Forest News
November 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:55am EST

More Forest News
November 29, 2015

Launch of New Peatland Code Could Save More Than 200 Million Tons of Carbon Dioxide

Nov. 23, 2015 — A new government-backed code which could slash UK carbon dioxide emissions by 220 million tons and protect rare wildlife by restoring moors, bogs and mires has been ... read more

Nov. 18, 2015 — With 63 percent of the state forested, New York may be nearing a peak in forest land. Gains in forested land have slowed considerably, and two new damaging invasive insects are threatening ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — An analysis by sociologists of data on land use in Mato Grosso, Brazil's third largest state, reveals that a large proportion of deforestation, as well as remaining forest cover, can be found on ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — A new study shows that degrading satellite sensors, not soot or dust, are responsible for the apparent decline in reflectivity of inland ice across northern ... read more

Moving Towards a Sustainable Bioeconomy Requires New Methods, Tools to Support Evidence-Based Decision Making

Oct. 28, 2015 — Developing a sustainable bioeconomy is a prominent strategy in the current European policy. While this offers significant opportunities for the forest-based sector, it also poses challenges for ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — Natives of Amazonia had limited impact on the forests and land surrounding them, suggests new research. The findings reinforce how vulnerable Amazonian forests may be to logging and ... read more

For Trees, Growing Should Not Be Confused With Putting on Weight

Oct. 26, 2015 — In coniferous forests across the Northern Hemisphere, woody biomass production does not occur at the same time or rate as changes in tree stem size. The time lag observed between changes in tree size ... read more

Scientists Urge Policymakers to Plant More Trees to Save Britain's Rivers from Climate Change

Oct. 23, 2015 — New research has prompted scientists to call on policymakers to plant more trees alongside upland rivers and streams, in an effort to save their habitats from the future harm of climate ... read more

Measuring the Impacts of Severe Wildfires in the Arctic

Oct. 22, 2015 — Based on the number of acres burned, 2015 is shaping up to be the second most extreme fire year during the past decade in North America's boreal region. Historically, the area has had one or ... read more

Oct. 20, 2015 — Trees play a minor role in offsetting carbon emissions in urban areas, a new study shows. Researchers examined carbon emissions and trees' carbon storage in the Twin Cities (Minnesota) and found ... read more

Oct. 19, 2015 — A new analysis of fire activity in Alaska's Yukon Flats finds that so many forest fires are occurring there that the area has become a net exporter of carbon to the atmosphere. This is ... read more

Oct. 16, 2015 — Climate scientists conclude that a warmer future with normal rainfall on California's coast will leave coast redwoods south of San Francisco Bay with significantly different climate than they ... read more

New Opportunities for Forests to Tackle Climate Change

Oct. 16, 2015 — There is great scope to enhance the role of EU forests and the forest sector in tackling climate change according to experts. Forests could compensate for up to another 10% of EU emissions, they say, ... read more

Oct. 15, 2015 — Protected and intact forests have been lost at a rapid rate during the first 12 years of this century. According to researchers, 3% of the protected forest, 2.5% of the intact forest, and 1.5% of the ... read more

Endangered Orangutans Face a New Threat

Oct. 14, 2015 — The loss of habitats is considered to be the greatest threat to the endangered orangutans. A new study -- which found that orangutans living in close proximity are surviving on thousands of fewer ... read more

Oct. 14, 2015 — Mangrove forests around the Indo-Pacific region could be submerged by 2070, international research says. Even with relatively low sea-level rises, many mangrove forests had a poor outlook according ... read more

Fragile Hydrological Equilibrium in the Western Amazon Threatened by Climate Change

Oct. 14, 2015 — Deforestation is often seen as the main enemy of the Amazon rainforest. A recent study, however, shows evidence of an even more imminent threat: climate change. The researchers fear that, if climate ... read more

Oct. 12, 2015 — Although useful to Tarzan, vines endanger tropical forests' capacity to store carbon. In a major experimental study in Panama, researchers showed that woody vines, or lianas, slow tropical ... read more

More Extreme Weather Projected in the Amazon Could Have Global Climate Consequences

Oct. 12, 2015 — A new paper evaluates the accuracy of current climate models and uses them to project future drought and wet periods in the Amazon. Authors conclude that the whole of the Amazon will confront more ... read more

Research Points to Bright Future for Biomass

Oct. 12, 2015 — A potential revolution is unfolding on out-of-the-way logging roads. Researchers are innovating unique ways to make use of forest residues—low quality trees, tree tops, limbs, and chunks that ... read more

Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015