NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
STEM Education News
October 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:35pm EDT

More STEM Education News
October 25, 2016

Oct. 21, 2016 — What students in school learn from a model experiment depends on how similar the model substances look to the originals, a new study has ... read more

Do Race-Based Stressors Contribute to the Achievement Gap?

Sep. 28, 2016 — Schools, teacher quality and family income all play a large role in student success, but these factors do not fully explain the academic differences seen in the U.S. between whites and disadvantaged ... read more

Students in Bilingual Elementary School Programs Present Worse Academic Results, According to Study

Sep. 26, 2016 — Bilingual education programs, in which a substantial part of the teaching is done in a language different from the mother tongue and from the language of the students’ surroundings, have been fully ... read more

For-Profit Trade Schools Prove Costly for Disadvantaged Black Youth

Sep. 15, 2016 — Young people from disadvantaged neighborhoods are drawn to for-profit trade schools as the quickest route to jobs. But the very thing that makes for-profit schools seem so appealing — a streamlined ... read more

Staying the Course on a Massive Open Online Course

Sep. 15, 2016 — Massive open online courses (MOOCs) are popular with educational establishments as an efficient way to deliver their materials. Unfortunately, student engagement does not match the enthusiasm of the ... read more

Study Finds STEM Workers More Likely to Find Jobs in Denser STEM Labor Markets

Sep. 12, 2016 — In one of the first attempts to understand the geography of STEM degree-job matching, a new study finds that matching is much more likely in dense rather than in large STEM labor ... read more

Healthy Eating Standards Still Not Fully Adopted Among YMCA After-School Programs

Sep. 9, 2016 — Healthy Eating standards represent a means of increasing fruit, vegetable, whole grain, and water intake among adolescents by providing healthy snacks in conjunction with education on healthy eating. ... read more

More Underrepresented Students Obtain Science Degrees and Pursue STEM, Due to Research Mentoring

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new study indicates that undergraduates who participate in mentored research not only graduate more often with science degrees, but also attend graduate school and pursue STEM careers at higher ... read more

Feeling They Are Part of a Group Increased Preschoolers' Interest, Success in STEM

Sep. 7, 2016 — Preschoolers were more engaged and did better on STEM-related tasks when they felt they were part of a group, versus doing the tasks on their own, new research ... read more

Who Loses When Car Prices Are Negotiated?

Sep. 7, 2016 — A new car is a big expense for anyone -- but it will cost some people more than others, even at the same dealership. New research shows older consumers -- especially older women -- pay more for new ... read more

National Education Reformers Target Local School Boards

Sep. 7, 2016 — Local school board elections increasingly are becoming a national political battleground, as millions of dollars in campaign cash pours in from out-of-state donors in the name of education reform, ... read more

'Coming Out' in the Classroom, but Not by Choice

Aug. 26, 2016 — In a first-of-its kind study, researchers found that active learning classrooms, which require more group work than traditional lecture courses, may create an unaccepting atmosphere for LGBTQIA ... read more

Education Not to Blame for Increasing Childlessness in Europe

Aug. 23, 2016 — The increasing proportion of the population who prefer to remain childless is a major social problem for many European countries. However this trend has not (so far) been the result of the expansion ... read more

Young, Gifted, First-Generation Minority Science Students Motivated by Prosocial Values

Aug. 19, 2016 — There are as many motives as there are undergraduates taking introductory science courses, but if you look closely at groups of freshmen science students such as those from underrepresented minority ... read more

Are Urban Black Males Shortchanged in Classroom?

Aug. 18, 2016 — Giving special treatment to young urban black males in the high school classroom runs the risk of shortchanging these students academically once they get to college, indicates a new ... read more

LGBT Persons Get Limited Educational Info for Assisted Reproductive Technology, Study Finds

Aug. 16, 2016 — With the recent one-year anniversary of Obergefell vs. Hodges -- the landmark US Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriage -- researchers have published a report that identifies unequal ... read more

Persistence Makes the Difference in Minority Participation in Science, Researchers Say

Aug. 12, 2016 — The problem of persistence has long troubled undergraduate programs hoping to guide promising students from underrepresented racial/ethnic groups into science careers, but a new study by science ... read more

General Support for Science Doesn't Always Correlate With Attitudes Toward Specific Issues

Aug. 9, 2016 — US adults perform comparably to adults in other economically developed countries on most measures of science knowledge and support science in general, says a new report from the National Academies of ... read more

In France, Hiring Biases Slightly Favor Women in Male-Dominated STEM Fields

July 28, 2016 — Women enjoy a slight advantage over men when applying to become science teachers in France, a new study ... read more

Making Parenting a National Priority in U.S.

July 20, 2016 — A new report calls for a new national framework to support struggling parents. Developmental psychologists say the findings emphasize making parenting a national U.S. ... read more

Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Monday, May 30, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015