Space Station News
July 1, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:07pm EDT

More Space Station News
July 1, 2015

Mar. 6, 2015 — NASA's Dawn spacecraft has become the first mission to achieve orbit around a dwarf planet. The spacecraft was approximately 38,000 miles (61,000) kilometers from Ceres when it was captured by ... read more

Mar. 3, 2015 — The human body is approximately 60 percent fluids. During spaceflight, these fluids shift to the upper body and move across blood vessel and cell membranes differently than they normally do on Earth. ... read more

Feb. 27, 2015 — This week marked the completion of an important step on the path to spacecraft assembly, test, and launch operations for the Origins Spectral Interpretation Resource Identification Security Regolith ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — Four new NASA Earth-observing missions are collecting data from space -- with a fifth newly in orbit -- after the busiest year of NASA Earth science launches in more than a ... read more

Feb. 19, 2015 — NASA's Mars Atmosphere and Volatile Evolution has completed the first of five deep-dip maneuvers designed to gather measurements closer to the lower end of the Martian upper ... read more

Feb. 17, 2015 — The combination of American electron clouds and Norwegian northern lights spells trouble for navigation and communication in the Northern regions. The ICI4 rocket will provide knowledge that can help ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — Space travel may severely impair the body's ability to regulate blood rushing to the brain, which could contribute to the temporary or permanent vision problems experienced by astronauts, an ... read more

Feb. 11, 2015 — An experimental vehicle to develop an autonomous European reentry capability for future reusable space transportation has completed its mission. ESA's Intermediate eXperimental Vehicle flew a ... read more

Worms in Space: Exploring Health Effects of Microgravity

Feb. 10, 2015 — To prepare for people for safely journeying into space for extended periods of time in the future, it's crucial to gain a better understanding of the biophysics involved within reduced gravity ... read more

Feb. 10, 2015 — Goodbye, geysers! NASA engineers have successfully finished anti-geyser testing for the liquid oxygen tank that will help fuel the agency's new rocket, the Space Launch System, on the journey to ... read more

Feb. 10, 2015 — New research will be heading to the International Space Station to help NASA understand how the conditions of spaceflight affect living organisms. This work is helping the agency develop the ... read more

Feb. 5, 2015 — NASA's Dawn spacecraft, on approach to dwarf planet Ceres, has acquired its latest and closest-yet snapshot of this mysterious ... read more

Feb. 4, 2015 — Planetary scientists have calculated that there are hundreds of billions of Earth-like planets in our galaxy which might support life, by applying a 200 year old idea to the thousands of exo-planets ... read more

Mining the Moon Becomes a Serious Prospect

Feb. 2, 2015 — With an estimated 1.6 billion tons of water ice at its poles and an abundance of rare-earth elements hidden below its surface, the Moon is rich ground for ... read more

Jan. 27, 2015 — Scientists working with NASA's 230-foot-wide (70-meter) Deep Space Network antenna at Goldstone, California, have released the first radar images of asteroid 2004 BL86. The images show the ... read more

Growing Bone in Space: Study to Test Therapy for Bone Loss on the International Space Station

Jan. 22, 2015 — Stem cell researchers are to send rodents into space to test new therapy for prevention of bone loss. The research has enormous translational potential for astronauts in space flight and patients on ... read more

Jan. 15, 2015 — For years, it was assumed the world was flat. Now, we have a laboratory that orbits our big, blue marble. So, it's funny to think of returning to flatness aboard the International Space Station, ... read more

Jan. 13, 2015 — Two investigations on the space station help researchers seek clues to physiological problems found in astronauts by studying C. elegans -- a millimeter-long roundworm that is widely used as a model ... read more

Jan. 7, 2015 — NASA has contributed two Earth science instruments for NOAA's space weather observing satellite called the Deep Space Climate Observatory or DSCOVR, set to launch in Jan., 2015. One of the ... read more

Jan. 5, 2015 — In a new study that sheds light on space weather's impact on Earth, researchers show for the first time that plasma waves buffeting the planet's radiation belts are responsible for ... read more

Friday, March 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 22, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 26, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Friday, November 14, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Friday, October 24, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Monday, September 22, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Saturday, August 16, 2014
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Thursday, August 7, 2014
Monday, July 28, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Tuesday, July 22, 2014
Sunday, July 20, 2014
Friday, July 18, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Tuesday, July 8, 2014
Monday, July 7, 2014
Friday, July 4, 2014
Tuesday, July 1, 2014
Monday, June 30, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Tuesday, June 24, 2014