Business & Industry News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:10am EDT

More Business & Industry News
August 29, 2016

Businesses That Show Commitment to Sustainability Inspire Greener Customers

Aug. 26, 2016 — Spending a little to prove a commitment to sustainability can help tourism industry businesses such as hotels inspire customers to conserve resources -- and save money in the process, according to ... read more

Going Green Is for Girls, but Branding Can Make Men Eco-Friendly

Aug. 25, 2016 — Studies show that men are not as environmentally friendly as women. But could men be persuaded to go green? New research indicates the answer is yes — and it’s all about ... read more

Bags Don't Fly Free: Charges Have Boosted Airlines' Departure Performances, Study Finds

Aug. 24, 2016 — Checked baggage fees have actually improved the departure performance of US airlines in addition to boosting revenue, new research has ... read more

In Long-Distance Collaboration, Smaller Groups Accomplish More

Aug. 22, 2016 — When it comes to teamwork, familiarity breeds productivity rather than contempt, according to a new study. Establishing such affinity is increasingly important, the researchers say, given the rising ... read more

Strong External Governance Makes Top Managers More Prone to Cheat

Aug. 22, 2016 — When top-level managers find governance mechanisms too coercive, they're more likely to commit fraud, according to a new paper by strategic management ... read more

Management Actions to Combat Recessions Could Compromise the Performance Effects of Empowerment

Aug. 22, 2016 — Wage and employment freezes and other actions taken to combat recessions may compromise the positive effect that employee empowerment may have on staff morale and in turn ... read more

Great Recession's Other Legacy: Inconsistent Work Hours

Aug. 22, 2016 — A new study finds that an unpredictable work week is the norm for growing numbers of low-wage workers -- nearly 40 percent of whom worked variable hours for at least one four-month period after the ... read more

That's Not Fair! Managing Envy in the Workplace

Aug. 19, 2016 — In a recent study, researchers looked at envy in the workplace. The research found a strong link between an employee's feelings of envy after they perceive a supervisor has treated them worse ... read more

Why Do They Treat Me Like That? Taking the Mask Off of Envy

Aug. 19, 2016 — While overt signs of envy can often be received badly, research indicates that how that envy is perceived and attributed by the envied person makes all the difference in how it is ... read more

Buying High Vs. Bargain Hunting

Aug. 17, 2016 — Purchasing and pricing has always been a dance between buyers and sellers. Before deciding to make a purchase, buyers spend varying amounts of time and effort searching for price information. These ... read more

Employers Who Promote Ethics Should Reward Workers Who Exhibit Them, Study Finds

Aug. 17, 2016 — Building a business reputation from the inside out — with employees giving a company high marks as an ethical place to work — is increasingly being hailed as a way to get a leg up on the ... read more

Newspapers, Digital Subscription Services Can Optimize Profits With New Model

Aug. 17, 2016 — Researchers have developed a model that will enable newspapers to maximize their revenues from advertisements and subscriptions by offering a variety of subscription plans. The researchers' test ... read more

The Surprising Side Effect of Kissing Up at Work

Aug. 16, 2016 — Kissing up to your boss doesn't just impact your relationship with your supervisor, it can influence your co-workers, as well, suggests new ... read more

At Work, Hierarchies Draw Narcissist Job Hunters

Aug. 16, 2016 — People who have narcissistic tendencies are more likely to support hierarchies, according to newly published research. Narcissistic people favor hierarchies because of a perceived potential to rise ... read more

Ready-Made Customer Base for New Products: Crowdsourcing Provides Remarkable Benefits for Companies

Aug. 15, 2016 — Organizations should be more customer focused in innovation production, say researchers. A new study indicates that crowdsourcing makes the organization’s innovation management more customer ... read more

In Right Balance, Environmental Regulations Increased Firms' Profits, New Study Finds

Aug. 12, 2016 — CEOs and corporate lobbyists often spend plenty of time decrying how potential government regulations will affect their bottom line, but a new study finds that the US Clean Water Act, when ... read more

How Incivility Spreads in the Workplace

Aug. 10, 2016 — Condescending comments, put-downs and sarcasm have become commonplace in the politically charged workplace, and a new study shows how this incivility may be ... read more

Live-Streaming Crime

Aug. 3, 2016 — In a new study, researchers examine the legal rights of people to record and live stream and any potential right to be free from being recorded and streamed in public ... read more

New Research Explores Why People 'Pass the Buck'

Aug. 3, 2016 — People are more likely to delegate decisions--or "pass the buck"--when faced with choices that affect others than when those decisions affect only themselves, according to new ... read more

Trading Changes How Brain Processes Selling Decisions

Aug. 2, 2016 — Experience in trading changes how the human brain evaluates the sale of goods, muting an economic bias known as the endowment effect in which people demand a higher price to sell a good than ... read more

Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016