Industrial Relations News
September 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:31pm EDT

More Industrial Relations News
September 26, 2016

1 in 4 U.S. Employees Negatively Affected by Political Talk at Work This Election Season, Finds New Survey

Sep. 14, 2016 — This year’s extraordinary presidential campaign is taking a toll on American workers, some of whom report feeling stressed, argumentative and less productive because of political discussions on the ... read more

Study Finds STEM Workers More Likely to Find Jobs in Denser STEM Labor Markets

Sep. 12, 2016 — In one of the first attempts to understand the geography of STEM degree-job matching, a new study finds that matching is much more likely in dense rather than in large STEM labor ... read more

Working from Home Loses Its Appeal Over Time for Both Companies and Employees

Sep. 6, 2016 — The benefits of working from home disappear over time for both employees and organizations if it is a full-time arrangement, a new study has ... read more

Management Actions to Combat Recessions Could Compromise the Performance Effects of Empowerment

Aug. 22, 2016 — Wage and employment freezes and other actions taken to combat recessions may compromise the positive effect that employee empowerment may have on staff morale and in turn ... read more

Great Recession's Other Legacy: Inconsistent Work Hours

Aug. 22, 2016 — A new study finds that an unpredictable work week is the norm for growing numbers of low-wage workers -- nearly 40 percent of whom worked variable hours for at least one four-month period after the ... read more

That's Not Fair! Managing Envy in the Workplace

Aug. 19, 2016 — In a recent study, researchers looked at envy in the workplace. The research found a strong link between an employee's feelings of envy after they perceive a supervisor has treated them worse ... read more

Why Do They Treat Me Like That? Taking the Mask Off of Envy

Aug. 19, 2016 — While overt signs of envy can often be received badly, research indicates that how that envy is perceived and attributed by the envied person makes all the difference in how it is ... read more

Skills Gap for US Manufacturing Workers Mostly a Myth, Paper Says

Aug. 15, 2016 — Despite the outcry from employers over the dearth of job-ready workers, three-quarters of US manufacturing plants show no sign of hiring difficulties for job vacancies, says new ... read more

How Incivility Spreads in the Workplace

Aug. 10, 2016 — Condescending comments, put-downs and sarcasm have become commonplace in the politically charged workplace, and a new study shows how this incivility may be ... read more

Loss of Employer-Based Health Insurance in Early Retirement Affects Mental, Physical Health

July 18, 2016 — The loss of private health insurance from an employer can lead to poorer mental and physical health as older adults transition to early retirement, according to a ... read more

Heading to the Hospital? Even With Insurance, It May Cost $1,000 or More, Study Finds

June 27, 2016 — Even people who have what they might think of as good health insurance, may find that their next hospital stay could cost more than $1,000 out of their own pocket. And that amount has gone up sharply ... read more

Some Women's Retirement Plan: Rely on Prince Charming

June 22, 2016 — Women believe that somehow, Prince Charming will arrange for their financial security in their Golden Years. Women workers often rely on future spouses to organize their retirement finances, rather ... read more

June 6, 2016 — The way we work is fundamentally changing, with a rise in mobile working -- people who travel away from home for long or short periods of time. Some people, such as truck drivers, may be away from ... read more

June 1, 2016 — Many college graduates are starting new careers. Regardless of their field or profession, employers say new employees need strong oral and interpersonal skills to be ... read more

More Satisfied Workers, More Successful Company

May 31, 2016 — The relationship between the job satisfaction of a company’s workforce and its financial success is complex, but a new study has determined that satisfied workers can lead to greater success for an ... read more

Higher Wages for UK's Lowest Paid Improve Productivity

May 26, 2016 — Employees work harder and more cohesively if they feel they and their colleagues are paid a wage which reflects their skill and effort, new research has found. Data from more than 360,000 UK firms ... read more

May 19, 2016 — A new study provides the first-ever evidence that women who reveal personal family-related information that could explain gaps in their resume (like staying home to raise a child) dramatically raise ... read more

Young Workers Hit Hardest by Slow Hiring During Recessions, Study Finds

May 17, 2016 — When hiring slows during recessions, the brunt of job losses is borne by job-seekers in their 20s and early 30s, according to a new ... read more

Union Bargaining Coverage Has a Positive Impact on Some Aspects of Job Satisfaction

May 11, 2016 — Union bargaining coverage has significant positive associations with job satisfaction regarding pay and hours, academics have ... read more

New Survey Shows That Retirement Includes Work for Many Older Americans

May 10, 2016 — Departing the workforce entirely and entering retirement at age 65 is no longer a reality for many older people in the United States, according to a recent survey. The study finds that there are ... read more

Wednesday, September 14, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Sunday, August 23, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015