NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Economics News
September 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:04pm EDT

More Economics News
September 27, 2016

Young Cancer Survivors in Economic Struggle

Sep. 26, 2016 — Young cancer survivors have a 40 per cent higher risk of becoming unemployed, than others, say researchers, noting that they also have a 40 per cent higher risk of receiving governmental financial ... read more

Start Training for Retirement as Early as 50, Research Urges

Sep. 26, 2016 — The results of a project to establish European guidelines for preparing the population for life after full-time employment urge people to start planning as soon as ... read more

Using Nonlinearity in Understanding Market Forces

Sep. 20, 2016 — There are certain markets within the U.S. and global economies in which two major corporations dominate. For example, Coca-Cola Co. and PepsiCo Inc. are the two major firms that compete with each ... read more

Sep. 16, 2016 — Researchers have studied the behavior of watermelon consumers and found that participants were more willing to pay a premium for watermelons labeled as grown on preserved farmland — as opposed to ... read more

Men Less Sensitive to Stigma Attached to Radical Right

Sep. 14, 2016 — In almost all elections in every European country, more men than women vote for radical right-wing parties. Still, on average, as many women as men can identify with a radical right-wing ideology. ... read more

The Sharing Economy's Effect on Business

Sep. 13, 2016 — The rising tide of product sharing can indeed lift all economic ships, including those of the product manufacturers, or firms, new research ... read more

Time to Outsource Key Tasks of WHO to Better-Placed and Capable Agencies, Say Experts

Sep. 12, 2016 — It's time to outsource key functions of The World Health Organization to bodies such as the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, The World Bank and The Global Fund for AIDS, Tuberculosis and ... read more

Study Finds STEM Workers More Likely to Find Jobs in Denser STEM Labor Markets

Sep. 12, 2016 — In one of the first attempts to understand the geography of STEM degree-job matching, a new study finds that matching is much more likely in dense rather than in large STEM labor ... read more

Accountable Care Model Savings on the Upswing

Sep. 12, 2016 — The Accountable Care Organization (ACO) model -- the signature payment reform of the Affordable Care Act -- generated savings to Medicare in its second year of existence, new research ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — Experts involved in the operation of US civilian and military time standards have worked with two companies to identify a practical GPS backup possibility: commercial fiber-optic telecommunications ... read more

US Should Act to Support Innovation in Increasingly Clean Electric Power Technologies

Sep. 8, 2016 — A new report urges Congress, federal and state agencies, and regulatory institutions to significantly increase their support for innovation for what the report's study committee calls ... read more

National Education Reformers Target Local School Boards

Sep. 7, 2016 — Local school board elections increasingly are becoming a national political battleground, as millions of dollars in campaign cash pours in from out-of-state donors in the name of education reform, ... read more

Beat the Stock Market by Satisfying Customers

Sep. 6, 2016 — Satisfy your customers and win in the stock market, says a new study by a team of researchers who found positive stock returns on customer satisfaction far out-distance competitive market measures ... read more

How AI Might Affect Urban Life in 2030

Sep. 1, 2016 — A diverse panel of academic and industrial thinkers has looked ahead to 2030 to forecast how advances in artificial intelligence might affect life in a typical North American city, and to spur ... read more

Single Women With Personal Wealth More Likely to Become Entrepreneurs Than Men

Aug. 30, 2016 — There is a big difference in cash flow problems faced by men and women in the UK, a new economic study has found. They found single women face more severe constraints to their incomings and ... read more

Aug. 26, 2016 — Researchers have developed an economic model that demonstrates how flexible wastewater treatment processes which blend varying levels of treated effluent can create a water supply that benefits crops ... read more

Baby Simulator Program May Make Teenage Girls More, Not Less, Likely to Become Pregnant

Aug. 25, 2016 — A teenage pregnancy prevention program involving a baby simulator does not appear to have any long-term effect on reducing the risk of teenage pregnancy, according to the first randomized controlled ... read more

The Refugee Crisis in Europe: Challenges and Possible Solutions

Aug. 25, 2016 — Researchers have discussed the different ideological viewpoints of liberals and conservatives in Europe with respect to accepting refugees, highlighting why -- even though the continent is not ... read more

Number of Tuberculosis Cases in India Is Double Current Estimates, Says New Study

Aug. 25, 2016 — The number of cases of tuberculosis (TB) in India may be up to two to three times higher than current estimates, suggests a new study. TB is a bacterial infection, spread through inhaling tiny ... read more

Climate Change: Trade Liberalization Could Buffer Economic Losses in Agriculture

Aug. 24, 2016 — Global warming could create substantial economic damage in agriculture, a new study finds. Around the globe, climate change threatens agricultural productivity, forcing up food prices. As the ... read more

Monday, September 26, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Friday, September 16, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016