Pharmaceuticals News
July 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:20am EDT

More Pharmaceuticals News
July 29, 2016

July 27, 2016 — A new study has shown that a new class of drug candidates increases bone mass by expanding bone formation (deposition of new bone) and bone turnover (a normal process of replacement of old ... read more

More Evidence in Quest to Repurpose Cancer Drugs for Alzheimer's Disease

July 27, 2016 — An FDA approved drug to treat renal cell carcinoma appears to reduce levels of a toxic brain protein linked to dementia in Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diseases when given to animals. This ... read more

Painless and Inexpensive Microneedle System to Monitor Drugs

July 25, 2016 — Researchers have created a microneedle drug monitoring system that could one day replace costly, invasive blood draws and improve patient ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Bacteria resistance to antibiotics can be offset by combining three antibiotics that interact well together, even when none of the individual three, nor pairs among them, might be very effective in ... read more

July 21, 2016 — A study reports that successful Schistosomiasis control programs over the past century relied, at least in part, on reducing the freshwater snails that are an essential host in the parasite life ... read more

Chronic Low Back Pain Linked to Higher Rates of Illicit Drug Use

July 21, 2016 — People living with chronic low back pain (cLBP) are more likely to use illicit drugs -- including marijuana, cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamine -- compared to those without back pain, reports a ... read more

Virtual Development of Real Drugs

July 21, 2016 — Inside the human body, the same drug can interact with multiple molecules. This phenomenon is known as 'polypharmacology' and, according to the interaction, a drug can cure a disease or ... read more

Combining New and Old Drugs Improves Survival for Soft-Tissue Cancer Patients

July 20, 2016 — Adding a novel monoclonal antibody therapy called olaratumab to traditional chemotherapy increased median survival by nearly a year in patients with advanced sarcoma, according to a multicenter ... read more

Dangerous Bacteria Found After Sewer Spills

July 20, 2016 — After a sewer line break, a strain of bacteria found in wastewater tested resistant to vancomycin, an antibiotic considered to be a 'last resort' treatment for serious infections that do ... read more

New Treatment Developed to Prevent Nausea, Vomiting Caused by Chemo

July 20, 2016 — A drug that blocks neurotransmitters could reduce nausea and vomiting caused by chemotherapy, new research has ... read more

Juicy News About Cranberries: Blocking Bacterial Infections

July 19, 2016 — Illuminating traditional wisdom with chemistry and biophysics, a research team has characterized the role of compounds in cranberry juice that block the critical first step in bacterial infections, ... read more

Quitting Smoking During Pregnancy: Beneficial for Both Mother and Child

July 19, 2016 — In 80 percent of cases, pregnant women who used nicotine patches or the drug Zyban successively quit smoking, a new study has shown. Even after stopping the use of these products, 60 percent of Zyban ... read more

After Psychiatric Hospital Discharge, Many Patients Are Still Taking Multiple Antipsychotic Drugs

July 19, 2016 — In recent years, measures have been introduced to reduce the rate of 'antipsychotic polypharmacy' -- taking more than one antipsychotic drug -- among patients with schizophrenia and other ... read more

No Significant Difference Found Between Glucose-Lowering Drugs for Risk of Death

July 19, 2016 — Among nearly 120,000 adults with type 2 diabetes, there were no significant differences in the associations between any of 9 available classes of glucose-lowering drugs (alone or in combination) and ... read more

Medication Costs Likely to Jump This Year in the US

July 18, 2016 — Prescription medication costs are expected to rise at least 11 percent, and possibly up to 13 percent, in 2016, according to a new report on American national trends and projections in prescription ... read more

Novel Algorithm Predicts Drug Combinations to Treat Drug Resistant Fungal Infections

July 14, 2016 — Scientists have created an algorithm that can identify drug combinations to treat fungal infections that have become resistant to current drug treatments. This new study represents a strategy for ... read more

Anticancer Drug Discovery: Structures of KDM5 Histone Demethylase Inhibitors

July 14, 2016 — When doctors hurl toxic death at cancer cells, often a few will survive and come back. A family of enzymes called KDM5 histone demethylases is emerging as important for this resilience, and drugs ... read more

Why Scientists Are Calling for Experiments on Ecstasy

July 14, 2016 — MDMA, more commonly known as ecstasy, promotes strong feelings of empathy in users and is classified as a Schedule 1 drug -- a category reserved for compounds with no accepted medical use and a high ... read more

Simple Method Quickly Tests Hard-to-Treat Bacteria's Susceptibility to Different Antibiotics

July 14, 2016 — The recent emergence of bacterial infections that are resistant to many existing antibiotics is driving an urgent need for tools to quickly identify the small number of therapies that are still ... read more

New Molecules Kill Multidrug Resistant Cancer Cells

July 14, 2016 — Newly discovered molecules can kill multidrug resistant cancer cells by blocking cells' defenses against cancer drugs, according to a new study. The lead author hopes the findings provide an ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Saturday, June 25, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Sunday, June 5, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016