Economics News
June 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:06am EDT

More Economics News
June 1, 2016

Like to Get More Bang for Your Sustainability-Boosting Buck? Here's How

May 31, 2016 — A new method for assessing and comparing the various costs and benefits of green products has been developed, making it possible for purchasers to get the most environmental bang for their ... read more

More Satisfied Workers, More Successful Company

May 31, 2016 — The relationship between the job satisfaction of a company’s workforce and its financial success is complex, but a new study has determined that satisfied workers can lead to greater success for an ... read more

May 26, 2016 — A public-private team led by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has created a new international standard that can 'map' the critically important environmental aspects ... read more

Who Should Pay for Gene Therapy?

May 26, 2016 — As gene therapy trials show promise to cure or ameliorate several diseases, it is time to explore ways to pay for the treatments, according to a new commentary. Noting the potential of gene therapy ... read more

Surrogate Endpoints Poor Proxy for Survival in Cancer Drug Approval Process

May 26, 2016 — Surrogate endpoints used to support the majority of new cancer drugs approved in the US often lack formal study, according to the authors of a new report. This analysis questions whether the US Food ... read more

Higher Wages for UK's Lowest Paid Improve Productivity

May 26, 2016 — Employees work harder and more cohesively if they feel they and their colleagues are paid a wage which reflects their skill and effort, new research has found. Data from more than 360,000 UK firms ... read more

Study Dispels Myth About Millionaire Migration in the US

May 26, 2016 — The view that the rich are highly mobile has gained much political traction in recent years and has become a central argument in debates about whether there should be 'millionaire taxes' on ... read more

Money Back Guarantees for Non-Reproducible Results?

May 24, 2016 — There are better solutions to the 'reproducibility crisis' in research, according to a new ... read more

Nonprofit Exec Turnover More Turbulent Than Previously Thought

May 24, 2016 — Research finds executive turnover at nonprofit organizations is often plagued by problems – with few transitions mirroring the scenarios painted in the professional literature. The study also finds ... read more

How Will the Next Leader of WHO Tackle Future Health Emergencies?

May 18, 2016 — In light of heavy criticism of the World Health Organization's handling of the Ebola outbreak, the election process for the next director general will be under intense scrutiny, say experts in a ... read more

Study Links Student Loans With Lower Net Worth, Housing Values After College

May 18, 2016 — People who had outstanding balances on their student loans when they graduated or dropped out of college had lower net worth, fewer financial and nonfinancial assets, and homes with lower market ... read more

Innovations Are Needed If Big Data Is to Boost Jobs, Says New Research

May 18, 2016 — Phenomenal quantities of valuable data are now being collected and created by UK businesses but much of its commercial potential remains untapped, a new report ... read more

Paris Climate Agreement Cannot Be Met Without Emissions Reduction Target for Agriculture

May 17, 2016 — Scientists have calculated, for the first time, the extent to which agricultural emissions must be reduced to meet the Paris climate agreement's plan to limit warming to 2 degrees Celsius in ... read more

Young Workers Hit Hardest by Slow Hiring During Recessions, Study Finds

May 17, 2016 — When hiring slows during recessions, the brunt of job losses is borne by job-seekers in their 20s and early 30s, according to a new ... read more

The 'Echoverse': New Way to Think About Brand-Consumer Interactions

May 16, 2016 — Most studies of the interactions between companies and consumers look at one piece of the puzzle: Advertising or social media or news coverage or 'consumer sentiment' as measured in ... read more

Girls from Progressive Societies Do Better at Math, Study Finds

May 13, 2016 — New research shows that the performance gap between girls and boys is far less pronounced in societies that hold progressive and egalitarian views about the role of ... read more

Migrant Money Puts Aid in the Shade

May 12, 2016 — International remittances have poverty and inequality-reducing effects in Sub-Saharan Africa, new research suggests. The results suggest that a 10% increase in remittances as share of gross domestic ... read more

Neighborhoods With More Take-out Restaurants Amplify Social Inequalities in Unhealthy Eating and Obesity

May 11, 2016 — People who live or work near to a greater number of take-out outlets are more likely to eat more takeaway food and to be overweight, but new research indicates that neighborhoods that are saturated ... read more

Swedes or Italians: Who Is More Likely to Cheat on Their Taxes?

May 11, 2016 — A tax compliance experiment comparing Italians and Swedes uncovers differences in national 'styles' of ... read more

New Survey Shows That Retirement Includes Work for Many Older Americans

May 10, 2016 — Departing the workforce entirely and entering retirement at age 65 is no longer a reality for many older people in the United States, according to a recent survey. The study finds that there are ... read more

Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016