Allergy News
May 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:53pm EDT

More Allergy News
May 25, 2017

Asthma Drug Helps Patients With Skin Disorder

Apr. 7, 2017 — Omalizumab is shown to be effective in treating inducible urticaria, report scientists in a new report. Two separate clinical studies have shown the drug's active substance to be highly ... read more

High-Fat Diet During Pregnancy Compromises Offspring's Lung Health

Mar. 29, 2017 — Women who follow a high-fat diet during pregnancy may increase their children’s risk for asthma. A mouse study suggests that consistent consumption of fat-laden foods may change the immune response ... read more

Are Tree Nut Allergies Diagnosed Too Often?

Mar. 27, 2017 — About 50 percent of those who thought they were allergic to all tree nuts were able to pass an oral food challenge without a reaction, new research ... read more

Asthma: Researchers Discover How Exposure to Microbes Protects Against Asthma

Mar. 21, 2017 — The incidence of asthma is increasing steadily. One of the reasons given for this rise is the excessive level of hygiene in our environment. Studies have indeed shown that exposure to a so-called ... read more

An Epidemic of Epipens

Mar. 15, 2017 — Prescriptions of adrenaline autoinjectors (commonly called 'epipens') for children with allergies have increased markedly in the last decade, with nearly four devices a year provided per ... read more

Antibiotics Not Effective for Clinically Infected Eczema in Children

Mar. 14, 2017 — Estimates suggest that 40 percent of eczema flares are treated with topical antibiotics, but findings suggest there is no meaningful benefit from the use of either oral or topical antibiotics for ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — Bedcovers that form a barrier to house dust mites appear to reduce asthma flare-ups in children, according to new ... read more

Asthmatics Less Able to Fight Off Flu

Mar. 9, 2017 — People with asthma are likely to have worse symptoms when they get the flu because they have weaker immune systems, new research has ... read more

How Stable Manure Protects Against Allergies

Mar. 8, 2017 — Improved hygiene has largely eliminated infectious diseases from everyday life. There is, however, a downside to this progress: the number of allergies is growing steadily. If the immune system is ... read more

Supervised Self-Injection With Empty Syringes Improved Comfort in Food-Allergic Adolescents Administering Epinephrine, Study Finds

Mar. 7, 2017 — A new intervention could save lives, recognizing that adolescents are at higher risk for fatal food-allergic ... read more

Women Suffer from Asthma Symptoms More Frequently and More Severely Than Men

Mar. 7, 2017 — Women suffer more frequently and more severely from pollen and food allergies and therefore also from asthma. Firstly, female sex hormones increase the risk and symptoms of asthma and allergies and, ... read more

Skin Testing, Computerized Support Tool Can Improve Antibiotic Use in Hospital Inpatients

Mar. 6, 2017 — Investigators have developed two approaches to increasing the use of penicillins and cephalosporins -- highly effective antibiotics that are not as problematic as many alternatives -- in hospitalized ... read more

Mouse Arrest: Professional Pest Management No More Effective Than Do-It-Yourself Allergen Reduction in Improving Asthma Symptoms

Mar. 6, 2017 — A professional pest management intervention was no better in decreasing asthma symptoms in children allergic to mice than teaching families how to reduce the level of allergens shed by mice in the ... read more

Learn the Language of Skin Care Labels

Mar. 3, 2017 — When it comes to skin care product labels, people shouldn’t necessarily believe everything they ... read more

New Technique Removes the Cause of Allergic Asthma: Antibodies Are Suctioned Off

Mar. 3, 2017 — Allergies are the most common cause of asthma. The immune system over-reacts to harmless substances such as birch or grass pollen, for example, forming immunoglobulin E antibodies (IgE). Together ... read more

Allergies? Probiotic Combination May Curb Your Symptoms, New Study Finds

Mar. 1, 2017 — As we head into allergy season, you may feel less likely to grab a hanky and sneeze. That's because new research shows a probiotic combination might help reduce hay fever symptoms, if it's ... read more

Study Brings Hope of a New Treatment for Asthma Sufferers

Mar. 1, 2017 — Improved treatments for people with severe asthma are a ‘step closer’ after a research team identified a breakthrough in the cause of airway ... read more

Shorter Course of Immunotherapy Does Not Improve Symptoms of Allergic Rhinitis Long-Term

Feb. 14, 2017 — Among patients with moderate to severe seasonal allergic rhinitis, two years of immunotherapy tablets was not significantly different from placebo in improving nasal symptoms at 3-year follow-up, ... read more

People Can 'Suppress' Hay Fever With Three Years of Pollen Pills or Injections

Feb. 14, 2017 — Patients blighted by hay fever could markedly reduce symptoms for several years after a three-year course of treatment, but not after two years of treatment, researchers have ... read more

Scientists Discover Peptide That Could Reduce the Incidence of RSV-Related Asthma

Feb. 1, 2017 — Researchers have found that a peptide, called STAT6-IP, when delivered to the lungs of neonatal mice at the time of first RSV exposure reduces the development of allergic-type lung inflammation and ... read more

Friday, April 7, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Friday, December 2, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016