STEM Education News
July 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:01pm EDT

More STEM Education News
July 24, 2016

Making Parenting a National Priority in U.S.

July 20, 2016 — A new report calls for a new national framework to support struggling parents. Developmental psychologists say the findings emphasize making parenting a national U.S. ... read more

Findings Show Gender, Not Race, a Factor in College Engineering Dropouts

June 29, 2016 — Researchers are exploring how ethnic and gender variables affect retention rates, goal setting and satisfaction among engineering students. Preliminary findings in the middle of this five-year study ... read more

Blue-Collar Training in High School Leaves Women Behind

June 29, 2016 — What's the best way to prepare high schoolers for jobs in the 21st century? Education leaders and the general public have been debating this question with more heat in recent years, clashing ... read more

Part-Timers Now 49 Percent of Nation's College and University Faculty, Study Finds

June 23, 2016 — Part-time workers now make up nearly half of the faculty of U.S. colleges and universities, according to the 2016 edition of The Condition of Education, a federal report on the nation’s education ... read more

Teachers Optimistic About Common Core Writing Standards, but Not Tests

June 22, 2016 — Teachers believe the Common Core standards in their states can improve how they teach writing, but they also find plenty of shortcomings with the standards -- and with the associated state writing ... read more

Lawmakers Might Introduce 'Anti-Evolution' Legislation to Appease Religious Constituents

June 20, 2016 — 'Anti-evolution' education legislation continues to be introduced because lawmakers want to appease religious constituents, not because they expect the bills to be made into laws, new ... read more

June 20, 2016 — New research aims to help educators quantify how the best students perform problem solving with the aid of instructional videos, a step toward learning how to better coach students in difficult ... read more

June 2, 2016 — Male students in undergraduate introductory biology courses are outperforming females at test time, but it may be due to how exams are designed rather than academic ability, suggests new research. In ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Courses that engage college students in conducting scientific research early on can dramatically increase students' odds of completing a science, technology, engineering or math (STEM) degree, a ... read more

Perceived Values of Education from Young People's Perspectives

June 1, 2016 — Studies of young people’s perceived values of learning has resulted in a theoretical framework that can form the basis for further discussions and means to develop and understand ... read more

Making AI Decision-Making Accountable

May 25, 2016 — Machine-learning algorithms increasingly make decisions about credit, medical diagnoses, personalized recommendations, advertising and job opportunities, among other things, but exactly how usually ... read more

May 19, 2016 — In a first-of-its kind study, scientists have found that a majority of professors teaching biology in Arizona universities do not believe that helping students accept the theory of evolution is an ... read more

Financial Status Affects Success of Students With Learning Disabilities

May 17, 2016 — Only one third of undergraduates from 11 universities who reported having a learning disability were receiving accommodations, a new study has ... read more

May 5, 2016 — For doctoral students studying science, technology, engineering and mathematics, landing a job as a research-oriented college or university faculty member typically requires having spent time as a ... read more

Apr. 27, 2016 — Imagine a teaching tool so effective that students look forward to using it in class and continue to seek out new information with it after the school day ends. New research offers powerful evidence ... read more

Families With Kids Increasingly Live Near Families Just Like Them

Apr. 27, 2016 — Neighborhoods are becoming less diverse and more segregated by income -- but only among families with children, a new study has ... read more

Shifting Gaps in Educational Attainment Among Students of Different Incomes

Apr. 26, 2016 — A new study looks at income-based gaps in educational attainment. While the difference in high school graduation rates between high- and low-income students shrunk, inequality may have shifted to ... read more

Does Learning Improve When Every Student Gets a Laptop?

Apr. 26, 2016 — Schools that provide each student with a laptop computer, as well as the appropriate support for both students and teachers, see significant improvement in academic achievement, a new paper ... read more

American Teacher Panel Surveys Teachers' Knowledge, Perceptions of State Standards

Apr. 18, 2016 — In June and October of 2015, investigators surveyed teachers on their understanding of state standards and what instructional materials are used in the classroom to teach the standards, as well as ... read more

Rating the Teacher Education Rating Systems: New Study Finds Leading Programs Fall Short

Apr. 10, 2016 — A study of four leading systems used to evaluate teacher preparation programs finds the initiatives lack evidence-based approaches and 'thin' on the advancement of equity in the ... read more

Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015