Pharmaceuticals News
August 27, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:20am EDT

More Pharmaceuticals News
August 27, 2016

Discovery of a Novel Wnt Inhibitor With Potential to Eradicate Colorectal Cancer Stem Cells, Report Researchers

Aug. 26, 2016 — A team of researchers has announced the development of a novel small-molecule Wnt inhibitor named NCB-0846. Wnt signaling is a key pathway of cancer stem cell development. The inhibitor may provide a ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — A new decision-making tool helps producers of pharmaceutical and other valuable chemicals make the leap to an entirely new way of ... read more

Targeting Low-Oxygen Patches Inside Lung Cancer Tumors Could Help Prevent Drug Resistance

Aug. 25, 2016 — With the right treatment schedule, medications known as hypoxia-activated prodrugs (HAPs) could help prevent drug resistance in a subtype of lung cancer, according to a ... read more

New Method in Synthesis and Development for Pharmaceuticals

Aug. 25, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new synthetic methods that facilitate the design and synthesis of bioactive compounds and chemical tools for pharmacological studies, the team ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Beads, disks, bowls and rods: scientists have demonstrated the first methodological approach to control the shapes of nanovesicles. This opens doors for the use of nanovesicles in biomedical ... read more

Scientists Track Metabolic Pathways to Find Drug Combination for Pancreatic Cancer

Aug. 24, 2016 — Cancer researchers have long observed the value of treating patients with combinations of anti-cancer drugs that work better than single drug treatments. Now, in a new study using laboratory-grown ... read more

Rx Associated With Fracture Risk Infrequently Reduced After Fracture Occurrence

Aug. 22, 2016 — Is the occurrence of a fragility fracture -- where Medicare beneficiaries broke a hip, wrist or shoulder -- a missed opportunity to reduce exposure to prescription drugs associated with fracture ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — Rheumatoid arthritis patients taking medications that inhibit interleukin-1beta, a molecule that stimulates the immune system, are 300 times more likely to experience invasive Group A Streptococcal ... read more

Harms Reporting in Trials of Orlistat

Aug. 16, 2016 — The reporting of trials of orlistat in the 1990s appears to have understated harms, both in the summarized results and in published papers, warn ... read more

Gene Variant Explains Differences in Diabetes Drug Response

Aug. 16, 2016 — A large international study of metformin, the world’s most commonly used type 2 diabetes drug, reveals genetic differences among patients that may explain why some respond much better to the drug ... read more

New Maths to Predict Dangerous Hospital Epidemics

Aug. 16, 2016 — Mathematicians are now developing completely new statistical calculations on the world’s fastest computers in order to be able to predict how epidemics of dangerous hospital bacteria ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — Scientists have rediscovered the utility of disordered regions of proteins as drug targets. These results pave the way towards identifying new therapeutic targets for many diseases, they ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — For the last three years a research team has been working on the development of a so-called biomarker to predict treatment effectiveness in colorectal cancer. Now the researchers found a molecule ... read more

Study Charts Provide Picture of Drug Use in the United States

Aug. 15, 2016 — An extensive and easy-to-use collection of charts that present findings from decades of government survey data of drug use in the United States is now available to the ... read more

Study of Chinese Teens Examines Nonmedical Use of Prescription Drugs, Suicidal Behaviors

Aug. 15, 2016 — The nonmedical use of prescription drugs and the misuse of sedatives and opioids were associated with subsequent suicidal thoughts or attempts in a study of Chinese adolescents, according to a new ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — Intestinal flora has multiple influences on human health, but research has new revealed that it is also likely to have an effect on the body's response to drugs. Individual changes in the ... read more

Drug Sensitivity Restored in Breast Cancer Tumors

Aug. 11, 2016 — A team of cancer researchers has uncovered one way certain tumors resist vital ... read more

Disrupting Mitochondrial Function Could Improve Treatment of Fungal Infections

Aug. 11, 2016 — By identifying new compounds that selectively block mitochondrial respiration in pathogenic fungi, scientists have identified a potential antifungal mechanism that could enable combination therapy ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — The brain and the gut are connected through neural networks that signal hunger and satiety, love and fear, even safety and danger. These networks employ myriad chemical signals that include the ... read more

New Treatment Option for Alzheimer's Disease Possible, Say Researchers

Aug. 11, 2016 — A research project has shown that an experimental model of Alzheimer's disease can be successfully treated with a commonly used anti-inflammatory ... read more

Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016