Geology News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:55am EDT

More Geology News
July 24, 2016

July 11, 2016 — For only the second time in a year, a NASA camera aboard the DSCOVR satellite captured a view of the moon as it moved in front of the sunlit side of Earth. From its position between the sun and ... read more

New Study Upends a Theory of How Earth's Mantle Flows

July 6, 2016 — A new study carried out on the floor of Pacific Ocean provides the most detailed view yet of how the earth's mantle flows beneath the ocean's tectonic plates. The findings appear to upend a ... read more

July 6, 2016 — The rate of a certain chemical change in DNA -- a key driver of spontaneous mutation and thus of evolution's pace -- increases rapidly with temperature, researchers have discovered. The ... read more

July 5, 2016 — It may not have taken much in the early solar system to set Earth and Venus on very different paths, according to researchers. A new paper points the way toward what scientists should consider as ... read more

Understanding Ice Loss in Earth’s Coldest Regions

June 30, 2016 — Scientists found that melt on the surface of glaciers in the McMurdo Dry Valley is rare, but internal melting is ... read more

June 30, 2016 — A research cruise this summer will address the massive technical challenges in exploring for sea-floor mineral deposits. This expedition will take place on board the RRS <em>James ... read more

June 29, 2016 — A study of how crystals moved in magma under the Mount St Helens volcano before the 1980 eruption may have signaled that an eruption was probable. Scientists say that similar measurements may ... read more

Plate Tectonics Without Jerking: Detailed Recordings of Earthquakes on Ultraslow Mid-Ocean Ridges

June 29, 2016 — The earthquake distribution on ultra-slow mid-ocean ridges differs fundamentally from other spreading zones. Water circulating at a depth of up to 15 kilometers leads to the formation of rock that ... read more

Asteroid Day Will Draw Eyes to the Stars, but the More Urgent Threat May Be Under Our Feet

June 29, 2016 — Knowing when an asteroid could impact Earth would be nice, but learning more about the impact a super volcano eruption at Yellowstone would have on civilization -- and how to be ready for it -- might ... read more

1815 UK Geologic Map Remains the Benchmark

June 28, 2016 — Although most people do not regularly appreciate it, geologic maps have been and remain a critical foundation of industrial society. They are used for myriad purposes, from locating and developing ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Two massive blob-like structures lie deep within the Earth, roughly on opposite sides of the planet. The two structures, each the size of a continent and 100 times taller than Mount Everest, sit on ... read more

June 24, 2016 — Earth's ancient magnetic field was significantly different than the present day field, originating from several poles rather than the familiar two, new research suggests. Then, shortly after our ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Until now, there has not been a way to forecast eruptions of restless volcanoes because of the constant seismic activity and gas and steam emissions. Volcanologists have shown that periods of seismic ... read more

94 Million-Year-Old Climate Change Event Holds Clues for Future

June 22, 2016 — A major climate event millions of years ago that caused substantial change to the ocean’s ecological systems may hold clues as to how the Earth will respond to future climate change, a researcher ... read more

Research Aims to Make Water-Cycle Modeling Data More Accessible

June 20, 2016 — Improved publication strategy for authors who use hydrological modeling software will make model data easier for readers to understand and reuse, according to an international team of ... read more

June 20, 2016 — By carefully analyzing the data recorded by the EarthScope Plate Boundary Observatory's GPS array researchers discovered nearly 125 mile-wide 'lobes' of uplift and subsidence -- a few ... read more

June 15, 2016 — An ancient space rock discovered in a Swedish quarry is a type of meteorite never before found on Earth, and likely a remnant of a massive asteroid collision 470 million years ago that sent debris ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Two giant sinkholes that sit between two West Texas oil patch towns are growing -- and two new ones appear to be lurking, say geophysicists. Satellite radar images reveal substantial ground movement ... read more

June 14, 2016 — Global emissions of ethane, an air pollutant and greenhouse gas, are on the uptick again, according to a new study. The air samples for the study were collected from more than 40 sites around the ... read more

June 13, 2016 — An abundance of aerosol particles in the atmosphere can increase the lifespans of large storm clouds by delaying rainfall, making the clouds grow larger and live longer, and producing more extreme ... read more

Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016