Recycling and Waste News
April 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:26am EDT

More Recycling and Waste News
April 29, 2016

Induced Earthquakes Come Under Closer Scrutiny

Apr. 20, 2016 — On March 28, the US Geological Survey issued a one-year seismic forecast for the United States that for the first time includes ground-shaking hazards from both natural and human-induced ... read more

Water Recovered from Whey Can Be Used for Clean-in-Place Procedures

Apr. 14, 2016 — Given the amount of water needed and concerns regarding resource scarcity, researchers sought to find a method to recycle and reuse water from whey for clean-in-place systems. Their findings provide ... read more

Trap and Neutralize: A New Way to Clean Contaminated Groundwater

Apr. 13, 2016 — A team of researchers has helped discover a new chemical method to immobilize uranium in contaminated groundwater, which could lead to more precise and successful water remediation efforts at former ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — New field research measured how far common bacteria -- including Salmonella and E. coli -- are likely to travel downwind from manure application sites. Proper spacing can ensure food ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Plastic pollution limits the mobility of water fleas, new research indicates. Microplastics are tiny particles of plastic less than five millimeters in size. They are polluting rivers and ponds along ... read more

Recovering Lithium from Natural Salt Pools: Purity Up to 99.9 Per Cent

Apr. 13, 2016 — New methods for lithium recovery from natural brine have been studied pursued by researchers. Their methods enabled increasingly effective recovery of lithium and the purity of the lithium solution ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — The level of oxygen in a coal ash disposal site can greatly affect how much toxic selenium and arsenic can be leached from the system, report scientists at the conclusion of their ... read more

Oil and Gas Wastewater Disposal May Harm West Virginia Waterways

Apr. 7, 2016 — Unconventional oil and gas operations combine directional drilling and hydraulic fracturing, or 'fracking,' to release natural gas and oil from underground rock. Studies have centered on ... read more

Reducing Food Waste Could Help Mitigate Climate Change

Apr. 7, 2016 — About a tenth of overall global greenhouse-gas emissions from agriculture could be traced back to food waste by mid-century, a new study shows. A team of researchers, for the first time, provides ... read more

Respirator Mask Reduces Effects of Pollution on the Heart

Apr. 6, 2016 — The use of a respiratory filter mask helps minimize the impact of pollution on people with heart failure during rush-hour traffic in big cities, shows a new ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — New ways to influence selectivity for specific charged ions have been discovered by scientists. Better selectivity to enhance discrimination between metals, such as sodium and cesium, could improve ... read more

Water Cycle Instability Is Here to Stay Posing Major Political and Economic Risks

Apr. 4, 2016 — The current instability and unpredictability of the world water cycle is here to stay, making society's adaptation to new risks a vital necessity when formulating development policies, a UN ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Cropland recycles less water into the atmosphere than native vegetation in Brazil's wooded savannas, which could lead to less rain in the region as agriculture expands, a new study ... read more

Waste Stream to Energy Source: What If America’s Next Big Fuel Source Is Its Trash?

Mar. 31, 2016 — Researchers want to create energy conversion technologies designed to mine the carbon out of waste processes that traditionally have been an environmental burden to the ... read more

Energy Recycling Heats Up

Mar. 30, 2016 — Scientists have developed a novel system that recovers energy normally lost in industrial ... read more

Fracking -- Not Wastewater Disposal -- Linked to Most Induced Earthquakes in Western Canada

Mar. 29, 2016 — A survey of a major oil and natural gas-producing region in Western Canada suggests a link between hydraulic fracturing or 'fracking' and induced earthquakes in the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Scientists have discovered that a highly promising group of materials known as hybrid lead halide perovskites can recycle light -- a finding that they believe could lead to large gains in the ... read more

Mar. 24, 2016 — Although years of drought and over-pumping have significantly depleted groundwater in Arizona and California, a new study shows the situation has an upside: It has created underground reservoirs ... read more

Expanding Use of Recycled Water Would Benefit the Environment, Human Health

Mar. 18, 2016 — Expanding the use of recycled water would reduce water and energy use, cut greenhouse gas emissions and benefit public health in California — which is in the midst of a severe drought — and ... read more

Mar. 17, 2016 — Biogas is an important energy source that plays a central role in the energy revolution. Unlike wind or solar energy, biogas can be produced around the clock. Could it soon perhaps even be produced ... read more

Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Friday, March 4, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015