Origin of Life News
May 6, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:02pm EDT

More Origin of Life News
May 6, 2016

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research examining the DNA of North American mammoths challenges the way we categorize a species. Several species of mammoth are thought to have roamed across the North American continent. The ... read more

Ancient DNA Reveals Evolution of Giant Bears in the Americas

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers are shedding new light on the evolution of what are believed to be the largest bears that ever walked the ... read more

DNA Sat Nav Uncovers Ancient Ashkenaz, Predicts Where Yiddish Originated

Apr. 19, 2016 — The origin of Yiddish, the millennium old language of Ashkenazic Jews, is something which linguists have questioned for decades. Yiddish is thought to have been invented by Iranian and Ashkenazic ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Latest analysis shows that human limbs share a genetic programme with the gills of cartilaginous fishes such as sharks and skates, providing evidence to support a century-old theory on the origin of ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — A new study presents evidence that the rise of atmospheric oxygenation did indeed occur 2.4-2.1 billion years ago. It also shows that biological usage of copper became prominent after the so called ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Physicists report that temperature gradients within pores in rock could have separated primitive biopolymers on the basis of their sequences -- a vital precondition for the formation of ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Scientists have dramatically expanded the tree of life, which depicts the variety and evolution of life on Earth, to account for thousands of new microscopic life forms discovered over the past 15 ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A review of latest genetic evidence suggests infectious diseases are tens of thousands of years older than previously thought, and that they could jump between species of 'hominin.' ... read more

When Life Returned After a Volcanic Mass Extinction

Apr. 8, 2016 — A new study used fossils and mercury isotopes from volcanic gas deposited in ancient proto-Pacific Ocean sediment deposits in Nevada to determine when life recovered following the end-Triassic mass ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have for the first time shown that ribose, a sugar that is one of the building blocks of genetic material in living organisms, may have formed in cometary ices. They propose the first ... read more

Primate Evolution in the Fast Lane

Apr. 7, 2016 — The pace of evolution is typically measured in millions of years, as random, individual mutations accumulate over generations, but researchers have uncovered a new mechanism for mutation in primates ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — The Neanderthal counterpart of the human Y chromosome, or male sex chromosome, appears to have died out. Why this happened is up for ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — Fruit flies in one lab happily eat a noni fruit that is normally toxic to fly species. Researchers there are probing the genetic basis for this ability, which may explain how insects adapt to new ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — The first large-scale study of ancient DNA from early American people has confirmed the devastating impact of European colonization on the Indigenous American populations of the ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Ten million years ago, a green and black snake lay coiled in the Spanish undergrowth. Once, paleontologists would have been limited by its colorless fossil remains, but now they know what the snake ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — A new study finds that the Ice-Age diet -- a high-protein intake of large animals -- triggered physical changes in Neanderthals, namely a larger ribcage and a wider ... read more

Mar. 29, 2016 — Using advanced sequencing technologies, anthropologists demonstrate that human DNA can be significantly enriched from dental calculus (calcified dental plaque) enabling the reconstruction of whole ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — A new analysis of the prehistoric origin of malaria suggests that it evolved in insects at least 100 million years ago, and the first vertebrate hosts of this disease were probably reptiles, which at ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — Paleontologists have found fossilized multicellular marine algae, or seaweed, dating back more than 555 million years, ranking among the oldest examples of multicellular life on ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — Think your DNA is all human? Think again. And a new discovery suggests it's even less human than scientists previously thought. Nineteen new pieces of non-human DNA -- left by viruses that first ... read more

Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015