NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Economics News
October 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:35am EDT

More Economics News
October 28, 2016

New Evidence That Politics, Not Economics, Drives Inequality

Oct. 26, 2016 — One of the biggest surprises about rising income inequality in the United States may be that economic factors aren't the biggest cause, a new study ... read more

Army of Agents to Tackle Corrupt Officials, Tax Evaders, Terrorists, and Botnets as Game Theory Gears Up for the Chaos of the Modern World

Oct. 20, 2016 — Many of the world's major problems are spawned not from monolithic blocks of self-interest, but from a vast array of single entities making highly individual choices: from lone wolf terrorists ... read more

Creative Staff Lead to Satisfied Customers, Says Study

Oct. 14, 2016 — Organizations in the service sector that have more creative employees enjoy higher levels of customer satisfaction, according to new ... read more

Healthy Soil Is Essential to a Circular Economy

Oct. 13, 2016 — To achieve the Dutch government's objective of realizing a circular economy in the Netherlands, it is essential to maintain the productivity of the country's farmland. Healthy soil produces ... read more

UK's Approach to Health Needs Radical Rethinking, Experts Say

Oct. 7, 2016 — As the NHS lurches from crisis to crisis, the UK’s approach to health needs radical rethinking to create a healthy and health-creating society. Just as the founding of the NHS in 1948 was a great ... read more

College Job Market to Continue Torrid Pace

Oct. 5, 2016 — The hiring of college graduates at all degree levels should be very strong in 2016-17, according to the largest annual survey of employers in the ... read more

English Shoppers Ditch the Carrier Bag

Oct. 3, 2016 — Around 90% of people in England now take their own bags with them when food shopping as a result of the plastic carrier bag charge, new research has revealed. This has increased from 70% before the ... read more

Vast Majority of Impoverished Fathers Involved With Their Children

Oct. 3, 2016 — A new study suggests criticism of impoverished and African-American fathers for not being involved in the lives of their children is largely unfounded and that even in cases of incarceration, most ... read more

Sep. 29, 2016 — Most of the world’s coca—the plant source of cocaine—grows in the Amazon forests of the Andean countries of Colombia, Peru and Bolivia, where many think this illicit crop causes deforestation. ... read more

Sep. 27, 2016 — A new optimization technique could help conservation biologists choose the most cost-effective ways of connecting isolated populations of rare, threatened and endangered species living in protected ... read more

Missing Fish Catch Data? Not Necessarily a Problem, New Study Says

Sep. 27, 2016 — Recording how many fish are caught is one important requirement to measure the well-being of a fish stock -- if scientists know the number of fish taken from the ocean, they can adjust management of ... read more

Wildlife Vs. Vehicle Costs Top $225 Million Annually in California

Sep. 27, 2016 — Collisions involving vehicles and wildlife along California's highways cost more than $225 million annually, according to a new study that uses traffic-incident reports to identify hot spots of ... read more

Poverty and Perceived Hardship Affect Cognitive Function and May Contribute to Premature Aging, Say Investigators

Sep. 27, 2016 — A new study finds strong associations between sustained exposure to economic hardship and worse cognitive function in relatively young ... read more

Young Cancer Survivors in Economic Struggle

Sep. 26, 2016 — Young cancer survivors have a 40 per cent higher risk of becoming unemployed, than others, say researchers, noting that they also have a 40 per cent higher risk of receiving governmental financial ... read more

Start Training for Retirement as Early as 50, Research Urges

Sep. 26, 2016 — The results of a project to establish European guidelines for preparing the population for life after full-time employment urge people to start planning as soon as ... read more

Using Nonlinearity in Understanding Market Forces

Sep. 20, 2016 — There are certain markets within the U.S. and global economies in which two major corporations dominate. For example, Coca-Cola Co. and PepsiCo Inc. are the two major firms that compete with each ... read more

Sep. 20, 2016 — Beginning in 2008, Volkswagen installed software to circumvent emissions testing by turning off the nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions control system in real-world driving in nearly half a million cars. ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — Researchers have studied the behavior of watermelon consumers and found that participants were more willing to pay a premium for watermelons labeled as grown on preserved farmland — as opposed to ... read more

Costs of US Prescription Opioid Epidemic Estimated at $78. 5 Billion

Sep. 14, 2016 — Prescription opioid overdose, abuse, and dependence carries high costs for American society, with an estimated total economic burden of $78.5 billion, according to a new ... read more

Men Less Sensitive to Stigma Attached to Radical Right

Sep. 14, 2016 — In almost all elections in every European country, more men than women vote for radical right-wing parties. Still, on average, as many women as men can identify with a radical right-wing ideology. ... read more

Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016