NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Energy and Resources News
September 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:14pm EDT

More Energy and Resources News
September 29, 2016

Nine Innovative Approaches That Utilities Are Using to Plan for Increased Rooftop Solar

Sep. 20, 2016 — A new report surveys utility planning practices from roughly 30 studies across the United States. The rapid growth of rooftop solar has not been distributed equally across U.S. utility territories, ... read more

Turning Ubiquitous Lignin Into High-Value Chemicals

Sep. 16, 2016 — Abundant, chock full of energy and bound so tightly that the only way to release its energy is through combustion — lignin has frustrated scientists for years. With the help of an unusual soil ... read more

When Hackers Turn out the Lights

Sep. 16, 2016 — The development of the smart power grid and the smart meter in our homes to accompany it brings several benefits, such as improved delivery and more efficient billing. Conversely, any digital, ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new type of inverter device with greater efficiency in a smaller, lighter package -- which should improve the fuel-efficiency and range of hybrid and electric ... read more

Assessing Health Risks from Oil and Gas Operations

Sep. 15, 2016 — A new study of air pollutant emissions from northern Front Range oil and gas operations has been presented to state officials in ... read more

Food Waste Could Store Solar, Wind Energy

Sep. 15, 2016 — Saving up excess solar and wind energy for times when the sun is down or the air is still requires a storage device. Batteries get the most attention as a promising solution although pumped ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — A new type of inverter device has been developed with greater efficiency in a smaller, lighter package – which will improve the fuel-efficiency and range of hybrid and electric ... read more

Sep. 15, 2016 — A fundamental step forward has been taken in advancing Li-air through the development of mixed metal catalyst that could lead to more efficient electrode reactions in the ... read more

Using Nature's Own Solvents for the Preparation of Pure Lignin

Sep. 15, 2016 — Lignin can now be efficiently and cost-effectively separated from sawdust, by using eutectic solvents. A research group has developed solvents using which 50% of the lignin from wood can be extracted ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — Scientists have made an important breakthrough which could lead to the design of better fuel cells. They demonstrate how they synthesized nanometer-sized cage molecules that can be used to transport ... read more

New Tools Assess the Future of Wind Power

Sep. 13, 2016 — The largest expert survey yet on any energy technology, in this case wind energy, has been completed by researchers. Wind power costs are expected to continue falling for the next several decades, ... read more

Hierarchical Control, Energy Balancing Is Obligatory for Storage Systems in Modern Grids

Sep. 13, 2016 — A new technology has been developed for the decentralized control of microgrids, especially in the energy storage section, and adopted a new standard for hierarchical control in the system. The ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — Nanoengineers have created the world's largest database of elemental crystal surfaces and shapes to date. Dubbed Crystalium, this new open-source database can help researchers design new ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Fuel cells have long held promise as power sources, but low efficiency has created obstacles to realizing that promise. Researchers have identified the active form of an iron-containing catalyst for ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Current thermal energy storage systems for solar power plants rely on materials of low energy density and thermal conductivity, requiring more material at greater cost to meet storage requirements. ... read more

Couple Solar Panels With Lead-Acid Batteries to Increase Electricity Self-Sufficiency in Households

Sep. 12, 2016 — Couple solar panels with lead-acid batteries to increase electricity self-sufficiency in households, say investigators. Their simulations reveal that the maximum rate of self-sufficiency of solar ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Scientists have developed the first complete and compact design for an artificial photosynthesis facility. This is a decisive step towards applying the technology. The concept is flexible both with ... read more

Sep. 9, 2016 — Scientists have developed numerous models to predict how much fuel remains inside Earth to drive its engines -- and estimates vary widely -- but the true amount remains unknown. In a new article, a ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — To understand how molecules undergo light-driven chemical transformations, scientists need to be able to follow the atoms and electrons within the energized molecule as it gains and loses energy. In ... read more

Taking the Momentum out of Vibrations

Sep. 8, 2016 — Diesel engines vibrate. This produces tremendous stress on the components of ships. Adaptronic systems effectively reduce these vibrations. At the maritime trade fair researchers are presenting a ... read more

Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016