New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Nutrition News

March 3, 2024

Top Headlines
 

New findings reveal that the body undergoes significant, systematic changes across multiple organs during prolonged periods of fasting. The results demonstrate evidence of health benefits beyond weight loss, but also show that any potentially ...
Exposure to more ready-to-eat food outlets linked to a higher risk of heart failure, in a new ...
New research provides compelling evidence that partially substituting animal with plant protein foods can increase life expectancy and decrease greenhouse gas emissions. Importantly, it also suggests that benefits depend on the type of animal ...
Your liver plays a vital role in your metabolism, the biological process which converts food into energy. We know that being overweight can negatively affect metabolic activity, but not exactly how. To better understand this, researchers compared ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:44pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

A new study has explored the link between diet and cognitive function, and the results reveal that a protein-rich breakfast can increase satiety and improve concentration. This is important knowledge ...

A new study has laid the groundwork for a future intervention designed to help caregivers establish a safe and workable mealtime routine for people with dementia living at ...

New research examined how often people experiencing binge eating are also using cannabis recreationally, and whether patients who use cannabis experience more severe eating disorder symptoms or ...

The capacity of intestinal stem cells to maintain cellular balance in the gut decreases upon aging. Researchers have discovered a new mechanism of action between the nutrient adaptation of intestinal ...

Contrary to popular belief, the benefits of physical activity do not outweigh the risks of cardiovascular disease associated with drinking sugar-sweetened beverages, according to a new ...

Research shows that phthalates, a class of chemicals associated with plastics, can shed from the wrapping, packaging and even from plastic gloves worn by food handlers into food. Once consumed during ...

Males born to obese women are more likely to be overweight at birth and develop metabolic complications in later life, including liver disease and ...

Having a high dietary intake of fish and vegetables at 1 year of age, and a low intake of sugar beverages, seems to protect against inflammatory bowel disease. These are the findings of a study with ...

Scientists may have discovered a new way in which fasting helps reduce inflammation -- a potentially damaging side-effect of the body's immune system that underlies a number of chronic ...

Researchers have observed rapid and distinct immune system changes in a small study of people who switched to a vegan or a ketogenic (also called keto) diet. Scientists closely monitored various ...

As the world's population increases, cultivated or lab-grown meat -- animal muscle and fat cells grown in laboratory conditions -- has emerged as a potential way to satisfy future protein needs. ...

A new qualitative study highlights the negative interpersonal and psychological consequences associated with 'yo-yo dieting,' also known as weight cycling. The work underscores how toxic ...

Researchers found that when mice were fed a high-fat diet, mitochondria within their fat cells broke apart and were less able to burn fat, leading to weight gain. They also found they could reverse ...

A new study explored whether practicing self-compassion -- or treating oneself with the same care and kindness that people typically offer to their loved ones -- helps people become more resilient to ...

A team of scientists has made an important discovery that could lead to a novel treatment for obesity and obesity-associated diseases or ...

Across 21 licensed premises in England, removing the largest individual serving size of wine from the menu reduced the volume of wine sold, according to a new ...

A new study has unraveled the internal neural wiring of separate fat and sugar craving pathways. However, combining these pathways overly triggers a desire to eat more than ...

What did people eat on the west coast of Scandinavia 10,000 years ago? A new study of the DNA in a chewing gum shows that deer, trout and hazelnuts were on the diet. It also shows that one of the ...

Approximately one in three deaths in the U.S. is caused by cardiovascular disease, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. New research indicates that splitting the ...

Restricting calories is known to improve health and increase lifespan, but much of how it does so remains a mystery, especially in regard to how it protects the brain. Scientists have now uncovered a ...

Thursday, February 15, 2024
Tuesday, February 13, 2024
Monday, February 12, 2024
Thursday, February 8, 2024
Wednesday, February 7, 2024
Tuesday, February 6, 2024
Wednesday, January 31, 2024
Tuesday, January 30, 2024
Monday, January 29, 2024
Thursday, January 25, 2024
Thursday, January 18, 2024
Wednesday, January 17, 2024
Thursday, January 11, 2024
Tuesday, January 9, 2024
Monday, January 8, 2024
Wednesday, January 3, 2024
Tuesday, January 2, 2024
Thursday, December 28, 2023
Thursday, December 21, 2023
Monday, December 18, 2023
Friday, December 15, 2023
Thursday, December 14, 2023
Wednesday, December 13, 2023
Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Monday, December 11, 2023
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Tuesday, December 5, 2023
Monday, December 4, 2023
Friday, December 1, 2023
Thursday, November 30, 2023
Wednesday, November 29, 2023
Tuesday, November 28, 2023
Monday, November 27, 2023
Wednesday, November 22, 2023
Tuesday, November 21, 2023
Monday, November 20, 2023
Friday, November 17, 2023
Thursday, November 16, 2023
Wednesday, November 15, 2023
Tuesday, November 14, 2023
Monday, November 13, 2023
Thursday, November 9, 2023
Tuesday, November 7, 2023
Thursday, November 2, 2023
Wednesday, November 1, 2023
Tuesday, October 31, 2023
Monday, October 30, 2023
Friday, October 27, 2023
Thursday, October 26, 2023
Wednesday, October 25, 2023
Tuesday, October 24, 2023
Friday, October 20, 2023
Thursday, October 19, 2023
Wednesday, October 18, 2023
Monday, October 16, 2023
Friday, October 13, 2023
Thursday, October 12, 2023
Wednesday, October 11, 2023
Tuesday, October 10, 2023
Monday, October 9, 2023
Wednesday, October 4, 2023
Monday, October 2, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Friday, September 22, 2023
Thursday, September 21, 2023
Wednesday, September 20, 2023