advertisement

Mathematics News

October 1, 2023

Top Headlines
 

New research has used machine learning to find the properties of atomic pieces of geometry, in pioneering work that could drive the development of new results in ...
Researchers have determined how to build reliable machine learning models that can understand complex equations in real-world situations while using far less training data than is normally ...
A major new study has revealed that American teenagers are more likely than any other nationality to brag about their math ...
Scientists have confirmed that human brains are naturally wired to perform advanced calculations, much like a high-powered computer, to make sense of the world through a process known as Bayesian ...
advertisement

Latest Headlines
updated 7:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

We humans can be a scary acquaintance for whales in the wild. This includes marine biologists tagging them with measuring devices to understand them better. These experiences can make whales behave ...

Children do better at maths when music is a key part of their lessons, an analysis of almost 50 years of research on the topic has ...

Researchers created a generic framework that enables an engineer or scientist to evaluate the effectiveness of defense schemes that seek to limit a hacker's ability to learn secret information ...

New research from Dartmouth takes a fresh look at game theory to show that being uncooperative can help people on the weaker side of a power dynamic achieve a more equal outcome -- and even inflict ...

Children who receive high-quality child care as babies, toddlers and preschoolers do better in science, technology, engineering and math through high school, and that link is stronger among children ...

Researchers developed a machine-learning technique that can autonomously drive a car or fly a plane through a very difficult 'stabilize-avoid' scenario, in which the vehicle must stabilize ...

advertisement

Researchers are trying to make the process more efficient and definitive by using artificial intelligence, combined with a classic mathematical method for quantifying web-like networks, to determine ...

Researchers explore the role of uneven coffee extraction using a simple mathematical model. They split the coffee into two regions to examine whether uneven flow does in fact make weaker espresso. ...

Researchers wanted to understand precisely how blackworms execute tangling and ultrafast untangling movements for a myriad of biological functions. They researched the topology of the tangles. Their ...

ChatGPT faced off against students on accounting assessments. Students scored an overall average of 76.7%, compared to ChatGPT's score of 47.4%. On a 11.3% of questions, ChatGPT scored higher ...

In the quantum world particles can instantaneously know about each other's state, even when separated by large distances. This is known as nonlocality. Now, A research group has produced some ...

A researcher has solved a nearly 60-year-old game theory dilemma called the wall pursuit game, with implications for better reasoning about autonomous systems such as driver-less ...

advertisement

Mathematical research brings new understanding of crowd formation and ...

A new study finds that high school students identify more with math if they see their math teacher treating everyone in the class equitably, especially in racially diverse schools. While the ...

Researchers test cognitive abilities of the language model ...

Octopus arms coordinate nearly infinite degrees of freedom to perform complex movements such as reaching, grasping, fetching, crawling, and swimming. How these animals achieve such a wide range of ...

Theoretical chemists have developed a theory that can predict the threshold at which quantum dynamics switches from 'orderly' to 'random,' as shown through research using ...

Using artificial intelligence (AI), researchers can now follow cell movement across time and space. The method could be very helpful for developing more effective cancer ...

A new study finds that a 200-year-old technique called Fourier analysis can reveal crucial information about how the form of artificial intelligence called deep neural networks (DNN) learn to perform ...

If scaled up successfully, the team's new system could help answer questions about certain kinds of superconductors and other unusual states of ...

Thursday, July 6, 2023
Thursday, June 29, 2023
Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Tuesday, June 27, 2023
Thursday, June 15, 2023
Monday, June 12, 2023
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Tuesday, May 9, 2023
Thursday, April 27, 2023
Thursday, April 20, 2023
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
Tuesday, March 14, 2023
Friday, March 3, 2023
Wednesday, March 1, 2023
Friday, February 24, 2023
Thursday, February 23, 2023
Thursday, February 16, 2023
Monday, February 13, 2023
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Monday, January 16, 2023
Wednesday, December 28, 2022
Monday, December 12, 2022
Thursday, December 8, 2022
Monday, November 28, 2022
Friday, November 18, 2022
Monday, October 31, 2022
Thursday, October 27, 2022
Thursday, October 20, 2022
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
Monday, October 3, 2022
Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Tuesday, September 20, 2022
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Tuesday, August 30, 2022
Monday, August 29, 2022
Thursday, August 11, 2022
Wednesday, August 10, 2022
Thursday, August 4, 2022
Tuesday, July 19, 2022
Friday, July 1, 2022
Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021