Archaeology News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 2:44pm EDT

More Archaeology News
April 27, 2017

Cracking the Origin of Ancient Decorative Ostrich Eggs

Apr. 12, 2017 — Archaeologists and scientists are using cutting edge technology to crack a conundrum surrounding the ancient trade in ostrich ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — New archaeological analysis suggests people of Western Roman Empire switched between Hunnic nomadism and settled farming over a lifetime. Findings may be evidence of tribal encroachment that ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Egyptologists have discovered rock art from the 4th millennium BC during an excavation at a necropolis near Aswan in Egypt. The paintings were engraved into the rock in the form of small dots and ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A new 430 million-year-old fossil has been discovered by scientists, and has been named in honor of Sir David Attenborough. The discovery is a unique example of its kind in the fossil record, say the ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Vertebrates once might have relied on a different mechanism for developing neurons in the gut, suggests a new ... read more

Icelandic Drinking Horn Changes Our Historic Understanding of St. Olav

Mar. 20, 2017 — After the Reformation, Norway's Olav Haraldsson was no longer supposed to be worshipped as a saint. An Icelandic drinking horn offers some clues on how the saint’s status changed over ... read more

New Study Identifies Ancient Shark Ancestors

Mar. 14, 2017 — New research based on x-ray imaging provides the strongest evidence to date that sharks arose from a group of bony fishes called acanthodians. Analyzing an extraordinarily well-preserved fossil of an ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — New research has identified North America's oldest bison fossils and helped construct a bison genealogy establishing that a common maternal ancestor arrived between 130,000 and 195,000 years ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — The most extensive isotope analysis of archaeological material in Finland revealed a fragment of the history of ancient Finnish cattle: the bones and teeth showed which plants the animals fed on. For ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Ancient DNA found in the dental plaque of Neandertals -- our nearest extinct relative -- has provided remarkable new insights into their behavior, diet and evolutionary history, including their use ... read more

Mar. 3, 2017 — Paleontologists have developed a new theory to explain why the ancient ancestors of dinosaurs stopped moving about on all fours and rose up on just their two hind ... read more

Feb. 28, 2017 — Fossil hunters have found part of an ancient primate jawbone related to lemurs -- the primitive primate group distantly connected to monkeys, apes and humans, a researcher reports. Scientists named ... read more

Feb. 27, 2017 — An archaeologist found a jade pendant once belonging to an ancient Maya king in what we think of as the provinces of that world. Why was it buried? And might its inscriptions change our understanding ... read more

Feb. 24, 2017 — Paleoamericans share a last common ancestor with modern native South Americans outside, rather than inside, the Americas and new findings underscore the importance of looking at both genetic and ... read more

Feb. 24, 2017 — A thousand years ago, for reasons we will never know, the residents of a tiny farmstead on the coast of central Norway filled an old well with dirt. Maybe the water dried up, or maybe it became foul. ... read more

Feb. 21, 2017 — A new study, looking at the sex-specifically inherited X chromosome of prehistoric human remains, shows that hardly any women took part in the extensive migration from the Pontic-Caspian Steppe ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Linguistic anthropologists are applying the latest technology to an ancient mystery: how and when early humans inhabited the New World. Their new research suggests complex patterns of contact and ... read more

Temple Culture in Ptolemaic Egypt Alive and Kicking

Feb. 14, 2017 — Egyptian temple culture was thought to be declining in the Ptolemaic era, after the death of Alexander the Great in 323 BC. Nothing could be further from the truth, says Egyptologist Carina van den ... read more

Feb. 10, 2017 — A giant pterosaur – a toothless flying reptile with a 10 metre wingspan – may have been the dominant predator in ancient Romania, suggests new research. The creature has a considerably shorter ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — Archaeologists have found a cave that previously contained Dead Sea scrolls, which were looted in the middle of the 20th Century. Scholars suggest the cave should be numbered as Cave 12, along with ... read more

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016