Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:11pm EDT

More Odd Creatures: Plants & Animals
April 24, 2017

Apr. 7, 2017 — Humans are able to interpret the behavior of others by attributing mental states to them (and to themselves). By adopting the perspectives of other persons, they can assume their emotions, needs and ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Combining theory with experiment, scientists are trying to understand how life can arise from non-life. Researchers are conducting experiments to test the idea that lifelike chemical reactions might ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Biologists have discovered that communities of bacteria have been employing a social timesharing strategy for millions of years. The team found that bacteria faced with limited nutrients will enter ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Octopus, squid, and cuttlefish are famous for engaging in complex behavior, from unlocking an aquarium tank and escaping to instantaneous skin camouflage to hide from predators. A new study suggests ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Synthetic biologists have engineered gut bacteria capable of sensing colitis in mice. The research points the way to new experiments for studying how gut bacteria and human hosts interact at a ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — Two monkeys grooming each other about 20-30 million years ago may have helped produce a remarkable new find - the first fossilized red blood cells from a mammal, preserved so perfectly in amber that ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — Researchers have obtained an unprecedented view of the 'ballistic' weaponry of planktonic microbes, including one that can fire projectiles as if wielding a Gatling ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — A new study finds that a noninvasive electromagnetic brain stimulation technique helps obese people lose weight, partly by changing the composition of their intestinal bacteria -- the so-called gut ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — A team of researchers has found a new species of tyrannosaur dinosaur -- the most popular of the prehistoric creatures. After the fossils were pulled out of the muddy banks of a Montana river, the ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — While studying scavenger behavior in Utah's Great Basin Desert, biologists observed an American badger do something that no other scientists had documented before: bury an entire calf carcass by ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Fang blennies are small fish with big teeth. Specifically, they have two large canine teeth that jut out of their lower jaw. Since blenny fish are only about two inches long, these 'fangs' ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Blind tadpoles were able to process visual information from eyes grafted onto their tails after being treated with a small molecule neurotransmitter drug that augmented innervation, integration, and ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Male domestic fowl are less aggressive towards related males than to unrelated males when competing for copulations, according to a new study. This finding suggests that domestic fowl can recognize ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — The rescue of 11 Asian Elephants (Elephas maximus) from a mud hole inside the Keo Seima Wildlife Sanctuary, Mondulkiri Province, Cambodia, on 24th March 2017 avoided a tragedy for wildlife ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Many ant species live in often highly specific symbiotic relationships with plants from which both partners benefit. Researchers now reveal that such selective interactions can break down over the ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have developed a new method that can be used to construct custom hybrid structures using DNA and proteins. The method opens new opportunities for fundamental research in cell biology and ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Studies of wolf spiders found that courtship displays help preserve genetic isolation between closely related species. Another study found that the species Gladicosa bellamyi used multi-modal ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers face a fundamental challenge as they seek to scale up human tissue regeneration from small lab samples to full-size tissues and organs: how to establish a vascular system that delivers ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers have used machine learning on the Stampede supercomputer to model the cellular control network that determines how tadpoles develop. Using that model, they reverse-engineered a drug ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers have developed the next step in microbial fuel cells (MFCs) with the first micro-scale self-sustaining cell, which generated power for 13 straight days through symbiotic interactions of ... read more

Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017