Archaeology News
August 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:31am EDT

More Archaeology News
August 25, 2016

July 25, 2016 — In a historic find, a large fragment of an Egyptian statue measuring 45 X 40 centimeters, made of lime-stone, was discovered in the course of the current season of excavations at Tel-Hazor, north of ... read more

July 21, 2016 — Intestinal parasites as well as goods were carried by travelers on the iconic route, say researchers examining an ancient ... read more

July 21, 2016 — A new project has investigated how different generations have re-used ancient sacred places. Archaeologists from the University of Leicester have recently excavated a Bronze Age barrow and ... read more

Fire Clues in Cave Dripwater

July 21, 2016 — When mineral-rich water drips from a cave's ceiling over centuries and millennia, it forms rocky cones that hold clues to the Earth's past climate. Now, researchers in Australia and the UK ... read more

July 20, 2016 — A new species of megaraptorid dinosaur discovered in Patagonia may help discern the evolutionary origins of the megaraptorid ... read more

Solving the Mesopotamia Timeline Puzzle With Tree-Rings and Radiocarbon Research

July 19, 2016 — Tree-ring dating and radiocarbon research has established an absolute timeline for the archaeological, historical and environmental record in Mesopotamia from the early second millennium ... read more

July 19, 2016 — Archeologists have discovered remarkable evidence which shows how the first generations of Europeans to arrive in the Americas engaged with indigenous peoples and their spiritual beliefs deep inside ... read more

July 14, 2016 — An expedition to the Fourni archipelago in Greece has found 23 new shipwrecks dating from around 1,000 BC to the 19th century ... read more

July 14, 2016 — Thousands of insects, plants and other life forms have been found trapped in ancient amber deposits, but a new discovery shows a rarity of a different type -- the one that got away. This insect ... read more

July 13, 2016 — Environmental records obtained from archaeological sites in South Africa's southern Cape suggest climate may not have been directly linked to cultural and technological innovations of Middle ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Archaeologists have recently excavated a Late Roman cemetery at Western Road in Leicester's West End. Amongst the 83 skeletons recorded by the team, one burial is proving to be very ... read more

July 5, 2016 — To get at the heart of Malagasy genetic ancestry and reconstruct their history, a researcher team investigated genome-wide genotyping data of Malagasy populations along with populations across the ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Crucial new evidence has revealed modern humans (Homo sapiens) were likely using fire at Liang Bua 41,000 years ago, narrowing the time gap between the last hobbits (Homo floresiensis) and the first ... read more

June 27, 2016 — A new study of the 37,000-year old remains of the 'Deep Skull' -- the oldest modern human discovered in island South-East Asia -- has revealed this ancient person was not related to ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Researchers are excavating human remains from caves in Palawan Island in the Philippines to learn more about the diversity of burial and other cultural practices over the past 10,000 ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Giant Ice Age species including elephant-sized sloths and powerful sabre-toothed cats that once roamed the windswept plains of Patagonia, southern South America, were finally felled by a perfect ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Researchers studying bone artifacts have discovered in the Kuumbi Cave, Zanzibar, have found evidence to suggest that bone tools were used for hunting, and even as poison arrow tips. The findings ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Analysis of a wealth of new data contradicts an earlier claim that LB1, an ~80,000 year old fossil skeleton from the Indonesian island of Flores, had Down syndrome, and further confirms its status as ... read more

June 8, 2016 — Analysis of oxygen isotopes in fossil teeth from red deer near the Adriatic Sea suggest that they migrated seasonally, which may have driven the movements of the Paleolithic hunter-gatherers that ate ... read more

June 8, 2016 — A single entry of the plague bacterium into Europe was responsible for the Black Plague of the mid-14th century. This same strain sparked recurrent outbreaks on the continent over the following four ... read more

Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015