Geography News
August 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:25am EDT

More Geography News
August 24, 2016

Aug. 18, 2016 — The availability of accurate and reliable information on the location of impoverished zones is surprisingly lacking for much of the world. Applying machine learning to satellite images could identify ... read more

Alaska's 'Sleeping Lady'

Aug. 17, 2016 — Every year countless Alaskans and visitors gaze across Cook Inlet from Anchorage at the 'Sleeping Lady' silhouette of Mount Susitna. This scenic mountain and the more rounded Beluga ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — Western communities are facing effects of a warming climate with slower and earlier snowmelt reducing streamflows and possibly the amount of water reaching reservoirs used for drinking water and ... read more

Aug. 16, 2016 — Expansion and retreat of sea ice varied consistently in pace with rapid climate changes through past 90,000 years, a new study ... read more

New Antarctic Ice Discovery Aids Future Climate Predictions

Aug. 16, 2016 — A team of scientists has discovered a 65 percent reduction in sea ice during the last interglacial period around 128,000 years ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Record-setting rainfall and flooding in southern Louisiana have been calculated at NASA with data from ... read more

Warming Climate Likely to Have 'Minor' Impact on Power Plant Output

Aug. 15, 2016 — Future climate warming will likely cause only minor cuts in energy output at most US coal- or gas-fired power plants, a new study finds. The study -- based on records of changes in output levels and ... read more

Researcher Uncovers 340 Million Year-Old Oceanic Crust in the Mediterranean Sea Using Magnetic Data

Aug. 15, 2016 — Results of a new study shed new light on the tectonic architecture and evolution of the eastern Mediterranean Sea, and have important implications on various geodynamic processes, say ... read more

New Map of World Vegetation Reveals Substantial Changes Since 1980s

Aug. 15, 2016 — A new system to map the world's 'biomes' -- large-scale vegetation formations -- has been developed that will provide an objective method for monitoring how vegetation reacts as ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — The 5 meter long Greenland shark's general biology and way of life have been a mystery to biologists for many years. However, marine biologists have now deployed an epoch-making method to unveil ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — Coral researchers have for the first time captured the specific behavior of a coral as it's bleaching. While scientists have known for some time that coral bleaching occurs when the relationship ... read more

Wind Power Fiercer Than Expected

Aug. 11, 2016 — As the US' first wind farm is installed in Rhode Island this week, a new study shows offshore wind may be even more powerful and turbulent than expected in the Northeast. The findings could have ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — Batches of sand from a beach on the Delaware Bay are yielding insights into the powerful impact of temperature rise and evaporation along the shore that are in turn challenging long-held assumptions ... read more

Ecosystems in the Southeastern US Are Vulnerable to Climate Change

Aug. 11, 2016 — At least several southeastern US ecosystems are highly vulnerable to the impacts of present and future climate change, according to two new reports. At-risk ecosystems occur in states ranging from ... read more

Morphological Analysis of a Light-Controlling Organ Suggests Two New Deep-Sea Fish Species

Aug. 10, 2016 — Two new species can be added to the bioluminescent deep-sea fish family Opisthoproctidae, or 'barreleyes' -- named for the fishes' tubular eyes -- according to a new ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — The consequences of climate change are an increasing concern for humans around the world. How will we cope with rising sea levels and climbing temperatures? But it's not just humans who will be ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Even brief exposures of the eggs of Atlantic haddock to low concentrations of dispersed crude oil can cause severe and usually deadly deformities in developing fish, an international research team ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Methane seeps have strong effects on the community structure at the bottom of the Arctic ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Physicists have succeeded in detecting a time-resolved supernova signal in the Earth's microfossil record. As the group shows, the supernova signal was first detectable at a time starting about ... read more

Aug. 10, 2016 — Greenhouse gases are already having an accelerating effect on sea level rise, but the impact has so far been masked by the cataclysmic 1991 eruption of Mount Pinatubo in the Philippines, according to ... read more

Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016