Mathematics News
August 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:49am EDT

More Mathematics News
August 29, 2016

Extension Theory of Operators in Krein, Pontryagin Spaces, Applications

Aug. 18, 2016 — A new study investigates and generalizes several well-known results from Extension theory of operators. In a new doctoral dissertation, a researcher has been able to improve a couple of classical ... read more

The Math of Earthquakes

Aug. 18, 2016 — A computational science doctoral student has successfully tied a new mathematical modeling process to the study of ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Researchers have analyzed a new mathematical model to investigate how a population's spatial structure affects the evolution of ... read more

Kindergarteners' Mathematics Success Hinges on Preschool Skills

Aug. 4, 2016 — Researchers have discovered that preschoolers who better process words associated with numbers and understand the quantities associated with these words are more likely to have success with math when ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Pipelines that carry capsules containing almost any type of freight over long distances have the potential to become an important, cost-effective and environmentally friendly form of transportation. ... read more

Collective Hum: Buzzing Midges Inspire New Swarm Theory

July 21, 2016 — A team of researchers based in Israel and the US has found a mathematical resemblance between swarm dynamics and gravitational interactions. The study could provide a big leap forward in ... read more

Surprising Qualities of Insulator Ring Surfaces

June 29, 2016 — Topological insulators behave like insulators at their core and allow good conductivity on their surface. They owe their characteristics to a new quantum state within the material discovered in 2007 ... read more

June 28, 2016 — A math professor has developed a scientific model to address the various ways the Zika virus proliferates. The study reveals that mosquito control should remain the most important mitigation method ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A scientist has helped develop an innovative mathematical model for exploring why some individuals evolve to be genetically programmed to be nice, while others stay ... read more

Should First-Year College Students Assessed as Needing Remedial Math Take College-Level Quantitative Courses Instead?

June 24, 2016 — Policies placing first-year college students assessed as needing remedial math directly into college-level quantitative courses, with additional support, can increase student success, according to a ... read more

June 23, 2016 — Math, biology and nanotechnology are becoming strange, yet effective bed-fellows in the fight against cancer treatment resistance. Researchers have engineered a revolutionary new approach to cancer ... read more

New Statistical Approach Will Help Researchers Better Determine Cause-Effect

June 21, 2016 — Researchers have developed a new statistical technique that can help scientists determine causation of effects they are studying. This method can help scientists advance research that otherwise would ... read more

June 21, 2016 — Blackjack players who hold high-value cards tend to glance fleetingly to the right, whereas those with a lower-value hand do so spontaneously to the left. This is according to research on aspects of ... read more

June 21, 2016 — An international team of scientists has developed a relatively simple mathematical explanation for the rogue ocean waves that can develop seemingly out of nowhere to sink ships and overwhelm oil ... read more

A Mathematical Analysis of Urban Traffic Models Clarifies Dispute Over Which Approach Is Best

June 17, 2016 — A long-running debate among traffic engineers has been resolved by researchers who have discovered that two seemingly very different models of traffic flow in cities actually have similar underlying ... read more

Why People Help Distant Kin

June 15, 2016 — Natural selection favors people who help close kin at their own expense: It can increase the odds the family’s genes are passed to future generations. But why assist distant relatives? Mathematical ... read more

June 15, 2016 — Although math skills are considered notoriously hard to improve, researchers boosted kindergarteners' arithmetic performance simply by exercising their intuitive number sense with a quick ... read more

Why Teaching Math Is Child's Play

June 14, 2016 — The natural process of teaching mathematics to one another gives kids the chance to explore and construct a deeper understanding of their social and physical worlds, a new study ... read more

Improving Math in Sixth Graders

June 14, 2016 — Sixth grade students with lower mathematical ability perform better on complex arithmetic problems if they write down their ... read more

New Mathematics Accurately Captures Liquids, Surfaces Moving in Synergy

June 10, 2016 — A new mathematical framework allows researchers to capture fluid dynamics coupled to interface motion at unprecedented detail. The framework, called "interfacial gauge methods" rewrites the ... read more

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Saturday, March 26, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015