Early Mammals News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:31am EDT

More Early Mammals News
August 27, 2016

July 5, 2016 — The first-ever record of a tumourous facial swelling found in a fossil has been discovered in the jaw of the dwarf dinosaur <em>Telmatosaurus transsylvanicus</em>, a type of primitive ... read more

June 28, 2016 — Our ancestors evolved three times faster in the 10 million years after the extinction of the dinosaurs than in the previous 80 million years, according to researchers. The team found the speed of ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Though mammals adapted on land, a new study has shown that during three major independent evolutionary events, a number of mammals hearkened back to the ... read more

June 22, 2016 — By scanning the fossil remains of mammal-like reptiles from the Karoo of South Africa, scientists have found that these reptiles, called therapsids, may have evolved hair, and the use of whiskers as ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Early mammals evolved in a burst during the Jurassic period, adapting a nocturnal lifestyle when dinosaurs were the dominant daytime predator. How these early mammals evolved night vision to find ... read more

June 20, 2016 — Over 90 percent of mammal species were wiped out by the same asteroid that killed the dinosaurs in the Cretaceous period 66 million years ago, significantly more than previously thought, a new study ... read more

June 7, 2016 — New research reports that, contrary to popular belief, mammals began their massive diversification 10 to 20 million years before the extinction of the ... read more

May 11, 2016 — In what is considered one of the oldest and most important archaeological digs in North America, scientists have uncovered what they believe are the bones of a 13,000- to 14,000-year-old ancient, ... read more

May 11, 2016 — A doctoral student at the University of Pennsylvania has identified a new species of fossil dog. The specimen, found in Maryland, would have roamed the coast of eastern North America approximately 12 ... read more

May 9, 2016 — A team of scientists using techniques from the field of dentistry is shedding new light on the evolution of walruses, fur seals and sea lions. The researchers have cast further doubt on previous ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Mosasaurs -- an extinct group of aquatic reptiles that thrived during the Late Cretaceous period -- possibly were "endotherms," or warm-blooded creatures. Mosasurs were large aquatic ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Researchers have unearthed a "mother lode" of a half-dozen fossil primate species in southern China.These primates eked out an existence just after the Eocene-Oligocene transition, when ... read more

May 4, 2016 — Researchers have found an evolutionary connection between dinosaurs and dung beetles. Scientists uncovered the first molecular evidence indicating that dung beetles evolved in association with ... read more

May 2, 2016 — Biologists have completely sequenced the mitochondrial genome for the Hispaniolan solenodon, filling in the last major branch of placental mammals on the tree of life. The study confirmed that the ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Brain sleep appeared early in vertebrate evolution. Researchers describe the existence of REM and slow-wave sleep in the Australian dragon, with many common features with mammalian sleep: a phase ... read more

Tiny Fossil Horses Put Their Back Into It

Apr. 27, 2016 — A new study reveals that tiny fossil ancestors of modern horses may have moved quite differently to their living ... read more

Apr. 26, 2016 — Multiple dispersals of penguins reached Australia after the continent split from Antarctica, including 'giant penguins' that may have lived there after they went extinct elsewhere, ... read more

Apr. 25, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered dozens of fossilized teeth in Kuwajima, Japan, and identified this as a new species of tritylodontid, an animal family that links the evolution of mammals from reptiles. ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — New research examining the DNA of North American mammoths challenges the way we categorize a species. Several species of mammoth are thought to have roamed across the North American continent. The ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Seven fossil teeth exposed by the Panama Canal expansion project are first evidence of a monkey on the North American continent before the Isthmus of Panama connected it to South America 3.5 million ... read more

Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Monday, December 21, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Friday, June 5, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015