Astrophysics News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:10am EST

More Astrophysics News
February 11, 2016

Feb. 8, 2016 — Messages from around the world are to be beamed into space at the speed of light as part of a cultural project to create a celestial time ... read more

Jan. 25, 2016 — An international team of researchers has shown that the relationship between galaxy clusters and their surrounding dark matter halo is more complex than previously thought. The researchers' ... read more

Jan. 22, 2016 — A team of researchers has observed the brightest ultra metal-poor star ever discovered. The star is a rare relic from the Milky Way's formative years. As such, it offers astronomers a precious ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Invisible structures shaped like noodles, lasagne sheets or hazelnuts could be floating around in our Galaxy radically challenging our understanding of gas conditions in the Milky Way. Astronomers ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Single stars are often overlooked in favor of their larger cosmic cousins -- but when they join forces, they create truly breathtaking scenes to rival even the most glowing of nebulae or swirling of ... read more

Jan. 20, 2016 — Scientists are once again pushing the boundaries of antimatter research with their latest breakthrough studying the properties of antihydrogen. The result is an improved measurement of the charge of ... read more

'Space Warps' and Other Citizen Science Projects Reap Major Dividends for Astrophysics

Jan. 16, 2016 — The astrophysics project Space Warps offers a compelling example of why citizen science has become such a popular tool and how valuable it can be. In a roundtable discussion with the Kavli ... read more

Jan. 15, 2016 — Astronomers using the Nobeyama 45-m Radio Telescope have detected signs of an invisible black hole with a mass of 100 thousand times the mass of the Sun around the center of the Milky Way. The team ... read more

Jan. 15, 2016 — The most luminous galaxy in the universe -- a so-called obscured quasar 12.4 billion light-years away -- is so violently turbulent that it may eventually jettison its entire supply of star-forming ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — A new theory suggests a shorter secondary inflationary period that could account for the amount of dark matter estimated to exist throughout the ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — Right now, astronomers are viewing a ball of hot gas billions of light years away that is radiating the energy of hundreds of billions of suns. At its heart is an object a little larger than 10 miles ... read more

Jan. 14, 2016 — When white light is passed through a prism, the rainbow on the other side reveals a rich palette of colors. Theorists have shown that in models of the Universe using any of the quantum theories of ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Astronomers gain a new understanding of the re-ionization of the universe by studying a nearby dwarf 'green pea' ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Zooming in on black holes is the main mission for the newly installed instrument GRAVITY at ESO's Very Large Telescope in Chile. During its first observations, GRAVITY successfully combined ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Astronomers have discovered roughly 100 of the fastest-moving stars in the Milky Way galaxy with the aid of images from NASA's Spitzer Space Telescope and Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer, ... read more

Jan. 12, 2016 — Scientists working with the Major Atmospheric Gamma-ray Imaging Cherenkov (MAGIC) observatory have reported the discovery of the most energetic pulsed emission radiation ever detected from the ... read more

Jan. 9, 2016 — Astronomers have announced that a distant quasar ran out of gas. Their conclusions clarify why quasar SDSS J1011+5442 changed so dramatically in the handful of years between ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — Researchers have discovered a distant, ancient cloud of gas that may contain the signature of the very first stars that formed in the ... read more

Probing Nuclear Reactions in Stars

Jan. 8, 2016 — Thanks to a new experimental technique, scientists have now measured a crucial fusion reaction, involving hydrogen and a rare isotope of oxygen, that occurs inside ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — Major improvements to methods used to process observations from NASA's Fermi Gamma-ray Space Telescope have yielded an expanded, higher-quality set of data that allows astronomers to produce the ... read more

Monday, February 8, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Saturday, January 16, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Saturday, January 9, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Saturday, December 12, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015