NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Archaeology News
March 1, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:02pm EST

More Archaeology News
March 1, 2017

Jan. 29, 2017 — An international team of researchers has managed to pinpoint, to within three months, a medieval volcanic eruption in east Asia the precise date of which has puzzled historians for decades. They have ... read more

Ancient Indus Civilization's Adaptation to Climate Change

Jan. 27, 2017 — A new article explores how an ancient culture dealt with variable ... read more

Major Viking Age Manor Discovered at Birka, Sweden

Jan. 19, 2017 — For centuries it has been speculated where the manor of the royal bailiff of Birka, Herigar, might have been located. New geophysical results provide evidence of its location at Korshamn, outside the ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — New discoveries at Tel Aviv University's Timna Valley excavation have revealed intact defensive structures and livestock pens that provide insight into the complexity of Iron Age copper ... read more

Retroviruses 'Almost Half a Billion Years Old'

Jan. 10, 2017 — Retroviruses -- the family of viruses that includes HIV -- are almost half a billion years old, according to new research. That's several hundred million years older than previously thought and ... read more

Newly Discovered Ancient Tombs in Egypt

Dec. 22, 2016 — Archaeologists have found "compelling evidence" of new pharaonic tombs at Qubbet el-Hawa in Aswan, Egypt's Ministry of Antiquities has ... read more

Dec. 20, 2016 — In the Arctic, the Inuits have adapted to severe cold and a predominantly seafood diet. Now, a team of scientists has followed up on the first natural selection study in Inuits to trace back the ... read more

Computer Models Find Ancient Solutions to Modern Climate Problems

Dec. 20, 2016 — Archaeologists are at the helm of new research using sophisticated computer technology to learn how past societies responded to climate change. Their work, which links ancient climate and ... read more

Dec. 19, 2016 — When a female Norwegian Viking died some time during the 9th century, she was buried wearing a status symbol: a beautiful piece of bronze jewellery worn on her traditional Norse ... read more

Dec. 16, 2016 — Invasive species have shaped island ecosystems and landscapes in the Gulf of Alaska, but their histories are unknown. Researchers have now investigated the archaeological and genetic history of the ... read more

Dec. 13, 2016 — An international research team is exploring the remains of an ancient city in central Greece. The results can change the view of an area that traditionally has been considered a backwater of the ... read more

Dec. 12, 2016 — Neanderthals kept coming back to a coastal cave site in Jersey from at least 180,000 years ago until around 40,000 years ago. researchers report. As part of a re-examination of La Cotte de St Brelade ... read more

Dec. 8, 2016 — New genetic research suggests that smallpox, a pathogen that caused millions of deaths worldwide, may not be an ancient disease but a much more modern killer that went on to become the first human ... read more

Scientists' Study of Human Migration Could Help Understand Cancer Metastasis

Dec. 8, 2016 — Migration for the first humans in America was easier moving east-west as opposed to north-south, researchers report, largely because the knowledge needed to live in the same climate zones was easily ... read more

The Emperor's New Coats: History of Horse Coat Colors

Dec. 7, 2016 — Human preferences for horse coat colours have changed greatly over time and across cultures. Spotted and diluted horses were more frequent from the beginning of domestication until the end of the ... read more

Overwhelming Evidence of Malaria's Existence 2,000 Years Ago

Dec. 6, 2016 — An analysis of 2,000-year-old human remains from several regions across the Italian peninsula has confirmed the presence of malaria during the Roman Empire, addressing a longstanding debate about its ... read more

Dec. 2, 2016 — A team of international archaeologists believe a pair of mummified legs on display in an Italian museum may belong to Egyptian Queen Nefertari – the favorite wife of the pharaoh Ramses ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — 48 skeletons have been discovered in what researchers are calling a ‘Plague Pit.’ 27 of these were from children, say the researchers. This represents an extremely rare discovery, suggesting that ... read more

Nov. 21, 2016 — Hundreds of years before the first Thanksgiving, Native Americans were raising and feasting on America's classic holiday meal. This is the first time scientists have suggested that turkeys were ... read more

Nov. 18, 2016 — Where's the best place to start when retracing the life of a person who lived 4,000 years ago? Turns out, it's simple -- you start at the ... read more

Sunday, January 29, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016