Fossils News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:04am EDT

More Fossils News
May 25, 2016

May 5, 2016 — Researchers have unearthed a "mother lode" of a half-dozen fossil primate species in southern China.These primates eked out an existence just after the Eocene-Oligocene transition, when ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Biologists have completely sequenced the mitochondrial genome for the Hispaniolan solenodon, filling in the last major branch of placental mammals on the tree of life. The study confirmed that the ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Analyses of ancient DNA from prehistoric humans paint a picture of dramatic population change in Europe from 45,000 to 7,000 years ago, according to a new study. The new genetic data reveal two big ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — New research suggests that the very oldest pieces of rock on Earth -- zircon crystals -- are likely to have formed in the craters left by violent asteroid impacts that peppered our nascent planet, ... read more

Tiny Fossil Horses Put Their Back Into It

Apr. 27, 2016 — A new study reveals that tiny fossil ancestors of modern horses may have moved quite differently to their living ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — The modern challenge of nuclear waste storage and disposal has researchers looking back at ancient materials from around the ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Scientists have discovered Sarmientosaurus musacchioi, a new species of titanosaurian dinosaur, based on an complete skull and partial neck fossil unearthed in Patagonia, Argentina, according to a ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Multiple dispersals of penguins reached Australia after the continent split from Antarctica, including 'giant penguins' that may have lived there after they went extinct elsewhere, ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Software has unearthed new information about Laetoli's lost tracks, revealing hints of a previously undiscovered fourth track-maker at the site. The Laetoli tracks were discovered by Mary Leakey ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered dozens of fossilized teeth in Kuwajima, Japan, and identified this as a new species of tritylodontid, an animal family that links the evolution of mammals from reptiles. ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Researchers have used 'network theory' for the first time to visually depict the movement of dinosaurs around the world during the Mesozoic Era -- including a curious exodus from ... read more

Novel Collagen Fingerprinting Identifies a Neanderthal Bone Among 2,000 Fragments

Apr. 22, 2016 — Scientists have used a new molecular fingerprinting technique to identify one Neanderthal bone from around 2,000 bone fragments. All the tiny pieces of bone were recovered from a key archaeological ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Analysis of a new dinosaur fossil suggests that the largest species ever known to walk the Earth was born with adult-like proportions, perhaps allowing it to be more independent than some other ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Ligaments in the long necks of certain sauropods probably helped them graze more efficiently, according to ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Seven fossil teeth exposed by the Panama Canal expansion project are first evidence of a monkey on the North American continent before the Isthmus of Panama connected it to South America 3.5 million ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — The 13-million-year-old fossils of an extinct crocodylian, named 'the storyteller,' suggest that South American and Indian species evolved separately to acquire protruding, ... read more

Ancient DNA Reveals Evolution of Giant Bears in the Americas

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers are shedding new light on the evolution of what are believed to be the largest bears that ever walked the ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A 300-million-year-old fossil mystery has been solved by a research team which has identified that the ancient 'Tully Monster' was a vertebrate -- due to the unique characteristics of its ... read more

When Life Returned After a Volcanic Mass Extinction

Apr. 8, 2016 — A new study used fossils and mercury isotopes from volcanic gas deposited in ancient proto-Pacific Ocean sediment deposits in Nevada to determine when life recovered following the end-Triassic mass ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — An international team of scientists have developed a way to help locate fossils of long-extinct animals. The models were developed for Australia but the researchers provide guidelines on how to apply ... read more

Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Monday, December 28, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015