Business & Industry News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:40am EDT

More Business & Industry News
September 26, 2016

Companies Use Instincts to Elicit Behavior from Consumers, Employees

Sep. 20, 2016 — The obvious strategy for a clothing retailer is to have as much product on the sales floor as possible to yield high sales. The clothing needs to be available to be bought, ... read more

Using Nonlinearity in Understanding Market Forces

Sep. 20, 2016 — There are certain markets within the U.S. and global economies in which two major corporations dominate. For example, Coca-Cola Co. and PepsiCo Inc. are the two major firms that compete with each ... read more

The Sharing Economy's Effect on Business

Sep. 13, 2016 — The rising tide of product sharing can indeed lift all economic ships, including those of the product manufacturers, or firms, new research ... read more

Study Sheds Light on Factors Affecting Employees' Commitment

Sep. 8, 2016 — As it becomes increasingly common for older workers to report to younger supervisors, a new study has examined how disparities in experience and education influence subordinates’ commitment to ... read more

Entrepreneurs Fare Better If They Resist the Temptation to Follow the Crowd

Sep. 8, 2016 — Few entrepreneurs and investors can resist the temptation to follow the herd into a new, “hot” market, even when they understand that it is rarely the path to riches. New research finds that ... read more

Corporate Social Responsibility Can Backfire If Employees Don’t Think It’s Genuine

Sep. 7, 2016 — A new study looks at what happens when a company’s employees view its efforts related to corporate social responsibility as substantive (perceived to be other-serving and genuinely aimed at ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — When science fiction heroes communicate, they don‘t use landlines or cell phones. The caller simply appears in virtual form in the middle of the room; full sized and three dimensional. This vision ... read more

Beat the Stock Market by Satisfying Customers

Sep. 6, 2016 — Satisfy your customers and win in the stock market, says a new study by a team of researchers who found positive stock returns on customer satisfaction far out-distance competitive market measures ... read more

Working from Home Loses Its Appeal Over Time for Both Companies and Employees

Sep. 6, 2016 — The benefits of working from home disappear over time for both employees and organizations if it is a full-time arrangement, a new study has ... read more

Businesses That Show Commitment to Sustainability Inspire Greener Customers

Aug. 26, 2016 — Spending a little to prove a commitment to sustainability can help tourism industry businesses such as hotels inspire customers to conserve resources -- and save money in the process, according to ... read more

Going Green Is for Girls, but Branding Can Make Men Eco-Friendly

Aug. 25, 2016 — Studies show that men are not as environmentally friendly as women. But could men be persuaded to go green? New research indicates the answer is yes — and it’s all about ... read more

Bags Don't Fly Free: Charges Have Boosted Airlines' Departure Performances, Study Finds

Aug. 24, 2016 — Checked baggage fees have actually improved the departure performance of US airlines in addition to boosting revenue, new research has ... read more

In Long-Distance Collaboration, Smaller Groups Accomplish More

Aug. 22, 2016 — When it comes to teamwork, familiarity breeds productivity rather than contempt, according to a new study. Establishing such affinity is increasingly important, the researchers say, given the rising ... read more

Strong External Governance Makes Top Managers More Prone to Cheat

Aug. 22, 2016 — When top-level managers find governance mechanisms too coercive, they're more likely to commit fraud, according to a new paper by strategic management ... read more

Management Actions to Combat Recessions Could Compromise the Performance Effects of Empowerment

Aug. 22, 2016 — Wage and employment freezes and other actions taken to combat recessions may compromise the positive effect that employee empowerment may have on staff morale and in turn ... read more

Great Recession's Other Legacy: Inconsistent Work Hours

Aug. 22, 2016 — A new study finds that an unpredictable work week is the norm for growing numbers of low-wage workers -- nearly 40 percent of whom worked variable hours for at least one four-month period after the ... read more

That's Not Fair! Managing Envy in the Workplace

Aug. 19, 2016 — In a recent study, researchers looked at envy in the workplace. The research found a strong link between an employee's feelings of envy after they perceive a supervisor has treated them worse ... read more

Why Do They Treat Me Like That? Taking the Mask Off of Envy

Aug. 19, 2016 — While overt signs of envy can often be received badly, research indicates that how that envy is perceived and attributed by the envied person makes all the difference in how it is ... read more

Buying High Vs. Bargain Hunting

Aug. 17, 2016 — Purchasing and pricing has always been a dance between buyers and sellers. Before deciding to make a purchase, buyers spend varying amounts of time and effort searching for price information. These ... read more

Employers Who Promote Ethics Should Reward Workers Who Exhibit Them, Study Finds

Aug. 17, 2016 — Building a business reputation from the inside out — with employees giving a company high marks as an ethical place to work — is increasingly being hailed as a way to get a leg up on the ... read more

Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016