Astrophysics News
November 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:09am EST

More Astrophysics News
November 30, 2015

Milestone in Predicting Solar Flares

Nov. 16, 2015 — Astronomers have devised a high-precision method of examining magnetic fields in the Sun’s atmosphere, representing a significant leap forward in the investigation of solar flares and potentially ... read more

Nov. 16, 2015 — For the first time in the world, using the newly installed 'Plasma Simulator' researchers have simulated deuterium plasma turbulence in the Large Helical Device. From this result, we have ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered some of the oldest stars in the galaxy, whose chemical composition and movements could tell us what the universe was like soon after the Big ... read more

Nov. 11, 2015 — The sight of an asteroid being ripped apart by a dead star and forming a glowing debris ring has been captured in an image for the first time.Comprised of dust particles and debris, the rings are ... read more

Nov. 10, 2015 — New experiments have successfully excited elusive plasma waves, known as whistler-mode chorus waves, which have hitherto only been observed in the Earth's near-space ... read more

Close-Up View of Galaxies Prompts Re-Think on Star Formation

Nov. 10, 2015 — Astronomers have identified for the first time one of the key components of many stars, a study suggests. A type of gas found in the voids between galaxies -- known as atomic gas -- appears to be ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — The CALorimetric Electron Telescope (CALET) investigation will rely on the instrument to track the trajectory of cosmic ray particles and measure their charge and energy. The instrument is optimized ... read more

Nov. 9, 2015 — An enduring astronomical mystery is how stars and galaxies acquire their magnetic fields. Physicists have now found a clue to the answer in the collective behavior of small magnetic ... read more

Nov. 6, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered an extremely rare radio galaxy -- a giant, with an extent of 4 million light years caught in its dying phase at an incredible distance of 9 billion light years. This ... read more

Unlocking the Mysteries of 'Little Starlets'

Nov. 6, 2015 — For the first time, a powerful laser has been used to further our understanding of some of the most mysterious celestial objects just beyond the solar system - brown ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Using Hubble Space Telescope images, astronomers have conducted a "cosmic archeological dig" of our Milky Way's heart, uncovering the blueprints of our galaxy's early construction ... read more

Nov. 5, 2015 — Type Ia supernovae are bright 'standard candles' for measuring cosmic distances. Standard enough to discover dark energy, they're far from identical. Researchers at the international ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — Researchers share the first measurements of the attractive force between antiprotons. The discovery gives physicists new ways to look at the forces that bind matter and ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — A new study has found a cluster of young stars that develop in distinct, episodic spurts. It is the first time astronomers have seen such a growth pattern within a star cluster -- a chaotic, ... read more

Nov. 4, 2015 — A new instrument attached to the 12-meter Atacama Pathfinder Experiment (APEX) telescope at 5,000 meters above sea level in the Chilean Andes is opening up a previously unexplored window on the ... read more

Nov. 2, 2015 — The Soft X-ray focusing Telescope (SXT) onboard Astrosat, India's first satellite dedicated to astronomical observations, saw its first light from an astronomical source in a distant galaxy, on ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — A nearby exoplanet has an atmosphere that might be similar to Earth's before life evolved. Researchers have now simulated three-dimensional exotic clouds on another ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — A team of astronomers is proposing that huge spiral patterns seen around some newborn stars, merely a few million years old (about one percent our sun's age), may be evidence for the presence of ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Researchers are sifting through an avalanche of data produced by one of the largest cosmological simulations ever ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — Astronomers have produced the first chronographic (age) map of the halo of the Milky Way galaxy, the results of which extend and refine some prevailing assumptions in ... read more

Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Saturday, October 24, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Friday, October 16, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015