Recycling and Waste News
May 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:41am EDT

More Recycling and Waste News
May 24, 2017

May 2, 2017 — A new semiconductor is as flexible as skin and easily degradable, report scientists. It could have diverse medical and environmental applications, without adding to the mounting pile of global ... read more

Urban Water Atlas for Europe: 360° View on Water Management in Cities

Apr. 27, 2017 — On 27 April 2017, the European Commission published the Urban Water Atlas for Europe. The publication – the first of its kind – shows how different water management choices, as well as other ... read more

Apr. 24, 2017 — Three years of fracking has not contaminated groundwater in northwestern West Virginia, but accidental spills of wastewater from fracked wells may pose a threat to surface water, according to a new ... read more

New Approach to Improve Detection of Landfill-Related Pollution

Apr. 24, 2017 — A method known as laser induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) offers a cleaner, faster and simpler approach than existing technologies for detecting contaminants in the fluids coming from landfills, ... read more

Apr. 21, 2017 — Want to recycle or compost more? Try moving the bins closer, new research suggests. The study shows that placing bins 1.5 meters away from suite doors drastically boosts recycling and composting ... read more

Better Way to Predict the Environmental Impacts of Agricultural Production

Apr. 21, 2017 — Many companies want to know how the creation of their products affects the environment. Scientists have now found a way to better predict and quantify environmental ... read more

Apr. 20, 2017 — Increasing water temperatures are responsible for the accumulation of a chemical called nitrite in marine environments throughout the world, a symptom of broader changes in normal ocean biochemical ... read more

Apr. 19, 2017 — Humans began measurably and negatively impacting water quality in the Chesapeake Bay in the first half of the 19th century, according to a study of eastern ... read more

Degradable Electronic Components Created from Corn Starch

Apr. 19, 2017 — As consumers upgrade their gadgets at an increasing pace, the amount of electronic waste we generate continues to mount. To help combat this environmental problem, researchers have modified a ... read more

Apr. 18, 2017 — Although human population studies have linked air pollution to chronic inflammation of nasal and sinus tissues, direct biological and molecular evidence for cause and effect has been scant. Now, ... read more

Anticipating Hazards from Fracking-Induced Earthquakes in Canada and US

Apr. 12, 2017 — As hydraulic fracturing operations expand in Canada and in some parts of the United States, researchers are taking a closer look at ways to minimize hazards from the earthquakes triggered by those ... read more

Using Tropical Microbes to Improve the Environment

Apr. 18, 2017 — Researchers are harnessing properties in tropical microbes to address a variety of environmental, agricultural and aquacultural ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Debris from logging in tropical forests is threatening the survival of hatchling leatherback turtles and the success of mothers at one of the world's most important nesting sites in Colombia, ... read more

Nitrogen, Phosphorus from Fertilizers and Pet Waste Polluting Urban Water

Apr. 5, 2017 — New research points to lawn fertilizers and pet waste as the dominant sources of nitrogen and phosphorus pollutants in seven sub-watersheds of the Mississippi River in Saint Paul, ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Potentially explosive methane gas leaking from energy wells may travel extensively through groundwater and pose a safety risk, according to a new study. It will also escape into the atmosphere as a ... read more

Persistently High Pesticide Levels Found in Small Streams

Apr. 4, 2017 — Small watercourses are contaminated with large numbers of herbicides, fungicides and insecticides. A study shows that the legal requirements specified for water quality are not met in any of the five ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — Billions of pounds of plastic waste are littering the world's oceans. Now, an organic chemist and a sailboat captain report that they are developing a process to reuse certain plastics, ... read more

Upcycling 'Fast Fashion' to Reduce Waste and Pollution

Apr. 2, 2017 — The fashion industry and environmentalists are old foes, and the advent of 'fast fashion' has strained the relationship even more. But what if we could recycle clothes like we recycle ... read more

'Peeling the Onion' to Get Rid of Odors Near Wastewater Treatment Plants

Apr. 2, 2017 — Nuisance smells from sewage and wastewater treatment facilities are a worldwide problem. Finding and eliminating the sources of such unpleasant odors can be difficult. However, scientists have now ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — Research on Prochlorococcus, the most abundant life form in the oceans, shows the bacterium's metabolism evolved in a way that may have helped trigger the rise of other organisms, to form a more ... read more

Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Friday, November 18, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016