Big Bang News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 9:40am EST

More Big Bang News
February 11, 2016

'Space Warps' and Other Citizen Science Projects Reap Major Dividends for Astrophysics

Jan. 16, 2016 — The astrophysics project Space Warps offers a compelling example of why citizen science has become such a popular tool and how valuable it can be. In a roundtable discussion with the Kavli ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Astronomers gain a new understanding of the re-ionization of the universe by studying a nearby dwarf 'green pea' ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a distant, ancient cloud of gas that may contain the signature of the very first stars that formed in the ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Astronomers have made the most detailed study yet of an extremely massive young galaxy cluster using three of NASA's Great Observatories. This multiwavelength image shows this galaxy cluster, ... read more

Jan. 7, 2016 — Astronomers have detected a massive, sprawling, churning galaxy cluster that formed only 3.8 billion years after the Big Bang. Located 10 billion light years from Earth and potentially comprising ... read more

Jan. 6, 2016 — Scientists have recreated an elusive form of the material that makes up much of the giant planets in our solar system, and the sun. Experiments have given a glimpse of a previously unseen form of ... read more

Jan. 6, 2016 — Globular star clusters are extraordinary in almost every way. They're densely packed, holding a million stars in a ball only about 100 light-years across on average. They're old, dating ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — Researchers used NASA's Chandra X-Ray Observatory, launched and deployed in 1999 by Space Shuttle Columbia, to identify a powerful galactic blast produced by a giant black hole about 26 million ... read more

Jan. 5, 2016 — NASA's Nuclear Spectroscopic Telescope Array, or NuSTAR, has captured the best high-energy X-ray view yet of a portion of our nearest large, neighboring galaxy, Andromeda. The space mission has ... read more

Physics Professor Using 3-D Map of the Milky Way to Determine Its Star Formation Rate

Jan. 5, 2016 — Researchers have been trying to locate all massive star formation regions and to determine where they are in the galaxy, creating a three-dimensional map of where our galaxy is forming massive ... read more

Dec. 23, 2015 — The first U.S. production in nearly 30 years of a specialized fuel to power future deep space missions has been completed by researchers at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National ... read more

Dec. 17, 2015 — Just in time for the release of the movie "Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens," NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has photographed what looks like a cosmic, double-bladed ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — The NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope has captured the image of the first-ever predicted supernova explosion. The reappearance of the Refsdal supernova was calculated from different models of the ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — An outburst from a distant quasar known as PKS 1441+25 in April of this year gave astronomers at the gamma-ray telescope VERITAS an opportunity to measure the density of the optical 'fog' ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — In April 2015, after traveling for about half the age of the universe, a flood of powerful gamma rays from a distant galaxy slammed into Earth's atmosphere. That torrent generated a cascade of ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — ESO telescopes have provided an international team of astronomers with the gift of the third dimension in a plus-sized hunt for the largest gravitationally bound structures in the Universe — galaxy ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — Researchers have discovered why some galaxies are “clumpy” rather than spiral in shape -- and it appears low spin is to ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — Why send a message back in time, but lock it so that no one can ever read the contents? Because it may be the key to solving currently intractable problems. That's the claim of an international ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — The spectacular aftermath of a 360 million year old cosmic collision is revealed in great detail in new images from ESO's Very Large Telescope at the Paranal Observatory. Among the debris is a ... read more

Dec. 4, 2015 — Astronomers discovered a nest of monstrous baby galaxies 11.5 billion light-years away. The young galaxies seem to reside at the junction of gigantic filaments in a web of dark matter. These findings ... read more

Saturday, January 16, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015