Astrophysics News
September 2, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:36am EDT

More Astrophysics News
September 2, 2015

Aug. 20, 2015 — Researchers using the IceCube Neutrino Observatory have sorted through the billions of subatomic particles that zip through its frozen cubic-kilometer-sized detector each year to gather powerful new ... read more

Aug. 20, 2015 — Physicists suggest a new way to look for dark matter: They beleive that dark matter particles annihilate into so-called dark radiation when they collide. If true, then we should be able to detect the ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — By combining theory and observation, astrophysicists may have solved one of the ultimate mysteries about stars: what causes Type 1a supernovae, stellar explosions that can outshine whole galaxies. ... read more

Aug. 19, 2015 — A newly discovered dwarf galaxy orbiting our own Milky Way has offered up a surprise -- it appears to be radiating gamma rays, according to an analysis by physicists. The exact source of this ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — Scientists on the Dark Energy Survey, using one of the world's most powerful digital cameras, have discovered eight more faint celestial objects hovering near our Milky Way ... read more

Aug. 17, 2015 — A spectacular galaxy collision has been discovered lurking behind the Milky Way. The closest such system ever found, the galaxy is only 30 million light years away. It has been dubbed ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — Several exploding stars have been found outside the cozy confines of galaxies, where most stars reside. These wayward supernovae are also weird because they exploded billions of years before their ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — One of the best ways to learn how our solar system evolved is to look to younger star systems in the early stages of development. Now, a team of astronomers has discovered a Jupiter-like planet ... read more

Protons and Antiprotons Appear to Be True Mirror Images

Aug. 12, 2015 — In a stringent test of a fundamental property of the standard model of particle physics, known as CPT symmetry, researchers have made the most precise measurements so far of the charge-to-mass ratio ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Astronomers studying more than 200,000 galaxies have measured the energy generated within a large portion of space more precisely than ever before. This represents the most comprehensive assessment ... read more

Aug. 7, 2015 — The evening of Wednesday 12 August into the morning of Thursday 13 August sees the annual maximum of the Perseid meteor shower. This year, a new moon makes prospects for watching this natural ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Astronomers have uncovered a unique process for how the universe's largest elliptical galaxies continue making stars long after their peak years of star birth. Hubble Space Telescope's ... read more

Aug. 6, 2015 — Astronomers have produced the best constraint ever of the gravitational constant measured outside of our Solar ... read more

Aug. 5, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered a giant swirling disk of gas 10 billion light-years away -- a galaxy-in-the-making that is actively being fed cool primordial gas tracing back to the Big Bang. The finding ... read more

Aug. 5, 2015 — A new, large-scale computer simulation has shown for the first time that large disk galaxies, much like our own Milky Way, may have existed in the early days of the universe. The simulation shows ... read more

Aug. 5, 2015 — Lithium, the lightest metal, used in batteries and mood-stabilising drugs, is rarer than it should be. Models of the period after the Big Bang explain how it, hydrogen and helium were synthesised in ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Astronomers have observed the nearby large spiral galaxy M81, together with its two brightest neighbors. The team obtained deep and super wide-field images of the galaxies and discovered that the ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — Astronomers have found what appears to be the largest feature in the observable universe: a ring of nine gamma ray bursts -- and hence galaxies - 5 billion light years ... read more

Aug. 4, 2015 — A super-dense star formed in the aftermath of a supernova explosion is shooting out powerful jets of material into space, research suggests. It was previously thought that the only objects in the ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — Physicists have directly observed, for the first time, how highly charged dust-sized particles attract and capture others to build up clusters particle by particle. This process can lead to the ... read more

Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015