Early Mammals News
May 4, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:03pm EDT

More Early Mammals News
May 4, 2016

Decline of Crocodile Ancestors Was Good News for Early Marine Turtles

Mar. 9, 2016 — Marine turtles experienced an evolutionary windfall thanks to a mass extinction of crocodyliforms around 145 million years ago, say ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — The global spread of an ancient group of retroviruses that affected about 28 of 50 modern mammals' ancestors some 15 to 30 million years ago has been revealed by a team of ... read more

Feb. 19, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a new species of extinct worm lizard in Texas and dubbed it the 'Lone Star' lizard. The species -- the first known example of a worm lizard in Texas -- offers ... read more

Feb. 15, 2016 — The roots of the mammalian family tree have long been shrouded in mystery -- when did the placental mammals go their separate ways? Now, researchers say they've found where the family tree of ... read more

Feb. 12, 2016 — New research confirms there really was a giant, flightless bird with a head the size of a horse's wandering about in the winter twilight of the high Arctic some 53 million years ... read more

Feb. 11, 2016 — Considerably more of the fossil record of creatures such as mammoths, mastodons, camels, horses and ground sloths has been lost in what is now the continental United States and South America than in ... read more

Feb. 10, 2016 — Considerably more of the fossil record of creatures such as mammoths, mastodons, camels, horses and ground sloths has been lost in what is now the continental United States and South America than in ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — Sorry, Explorers Club, but woolly mammoth is no longer on the menu. Neither is the giant ground ... read more

Jan. 29, 2016 — The first direct evidence that humans played a substantial role in the extinction of the huge, wondrous beasts inhabiting Australia some 50,000 years ago -- in this case a 500-pound bird -- has been ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Dinosaurs engaged in mating behavior similar to modern birds, leaving the fossil evidence behind in 100 million year old rocks, according to new research. Ancient fossilized scrapes recently ... read more

Dec. 21, 2015 — The diversity of mammals on Earth exploded straight after the dinosaur extinction event, according to new research. New analysis of the fossil record shows that placental mammals, the group that ... read more

Fossils Enrich Our Understanding of Evolution

Dec. 16, 2015 — Our understanding of evolution can be enriched by adding fossil species to analyses of living animals, as shown by scientists. The research also highlights that different methods can be crucial in ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — A 15-million-year-old fossil sperm whale specimen from California belongs to a new genus, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 2, 2015 — A new species of fossil baleen whale that lived in the North Pacific Ocean 30 to 33 million years ago has been described. The whale, named Fucaia buelli by the researchers, is transitional between ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — Horses, humans, and other mammals see the world similarly in spite of differing evolutionary processes, study ... read more

Nov. 24, 2015 — A 'dinosaur' fossil originally discovered on Prince Edward Island, Canada, has been shown to have steak knife-like teeth, and researchers have changed its name to Dimetrodon borealis -- ... read more

Adapting to -70 Degrees in Siberia: A Tale of Yakutian Horses

Nov. 23, 2015 — From an evolutionary perspective, it happened almost overnight. In less than 800 years Yakutian horses adapted to the extremely cold temperatures found in the environments of eastern Siberia. The ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — A new analysis of the jaw of one of the earliest known proto-mammals sheds light on efforts to accurately date the period when mammals first evolved and clarifies the mammalian family tree. The study ... read more

Nov. 13, 2015 — The discovery of a tiny, 170-million-year-old fossil on the Isle of Skye, off the north-west coast of the UK, has led researchers to conclude that three previously recognized species are in fact just ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — A study of life and extinctions among woolly mammoths and other ice-age animals suggests that interconnected habitats can help Arctic mammal species survive environmental ... read more

Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014