Solar Energy News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:44am EDT

More Solar Energy News
August 24, 2016

An Unexpected Finding: Rare Iodine Polymer Discovery Is Key to Starch-Iodine Mystery

Aug. 18, 2016 — In the pursuit of a new class of photovoltaic materials, researchers happened upon an entirely different discovery that addresses a centuries-old mystery of chemistry: Why does an iodine solution ... read more

Hybrid Perovskites: Super-Ion Building Blocks

July 30, 2016 — More efficient solar cells will likely be based on a family of materials known as hybrid perovskites. Scientists identified how to control different properties and stability in these solar cell ... read more

Modeling Sunlight Harvesting in Nanostructures

July 30, 2016 — To create the next generation of solar panels, scientists must model how complex interactions occur. Modeling across different scales provides needed insights. In a review article, scientists ... read more

Green Polymer Electrolyte Based on N-Phthaloylchitosan for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells

July 30, 2016 — A green polymer derived from bio-waste was applied to the dye-sensitized solar cells by scientists in a new study. Chitosan obtained from the insects’ and crustaceans’ chitin was modified to ... read more

Videos Reveal Birds, Bats and Bugs Near Ivanpah Solar Project Power Towers

July 27, 2016 — Video surveillance is the most effective method for detecting animals flying around solar power towers, according to a new ... read more

Serendipitous Observation May Lead to More Efficient Solar Cells and New Gas Sensors

July 27, 2016 — While investigating perovskite crystals, scientists made an observation that could make perovskite solar cells more efficient. It could also lead to new sensors for oxygen and water ... read more

July 27, 2016 — A hazy sky and dirty cars are well-known consequences of Saharan dust carried to Europe by air currents. As part of the “PerduS” project, researchers are currently examining how dust – as haze ... read more

July 27, 2016 — Perovskite solar cells are the rising star in the photovoltaic landscape. Since their invention, less than ten years ago, their efficiency has doubled twice and it is now over 22% -- an astonishing ... read more

July 27, 2016 — A new wrinkle on an old technology -- solid-state thermophotovoltaics (TPV) -- could provide a high-efficiency alternative for directly converting high-temperature heat from concentrated solar ... read more

July 25, 2016 — As the world’s population continues to grow, so does our consumption of natural resources. Many of these resources are non-renewable, so research into renewable sources of energy is vital. New ... read more

Unlocking the Secret to Cheaper Solar Power

July 25, 2016 — As climate change garners more attention around the world, scientists have made critical advances in understanding the physical properties of an emerging class of solar cells that have the potential ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Storing fluctuating and delivering stable electric power supply are central issues when using energy from solar plants or wind power stations. Here, efficient and flexible energy storage systems need ... read more

Perovskite Can Take the Heat

July 21, 2016 — Myth-busting research into a new alternative solar cell material could lead to cheaper solar ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Many households in impoverished regions around the world are starting to shift away from inefficient and polluting fuel-based lighting -- such as candles, firewood, and kerosene lanterns -- to ... read more

New Discoveries About Photosynthesis May Lead to Solar Cells of the Future

July 18, 2016 — For the first time, researchers have successfully measured in detail the flow of solar energy, in and between different parts of a photosynthetic organism. The result is a first step in research that ... read more

The Future of Perovskite Solar Cells Has Just Got Brighter, Come Rain or Shine

July 18, 2016 — A team of researchers has found a new method to improve not only the efficiency, but stability and humidity tolerance of perovskite solar cells. The scientists have designed a hydrophobic conducting ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have reported the first explanation for how a class of materials changes during production to more efficiently absorb light, a critical step toward the large-scale manufacture of better ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Proponents of clean energy will soon have a new source to add: osmotic power. Or more specifically, energy generated by a natural phenomenon occurring when fresh water comes into contact with ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have produced the first detailed study of the impact of solar parks on the environment, opening the door to smarter forms of farming and better land ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A humming laboratory is birthing tiny solar cells – the first such devices created on campus – as researchers strive to develop better photovoltaic ... read more

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016