Business & Industry News
July 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:40am EDT

More Business & Industry News
July 30, 2016

It's Not Just a Good Suit and Strong Handshake: New Study Identifies Key Factor in Getting Dream Job

July 25, 2016 — A new study examines the influence of technology in job interviews. Overall, technology-mediated interviews resulted in lower ratings for both the company and the candidate. Within that category, ... read more

Why Do Consumers Participate in 'Green' Programs?

July 22, 2016 — From recycling to reusing hotel towels, consumers who participate in a company's 'green' program are more satisfied with its service, finds a new ... read more

Differences in CEO Leadership Style, Company Culture Improve Firm Performance, Study Finds

July 13, 2016 — Chief executive officers should have a different leadership style from an organization's culture in order to improve a firm's performance, according to researchers who discuss in a new ... read more

Study Uses Text-Mining to Improve Market Intelligence on Startups

July 13, 2016 — A researcher has created a new method that uses big data analytics and text-mining techniques to improve market intelligence and explain potential mergers and acquisitions of startup companies in the ... read more

Truth Is in Danger as New Techniques Used to Stop Journalists Covering the News

July 10, 2016 — The truth is being suppressed across the world using a variety of methods, according to a special ... read more

Economics Study Finds Volume Discounts Don't Increase Profitability for Video Game

July 8, 2016 — Discounts tied to buying large quantities of virtual goods have little impact on profitability and do not increase the number of customers making purchases, A study by economists finds. The findings ... read more

Highly Prominent Product Placements Tend to Benefit from 3D Movies, While Placements With Low Prominence Lose out

July 7, 2016 — Two new studies have investigated product placements in two Hollywood movies. Volunteers watched the Hollywood movies as either a 2D, a 3D, or a 4D version (the 3D movie with added scent). ... read more

How to Get Moral 'Free-Riders' to Cooperate

July 6, 2016 — What motivates people to contribute to trustful moral judgment, which is a public good yet tends to be costly? This is 'the moral free rider problem'. Mathematicians have put forth a ... read more

Liability of Internet 'Intermediaries' in Developing Countries

June 30, 2016 — If someone posts illegal content on your website, are you liable? A new project addresses that question by examining the potential liability faced by website owners and other online service providers ... read more

Industry-Academia Publication Agreements Include Limits on Publication of Trial Results

June 28, 2016 — Publication agreements constraining academic investigators' independence are common, and incompletely reported in publications, according to a new study. The study suggests that publication ... read more

Data Centers Continue to Proliferate While Their Energy Use Plateaus

June 27, 2016 — As the number of data centers continues to increase in the United States, the good news is that they are becoming much more energy efficient. A new report has found that electricity consumption by ... read more

Narcissistic Superior Can Be a Good Leader

June 27, 2016 — Narcissistic leaders seem to get good assessments from their subordinates, new research shows. However, it was noticed that the more narcissistic features the leader had the less time he/she had been ... read more

Creating More Effective Product Recalls by Improving Traceability

June 22, 2016 — Even as the food industry looks for ways to curb outbreaks, a new study finds that just being able to trace a product through its supply chain is at once critical, and ... read more

June 22, 2016 — A psychology study that examined faces of CEOs for leadership qualities -- power, warmth, etc. -- to predict success as leaders of either nonprofit organizations (NPOs) or or profit-driven ... read more

How to Get the Most from Millennial and Generation Z Employees

June 22, 2016 — Millennials, those who were born in the 1980’s and 1990’s—have emerged as the largest age cohort in today’s U.S. workforce, bringing digital savvy and an ‘always-on’ mentality to most ... read more

June 20, 2016 — New research aims to help educators quantify how the best students perform problem solving with the aid of instructional videos, a step toward learning how to better coach students in difficult ... read more

Marketing Study Shows Lenient Return Policy May Increase Sales

June 20, 2016 — A meta-analysis of retail return policies may lead businesses to modify their policies to increase sales and reduce returns. The study found that return policies that offer consumers more monetary ... read more

Dividing the Spoils of Cooperation

June 17, 2016 — When choosing unrelated male partners for cooperative ventures, men value productivity as well as generosity and trustworthiness, new research ... read more

Can Immigration Really Offset the Adverse Economic Effects of Aging Populations?

June 14, 2016 — As Britain prepares to go to the polls for the EU referendum, immigration is a key issue. Those worried by the adverse economic effects of an ageingpopulation sometimes claim that immigration can ... read more

Businesses Can Save 30% on Electrical Bills by Adjusting Production Schedules

June 13, 2016 — Industrial manufacturing businesses can save over 30 percent on electrical bills, and cut greenhouse gas emissions by over 5 percent, by adjusting production schedules, according to new ... read more

Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016