Fossils News
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 6:44pm EDT

More Fossils News
April 24, 2017

Apr. 4, 2017 — A study of the DNA in ancient skeletal remains adds to the evidence that indigenous groups living today in southern Alaska and the western coast of British Columbia are descendants of the first ... read more

Apr. 4, 2017 — Over the next 100 to 200 years, carbon dioxide concentrations in the Earth's atmosphere will head towards values not seen since the Triassic period, 200 million years ago. Furthermore, by the ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — Two monkeys grooming each other about 20-30 million years ago may have helped produce a remarkable new find - the first fossilized red blood cells from a mammal, preserved so perfectly in amber that ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — The gradual decline of the dinosaurs and pterosaurs presumably came before the impact of the Chicxulub asteroid and the global mass extinction at the end of the Cretaceous Period, new research ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — An unusual fossil find is giving scientists new ideas about how some of the earliest animals on Earth came to dominate the world's ... read more

Mar. 31, 2017 — A team of researchers has found a new species of tyrannosaur dinosaur -- the most popular of the prehistoric creatures. After the fossils were pulled out of the muddy banks of a Montana river, the ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — A study that used a new digital library and machine reading system to suck the factual marrow from millions of geologic publications dating back decades has unraveled a longstanding mystery of ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — A paleontologist is countering decades of studies that assert that some dinosaurs can be identified as male or female based on the shapes and sizes of their ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — Sixteen million years ago, the reptile Diplocynodon ratelii lived in wooded ecosystems among the lakes and pools of what we know today as Catalonia (Spain). Fossils found at the Els Casots site in ... read more

Mar. 24, 2017 — A team of scientists has described the most exceptionally preserved fossil bird discovered to date, in a newly published article. The new specimen from the rich Early Cretaceous Jehol Biota ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have studied the development of the amphibian and reptile fauna in Western Siberia during the past twelve million years. In their study, they demonstrate that the species diversity of both ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — More than a century of theory about the evolutionary history of dinosaurs has been turned on its head following the publication of new research. The work suggests that the family groupings need to be ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A new 430 million-year-old fossil has been discovered by scientists, and has been named in honor of Sir David Attenborough. The discovery is a unique example of its kind in the fossil record, say the ... read more

Mar. 17, 2017 — The evolution of bipedalism in fossil humans can be detected using a key feature of the skull -- a claim that was previously contested but now has been further validated by ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — The end-Paleozoic witnessed the most devastating mass extinction in Earth's history so far, killing the majority of species and profoundly shaping the evolutionary history of the survivors. ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — DNA analysis led some biologists to conclude that evolutionary diversification in Hawaii has yet to peak, but a new analysis shows the opposite: biodiversity on the island chain peaked millions of ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Rock samples from northeastern Canada retain chemical signals that help explain what Earth's crust was like more than 4 billion years ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — Fossil-like objects grew in natural spring water abundant in the early stages of the planet, an international team of researchers has discovered. But, they were inorganic materials that resulted from ... read more

New Study Identifies Ancient Shark Ancestors

Mar. 14, 2017 — New research based on x-ray imaging provides the strongest evidence to date that sharks arose from a group of bony fishes called acanthodians. Analyzing an extraordinarily well-preserved fossil of an ... read more

Mar. 14, 2017 — Scientists have found fossils of 1.6 billion-year-old probable red algae. The spectacular finds indicate that advanced multicellular life evolved much earlier than previously ... read more

Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Friday, March 31, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016