Sports News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:04am EDT

More Sports News
May 28, 2016

Practice Less and Play Like a Pro, Say Researchers

May 26, 2016 — Visually guided videos could revolutionize coaching, say researchers. Watching videos that point to crucial details such as how golfers line up the ball, position their feet and twist their hips, ... read more

Youth Sports Hazing Victims Often in Denial, Research Shows

May 10, 2016 — The true incidence of hazing in youth sports is unknown because victims don't report the mistreatment or fail to recognize it as hazing, according to a review of scientific literature on the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Psychologists found out how a level of soccer' play can be improved, when not only physical training, but also individual perspective and behavioral peculiarities of the players are ... read more

Research Proposes New Test on Prosthetic Legs in Competitive Sports

Mar. 24, 2016 — New guidelines proposed for prosthetic leg technology in international sporting events to prevent competitive ... read more

Mar. 23, 2016 — High speed and athlete inexperience are top contributing factors to injuries and accidents on the Whistler sliding track, according to a new study conducted following the death of an athlete during a ... read more

Adapting Soccer Training to Age

Mar. 10, 2016 — Research advises against using certain training techniques in junior soccer, and instead, suggests a training method using so-called small-sided games (or long ones, depending on the dimensions and ... read more

Optimization in Sport Optimal Fixture Scheduling

Mar. 10, 2016 — Every day, thousands of sports organisations, associations, clubs and competition organisers have to schedule fixtures for leagues and tournaments all over the world. Who is playing who, and when? A ... read more

NCAA Athletes Need More Coaching on Academics, Career Options

Feb. 24, 2016 — NCAA athletes need more coaching on the long odds of playing professionally and the importance of academics to their future success, according to a new ... read more

Soccer as a Key Factor in Shaping a Unified European Identity

Feb. 24, 2016 — A new report aims to develop a better understanding of soccer as a social and cultural phenomenon in contemporary ... read more

Athlete Passion Linked to Acceptance of Performance Enhancing Drugs

Feb. 4, 2016 — The more of a certain kind of passion varsity athletes have for their sport, the more favourable their attitudes towards the use of performance enhancing drugs, or PEDs, according to a recent study. ... read more

'Sport Shoppers' Bargain Hunt Simply for the Thrill of It, New Research Finds

Nov. 24, 2015 — A new type of shopper -- the 'sport shopper' -- has been identified by researchers, for whom shopping is akin to athletic competition. They describe the sport shopper as someone who can ... read more

'No Place' for Genetic Testing to Spot Young Sporting Talent or Boost Performance

Nov. 16, 2015 — No child or young athlete should be subjected to genetic testing to spot sporting talent or boost performance, concludes an international panel of experts in a consensus ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Researchers evaluate a decade's worth of post-fight medical examinations to shed new light on injury risks of combative sports. The research offers a first-of-its-kind glimpse into the dangers ... read more

Cheerleading Could Help Challenge Gender Stereotypes, Study Says

Nov. 3, 2015 — Cheerleading has the potential to challenge traditional ideas about gender and to be an inclusive activity for both boys and girls, say authors of a new report. The study examined the educational and ... read more

Race Starts Could Give Some Athletes an Unfair Advantage

Oct. 28, 2015 — The alerting effect means competitors who have longer start processes finish slower, affecting standings aggregated across more than one heat. Effect is enough to deny a ... read more

Health Food Stores Recommend Teens Try Performance Supplement Not Recommended Under 18

Oct. 23, 2015 — Posing as a 15-year-old athlete wanting to bulk up during strength training, a researcher asked more than 200 health food stores whether he should take a sports performance supplement containing ... read more

Why 'Respect' for Sporting Greats Provides Fast-Track Up Coaching Ladder

Sep. 30, 2015 — A study of senior decision-makers in some of England and Wales' top professional football and rugby union clubs suggests that former top-class players are being fast-tracked up the coaching ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — When it comes to recording accurate performance data for elite athletes, GPS technology can't keep up, a researcher claims. Instead researchers have developed SABEL Sense, an alternative to GPS ... read more

NFL Fans, ESPN Reporters Overly Optimistic About Team Prospects

Sep. 9, 2015 — US fans of the National Football League and sports reporters assigned to specific teams have unrealistic expectations about how well their team will perform, finds new research. The study also ... read more

Disabilities: Playing Adaptive Sports Linked to Higher Employment, Economic Impact

Aug. 25, 2015 — A new study finds playing an adaptive sport can have dramatic results on the athlete and the ... read more

Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Sunday, May 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Monday, July 14, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014