Recycling and Waste News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:11am EDT

More Recycling and Waste News
April 27, 2017

Using Tropical Microbes to Improve the Environment

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers are harnessing properties in tropical microbes to address a variety of environmental, agricultural and aquacultural ... read more

Nitrogen, Phosphorus from Fertilizers and Pet Waste Polluting Urban Water

Apr. 5, 2017 — New research points to lawn fertilizers and pet waste as the dominant sources of nitrogen and phosphorus pollutants in seven sub-watersheds of the Mississippi River in Saint Paul, ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Potentially explosive methane gas leaking from energy wells may travel extensively through groundwater and pose a safety risk, according to a new study. It will also escape into the atmosphere as a ... read more

Persistently High Pesticide Levels Found in Small Streams

Apr. 4, 2017 — Small watercourses are contaminated with large numbers of herbicides, fungicides and insecticides. A study shows that the legal requirements specified for water quality are not met in any of the five ... read more

Upcycling 'Fast Fashion' to Reduce Waste and Pollution

Apr. 2, 2017 — The fashion industry and environmentalists are old foes, and the advent of 'fast fashion' has strained the relationship even more. But what if we could recycle clothes like we recycle ... read more

'Peeling the Onion' to Get Rid of Odors Near Wastewater Treatment Plants

Apr. 2, 2017 — Nuisance smells from sewage and wastewater treatment facilities are a worldwide problem. Finding and eliminating the sources of such unpleasant odors can be difficult. However, scientists have now ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — Research on Prochlorococcus, the most abundant life form in the oceans, shows the bacterium's metabolism evolved in a way that may have helped trigger the rise of other organisms, to form a more ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Researchers have published a study in which they analyze beachrocks, cemented sand formations that have industrial waste, produced as a result of metallurgical activities, trapped inside them. These ... read more

Mar. 24, 2017 — A type of bacteria accidentally discovered during research could fundamentally reshape efforts to cut the huge amount of electricity consumed during wastewater clean-up. The discovery has upended a ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — In a study conducted in one of the world's oldest and most biologically diverse deserts, scientists explore the origins of water other than rainfall and are identifying multiple origins. The ... read more

'Super Sponge' Promises Effective Toxic Clean-Up of Lakes and More

Mar. 22, 2017 — Mercury is very toxic and can cause long-term health damage, but removing it from water is challenging. To address this growing problem scientists have created a sponge that can absorb mercury from a ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Tasty, versatile, and rich in essential omega-3 fatty acids: salmon is one of the most popular edible fish of all. Shops sell fish caught in the wild, but their main produce is salmon from breeding ... read more

Cuantec: New Force in the Fight Against Food Waste

Mar. 21, 2017 — CuanTec is a start-up company with a positive and practical solution to the disposal of seafood waste, which exacts a heavy cost, both financially and ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — Milling electronic waste into nanoscale particles allows polymers, oxides and metals to be separated for recycling into new products. The process takes advantage of changes to the materials' ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Researchers say global resource governance and sharing of geoscience data is needed to address challenges facing future mineral supply. Specifically of concern are a range of technology minerals, ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Forests and trees play a major role on water cycles and cooler temperatures, contributing to food security and climate change adaptation. In recent decades, the climate change discourse has looked at ... read more

Mar. 16, 2017 — Marine biologists quantify the carbon consumption of bacterioplankton to better understand the ocean carbon ... read more

Exhaust Fumes as a Resource

Mar. 15, 2017 — Chemists have developed a process in which nitrogen oxides generated during industrial processes can be used in the manufacture of colourants and medicines. Using the method, businesses will in ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Switzerland is not fully exploiting a significant source of clean energy: 173,000 tonnes of used wood could be re-used producing valuable heat and power energy today, in addition to the 644,000 ... read more

Mar. 10, 2017 — Growing sustainable energy crops without increasing greenhouse gas emissions, may be possible on seasonally wet, environmentally sensitive landscapes, according to ... read more

Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016