New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Geology News

February 24, 2024

Top Headlines
 

Our planet's lithosphere is broken into several tectonic plates. Their configuration is ever-shifting, as supercontinents are assembled and broken up, and oceans form, grow, and then start to close in what is known as the Wilson ...
A new study offers a glimpse into the possible impact of climate change on coastal wetlands 50 years or longer into the future. Scientists are usually forced to rely on computer models to project the ...
This study reports widespread mineral carbonation of mantle rocks in an oceanic transform fueled by magmatic degassing of CO2. The findings describe a previously unknown part of the geological carbon ...
Researchers have uncovered the first direct evidence that the West Antarctic Ice Sheet shrunk suddenly and dramatically at the end of the Last Ice Age, around eight thousand years ago. The evidence, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:50pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Analysis of iron meteorites from the earliest years of the solar system indicate that the planetary 'seeds' that ultimately formed Earth contained ...

Major cities on the U.S. Atlantic coast are sinking, in some cases as much as 5 millimeters per year -- a decline at the ocean's edge that well outpaces global sea level rise, confirms new ...

Ancient bricks inscribed with the names of Mesopotamian kings have yielded important insights into a mysterious anomaly in Earth's magnetic field 3,000 years ago, according to a new ...

A tiny, hard-working bacterium -- which weighs one-trillionth of a gram -- may soon have a large influence on processing rare earth elements in an eco-friendly ...

The Earth is a wonderful blue and green dot covered with oceans and life, while Venus is a yellowish sterile sphere that is not only inhospitable but also sterile. However, the difference between the ...

Our understanding of which aquatic species produce sounds just took a big step forward. Scientists have created an inventory of species confirmed or expected to produce sound underwater.  ...

Positive tipping points must be triggered if we are to avoid the severe consequences of damaging Earth system tipping points, researchers ...

Drones flying along miles of rivers in the steep, mountainous terrain of central Taiwan and mapping the rock properties have revealed new clues about how water helps shape mountains over geological ...

Scientists have recently introduced a new method called ambient noise differential adjoint tomography, which allows researchers to visualise rocks with fluids better, leading to potential ...

Paleontologists are getting a glimpse at life over a billion years in the past based on chemical traces in ancient rocks and the genetics of living animals. New research combines geology and ...

An international consortium of geoscientists has reconstructed atmosphereric levels of carbon dioxide going back 66 million years using proxies in the geoloogical record. Today's concenteration, ...

A new bacterial species discovered at the deep-sea hydrothermal vent site 'Crab Spa' provides a deeper understanding of bacterial ...

A landmark study into the geological timescale distribution of sediment and nutrients over 500 million years shows that species biodiversity on Earth is driven by landscape ...

Researchers have discovered a new relationship between the Sun's magnetic field and its sunspot cycle, that can help predict when the peak in solar activity will occur. Their work indicates that ...

Research shows that variations in pyrite sulfur isotopes may not represent the global processes that have made them such popular targets of analysis and interpretation. A new microanalysis approach ...

The Hunga Tonga-Hunga Ha'apai volcano changed the chemistry and dynamics of the stratosphere in the year following the eruption, leading to unprecedented losses in the ozone layer of up to 7% ...

Using historical records from around Australia, an international team of researchers have put forward the most accurate prediction to date of past Antarctic ice sheet melt, providing a more realistic ...

Researches used rhenium as a proxy for fossil carbon in order to quantify the rate at which Earth naturally releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere and found that high rates of carbon breakdown ...

A new study has revealed that water from the Earth's surface can penetrate deep into the planet, altering the composition of the outermost region of the metallic liquid core and creating a ...

With help from an experienced underwater cave-diving team, researchers have constructed the most complete map to date of the microbial communities living in the submerged labyrinths beneath ...

Tuesday, January 9, 2024
Tuesday, January 2, 2024
Monday, December 18, 2023
Friday, December 15, 2023
Monday, December 11, 2023
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Tuesday, November 28, 2023
Friday, November 24, 2023
Monday, November 20, 2023
Friday, November 17, 2023
Tuesday, November 14, 2023
Monday, November 13, 2023
Friday, November 10, 2023
Wednesday, November 1, 2023
Monday, October 30, 2023
Friday, October 27, 2023
Thursday, October 26, 2023
Monday, October 23, 2023
Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Monday, October 9, 2023
Friday, October 6, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Friday, September 29, 2023
Wednesday, September 27, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Wednesday, September 20, 2023
Tuesday, September 19, 2023
Wednesday, September 13, 2023
Monday, September 11, 2023
Thursday, September 7, 2023
Thursday, August 31, 2023
Tuesday, August 29, 2023
Wednesday, August 9, 2023
Monday, August 7, 2023
Friday, August 4, 2023
Thursday, August 3, 2023
Wednesday, August 2, 2023
Tuesday, August 1, 2023
Monday, July 31, 2023
Tuesday, July 25, 2023
Monday, July 24, 2023
Monday, July 17, 2023
Tuesday, July 11, 2023
Monday, July 10, 2023
Wednesday, July 5, 2023
Monday, July 3, 2023
Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Monday, June 26, 2023
Thursday, June 22, 2023
Wednesday, June 21, 2023
Tuesday, June 20, 2023
Thursday, June 15, 2023
Wednesday, June 14, 2023
Tuesday, June 13, 2023
Monday, June 12, 2023
Friday, June 9, 2023
Thursday, June 8, 2023
Tuesday, June 6, 2023
Friday, June 2, 2023
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Thursday, May 25, 2023
Wednesday, May 24, 2023
Tuesday, May 23, 2023
Monday, May 22, 2023
Thursday, May 18, 2023
Tuesday, May 16, 2023
Monday, May 15, 2023
Thursday, May 11, 2023