NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Recycling and Waste News
February 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 11:28pm EST

More Recycling and Waste News
February 26, 2017

New Polymer Additive Could Revolutionize Plastics Recycling

Feb. 24, 2017 — Only 2 percent of the 78 million tons of manufactured plastics are currently recycled into similar products because polyethylene (PE) and polypropylene (PP), which account for two-thirds of the ... read more

Improving Prognoses for a Sustainable Future

Jan. 23, 2017 — Whether it's electric automobiles, renewable energy, carbon tax or sustainable consumption, sustainable development requires strategies that meet people's needs without harming the ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — Scientists have developed inexpensive, oxidized carbon particles that extract radioactive metals from water. They said their materials may help purify contaminated waters stored after the Fukushima ... read more

Jan. 18, 2017 — Scientists and policymakers rely on complex computer simulations called Integrated Assessment Models to figure out how to address climate change. But these models need tinkering to make them more ... read more

Composite Material for Water Purification

Jan. 13, 2017 — Fresh, clean water coming directly from the tap is a true luxury. In developing countries, people often have no choice but to use a contaminated river for drinking water. Water filters can help by ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — Upgrades to a wastewater treatment plant along Ontario's Grand River, led to a 70 per cent drop of fish that have both male and female characteristics within one year and a full recovery of the ... read more

Surf and Earth: How Prawn Shopping Bags Could Save the Planet

Jan. 10, 2017 — Bioengineers are trialing how to use shrimp shells to make biodegradable shopping bags, as a ‘green’ alternative to oil-based plastic, and as a new food packaging material to extend product shelf ... read more

Jan. 10, 2017 — Changes in precipitation, which are linked to the warming of the Indian Ocean, are the main reason for recent changes in groundwater storage in ... read more

Jan. 9, 2017 — Researchers have discovered a new type of cooperative photosynthesis that could be used in engineering microbial communities for waste treatment and bioenergy ... read more

Species Diversity Reduces Chances of Crop Failure in Algal Biofuel Systems

Jan. 9, 2017 — When growing algae in outdoor ponds as a next-generation biofuel, a naturally diverse mix of species will help reduce the chance of crop failure, according to a new ... read more

Worries About Food Waste Appear to Vanish When Diners Know Scraps Go to Compost

Jan. 3, 2017 — Diners waste far less food when they're schooled on the harm their leftovers can inflict on the environment. But if they know the food is going to be composted instead of dumped in a landfill, ... read more

Dec. 22, 2016 — Using a novel approach involving a key enzyme that helps regulate global nitrogen, molecular biologists have discovered an effective way to convert carbon dioxide to carbon monoxide that can be ... read more

Dec. 21, 2016 — Hydraulic fracturing has boosted US energy production while coming under scrutiny for its potential environmental impacts, mostly related to the wastewater the method generates. Now, a report takes a ... read more

Chemistry Research Breakthrough That Could Improve Nuclear Waste Recycling Technologies

Dec. 21, 2016 — Researchers have taken a major step forward by describing the quantitative modelling of the electronic structure of a family of uranium nitride compounds – a process that could in the future help ... read more

Dec. 19, 2016 — A new study that inventories and tracks high concentrations of plastic in the Great Lakes could help inform cleanup efforts and target pollution prevention. Researchers found that nearly 10,000 ... read more

Dec. 12, 2016 — Pressure, temperature and fluid composition play an important role in the amount of metals and other chemicals found in wastewaters from hydraulically fractured gas reservoirs, according to ... read more

Dec. 8, 2016 — Evolution is working hard to rescue some urban fish from a lethal, human-altered environment, according to a study. Atlantic killifish living in four polluted East Coast estuaries have adapted to ... read more

Nov. 30, 2016 — The planet's technosphere now weighs some 30 trillion tons -- a mass of more than 50 kilos for every square meter of the Earth's surface, report investigators. Additionally, the numbers of ... read more

Nov. 29, 2016 — Somewhere between Earth's creation and where we are today, scientists have demonstrated that some early life forms existed just fine without any oxygen. The 2.52 billion-year-old ... read more

Nov. 21, 2016 — Cement manufacturing is among the most carbon-intensive industrial processes, but an international team of researchers has found that over time, the widely used building material reabsorbs much of ... read more

Friday, February 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016