Human Evolution News
September 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:00am EDT

More Human Evolution News
September 1, 2016

June 6, 2016 — If 'Lucy' wasn't alone, who else was in her neighborhood? Key fossil discoveries over the last few decades in Africa indicate that multiple early human ancestor species lived at the ... read more

June 6, 2016 — Researchers have found evidence that demonstrates Aboriginal people were the first to inhabit Australia.The work refutes an earlier landmark study that claimed to recover DNA sequences from the ... read more

June 6, 2016 — Buried deep in seabed sediments off east Africa, scientists have uncovered a 24-million-year record of vegetation trends in the region where humans evolved. The authors say the record lends weight to ... read more

June 6, 2016 — 'Pristine' landscapes simply do not exist anywhere in the world today and, in most cases, have not existed for at least several thousand years. An exhaustive review of archaeological data ... read more

June 6, 2016 — The Neanderthal genome included harmful mutations that made the hominids around 40 percent less reproductively fit than modern humans, according to new estimates. Non-African humans inherited some of ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Deep inside Bruniquel Cave, in the Tarn et Garonne region of southwestern France, a set of human-made structures 336 meters from the entrance was recently dated as being approximately 176,500 years ... read more

May 26, 2016 — A research group has managed to retrieve the mitochondrial genome of a fossil 35,000 years old found in the Pestera Muierii cave in Romania. That woman was part of the first population of our species ... read more

May 23, 2016 — Researchers witnessed a rare event and perhaps solved an evolutionary puzzle about how introns, non-coding sequences of DNA located within genes, multiply in a genome. The results address fundamental ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Some anthropologists try to understand how societies and histories construct our identities, and others ask about how genes and the environment do the same thing. Which is the better approach? Both ... read more

May 11, 2016 — Neanderthals in Europe showed signs of nutritional stress during periods of extreme cold, suggesting climate change may have contributed to their demise around 40,000 years ... read more

May 5, 2016 — An accurate method to simulate prehistoric movements of people based upon current topographical satellite data may prove useful in determining early human population dynamics even when no genetic ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Researchers have unearthed a "mother lode" of a half-dozen fossil primate species in southern China.These primates eked out an existence just after the Eocene-Oligocene transition, when ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Analyses of ancient DNA from prehistoric humans paint a picture of dramatic population change in Europe from 45,000 to 7,000 years ago, according to a new study. The new genetic data reveal two big ... read more

Novel Collagen Fingerprinting Identifies a Neanderthal Bone Among 2,000 Fragments

Apr. 22, 2016 — Scientists have used a new molecular fingerprinting technique to identify one Neanderthal bone from around 2,000 bone fragments. All the tiny pieces of bone were recovered from a key archaeological ... read more

Apr. 18, 2016 — New research suggests that humans became the large-brained, large-bodied animals we are today because of natural selection to increase brain size. The work contradicts previous models that treat ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Fire, a tool broadly used for cooking, constructing, hunting and even communicating, was arguably one of the earliest discoveries in human history. But when, how and why it came to be used is hotly ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A review of latest genetic evidence suggests infectious diseases are tens of thousands of years older than previously thought, and that they could jump between species of 'hominin.' ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — The Neanderthal counterpart of the human Y chromosome, or male sex chromosome, appears to have died out. Why this happened is up for ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — The first large-scale study of ancient DNA from early American people has confirmed the devastating impact of European colonization on the Indigenous American populations of the ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — An ancient species of pint-sized humans discovered in the tropics of Indonesia may have met their demise earlier than once believed, according to scientists who reinvestigated the original finding. ... read more

Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015