Solar Energy News
July 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:14am EDT

More Solar Energy News
July 29, 2016

Videos Reveal Birds, Bats and Bugs Near Ivanpah Solar Project Power Towers

July 27, 2016 — Video surveillance is the most effective method for detecting animals flying around solar power towers, according to a new ... read more

July 27, 2016 — A hazy sky and dirty cars are well-known consequences of Saharan dust carried to Europe by air currents. As part of the “PerduS” project, researchers are currently examining how dust – as haze ... read more

New Discoveries About Photosynthesis May Lead to Solar Cells of the Future

July 18, 2016 — For the first time, researchers have successfully measured in detail the flow of solar energy, in and between different parts of a photosynthetic organism. The result is a first step in research that ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Researchers have produced the first detailed study of the impact of solar parks on the environment, opening the door to smarter forms of farming and better land ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A humming laboratory is birthing tiny solar cells – the first such devices created on campus – as researchers strive to develop better photovoltaic ... read more

New Milestone in Printed Photovoltaic Technology

July 11, 2016 — Researchers have achieved an important milestone in the quest to develop efficient solar technology as an alternative to fossil fuels. They have investigated a new molecule that can be used to ... read more

Setting the Gold Standard: Chemistry Professor Is First to Use Light to Make Gold Crystal Nanoparticles

July 8, 2016 — A researchers has figured out how gold can be used in crystals grown by light to create nanoparticles, a discovery that has major implications for industry and cancer treatment and could improve the ... read more

July 7, 2016 — A new study look into the quest for sustainable fuel, and how solar energy can be transformed into exactly this. The new procedure uses the sun's thermal energy to convert carbon dioxide and ... read more

July 6, 2016 — In a step that could bring perovskite crystals closer to use in the burgeoning solar power industry, researchers have tweaked their crystal production method and developed a new type of ... read more

July 4, 2016 — Scientists have discovered a possible secret to dramatically boosting the efficiency of perovskite solar cells hidden in the nanoscale peaks and valleys of the crystalline ... read more

Utilizing a Broader Share of the Solar Spectrum

June 30, 2016 — Small flakes of graphene could expand the usable spectral region of light in silicon solar cells to boost their efficiency, new research ... read more

June 29, 2016 — A new twist on the use of renewable energy is saving children's lives in Africa. The innovation -- a solar-powered oxygen delivery system -- is providing concentrated oxygen in hospital for ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Flexible solar panels would benefit from stretchable, damage-resistant, transparent metal electrodes. Researchers found that topology and the adhesion between a metal nanomesh and the underlying ... read more

Hydrogen Production from a Relative of Fool's Gold

June 28, 2016 — Scientists discovered a pyrite-type compound, similar to fool’s gold, that is competitive with platinum for splitting water to produce ... read more

Simple Preparation for Affordable Solar Energy Storage

June 28, 2016 — A simple process made an electrode that absorbs sunlight and produces oxygen on tiny cobalt islands on a silicon ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A new architecture takes very few processing steps to produce an affordable solar cell with efficiencies comparable to conventional silicon solar ... read more

June 24, 2016 — With a surface resembling that of plants, solar cells improve light-harvesting and thus generate more power. Scientists reproduced the epidermal cells of rose petals that have particularly good ... read more

June 24, 2016 — As the solar industry booms, coal workers have the opportunity to pursue new work. A new study looks at what it takes to retrain underground skills for sunnier ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Researchers report on low-temperature, solution-processed, environmentally friendly inorganic solar cells made with Earth-abundant materials capable of operating with a power conversion of 6.3 ... read more

June 20, 2016 — New flexible photovoltaics could power wearable ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016