New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals

July 14, 2024

Top Headlines

 

The flow of water within a muscle fiber may dictate how quickly muscle can contract, according to a new ...
An international research team has assembled the genome and 3D chromosomal structures of a 52,000-year-old woolly mammoth -- the first time such a feat has been achieved for any ancient DNA sample. ...
A record-breaking swim by two lion brothers across a predator-infested African river has been documented in a new study. The researchers say the 1km swim is another example of iconic wildlife species ...
The surprising discovery of a new species of extinct crocodile relative from the Triassic Favret Formation of Nevada, USA, rewrites the story of life along the coasts during the first act of the Age ...

Latest Headlines

updated 7:28pm EDT

Earlier Headlines

 

Meet Gaiasia jennyae, the swamp creature with a toilet seat-shaped head. It lived 40 million years before the first dinosaurs, and it was the top predator in its ...

The sea worm Platynereis dumerilii is only a few centimeters long but has a remarkable ability: in just a few days, it can regenerate entire parts of its body after an injury or amputation. By ...

Researchers have made a significant advance in understanding how genes are controlled in living organisms. The new study focuses on critical snippets of RNA in the tiny, transparent roundworm ...

Saving lives through surgery is no longer exclusive to humans. Scientists now detail how Florida carpenter ants, a common, brown species native to its namesake, selectively treat the wounded limbs of ...

GPS tracking collars have revealed how newly reintroduced eastern quolls are settling in at Mulligans Flat Woodland Sanctuary in Canberra, with quolls who were born at the sanctuary accepting their ...

Scientists discovered the oldest fossil grapes in the Western Hemisphere, which help show how after the death of the dinosaurs, grapes spread across the ...

The desert moss Syntrichia caninervis is a promising candidate for Mars colonization thanks to its extreme ability to tolerate harsh conditions lethal to most life forms. The moss is well known for ...

A new study has produced supranormal hearing in mice, while also supporting a hypothesis on the cause of hidden hearing loss in ...

The last population of woolly mammoths was isolated on Wrangel Island off the coast of Siberia 10,000 years ago, when sea levels rose and cut the mountainous island off from the mainland. A new ...

Researchers have described some of the best-preserved three-dimensional trilobite fossils ever discovered. The fossils, which are more than 500 million years old, were collected in the High Atlas of ...

Researchers have studied the cell membranes of ctenophores ('comb jellies') and found they had unique lipid structures that allow them to live under intense ...

We often think of species as separate and distinct, but sometimes they can interbreed and create hybrids. When this happens consistently in a specific area, it forms what's known as a hybrid ...

Although a fly's motor neurons are few, it performs remarkable aerial and terrestrial feats. A wiring diagram recently created of the motor circuits in the central nervous system of the fruit ...

New biologist-designed shelters will help endangered frogs survive the devastating impacts of a deadly fungal disease by regulating their body temperature to fight off ...

In October 2013 a researcher made a surprising discovery of Painted Lady Butterflies on the Atlantic beaches of French Guiana -- a species not typically found in South America. This unusual sighting ...

For centuries, scientists thought they knew where the griffin legend came from. A new study takes a closer look at the data and folklore's influence on ...

Chimpanzees appear to consume plants with medicinal properties to treat their ailments, according to a new ...

A new dinosaur has been identified and named. The dinosaur's name, Lokiceratops rangiformis, translates roughly to 'Loki's horned face that looks like a ...

A new study presents video evidence that at least one species of terrestrial leech can jump, behavior that scientists have debated for more than a ...

Scientists discovered that Neolamprologus savoryi fish use punishment to encourage offspring to cooperate in brood care, revealing advanced cognitive abilities previously thought unique to higher ...

Wednesday, July 3, 2024

Tuesday, July 2, 2024

Monday, July 1, 2024

Sunday, June 30, 2024

Friday, June 28, 2024

Thursday, June 27, 2024

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Monday, June 17, 2024

Friday, June 14, 2024

Thursday, June 13, 2024

Wednesday, June 12, 2024

Tuesday, June 11, 2024

Monday, June 10, 2024

Friday, June 7, 2024

Thursday, June 6, 2024

Wednesday, June 5, 2024

Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Monday, June 3, 2024

Saturday, June 1, 2024

Thursday, May 30, 2024

Wednesday, May 29, 2024

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

Monday, May 27, 2024

Friday, May 24, 2024

Thursday, May 23, 2024

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Friday, May 17, 2024

Thursday, May 16, 2024

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Monday, May 13, 2024

Friday, May 3, 2024

Thursday, May 2, 2024

Wednesday, May 1, 2024

Tuesday, April 30, 2024