NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Allergy News
September 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:23am EDT

More Allergy News
September 29, 2016

Pediatric Atopic Dermatitis May Benefit from Early Immune Intervention

Sep. 23, 2016 — An association between pediatric eczema and large abnormalities in non-lesional skin and multi T lymphocyte axes activation has been uncovered by ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Food allergies have been on the increase for years. There is currently only one solution for patients: avoid allergy-triggering products. Researchers are making an important contribution to consumer ... read more

Career Advice for Young Allergy Patients

Sep. 1, 2016 — Approximately one-third of apprentices in Germany are at elevated risk of occupational asthma, allergies, and dermatitis. A new study used a systematic search of the literature as the basis for ... read more

Hay Fever from Ragweed Pollen Could Double Due to Climate Change

Aug. 24, 2016 — Climate change could cause new hay fever misery for millions of people across Europe -- according to a new report. Hay fever is a common allergic condition that is caused by an allergy to pollen -- ... read more

Progress in Vaccination Against Vespid Venom

Aug. 24, 2016 — Especially in late summer, apprehension about wasp stings increases among allergy sufferers. So-called hyposensibilization therapy can help, but it is linked to a heavy burden on patients and health ... read more

Aug. 24, 2016 — Especially in late summer, apprehension about wasp stings increases amongst allergy sufferers. So-called hyposensibilization therapy can help, but it is linked to a heavy burden on patients and ... read more

Asthma: Researchers Have Discovered a Type of Eosinophil That Plays a Protective and Beneficial Role

Aug. 22, 2016 — The eosinophils that contribute to inflammation and exacerbation of the asthmatic response had been known to scientists for some time. But another type of eosinophil has been discovered that, to the ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Nearly 80 percent of peanut-allergic preschool children successfully incorporated peanut-containing foods into their diets after receiving peanut oral immunotherapy (OIT), a clinical trial has found. ... read more

Seasonal Allergies Could Change Your Brain

Aug. 8, 2016 — Hay fever may do more than give you a stuffy nose and itchy eyes, seasonal allergies may change the brain, says a new ... read more

Genomics Study Points to Origins of Pollen Allergens

Aug. 4, 2016 — A new study has provided the first broad picture of the evolution and possible functions in the plant of pollen ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — New research connects several pesticides commonly used by farmers with both allergic and non-allergic wheeze, which can be a sensitive marker for early airway ... read more

Eczema Can Have Many Effects on Patients' Health

July 28, 2016 — When a patient is diagnosed with eczema, the diagnosis of another medical condition may not be far behind, say researchers. Eczema, also known as atopic dermatitis, is characterized by dry, red ... read more

Stop the Rogue ADAM Gene and You Stop Asthma

July 21, 2016 — A potential and novel way of preventing asthma at the origin of the disease has now been discovered by researchers, a finding that could challenge the current understanding of the ... read more

Most Siblings of Food Allergic Kids Do Not Have Food Allergy

July 12, 2016 — The risk of food allergy in siblings of an affected child is only minimally higher than in the general population, new data suggests. The study found that the majority (53%) of siblings of food ... read more

July 11, 2016 — Children who are thumb-suckers or nail-biters are less likely to develop allergic sensitivities, research has found. And, if they have both 'bad habits', they are even less likely to be ... read more

Zinc Lozenges Help Most Patients Recover Earlier from the Common Cold

July 6, 2016 — Zinc acetate lozenges may reduce the duration of the common cold by nearly 3 days, according to a recent ... read more

July 4, 2016 — At present, bacteria, fungi or viruses can generally only be detected with certainty by way of elaborate laboratory tests or animal experiments. The food and pharmaceutical industries would like to ... read more

Early Diagnosis, Effective Therapy Vital for Treatment of Deadly Invasive Aspergillosis

June 30, 2016 — New therapies are improving care, but early diagnosis remains critical in the effective treatment of invasive, a potentially deadly fungal infection, according to new ... read more

Eczema: Daily 'Soak and Smear' or Steer Clear?

June 29, 2016 — For a very long time, parents of kids who have eczema have asked doctors how often they should bathe their child. A new article offers insight into what the research ... read more

Laboratory Drug Trials Could Lead to Asthma Treatment Breakthrough

June 27, 2016 — A new drug with the potential to reverse or slow the development of asthma is being tested by ... read more

Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Sunday, March 6, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 14, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015