Asteroids, Comets and Meteors News
June 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:35am EDT

More Asteroids, Comets and Meteors News
June 30, 2015

June 30, 2015 — Type Ia supernovae are the 'standard candles' astrophysicists use to chart distance in the Universe. But are these dazzling exploding stars truly all the same? To answer this, scientists ... read more

June 19, 2015 — The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is scheduled to launch its Eu:CROPIS research satellite into orbit in early 2017. Its purpose is to test a biological life-support system for future human space ... read more

June 3, 2015 — If you lived on one of Pluto's moons Nix or Hydra, you'd have a hard time setting your alarm clock. That's because you could not know for sure when, or even in which direction, the sun ... read more

June 3, 2015 — As astronauts embark on increasingly ambitious space missions, scientists have to figure out how to keep them healthy for longer periods far from Earth. That entails assuring the air they breathe and ... read more

June 2, 2015 — A close-up of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko by NASA's ultraviolet instrument surprised scientists by revealing that electrons close to the comet's surface -- not photons from the sun as ... read more

June 1, 2015 — Researchers have produced new evidence that lunar swirls -- wispy bright regions scattered on the moon's surface -- were created by several comet collisions over the last 100 million ... read more

May 29, 2015 — Super-sharp observations with the telescope Alma have revealed what seems to be a gigantic flare on the surface of Mira, one of the closest and most famous red giant stars in the sky. Activity like ... read more

May 28, 2015 — Rosetta's target 'Chury' and other comets observed by space missions show common evidence of layered structures and bi-lobed shapes. With 3D computer simulations an astrophysicist was ... read more

Microbes Collected by Citizen Scientists and Grown on the International Space Station

May 27, 2015 — Do microbes grow differently on the International Space Station than they do on Earth? Results from the growth of microbes collected by citizen scientists in Project MERCCURI indicate that most ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered for the first time a rear-end collision between two high-speed knots of ejected matter from a supermassive black hole. This discovery was made while piecing together a ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Astronomers have for the first time predicted the occurrence of aurorae visible to the naked eye on a planet other than ... read more

May 27, 2015 — Astronomers have identified a young planetary system which may aid in understanding how our own solar system formed and developed billions of years ... read more

May 23, 2015 — One day, when humans go to Mars, they might find that, occasionally, the Red Planet has green skies. NASA's MAVEN spacecraft has detected evidence of widespread auroras in Mars's northern ... read more

Asteroid Research Benefits from Gaia Satellite Mission

May 20, 2015 — Astronomical research on asteroids, i.e. minor planets, is also benefiting from the large-scale Gaia mission of the European Space Agency (ESA). Even though the astrometry satellite's main ... read more

May 15, 2015 — Scientists have conducted a simulation that explains the collision between two clusters of galaxies. Clusters of galaxies are the biggest objects that exist in the universe. They are collections of ... read more

May 14, 2015 — The mysterious bright spots on the dwarf planet Ceres are better resolved in a image recently taken by NASA's Dawn spacecraft. The images were taken from a distance of 8,400 miles (13,600 ... read more

May 14, 2015 — Astrobiologists want to improve the way unmanned Mars probes detect condensed aromatic carbon, thought to be a chemical signature of ... read more

May 14, 2015 — Scientists have investigated the oxygen isotope and mineral composition of the comet dust returned from Wild 2. The team discovered an unexpected combination of material that has deepened the mystery ... read more

May 11, 2015 — Just as waves ripple across a pond when a tossed stone disturbs the water's surface, gravity waves ripple toward space from disturbances in the lower ... read more

May 11, 2015 — The underlying physical process that creates striking 'breaking wave' cloud patterns in our atmosphere also frequently opens the gates to high-energy solar wind plasma that perturbs ... read more

Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Saturday, May 23, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Saturday, April 4, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015