Early Mammals News
July 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:30am EDT

More Early Mammals News
July 27, 2016

May 9, 2016 — A team of scientists using techniques from the field of dentistry is shedding new light on the evolution of walruses, fur seals and sea lions. The researchers have cast further doubt on previous ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Mosasaurs -- an extinct group of aquatic reptiles that thrived during the Late Cretaceous period -- possibly were "endotherms," or warm-blooded creatures. Mosasurs were large aquatic ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Researchers have unearthed a "mother lode" of a half-dozen fossil primate species in southern China.These primates eked out an existence just after the Eocene-Oligocene transition, when ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have found an evolutionary connection between dinosaurs and dung beetles. Scientists uncovered the first molecular evidence indicating that dung beetles evolved in association with ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Biologists have completely sequenced the mitochondrial genome for the Hispaniolan solenodon, filling in the last major branch of placental mammals on the tree of life. The study confirmed that the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Brain sleep appeared early in vertebrate evolution. Researchers describe the existence of REM and slow-wave sleep in the Australian dragon, with many common features with mammalian sleep: a phase ... read more

Tiny Fossil Horses Put Their Back Into It

Apr. 27, 2016 — A new study reveals that tiny fossil ancestors of modern horses may have moved quite differently to their living ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Multiple dispersals of penguins reached Australia after the continent split from Antarctica, including 'giant penguins' that may have lived there after they went extinct elsewhere, ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered dozens of fossilized teeth in Kuwajima, Japan, and identified this as a new species of tritylodontid, an animal family that links the evolution of mammals from reptiles. ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research examining the DNA of North American mammoths challenges the way we categorize a species. Several species of mammoth are thought to have roamed across the North American continent. The ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Seven fossil teeth exposed by the Panama Canal expansion project are first evidence of a monkey on the North American continent before the Isthmus of Panama connected it to South America 3.5 million ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A handful of tiny teeth found in Israel's Negev desert led researchers to describe a new species of rodent which has been extinct for nearly 18 million ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — An international team of scientists have developed a way to help locate fossils of long-extinct animals. The models were developed for Australia but the researchers provide guidelines on how to apply ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — It lived millions of years ago and was three times as large as the great white shark: the megalodon. So far its extinction has been explained with the onset of an ice age. However, researchers have ... read more

Mar. 28, 2016 — A new analysis of the prehistoric origin of malaria suggests that it evolved in insects at least 100 million years ago, and the first vertebrate hosts of this disease were probably reptiles, which at ... read more

Mar. 22, 2016 — The Hawaiian Islands have long been thought to support just one endemic land mammal in the archipelago's brief geologic history, the Hawaiian hoary bat. But new fossil evidence indicates that a ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — Scientists struggle to compare the magnitude of Earth's ongoing sixth mass-extinction event with the five great die-offs of prehistory. A new study by three paleontologists shows that the ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Scientists have studied the Neanderthals' diet. Based on the isotope composition in the collagen from the prehistoric humans' bones, they were able to show that, while the ... read more

Decline of Crocodile Ancestors Was Good News for Early Marine Turtles

Mar. 9, 2016 — Marine turtles experienced an evolutionary windfall thanks to a mass extinction of crocodyliforms around 145 million years ago, say ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — The global spread of an ancient group of retroviruses that affected about 28 of 50 modern mammals' ancestors some 15 to 30 million years ago has been revealed by a team of ... read more

Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Monday, January 19, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014