Origin of Life News
February 14, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:29am EST

More Origin of Life News
February 14, 2016

Feb. 5, 2016 — Sorry, Explorers Club, but woolly mammoth is no longer on the menu. Neither is the giant ground ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — When modern humans met Neanderthals in Europe and the two species began interbreeding many thousands of years ago, the exchange left humans with gene variations that have increased the ability of ... read more

Jan. 4, 2016 — Oxygen is crucial for the existence of animals on Earth. But, an increase in oxygen did not apparently lead to the rise of the first animals. New research shows that 1.4 billion years ago there was ... read more

Dec. 28, 2015 — Scientists have sequenced first ancient Irish human genomes, demonstrating that the genomes show unequivocal evidence for mass migrations into Ireland. These genetic influxes are likely to have ... read more

Serpentinization: Nutrients of Biological Organisms in Hydrothermal Fields

Dec. 23, 2015 — Serpentinization is potentially significant for the origin and evolution of life during the early history of Earth and possibly on other planets. The dependence of starting materials and their ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — The diversity of mammals on Earth exploded straight after the dinosaur extinction event, according to new research. New analysis of the fossil record shows that placental mammals, the group that ... read more

Dec. 18, 2015 — New digital techniques have allowed researchers to predict structural evolution of the skull in the lineage of Homo sapiens and Neanderthals, in an effort to fill in blanks in the fossil record, and ... read more

Dec. 18, 2015 — It took 100 million years for oxygen levels in the oceans and atmosphere to increase to the level that allowed the explosion of animal life on Earth about 600 million years ago, according to a ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — An evolutionary biologist has analyzed political opposition to evolution and found it has evolved. The researcher analyzed the text in anti-evolution legislation using software for building genetic ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — A thigh bone found in China suggests an ancient species of human thought to be long extinct may have survived until as recently as the end of the last Ice Age. The 14,000 year old bone -- found among ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — A protein that detects hormones in smoke has a much wider and more ancient role in the plant kingdom – detecting microscopic soil fungi which colonise plants and feed nutrients to their cells. This ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — Plant biologists agree that it all began with green algae. At some point in our planet's history, the common ancestor of trees and flowers developed an alternating life cycle -- allowing their ... read more

Fossils Enrich Our Understanding of Evolution

Dec. 16, 2015 — Our understanding of evolution can be enriched by adding fossil species to analyses of living animals, as shown by scientists. The research also highlights that different methods can be crucial in ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — A landmark new study explores the fascinating, little-known natural history of the face mite species Demodex folliculorum, using genetic testing to link the microscopic animal's evolution to our ... read more

Dec. 11, 2015 — The evolution of modern birds was greatly shaped by the history of our planet's geography and climate. New research finds that birds arose in what is now South America around 90 million years ... read more

Dec. 7, 2015 — A new study describes for the first time the developmental processes that differentiate Neanderthal facial skeletons from those of modern ... read more

Dec. 4, 2015 — By examining rocks at the bottom of ancient oceans, an international group of researchers has revealed that arsenic concentrations in the oceans have varied greatly over time. But also that in the ... read more

Dec. 1, 2015 — Who came first – sponges or comb jellies? A new study reaffirms that sponges are the oldest animal phylum – and restores the classical view of early animal evolution, which recent molecular ... read more

Why Europe Will Eventually Turn Cold

Dec. 1, 2015 — While the politicians are taking part in global climate talks in Paris, a group of scientists traced solar activity over the past thousand years and made the forecast to the year ... read more

Dec. 1, 2015 — A group of researchers have been the first to find the genetic material of a human virus from old human bones. The study analyzed the skeletal remains of Second World War casualties from the ... read more

Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015