Space Station News
July 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:07pm EDT

More Space Station News
July 29, 2015

Out of This World: Research Into the Health Impacts of Human Spaceflight

July 15, 2015 — Pioneering research into the health impacts of spaceflight has been identified as a possible experiment to be conducted by a British astronaut on his maiden voyage to the International Space ... read more

July 2, 2015 — Space debris poses a growing threat to satellites and other spacecraft, which could be damaged in the event of a collision. A new German space surveillance system, schedudled to go into operation in ... read more

June 30, 2015 — Researchers are determining if a key rocket component can withstand the rigors of the next generation of space flight. The parts in question — bellows expansion joints — serve several functions ... read more

Space Lab to Elucidate How Liquid Cocktails Mix

May 11, 2015 — Zero-gravity experiments can tell us a great deal about the effects of temperature change on the concentrations of three different liquids that are mixed together. What does space experimentation ... read more

May 6, 2015 — Debris from the US Defense Meteorological Satellite Program (DMSP) F13 satellite, which recently exploded in orbit, could pose a threat to other spacecraft and missions according to new research. On ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — Inside NASA's giant thermal vacuum chamber, called Chamber A, at NASA's Johnson Space Center in Houston, the James Webb Space Telescope's Pathfinder backplane test model, is being ... read more

Apr. 23, 2015 — The glittering tapestry of young stars flaring to life in this new NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope image aptly resembles an exploding shell in a fireworks display. This vibrant image of the star ... read more

A Blueprint for Clearing the Skies of Space Debris

Apr. 17, 2015 — Scientists have put forward a blueprint for a purely space-based system to solve the growing problem of space debris. The proposal will be used to detect objects, and a recently developed ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — NASA plans to send advanced material into space on Monday, April 13. The Synthetic Muscle™ has been developed to adhere to metal, and could be used in robotics in deep space travel such as travel ... read more

Apr. 9, 2015 — You always want to be the last man standing, especially at NASA. Optimal functional performance, such as standing, is taken even more seriously when preparing for future missions to Mars and beyond. ... read more

Mar. 13, 2015 — Following a successful launch at 10:44 p.m. EDT Thursday, NASA's four Magnetospheric Multiscale (MMS) spacecraft are positioned in Earth's orbit to begin the first space mission dedicated ... read more

Mar. 6, 2015 — NASA's Dawn spacecraft has become the first mission to achieve orbit around a dwarf planet. The spacecraft was approximately 38,000 miles (61,000) kilometers from Ceres when it was captured by ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — The human body is approximately 60 percent fluids. During spaceflight, these fluids shift to the upper body and move across blood vessel and cell membranes differently than they normally do on Earth. ... read more

Feb. 27, 2015 — This week marked the completion of an important step on the path to spacecraft assembly, test, and launch operations for the Origins Spectral Interpretation Resource Identification Security Regolith ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Four new NASA Earth-observing missions are collecting data from space -- with a fifth newly in orbit -- after the busiest year of NASA Earth science launches in more than a ... read more

Feb. 19, 2015 — NASA's Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution has completed the first of five deep-dip maneuvers designed to gather measurements closer to the lower end of the Martian upper ... read more

Feb. 17, 2015 — The combination of American electron clouds and Norwegian northern lights spells trouble for navigation and communication in the Northern regions. The ICI4 rocket will provide knowledge that can help ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — Space travel may severely impair the body's ability to regulate blood rushing to the brain, which could contribute to the temporary or permanent vision problems experienced by astronauts, an ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — An experimental vehicle to develop an autonomous European reentry capability for future reusable space transportation has completed its mission. ESA's Intermediate eXperimental Vehicle flew a ... read more

Worms in Space: Exploring Health Effects of Microgravity

Feb. 10, 2015 — To prepare for people for safely journeying into space for extended periods of time in the future, it's crucial to gain a better understanding of the biophysics involved within reduced gravity ... read more

Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Saturday, August 16, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Sunday, July 20, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014