Human Evolution News
September 3, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:25am EDT

More Human Evolution News
September 3, 2015

Apr. 28, 2015 — The demise of Neanderthals may have nothing to do with innovative hunting weapons carried by humans from west Asia, according to a new study. The researchers say their findings mean that we may need ... read more

Common Back Problems May Be Caused by Evolution of Human Locomotion

Apr. 27, 2015 — A common spinal disease could be the result of some people's vertebrae, the bones that make up the spine, sharing similarities in shape to a non-human primate. The research suggests that the ... read more

Apr. 20, 2015 — Scientists are coming to grips with the superior grasping ability of humans and other primates throughout history. In a new study, a research team found that even the oldest known human ancestors may ... read more

Apr. 16, 2015 — Analysis of ancient cadavers recovered at a famous archaeological site confirm the existence of a sophisticated culture of butchering and carving human remains, according to a team of ... read more

Apr. 14, 2015 — Neanderthals from the French region of Poitou-Charentes cut, beat and fractured the bones of their recently deceased companions, as revealed by the fossil remains of two adults and a child found at ... read more

Apr. 8, 2015 — An ancient human skull and a jawbone found a few meters apart in a cave in northern Laos add to the evidence that early modern humans were physically quite diverse, researchers report. The skull has ... read more

Mar. 27, 2015 — Scientists have produced a 3-D reconstruction of the remains of a two-year-old Neanderthal recovered from an excavation carried out back in the 1970s at La Ferrassie (Dordogne, France). The work ... read more

Mar. 26, 2015 — New research harnessing fragmentary fossils suggests our genus has come in different shapes and sizes since its origins over two million years ago, and adds weight to the idea that humans began to ... read more

Mar. 9, 2015 — Recently released research on human evolution has revealed that species of early human ancestors had significant differences in facial features. Now, scientists have found that these early human ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — For decades, scientists have been searching for African fossils documenting the earliest phases of the Homo lineage, but specimens recovered from the critical time interval between 3 and 2.5 million ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — The precise dating of ancient charcoal found near a skull is helping reveal a unique period in prehistory. The Manot Cave, a natural limestone formation, had been sealed for some 15,000 years. It was ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — How was human evolution and migration influenced by past changes in climate? Researchers hope to find ... read more

Feb. 18, 2015 — Neanderthals divided some of their tasks according to their sex. A new study analyzed 99 teeth of 19 individuals from three different sites (El Sidron, in Asturias - Spain, L'Hortus in France, ... read more

Feb. 5, 2015 — Until a few months ago different scientific articles dated the disappearance of the Neanderthals (Homo neanderthalensis) from Europe at around 40,000 years ago. However, a new study shows that these ... read more

Jan. 29, 2015 — A study of gene regulation in 20 mammals provides new insights into how species diverged millions of years ago. The findings demonstrate how methods and tools for genetic analysis of humans and mice ... read more

Jan. 29, 2015 — A skull provides direct anatomical evidence that fills a problematic time gap of modern human migration into Europe. It is also the first proof that anatomically modern humans existed at the same ... read more

Jan. 28, 2015 — Genetic variations associated with some modern maladies are extremely old, scientists have discovered, predating the evolution of Neanderthals, Denisovans (another ancient hominin) and contemporary ... read more

Tracking DNA Helps Scientists Trace Origins of Genetic Errors

Jan. 27, 2015 — Scientists have shed light on how naturally occurring mutations can be introduced into our DNA. The study, which focuses on how DNA replicates every time a cell divides, helps to make clear ... read more

Jan. 22, 2015 — New research suggests pre-Homo human ancestral species, such as Australopithecus africanus, used human-like hand postures much earlier than was previously thought. The distinctly human ability for ... read more

Jan. 20, 2015 — A new computational method has been developed to identify which letters in the human genome are functionally important. Their computer program, called fitCons, harnesses the power of evolution, ... read more

Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Thursday, December 18, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Thursday, July 3, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Monday, May 5, 2014
Tuesday, April 29, 2014
Tuesday, April 22, 2014
Monday, April 21, 2014
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Monday, April 7, 2014
Friday, April 4, 2014
Thursday, April 3, 2014
Wednesday, April 2, 2014
Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Tuesday, March 25, 2014
Tuesday, March 18, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014
Friday, March 14, 2014
Monday, March 10, 2014
Tuesday, March 4, 2014
Sunday, March 2, 2014
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Friday, February 7, 2014
Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Monday, January 27, 2014
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
Monday, January 6, 2014
Wednesday, December 18, 2013
Monday, December 16, 2013
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
Friday, November 22, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Sunday, November 10, 2013
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Thursday, October 17, 2013
Sunday, October 6, 2013
Thursday, September 26, 2013
Monday, September 9, 2013
Thursday, August 1, 2013
Thursday, July 25, 2013
Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Tuesday, July 9, 2013