New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Mathematics News

March 3, 2024

Top Headlines
 

Human coexistence depends on cooperation. Individuals have different motivations and reasons to collaborate, resulting in social dilemmas, such as the well-known prisoner's dilemma. Scientists now present a new mathematical principle that helps to ...
The tone and tuning of musical instruments has the power to manipulate our appreciation of harmony, new research shows. The findings challenge centuries of Western music theory and encourage greater ...
Engineers have developed a new chip that uses light waves, rather than electricity, to perform the complex math essential to training AI. The chip has the potential to radically accelerate the processing speed of computers while also reducing their ...
The springtime emergence of vast swarms of cicadas can be explained by a mathematical model of collective decision-making with similarities to models describing stock market ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:18pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Intelligent tutoring systems for math problems helped pupils remain or even increase their performance during the coronavirus pandemic, according to a new study. Researchers analyzed data from five ...

A research team has provided irrefutable proof that certain spherical vortices exist in a stable ...

New research has used machine learning to find the properties of atomic pieces of geometry, in pioneering work that could drive the development of new results in ...

Researchers have determined how to build reliable machine learning models that can understand complex equations in real-world situations while using far less training data than is normally ...

A major new study has revealed that American teenagers are more likely than any other nationality to brag about their math ...

Scientists have confirmed that human brains are naturally wired to perform advanced calculations, much like a high-powered computer, to make sense of the world through a process known as Bayesian ...

Researchers have developed a new simulation model, which can predict flooding during an ongoing disaster more quickly and accurately than currently ...

Synchronicity is all around us, but it is poorly understood. Computer scientists have now developed new tools to understand how human and natural networks fall in and out of ...

Exciting a brain region using electrical noise stimulation can help improve mathematical learning in those who struggle with the subject, according to a new ...

Researchers have implemented a quantum-based method to observe a quantum effect in the way light-absorbing molecules interact with incoming photons. Known as a conical intersection, the effect puts ...

Researchers demonstrate how mathematical modeling combined with dynamic biomarkers can be used to characterize metastatic disease and identify appropriate therapeutic approaches to improve patient ...

An interdisciplinary team of mathematicians, engineers, physicists, and medical scientists has uncovered an unexpected link between pure mathematics and genetics, that reveals key insights into the ...

Structural engineers are familiar with seventeenth-century scientist Robert Hooke's theory that a hanging chain will mirror the shape of an upstanding rigid arch. However, new research now shows ...

Researchers show that computer programs commonly used to determine if a text was written by artificial intelligence tend to falsely label articles written by non-native language speakers as ...

Board games based on numbers, like Monopoly, Othello and Chutes and Ladders, make young children better at math, according to a comprehensive review of research published on the topic over the last ...

We humans can be a scary acquaintance for whales in the wild. This includes marine biologists tagging them with measuring devices to understand them better. These experiences can make whales behave ...

A solution for temporal asymmetry -- or entropy production -- in thermodynamics has been developed to further our understanding of the behavior of biological systems, machine learning, and AI tools. ...

Children do better at maths when music is a key part of their lessons, an analysis of almost 50 years of research on the topic has ...

Researchers created a generic framework that enables an engineer or scientist to evaluate the effectiveness of defense schemes that seek to limit a hacker's ability to learn secret information ...

New research from Dartmouth takes a fresh look at game theory to show that being uncooperative can help people on the weaker side of a power dynamic achieve a more equal outcome -- and even inflict ...

Tuesday, February 27, 2024
Friday, September 29, 2023
Monday, September 25, 2023
Tuesday, September 19, 2023
Friday, September 15, 2023
Thursday, September 14, 2023
Tuesday, September 12, 2023
Friday, September 8, 2023
Thursday, August 31, 2023
Monday, August 28, 2023
Tuesday, August 15, 2023
Tuesday, August 1, 2023
Tuesday, July 11, 2023
Monday, July 10, 2023
Friday, July 7, 2023
Thursday, July 6, 2023
Wednesday, July 5, 2023
Thursday, June 29, 2023
Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Tuesday, June 27, 2023
Thursday, June 15, 2023
Monday, June 12, 2023
Thursday, June 1, 2023
Tuesday, May 9, 2023
Thursday, April 27, 2023
Thursday, April 20, 2023
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
Tuesday, March 14, 2023
Friday, March 3, 2023
Wednesday, March 1, 2023
Friday, February 24, 2023
Thursday, February 23, 2023
Thursday, February 16, 2023
Monday, February 13, 2023
Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Monday, January 16, 2023
Wednesday, December 28, 2022
Monday, December 12, 2022
Thursday, December 8, 2022
Monday, November 28, 2022
Friday, November 18, 2022
Monday, October 31, 2022
Thursday, October 27, 2022
Thursday, October 20, 2022
Tuesday, October 11, 2022
Monday, October 3, 2022
Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Tuesday, September 20, 2022
Wednesday, September 7, 2022
Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Tuesday, August 30, 2022
Monday, August 29, 2022
Thursday, August 11, 2022
Wednesday, August 10, 2022
Thursday, August 4, 2022
Tuesday, July 19, 2022
Friday, July 1, 2022
Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022