Economics News
July 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:03am EDT

More Economics News
July 28, 2016

Aging Can Drive Progress, Say Scientists

July 25, 2016 — Twenty years from now, the number of retired persons worldwide will have grown by 600 million, almost double the current number. Life expectancy will have increased, bringing new economic challenges. ... read more

Does Social Status Affect Generosity?

July 21, 2016 — High-ranking people don't always turn out to be selfish jerks. It all depends on whether they feel worthy of their prominent social position, new research ... read more

Cosmetic Therapy: The Link Between Makeup and a Down Economy

July 19, 2016 — During tough economic times, women engage in the “lipstick effect,” stocking up on cosmetics and beauty products. The phenomenon has occurred during every major recession in U.S. history and ... read more

Loss of Employer-Based Health Insurance in Early Retirement Affects Mental, Physical Health

July 18, 2016 — The loss of private health insurance from an employer can lead to poorer mental and physical health as older adults transition to early retirement, according to a ... read more

Struggling Families Crave Stability in Uncertain Times, Study Shows

July 15, 2016 — Over a third of families (more than 2 million households) in the United Kingdom are earning below the minimum income needed for an acceptable living standard. A new study has taken a new look at life ... read more

Race, Not Gender, Is Key Factor in NIH Awards

July 15, 2016 — Race not gender appears to be the most significant factor influencing the award of a National Institutes of Health Research Project Grant, according to a new ... read more

Study Finds Broad Range of 'Independence' for American Young Adults

July 12, 2016 — The idea of what it means to become “independent” has evolved significantly in recent generations, and new research finds that the concept of being wholly dependent or independent doesn’t apply ... read more

Study Links Recession Recovery, Increase in Commercial Truck Fatalities

July 11, 2016 — New research findings reveal unexpected health consequences of economic recovery on fatalities involving large, commercial vehicles. Research has shown that when the economy improves, motor vehicle ... read more

The True Cost of Crime, in Carbon Footprints

July 11, 2016 — Despite policy makers currently examining the economic and social impacts of crime, the environmental impacts have not, to date, been included, a new report ... read more

Too Much Homework Can Lead to Bad Grades in Investing

July 7, 2016 — Investors who do their own research and write down their investment predictions stick with their investment strategy even if subsequent information shows their original analysis was ... read more

Paying With Paper or Plastic?

July 7, 2016 — The way we pay may influence how much we value and feel committed to our purchase, a new study indicates. It appears that going cashless may come at a ... read more

How the 'Graying Biomedical Workforce' Affects Scientific Funding in the US

July 7, 2016 — As a result of the 'graying of the biomedical workforce' in the United States, many suspect that a preference for older, more experienced researchers in the competitive government grant ... read more

New Study on State Medicaid Provision, Federal Subsidization

July 6, 2016 — The U.S. federal government matches every state at least $1 for each $1 that the state spends on Medicaid. A new study measured the effect of the subsidy by constructing a multi-regional, ... read more

It's Time for NHS England to 'Do the Right Thing' and Fund PrEP for HIV Prevention, Say Experts

July 5, 2016 — It is time for NHS England to "do the right thing" and fund pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP) for HIV prevention, argue two senior public health ... read more

US Needs Greater Preparation for Next Severe Public Health Threats, Panel Finds

June 30, 2016 — An Independent Panel formed to review the US Department of Health and Human Service's response to Ebola calls for increased coordination both within HHS and across all involved federal agencies ... read more

New Study Compares Transportation Energy Efficiency of Local and Conventional Food

June 30, 2016 — A marketing specialist has compared the transportation efficiencies of the conventional and local fruit and vegetable transportation networks in the Knoxville-area surrounding the University's ... read more

State Medical Home Initiative Slashes Healthcare Costs for Complex Medicaid Patients

June 27, 2016 — Providing Medicaid patients with a primary care 'medical home' cut costs of their care by as much as $4,100 a year and lowered their number of doctors visits and hospitalizations, according ... read more

June 24, 2016 — As the solar industry booms, coal workers have the opportunity to pursue new work. A new study looks at what it takes to retrain underground skills for sunnier ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A team of scientists has for the first time attached a dollar value to several of the leading 'ecosystem services' -- or natural benefits -- provided by the Eastern Tropical Pacific Ocean, ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Few might seek insights on Middle Eastern conflict or modern poverty in records of the Ottoman empire. Yet when an economist combed through centuries-old court documents, he made a surprising ... read more

Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Sunday, May 22, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016