Human Evolution News
February 10, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 5:00pm EST

More Human Evolution News
February 10, 2016

Dec. 17, 2015 — An evolutionary biologist has analyzed political opposition to evolution and found it has evolved. The researcher analyzed the text in anti-evolution legislation using software for building genetic ... read more

Nov. 25, 2015 — A new Lower Paleolithic elephant butchering site has been discovered in Megalopolis, Greece. The site has yielded stratified stone artifacts in association with a nearly complete skeleton of Elephas ... read more

Nov. 24, 2015 — New research suggests that betrayals of trust were the missing link in understanding the rapid spread of our own species around the world. Moral disputes motivated by broken trust and a sense of ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — By observing evolution's 'greatest hits' (and misses) and the history of the major themes and patterns of genome conservation (and divergence) across many species, one scientist's ... read more

Oct. 27, 2015 — Scientists found two mutations that had occurred in the mitochondrial genomes of the birds in only 50 years, showing a rate of evolution much higher than the widely accepted rate of change in the ... read more

Oct. 26, 2015 — Scientists deciphered maternal genetic material from two babies buried together in Alaska 11,500 years ago. They found the infants had different mothers and were the northernmost known kin to two ... read more

Oct. 15, 2015 — It's tempting to believe that people these days aren't getting enough sleep, living as we do in our well-lit houses with TVs blaring, cell phones buzzing, and a well-used coffee maker in ... read more

Oct. 8, 2015 — The first ancient human genome from Africa to be sequenced has revealed that a wave of migration back into Africa from Western Eurasia around 3,000 years ago was up to twice as significant as ... read more

Oct. 6, 2015 — A new study on Homo naledi, the extinct human relative whose remains were discovered in a South African cave and introduced to the world last month, suggests that although its feet were the most ... read more

Sep. 25, 2015 — Research into human fossils dating back to approximately two million years ago reveals that the hearing pattern resembles chimpanzees, but with some slight differences in the direction of ... read more

Sep. 24, 2015 — Researchers have succeeded in mapping the genetic signature of a unique group of stem cells in the human brain that seem to generate most of the neurons in our massive cerebral ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — Pre-humans' shift toward a grass-based diet took place about 400,000 years earlier than experts previously thought, providing a clearer picture of a time of rapid change in conditions that ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Scientists have discovered a new species of hominin, a small creature with a tiny brain that opens the door to a new way of thinking about our ancient ... read more

Sep. 8, 2015 — What the last common ancestor between humans and African apes looked like has remained unclear. A new study now shows that important clues lie in the ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — If you are in a special relationship with another person, thank grandma -- not just yours, but all grandmothers since humans evolved. The grandma hypothesis holds that the key to why moms can have ... read more

Human Body Has Gone Through Four Stages of Evolution

Aug. 31, 2015 — Research into 430,000-year-old fossils collected in northern Spain found that the evolution of the human body's size and shape has gone through four main ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — The fact that the greatest diversity of large mammals is found in Africa reflects past human activities -- and not climatic or other environmental constraints. This is determined in a new study, ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Marks on two 3.4 million-year-old animal bones found at the site of Dikika, Ethiopia, were not caused by trampling, an extensive statistical analysis confirms. The results of the study developed new ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Understanding how and why we evolved such large brains is one of the most puzzling issues in the study of human evolution. A new study argues that carbohydrate consumption, particularly in the form ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — A new analysis of early hominin body size evolution suggests that the earliest members of the Homo genus (which includes our species, Homo sapiens) may not have been larger than earlier hominin ... read more

Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Monday, May 5, 2014
Tuesday, April 29, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Monday, April 7, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Thursday, April 3, 2014
Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Friday, March 14, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Sunday, March 2, 2014
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Friday, February 7, 2014
Wednesday, January 29, 2014