NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Geology News
February 20, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:27am EST

More Geology News
February 20, 2017

Seismicity in British Columbia and Hidden Continent Called Zealandia

Feb. 14, 2017 — Seismicity in the Pacific Northwest is well documented and includes recent seismic activity on fault systems within the Juan de Fuca Strait. However, the seismic potential of crustal faults within ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — A 'Snowball Earth' event actually took place 100 million years earlier than previously projected, outlines a new ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Tiny air bubbles compressed within a polar ice core make some sections brittle to the touch, but one ice core lab knows how to handle this delicate part of the chemical analysis, thus making the ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A group of researchers suggest that the best way to understand the creation of the glaciers in Antarctica is by linking two competing theories about their origins. They argue that the deepening of ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Researchers may be one step closer to solving the mystery at the core of the Earth. It has long been established that approximately 85 percent of the Earth's core is made of iron, while nickel ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Scientists have confirmed the existence of a 'lost continent' under the Indian Ocean island of Mauritius that was left-over by the break-up of the supercontinent, Gondwana, which started ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — How were Earth's solid deposits of iron ore created? One researchers suggests that, billions of years ago, "green rust" formed in seawater and sank to the ocean bed, becoming an ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — New research shows how sea ice growth in the Southern Hemisphere during certain orbital periods could control the pace of ice ages on ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — Researchers have now found an explanation for what triggered the largest volcanic eruption witnessed by humankind. The volcano’s secret was revealed by geochemical clues hidden inside volcanic ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Devastating tsunamis could be halted before hitting the Earth's shoreline by firing deep-ocean sound waves at the oncoming mass of water, new research has ... read more

Climate Change Paper Studies Carbon Uptake in Ecosystems

Jan. 24, 2017 — A new report delves into one of the great uncertainties in predicting future climate: carbon uptake in ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Tectonically, the Mediterranean is extremely active and thus threatened by natural catastrophes. Over the last few years an international team of researchers has intensively studied the seafloor ... read more

New Study Will Help Find the Best Locations for Thermal Power Stations in Iceland

Jan. 19, 2017 — A new research article gives indications of the best places in Iceland to build thermal power ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — For decades, scientists have theorized that the movement of Earth's tectonic plates is driven largely by negative buoyancy created as they cool. New research, however, shows plate dynamics are ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — Earth's 2016 surface temperatures were the warmest since modern recordkeeping began in 1880, according to independent analyses by NASA and NOAA. This makes 2016 the third year in a row to set a ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — A new model reconstruction shows in exceptional detail the evolution of the Eurasian ice sheet during the last ice age. This can help scientists understand how climate and ocean warming can affect ... read more

Jan. 17, 2017 — Conditions suitable to support complex life may have developed in Earth's oceans -- and then faded -- more than a billion years before life truly took hold, a new study has ... read more

Jan. 13, 2017 — Even though carbon is one of the most-abundant elements on Earth, it is actually very difficult to determine how much of it exists below the surface in Earth's interior. Analysis of crystals ... read more

Jan. 12, 2017 — Copper is an essential element of our society with main uses in the field of electricity and electronics. About 70% of the copper comes from deposits formed several million years ago during events of ... read more

Jan. 11, 2017 — A team of seismologists analyzing the data from 671 earthquakes that occurred between 30 and 280 miles beneath the Earth's surface in the Pacific Plate as it descended into the Tonga Trench were ... read more

Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016