Detectors News
August 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:10am EDT

More Detectors News
August 5, 2015

Detecting Small Metallic Contaminants in Food Via Magnetization

July 29, 2015 — Researchers have developed a practical metallic-contaminant detector using three high-Tc RF superconducting quantum interference devices for food inspection. While the detection of small metallic ... read more

June 19, 2015 — Colliding lead ions at the Large Hadron Collider creates tiny samples of matter at energy densities that have not occurred since microseconds after the Big Bang. At these densities, ordinary matter ... read more

June 18, 2015 — Researchers have used ultra-short pulses of X-rays to film shock waves in diamonds. The study opens up new possibilities for studying the properties of materials. Thanks to the extremely bright and ... read more

June 11, 2015 — Good quality and precision are essential – a dictum that also applies to products from the pharmaceutical and chemical industry. While the quality of chemical products is often still being ... read more

June 10, 2015 — Researchers have created wearable sensor patches that detect harmful UV radiation and dangerous, toxic gases such as hydrogen and nitrogen ... read more

June 9, 2015 — Photoinduced chemical reactions are responsible for many fundamental processes and technologies, from energy conversion in nature to micro fabrication by photo-lithography. Scientists have now ... read more

Hybrid Scanner Combines Five Molecular Imaging Technologies

June 8, 2015 — Scientists are taking medical imaging research and drug discovery to a new level by developing a molecular imaging system that combines several advanced technologies for all-in-one imaging of both ... read more

June 3, 2015 — When experiments at the Large Hadron Collider collect the first 13-teraelectronvolt particle collisions data today, a long wait will be over for physicists who now begin some of the most exciting ... read more

June 1, 2015 — Discovered in the 1970s, SERS is a sensing technique prized for its ability to identify chemical and biological molecules in a wide range of fields. It has been commercialized, but not widely. That ... read more

Testing for Tuberculosis Reliably and Quickly

May 28, 2015 — Researchers have developed a simple diagnostic test to quickly and reliably detect tuberculosis in ... read more

May 27, 2015 — A biosensor capable of sensitively detecting influenza viruses has potential for improving clinical diagnosis of Influenza ... read more

Devices Designed to Identify Pathogens in Food

May 27, 2015 — A new tool could detect whether a product is free of microorganisms like E. coli or ... read more

May 26, 2015 — NanoMRI is a scanning technique that produces nondestructive, high-resolution 3-D images of nanoscale objects, and it promises to become a powerful tool for researchers and companies exploring the ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Researchers have significantly improved the performance of a gamma ray-imaging “Compton” camera. The new technology has potential applications in scientific research, medical treatment and ... read more

May 19, 2015 — Researchers have made a new protein detection platform using low-cost plastic and paper substrates. Their work could help reduce the cost and improve the accuracy of infectious disease diagnosis, ... read more

Sound Waves Could Be Viable Alternative in Diagnosing Minor Fractures

May 14, 2015 — A study has been conducted of the usefulness and efficiency of portable ultrasound in detecting the presence of minor fractures in patients presenting to a minor injuries unit. Analysis showed that ... read more

Detection of Spin of Atoms at Room Temperature Theoretically Demonstrated

May 12, 2015 — For the first time, a researcher has theoretically demonstrated that it is possible to detect a single nuclear spin at room temperature, which could pave the way for new approaches to medical ... read more

First Theoretical Proof: Measurement of a Single Nuclear Spin in Biological Samples

May 11, 2015 — Physicists were able to show that the nuclear spins of single molecules can be detected with the help of magnetic particles at room temperature. The researchers describe a novel experimental setup ... read more

May 11, 2015 — Modern medicine relies on optical fibers to cauterize unhealthy veins in a minimally invasive way. Now, researchers have developed a laser processing method that facilitates automated series ... read more

May 6, 2015 — Biological and medical scientists have been using flow cytometry to count cancer cells for the past 40 years. But the large instruments are expensive and can only be operated by trained personnel. By ... read more

Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Wednesday, November 19, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Friday, October 31, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Friday, October 3, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Wednesday, October 1, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Friday, September 19, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Sunday, September 7, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Monday, September 1, 2014
Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Monday, August 25, 2014
Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014