Allergy News
May 1, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:53am EDT

More Allergy News
May 1, 2016

Early Detection of Allergies, Especially in Children

Apr. 27, 2016 — People can become allergically sensitized straight from birth. The importance of early screening is therefore important to detect allergies early for the purposes of preventing serious illness. ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Skin tests traditionally used to predict allergies to amoxicillin, one of the most commonly prescribed antibiotics in children, are ineffective according to a new study. The findings determined that ... read more

Protein May Be Responsible for Damage in Eosinophilic Esophagitis, Study Finds

Apr. 7, 2016 — Scientists have identified a protein that may be the cause of tissue damage in patients with eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE). EoE is a food allergy-related disease in which white blood cells called ... read more

Common Allergy Medication Worsens Restless Leg Symptoms

Apr. 4, 2016 — Allergy season can be the worst time of year for people suffering with restless legs syndrome because popular over the counter medications can make symptoms much worse, say ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Lactobacillus might sound familiar when the topic of probiotics comes up, but they are only one of many types of bacteria that have proven health benefits.  In a new study researchers have shown ... read more

Infant Milk Formula Does Not Reduce Risk of Eczema and Allergies

Mar. 9, 2016 — A special type of baby formula does not reduce allergy risk -- despite previous claims to the contrary -- according to new research. The study reviewed data from 37 different trials into hydrolyzed ... read more

Omalizumab Decreases Colds in Inner-City Children With Asthma

Mar. 6, 2016 — Treatment with omalizumab significantly decreases the number of colds in inner-city children with allergic asthma, researchers report. Omalizumab, sold under the brand name Xolair, is an injectable ... read more

Asthma Symptoms Linked to Increased Stress, Anxiety Levels in Teens

Mar. 6, 2016 — Common asthma symptoms like waking up in the middle of the night and shortness of breath are associated with increased levels of stress and anxiety in teens with asthma. In a small study of 38 asthma ... read more

New Insight Into the Possible Risk Factors Associated With Food Allergies

Feb. 29, 2016 — Food hypersensitivity is the umbrella term used to describe any condition where there is a reaction to a food. People are tested by measuring levels of a protein in the blood - immunoglobulin E (IgE) ... read more

Many School Children Avoid Basic Foods Unnecessarily

Feb. 17, 2016 — A study on hypersensitivity to the basic foods milk, egg, fish and wheat among young school children showed that reported food hypersensitivity was eight times more common than allergies confirmed by ... read more

Vitamin D-Rich Foods During Pregnancy May Reduce Allergy Risk in Children

Feb. 11, 2016 — Higher intake of foods containing vitamin D during pregnancy – but not supplemental vitamin D intake – was associated with reduced risk of development of allergies in children, new research ... read more

Allergy Shots Effective for Baby Boomers Suffering from Seasonal Allergies

Feb. 9, 2016 — A new study shows immunotherapy (allergy shots) for older patients reduced symptoms by 55 percent after three years of therapy, and decreased the amount of medication needed for relief of symptoms by ... read more

Feb. 5, 2016 — Scientists have obtained a gas phase structure of histamine -- a substance that is responsible for allergic ... read more

Genetic Cause of Rare Allergy to Vibration Discovered

Feb. 3, 2016 — Scientists have identified a genetic mutation responsible for a rare form of inherited hives induced by vibration, also known as vibratory urticaria. Running, hand clapping, towel drying or even ... read more

Purified Cashew Proteins Lend Insight Into Allergic Reactions

Feb. 3, 2016 — It's well known that peanuts can cause severe reactions in people who are allergic, but research suggests that the risk of developing a life-threatening reaction could be higher for those ... read more

Which Comes First: Self-Reported Penicillin Allergy or Chronic Hives?

Feb. 3, 2016 — People who have self-reported penicillin allergy may have a three times greater chance of suffering from chronic hives. And people who have chronic hives tend to self-report penicillin allergy at a ... read more

Medication Effective in Treating Nasal Polyps for Patients With Chronic Sinusitis

Feb. 2, 2016 — Use of the medication dupilumab resulted in improvement of nasal polyps in patients with chronic sinusitis and nasal polyposis not responsive to intranasal corticosteroids alone, according to a ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — The immune system has built-in tolerance mechanisms that harness itself from responding to benign foreign antigens beneficial to our system, like food. When such tolerance fails, we suffer from an ... read more

Potential to Predict Peanut Allergy Immunotherapy Outcomes

Jan. 25, 2016 — Oral immunotherapy for peanut allergy induces early, distinct changes in immune T-cell populations that potentially may help researchers determine which people will respond well to the therapy and ... read more

It's Mom Who Sees Troubles for Teens With Food Allergies

Jan. 20, 2016 — Mothers of teens with food allergies are more likely than the kids themselves to report that the youth have emotional and behavioral problems, a new study ... read more

Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Sunday, March 6, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 14, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Sunday, May 17, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Sunday, March 22, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Saturday, February 21, 2015