NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
September 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:37am EDT

More Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
September 28, 2016

Apple, Lettuce Can Remedy Garlic Breath

Sep. 23, 2016 — Garlic -- consumers either love or hate the taste, but one thing is for certain, no one likes it when the scent of it sticks around on their breath. Now, garlic lovers may have a new solution to ... read more

The Call of the Dung: How Flies Find Their Meal

Sep. 20, 2016 — Like many other insects, vinegar flies produce pheromones to call their conspecifics to an interesting food source. A research team has demonstrated in a new study that the flies' frass also ... read more

Sep. 19, 2016 — Pigeons can learn to distinguish real words from non-words by visually processing their letter combinations, surprising new research ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — Despite individual animals having their own personality, this gets suppressed when they make decisions together in a group, new research has ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — After reconstructing the color patterns of a well-preserved dinosaur from China, researchers have found that the long-lost species Psittacosaurus (meaning "parrot lizard," a reference to ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — New research on grasshoppers and bullfrogs offers a conclusion about jumping: When an animal has less time to store energy for a jump, it needs a less stiff tendon than one that can take its ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — A new study has found that some freshwater stingrays from the Amazon chew their food in a similar fashion as ... read more

Sep. 14, 2016 — An international team of scientists and conservation experts has discovered that the critically-endangered Hawaiian crow is a highly proficient tool ... read more

Plum-Sized Strawberry Delivers Huge Dose of Intense Flavor

Sep. 13, 2016 — A new strawberry variety concentrates intense flavor in a berry big enough to fill the palm of your ... read more

Sep. 12, 2016 — Trees are able to distinguish whether one of their buds or shoots has been randomly torn off or has been eaten by a roe deer. In the case of roe deer browsing, they activate corresponding defense ... read more

Sep. 9, 2016 — High-resolution aerial photographs provide information that is both up-to-date and tailored for the task at hand -- information that could previously only be obtained by observations in the field and ... read more

Sep. 9, 2016 — Turns out bacteria may transfer to candy that has fallen on the floor no matter how fast you pick it up. Rutgers researchers have disproven the widely accepted notion that it's OK to scoop up ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — A recent study sought to understand why shark teeth are shaped differently and what biological advantages various shapes have by testing their performance under realistic ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Bacteria fight their competitors with molecular spear guns, the so-called Type VI secretion system. When firing this weapon they also unintentionally hit their own kind. However the related bacteria ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Researchers have found that ants have a particular preference for aphid colonies with certain colors, which could be why these bugs are able to keep their colors across ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Shimmering carapaces make crabs attractive to pet owners. To answer the growing demand, fishermen collect and trade crustaceans, often not knowing what exactly they have handed over to their clients. ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Two years ago, scientists revealed that, when plucked like a guitar string, spider silk transmits vibrations across a wide range of frequencies, carrying information about prey, mates and even the ... read more

Throughout History, Humans Have Preferred Their Pigs to Be Black, Suggests Study

Sep. 6, 2016 — An international team of researchers studied the mitochondrial DNA and MC1R gene sequences in tissue samples collected from 57 modern feral Hawaiian pigs. They found a novel mutation in all the ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Large quantities of fish are consumed in India on a daily basis, which generates a huge amount of fish 'biowaste' materials. In an attempt to do something positive with this biowaste, a ... read more

Sep. 5, 2016 — For (probably) the first time ever, plants modified with the "genetic scissors" CRISPR-Cas9 has been cultivated, harvested and cooked. D professor in Plant Cell and Molecular Biology served ... read more

Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Monday, September 19, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016