories ... read more

Expensive TV Ads Missing Their Mark When People Use Smartphone or Tablet Too

May 26, 2015 — If you’re watching television while using a second screen – like a smartphone or tablet – new research suggests that some of the most expensive marketing messages aimed at you are missing their ... read more

Head Injuries Could Result in Neurodegenerative Disease in Rugby Union Players

May 21, 2015 — Until now, the association between head injuries and neurodegenerative disease, specifically chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE), has predominantly been made with boxers. Now, the first case has ... read more

First Study of Effects of Ultraman Competitions

May 13, 2015 — For the first time, researchers are looking at the incredibly grueling competition called the Ultraman, and what it does to your body. The Ultraman is a three-day competition designed to test an ... read more

Losing Streak: Competitive High-School Sports Linked to Gambling

May 11, 2015 — High-schoolers involved in competitive sports are at an elevated risk of addictive gambling, a new study concludes. According to the research, the participation of male high-school students in ... read more

World First Survey Uncovers Widespread Homophobia at UK Sports Events

May 10, 2015 — Spectator stands are the most likely sporting environment for homophobia to occur, a study concludes: 85 percent fear for the safety of gay people. Three out of four people have witnessed or ... read more

Better Social Media Techniques Increase Fan Interest, Engagement

Apr. 22, 2015 — Researchers found that the more MLB teams released original content from their Twitter accounts, such as score updates or player profiles, the more followers they gained and engagement they ... read more

Concerns Over UK Government Plan to Increase Participation in School Rugby

Apr. 21, 2015 — The UK government plan to fund and to increase participation in rugby in schools has not been informed by injury data, warn ... read more

College Football Rivalries Influenced by Competition for Resources

Apr. 16, 2015 — A new study of intercollegiate football rivalries suggests that competition for scarce resources influences fan opinions. The researchers found that geographic proximity and a shared history of ... read more

Injury Prevention Programs Not Widely Used in High School

Apr. 15, 2015 — Injury prevention programs can help reduce ankle, knee and other lower extremity injuries in sports, but the programs are not being widely used in high schools, a new study has found. Researchers ... read more

Muscles Matter in Baseball

Apr. 8, 2015 — A new approach to analyzing baseball-pitching biomechanics may one day give players more personalized feedback and help prevent elbow injuries. In a computer simulation study of baseball pitching, ... read more

Thursday, February 4, 2016
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Friday, June 27, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014
Friday, June 20, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Wednesday, June 11, 2014
Friday, June 6, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Friday, May 30, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 28, 2014