NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Nutrition News
February 28, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 10:30am EST

More Nutrition News
February 28, 2017

Effects of a Poor Diet During Pregnancy May Be Reversed in Female Adolescent Offspring

Feb. 24, 2017 — Here's some good news if you are female: Research shows that in mice, what is eaten during adolescence or childhood development may alter long-term behavior and learning, and can even ... read more

Early Birds May Make Healthier Food Choices Than Night Owls

Feb. 23, 2017 — Researchers looked at data from nearly 2,000 randomly chosen people to determine if their circadian or biological clock rhythm (chronotype) affected what they ate and at what time. Clear differences ... read more

Gastric Balloon Is New Weight Loss Option

Feb. 23, 2017 — The Food and Drug Administration has approved another option to treat obesity: a grapefruit-size gastric balloon that takes up as much as half the volume of the ... read more

Fighting Malnutrition With Education

Feb. 22, 2017 — Malnutrition manifests itself as both over- and under-nutrition, and is currently not diagnosed and treated in time. It leads to serious health problems, including the estimated 60 percent of ... read more

Feb. 21, 2017 — A product of digesting a micronutrient found in soy may hold the key to why some people seem to derive a heart-protective benefit from eating soy foods, while others do ... read more

Likelihood of Dieting Success Lies Within Your Tweets

Feb. 21, 2017 — There is a direct link between a person's attitude on social media and the likelihood that their dieting efforts will succeed. In fact, researchers have now determined that dieting success ­-- ... read more

Exercise Most Important Lifestyle Change to Help Reduce Risk of Breast Cancer Recurrence

Feb. 21, 2017 — For patients with breast cancer, physical activity and avoiding weight gain are the most important lifestyle choices that can reduce the risk of cancer recurrence and death, according to an ... read more

Mediterranean Diet May Decrease Pain Associated With Obesity

Feb. 21, 2017 — Eating a Mediterranean diet could decrease the chances an overweight person will experience regular pain, new research ... read more

Long-Term Heavy Drinking May Age Arteries Over Time

Feb. 20, 2017 — Heavy alcohol drinking habits over the years may prematurely age arteries, especially in men, putting them at an increased risk for heart disease, compared to consistently moderate ... read more

Feb. 20, 2017 — If you know healthy eating is important for your kids, but you also feel like it's easier said than done, you're not alone. Many parents may not be following the recipe for encouraging ... read more

Child Obesity '35-40 Percent' Inherited from Parents

Feb. 20, 2017 — Around 35-40 percent of a child's BMI -- how fat or thin they are -- is inherited from their parents, a new study has ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — The community of microorganisms that resides in the gut, known as the microbiome, has been shown to work in tandem with the genes of a host organism to regulate insulin secretion, a key variable in ... read more

Limiting Salt Consumption Lowers Blood Pressure in Patients With Kidney Disease

Feb. 17, 2017 — Receiving advice on limiting salt consumption helped kidney disease patients lower their systolic blood pressure by an average of 11 mmHg, research concludes. Limiting salt intake also reduced excess ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — Scientists have known for decades that drastically restricting certain nutrients without causing malnutrition prolongs health and lifespan in a wide range of species, but the molecular mechanisms ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — The global proliferation of overweight and obese people and people with type 2 diabetes is often associated with the consumption of saturated fats. Scientists have found that even the one-off ... read more

B Vitamins Reduce Schizophrenia Symptoms, Study Finds

Feb. 16, 2017 — A review of worldwide studies has found that add-on treatment with high-dose B vitamins -- including B6, B8 and B12 -- can significantly reduce symptoms of schizophrenia more than standard treatments ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Vitamin D supplements protect against acute respiratory infections including colds and flu, according to a study. The study provides the most robust evidence yet that vitamin D has benefits beyond ... read more

Feb. 16, 2017 — Results of a randomized clinical trial shows a periodic, five-day fasting diet designed by a esearcher safely reduced the risk factors for heart disease, cancer, diabetes and other age-related ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — The view that males just pass on genetic material and not much else to their offspring has now been debunked. Instead, new research found a father's diet can affect their son's ability to ... read more

Increased Levels of Active Vitamin D Can Help to Optimize Muscle Strength

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers have shown that increasing the levels of active vitamin D can help to optimize muscle strength in ... read more

Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017