Early Mammals News
May 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:33am EDT

More Early Mammals News
May 25, 2016

Apr. 8, 2016 — An international team of scientists have developed a way to help locate fossils of long-extinct animals. The models were developed for Australia but the researchers provide guidelines on how to apply ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — It lived millions of years ago and was three times as large as the great white shark: the megalodon. So far its extinction has been explained with the onset of an ice age. However, researchers have ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — A new analysis of the prehistoric origin of malaria suggests that it evolved in insects at least 100 million years ago, and the first vertebrate hosts of this disease were probably reptiles, which at ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — The Hawaiian Islands have long been thought to support just one endemic land mammal in the archipelago's brief geologic history, the Hawaiian hoary bat. But new fossil evidence indicates that a ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — Scientists struggle to compare the magnitude of Earth's ongoing sixth mass-extinction event with the five great die-offs of prehistory. A new study by three paleontologists shows that the ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Scientists have studied the Neanderthals' diet. Based on the isotope composition in the collagen from the prehistoric humans' bones, they were able to show that, while the ... read more

Decline of Crocodile Ancestors Was Good News for Early Marine Turtles

Mar. 9, 2016 — Marine turtles experienced an evolutionary windfall thanks to a mass extinction of crocodyliforms around 145 million years ago, say ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — The global spread of an ancient group of retroviruses that affected about 28 of 50 modern mammals' ancestors some 15 to 30 million years ago has been revealed by a team of ... read more

Feb. 19, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a new species of extinct worm lizard in Texas and dubbed it the 'Lone Star' lizard. The species -- the first known example of a worm lizard in Texas -- offers ... read more

Feb. 15, 2016 — The roots of the mammalian family tree have long been shrouded in mystery -- when did the placental mammals go their separate ways? Now, researchers say they've found where the family tree of ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — New research confirms there really was a giant, flightless bird with a head the size of a horse's wandering about in the winter twilight of the high Arctic some 53 million years ... read more

Feb. 11, 2016 — Considerably more of the fossil record of creatures such as mammoths, mastodons, camels, horses and ground sloths has been lost in what is now the continental United States and South America than in ... read more

Feb. 10, 2016 — Considerably more of the fossil record of creatures such as mammoths, mastodons, camels, horses and ground sloths has been lost in what is now the continental United States and South America than in ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — Sorry, Explorers Club, but woolly mammoth is no longer on the menu. Neither is the giant ground ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — The first direct evidence that humans played a substantial role in the extinction of the huge, wondrous beasts inhabiting Australia some 50,000 years ago -- in this case a 500-pound bird -- has been ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Dinosaurs engaged in mating behavior similar to modern birds, leaving the fossil evidence behind in 100 million year old rocks, according to new research. Ancient fossilized scrapes recently ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — The diversity of mammals on Earth exploded straight after the dinosaur extinction event, according to new research. New analysis of the fossil record shows that placental mammals, the group that ... read more

Fossils Enrich Our Understanding of Evolution

Dec. 16, 2015 — Our understanding of evolution can be enriched by adding fossil species to analyses of living animals, as shown by scientists. The research also highlights that different methods can be crucial in ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — A 15-million-year-old fossil sperm whale specimen from California belongs to a new genus, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 2, 2015 — A new species of fossil baleen whale that lived in the North Pacific Ocean 30 to 33 million years ago has been described. The whale, named Fucaia buelli by the researchers, is transitional between ... read more

Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014