Mathematics News
May 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:51pm EDT

More Mathematics News
May 29, 2016

Scientists Create Computational Tool for Greater Understanding of Metabolic Network

May 20, 2016 — Researchers present the first genome-scale reconstruction of the C. elegans metabolic network and show that scientists can use mathematical simulation to convert bacterial diet into C. elegans ... read more

Girls from Progressive Societies Do Better at Math, Study Finds

May 13, 2016 — New research shows that the performance gap between girls and boys is far less pronounced in societies that hold progressive and egalitarian views about the role of ... read more

Evaluating Patient Files Without Violating Privacy

May 9, 2016 — Patient files may contain vital hints for detecting diseases at an early stage. However, evaluating them would violate patient privacy. This is where mathematics can help, say ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have designed an equilibrium model to demonstrate the elastic stresses and suction pressure distribution between a soft hydrogel contact lens and an eye. The model allows arbitrary ... read more

Does Learning Improve When Every Student Gets a Laptop?

Apr. 26, 2016 — Schools that provide each student with a laptop computer, as well as the appropriate support for both students and teachers, see significant improvement in academic achievement, a new paper ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — Physicists have developed new software for the life sciences. The software supports the evaluation of microscope-based observations of cell behaviour on micropatterned ... read more

Teaching and Learning the Gamified Way

Apr. 6, 2016 — Gamification is an application of game mechanics and game design techniques in learning and teaching, making the process to be more interesting, interactive and ... read more

Mar. 26, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a so far unknown formation mechanism of cavitation bubbles by means of a model calculation. In a new article, they describe how oil-repellent and oil-attracting surfaces ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — With their special microscopes, experimental physicists can already observe single molecules. However, unlike conventional light microscopes, the raw image data from some ultra-high resolution ... read more

Computer-Assisted Approaches as Decision Support Systems Serving to Combat the Zika Virus

Mar. 18, 2016 — No drug is known to treat ZIKV infection; neither do we have any vaccine which can prevent the spread of it. While scientists are trying to cope with the situation, computer-assisted approaches may ... read more

Maths Could Help Search and Rescue Ships Sail More Safely in Heavy Seas

Mar. 18, 2016 — A unique new computer model built on highly complex mathematics could make it possible to design safer versions of the ‘fast ships’ widely used in search and rescue, anti-drugs, anti-piracy and ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Machine learning systems are everywhere. They predict the weather, forecast earthquakes, provide recommendations based on the books and movies we like, and even apply the brakes on our cars when ... read more

Students as Teachers Effective in STEM Subjects

Mar. 17, 2016 — In the traditional college learning structure, students enter the classroom and place their focus on the classroom instructor. But researchers are finding that higher levels of academic success may ... read more

Now Researchers Can Follow the Hectic Life Inside a Cell

Mar. 14, 2016 — Living cells are constantly on the move. They move around and divide, and they are responsible for transporting molecules around inside themselves. Now researchers have developed a method that makes ... read more

Using Statistics to Predict Rogue Waves

Mar. 10, 2016 — Scientists have developed a mathematical model to derive the probability of extreme waves. This model uses multi-point statistics, the joint statistics of multiple points in time or space, to predict ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — Two mathematicians have published a new paper that advances the art -- or shall we say, the math -- of describing a wave. The study explores what happens when a regular wave pattern has small ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — The first computer simulation that grows realistic forests down to the branches, leaves and roots of individual trees has been developed by scientists. They are using the simulation to determine how ... read more

Feb. 23, 2016 — The classic stethoscope has entered the digital age. Medical researchers have created a computer program that connects to an electronic stethoscope to classify lung sounds into five common diagnostic ... read more

Feb. 22, 2016 — Mathematical models are used to predict just about everything from traffic and weather to plant metabolism and industrial biotechnology. However, while they are valuable tools in a broad range of ... read more

Method to Safely Share Password Data

Feb. 22, 2016 — An unfortunate reality for cybersecurity researchers is that real-world data for their research too often comes via a security breach. Now computer scientists have devised a way to let organizations ... read more

Friday, May 20, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Saturday, March 26, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Friday, August 28, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015