New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Archaeology News

April 22, 2024

Top Headlines

 

The Dura-Europos site in modern-day Syria is famous for its exceptional state of preservation. Like Pompeii, this ancient city has yielded many great discoveries, and serves as a window into the ...
New research has highlighted an area in Arabia that once acted as a key point for cultural exchanges and trades amongst ancient people -- and it all took place in vast caves and lava tubes that have remained largely untapped reservoirs of ...
Byzantine bullion fueled Europe's revolutionary adoption of silver coins in the mid-7th century, only to be overtaken by silver from a mine in Charlemagne's Francia a century later, new tests reveal. The findings could transform our understanding of ...
A new reconstruction of the 375-million-year-old fossil fish Tiktaalik -- a close relative of limbed vertebrates -- used micro-CT to reveal bones still embedded in matrix. The reconstruction shows that the fish's ribs likely attached to its pelvis, ...

Latest Headlines

updated 7:24pm EDT

Earlier Headlines

 

A new data crowdsourcing platform aims to preserve the sound of Romeyka, an endangered millennia-old variety of Greek. Experts consider the language to be a linguistic goldmine and a living bridge to ...

By analysing ancient DNA, an international team of researchers have uncovered cases of chromosomal disorders, including what could be the first case of Edwards syndrome ever identified from ...

Following the arrival of the first farmers in Scandinavia 5,900 years ago, the hunter-gatherer population was wiped out within a few generations, according to a new study. The results, which are ...

A mortuary practice known as Log Coffin culture characterizes the Iron Age of highland Pang Mapha in northwestern Thailand. Between 2,300 and 1,000 years ago, individuals were buried in large wooden ...

Using advanced geospatial modeling to compare environmental and archaeological evidence, researchers found evidence that connects ancient mobility and subsistence strategies to cultural connections ...

Did the ancient Greeks and Romans experience Alzheimer's? Medical texts from 2,500 years ago rarely mention severe memory loss, suggesting today's widespread dementia stems from modern ...

Archaeologists have debated whether Neanderthals or modern humans made stone tools that are found at sites across northern Europe and date from about 40,000 years ago. A new excavation at one site in ...

A new study, which centers on evidence from skulls of a 6-million-year-old fossil ape, Lufengpithecus, offers important clues about the origins of bipedal locomotion courtesy of a novel method: ...

The brown bear is one of the largest living terrestrial carnivores, and is widely distributed across the Northern Hemisphere. Unlike many other large carnivores that went extinct at the end of the ...

When combined with data from tree-ring records, stalagmites can open up a unique archive to study natural climate fluctuations, a research team has demonstrated. The researchers analyzed the isotopic ...

Researchers have linked the travels of a 14,000-year-old woolly mammoth with the oldest known human settlements in Alaska, providing clues about the relationship between the iconic species and some ...

Researchers have identified a 3D fragment of fossilized skin that is at least 21 million years than previously described skin fossils. The skin, which belonged to an early species of Paleozoic ...

A new study shows how state-of-the-art methods and perspectives from archaeology, history, and palaeoecology are shedding new light on 5,500 years of urban ...

Researchers have developed a new technique to measure the number of chromosomes in ancient genomes more precisely, using it to identify the first prehistoric person with mosaic Turner syndrome ...

The largest ever primate Gigantopithecus blacki went extinct when other Asian great apes were thriving, and its demise has long been a mystery. A massive regional study of 22 caves in southern China ...

A new study describes nine new species of carnivorous land snails, all of which are so small they could fit together on a U.S. nickel. They present a rare opportunity to study a group that in many ...

Researchers have discovered an ancient Roman temple that adds significant insights into the social change from pagan gods to Christianity within the Roman ...

A new study scientifically corroborates an event described in the Second Book of Kings -- the conquest of the Philistine city of Gath by Hazael King of Aram. The method is based on measuring the ...

An archaeological find in the Huescan Pyrenees allowed researchers to identify for the first time livestock management strategies and feeding practices which demonstrate how the first high mountain ...

Widespread caries and toothache -- but also some dental work and filing of front teeth. Viking Age teeth from Varnhem bear witness to surprisingly advanced ...

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Thursday, February 8, 2024

Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Friday, February 2, 2024

Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Monday, January 29, 2024

Wednesday, January 24, 2024

Wednesday, January 17, 2024

Thursday, January 11, 2024

Wednesday, January 10, 2024

Tuesday, January 9, 2024

Friday, January 5, 2024

Thursday, January 4, 2024

Thursday, December 21, 2023

Thursday, December 14, 2023

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Tuesday, December 12, 2023

Thursday, December 7, 2023

Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Friday, December 1, 2023

Thursday, November 30, 2023

Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Monday, November 27, 2023

Tuesday, November 21, 2023

Thursday, November 16, 2023

Monday, November 13, 2023

Wednesday, November 8, 2023

Friday, October 27, 2023

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

Tuesday, October 24, 2023

Friday, October 20, 2023

Monday, October 2, 2023

Friday, September 22, 2023

Thursday, September 21, 2023

Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Monday, September 18, 2023

Monday, September 11, 2023

Thursday, August 31, 2023

Monday, August 28, 2023

Friday, August 18, 2023

Wednesday, August 16, 2023

Monday, August 7, 2023

Tuesday, August 1, 2023

Wednesday, July 26, 2023

Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Monday, July 17, 2023

Wednesday, July 12, 2023

Thursday, July 6, 2023

Friday, June 23, 2023

Thursday, June 22, 2023

Wednesday, June 21, 2023

Tuesday, June 20, 2023

Friday, June 16, 2023

Thursday, June 15, 2023

Wednesday, June 14, 2023

Wednesday, June 7, 2023

Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Friday, May 26, 2023

Friday, May 19, 2023

Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Tuesday, May 9, 2023

Wednesday, May 3, 2023

Wednesday, April 26, 2023

Monday, April 24, 2023

Tuesday, April 18, 2023

Friday, April 14, 2023

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

Thursday, March 30, 2023

Monday, March 20, 2023

Thursday, March 16, 2023

Tuesday, March 14, 2023

Friday, March 3, 2023

Thursday, March 2, 2023

Wednesday, March 1, 2023

Tuesday, February 28, 2023

Friday, February 24, 2023

Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Tuesday, February 21, 2023

Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Monday, February 6, 2023