Geology News
May 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:12pm EDT

More Geology News
May 25, 2017

May 5, 2017 — Conventional theory holds that all of the early Earth's crustal ingredients were formed by volcanic activity. Now, however, earth scientists have published a theory with a novel twist: some of ... read more

Battered Earth Revived by Mineral Weathering After Mass Extinction

May 5, 2017 — Bedrock of Earth got severely beaten up by hothouse climate conditions during one of planet’s mass extinctions some 200 million years ago. But the process also allowed life to bounce ... read more

May 3, 2017 — A new study has solved the 168-year-old mystery of how the world's biggest and most active volcanoes formed in ... read more

May 3, 2017 — Large impacts were common on the early Earth and were likely much more important than previously thought in shaping our planet. The findings raise interest in the possibility of volcanism also ... read more

Wastewater Injection Rates May Have Been Key to Oklahoma's Largest Earthquake

May 2, 2017 — Changes to the rate of wastewater injection in disposal wells may have contributed to conditions that led to last year's Pawnee earthquake in Oklahoma, according to a new ... read more

May 2, 2017 — Using radioactive elements trapped in crystallized, cream-colored 'veins' in New Mexican rock, geologists have peered back in time more than 400,000 years to illuminate a record of ... read more

May 2, 2017 — Recent articles have declared that deposits of mineral raw materials (copper, zinc, etc.) will be exhausted within a few decades. An international team of scientists, however, has shown that this is ... read more

May 2, 2017 — A new analysis of an ice core from Dome Fuji in Antarctica, along with climate simulation results, shows a high degree of climate instability (that is, rapid climate fluctuations) within glacial ... read more

May 2, 2017 — The rift in the Larsen C ice shelf in Antarctica now has a second branch, which is moving in the direction of the ice front, researchers revealed after studying the latest satellite data. The main ... read more

May 1, 2017 — By examining the cooling rate of rocks that formed more than 10 miles beneath the Earth's surface, scientists have found that water probably penetrates deep into the crust and upper mantle at ... read more

May 1, 2017 — Engineers and scientists experimentally observe surface twisting in thrust faults that can momentarily rip open the earth's ... read more

Mining: Bacteria With Midas Touch for Efficient Gold Processing

Apr. 28, 2017 — Special 'nugget-producing' bacteria may hold the key to more efficient processing of gold ore, mine tailings and recycled electronics, as well as aid in exploration for new deposits, ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — Petrologists who recreated hot, high-pressure conditions from 60 miles below Earth's surface have found a new clue about a crucial event in the planet's deep ... read more

Apr. 25, 2017 — Scientists have created the most comprehensive and high-resolution atlas of the seafloor of both Polar ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — The Witwatersrand basin in South Africa hosts the largest known gold repository on Earth -- but how was it formed? Scientists were able to figure out how parts of the Earth's largest gold ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — A group of scientists offers photographic proof of climate change using images of retreating ... read more

Grand Challenges to Better Prepare for Volcanic Eruptions

Apr. 19, 2017 — Despite broad understanding of volcanoes, our ability to predict the timing, duration, type, size, and consequences of volcanic eruptions is limited, says a new report. To improve eruption ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — A new study shows that the San Andreas Fault continued to slip gradually for six to 12 years after the 2004 magnitude 6.0 Parkfield, Calif., earthquake, raising the issue of continued damage to ... read more

Apr. 17, 2017 — A postmortem of the first known case of 'river piracy' in modern times outlines how a retreating glacier in the Yukon diverted water from one river to another, leading to many downstream ... read more

Forecasting Large Earthquakes Along the Wasatch Front, Utah

Apr. 13, 2017 — There is a 43 percent probability that the Wasatch Front region in Utah will experience at least one magnitude 6.75 or greater earthquake, and a 57 percent probability of at least one magnitude 6.0 ... read more

Friday, May 5, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Monday, April 17, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017