Astrophysics News
October 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:06am EDT

More Astrophysics News
October 5, 2015

Oct. 1, 2015 — When a star collapses forming a black hole, a space-time singularity is created wherein the laws of Physics no longer work. In 1965 Sir Roger Penrose presented a theorem where he associated that ... read more

High-Powered Telescope Designed to Explore Origins of Universe Moving Toward 'First Light'

Sep. 30, 2015 — An effort to peer into the origins of the universe with the most effective instrument ever used in the effort is taking a big step forward, as scientists begin shipping a two-story-tall microwave ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Astronomers analyzing new images of 'X-shaped galaxies' conclude that their peculiar shape is less-commonly caused by mergers than was thought. This result could lower the level of ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Scientists working with ALICE, a heavy-ion detector on the Large Hadron Collider ring, have made precise measurements of particle mass and electric charge that confirm the existence of a fundamental ... read more

Sep. 21, 2015 — Astronomers have found evidence for a new intermediate-mass black hole about 5,000 times the mass of the sun. The discovery adds one more candidate to the list of potential medium-sized black holes, ... read more

Sep. 18, 2015 — If only calculating the distance between Earth and far-off galaxies was as easy as pulling out the old measuring tape. Now researchers are proposing a new way to calculate distances in the cosmos ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — Astronomers have provided additional evidence that a pair of closely orbiting black holes deep in the Virgo constellation is causing the rhythmic flashes of light coming from quasar PG 1302-102. ... read more

Sep. 16, 2015 — The Sculptor Dwarf Galaxy is a close neighbor of our galaxy, the Milky Way. Despite their close proximity, both galaxies have very distinct histories and characters. This galaxy is much smaller and ... read more

Sep. 15, 2015 — An accidental find of a collection of young red dwarf stars close to our solar system could give us a rare glimpse of slow-motion planet formation. Astronomers have found large discs of dust around ... read more

Sep. 13, 2015 — Astronomers have successfully peered through the 'amniotic sac' of a star that is still forming to observe the innermost region of a burgeoning solar system for the first ... read more

Sep. 11, 2015 — The first massive binary star, epsilon Lupi, in which both stars have magnetic fields has been discovered by a PhD candidate. A binary star is a star system consisting of two or more stars, orbiting ... read more

Sep. 10, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered a gargantuan galaxy cluster with a core bursting with new stars -- an incredibly rare find. The discovery is the first to show that gigantic galaxies at the centers of ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — Astronomers have discovered an unexpected population of compact interstellar clouds hidden within the nearby dwarf irregular galaxy ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — Astrophysicists, statisticians and computer scientists have developed Celeste, a new statistical analysis model designed to enhance one of modern astronomy's most time-tested tools: sky ... read more

Sep. 9, 2015 — Astronomers have generated the most accurate statistical description yet of faint, early galaxies as they existed in the universe 500 million years after the Big ... read more

Dark Matter: CRESST Searches for 'Lightweights'

Sep. 8, 2015 — Scientists have searched for the particles of dark matter in numerous experiments - so far, in vain. With the CRESST experiment, now the search radius can be considerably expanded: the CRESST ... read more

Sep. 7, 2015 — Trained volunteers are as good as professional astronomers at finding jets shooting from massive black holes and matching them to their host galaxies, research ... read more

Sep. 4, 2015 — Researchers searching for the earliest objects in the universe now report the detection of what may be the most distant galaxy ever found. In a new article, the scientists describe evidence for a ... read more

Sep. 3, 2015 — A new method of measuring the distances between stars enables astronomers to climb the 'cosmic ladder' and understand the processes at work in the outer reaches of the ... read more

Sep. 3, 2015 — In an intensive citizen-science-aided survey of Hubble telescope images of 2,753 young, blue star clusters in the neighboring Andromeda galaxy (M31), astronomers have found that M31 and our own ... read more

Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Sunday, September 13, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015