Science News
from research organizations

NASA's Terra satellite spots record-breaking Hurricane Pali

Date:
January 12, 2016
Source:
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Summary:
Shortly after NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Storm Pali it strengthened into a record-breaking hurricane.
Share:
FULL STORY

On Jan. 11 at 22:30 UTC (5:30 p.m. EST) the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Storm Pali as it was becoming an early record-breaking hurricane in the Central Pacific Ocean.
Credit: Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response

Shortly after NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Storm Pali it strengthened into a record-breaking hurricane.

On Jan. 11 at 22:30 UTC (5:30 p.m. EST) the MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of strengthening Tropical Storm Pali in the Central Pacific Ocean. On Jan. 11 at 10 p.m. EST (5 p.m. HST/Jan 12 at 0300 UTC) Pali became the earliest hurricane on record in the central Pacific basin far to the southwest of Hawaii. In the MODIS image, Pali's eye was visible surrounded by a strong circle of thunderstorms and a thick band of thunderstorms spiraled into the low level center from the western quadrant.

NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center forecaster Wroe noted "after exhibiting a rather well defined eye through the evening...a recent burst of deep convection around the center of Hurricane Pali has caused the eye to become cloud filled...likely due to southwesterly vertical wind shear of around 15 knots."

On Jan. 12 at 10 a.m. EST (5 a.m. HST/1500 UTC) the center of Hurricane Pali was located near latitude 6.8 north and longitude 171.4 west. That's about 695 miles (1,120 km) south of Johnston Island and 1,345 miles (2,170 km) southwest of Honolulu, Hawaii. Maximum sustained winds are near 90 mph (150 kph). Slow weakening is expected through Thursday morning, Jan. 14. The estimated minimum central pressure is 979 millibars. Pali was moving toward the south near 7 mph and is expected to gradually turn to the southwest.

CPHC said that although Pali will remain over warm sea surface temperatures of 28 to 29 Celsius (82.4 to 84.2 Fahrenheit) along the forecast track...ships indicates a modest Increase in wind shear that could produce some weakening during the next couple of days as it moves toward the equator. For updated forecasts, visit: http://www.prh.noaa.gov/cphc.


Story Source:

The above post is reprinted from materials provided by NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center. The original item was written by Rob Gutro. Note: Content may be edited for style and length.


Cite This Page:

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center. "NASA's Terra satellite spots record-breaking Hurricane Pali." ScienceDaily. ScienceDaily, 12 January 2016. <www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/01/160112125421.htm>.
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center. (2016, January 12). NASA's Terra satellite spots record-breaking Hurricane Pali. ScienceDaily. Retrieved August 30, 2016 from www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/01/160112125421.htm
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center. "NASA's Terra satellite spots record-breaking Hurricane Pali." ScienceDaily. www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/01/160112125421.htm (accessed August 30, 2016).