Geography News
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:25pm EDT

More Geography News
August 28, 2016

Predictive Tool Vital to Sustainable Environmental Futures

Aug. 26, 2016 — A new predictive tool, which for the first time combines human perception of the environment with land-use planning and socioeconomic data, could help governments mitigate the impact of climate ... read more

Global Climate Models Do Not Easily Downscale for Regional Predictions

Aug. 24, 2016 — One size does not always fit all, especially when it comes to global climate models, according to climate researchers who caution users of climate model projections to take into account the increased ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — The global impact of human activities on the natural environment is extensive, but those impacts are expanding at a slower rate than the rate of economic and population ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — Hitching a ride on fatty molecules, a "sticky" strategy shields sugary molecules from their soluble nature, and may explain the discrepancies between models and actual measurements of sea ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — Earth's climate interacts with so called surface processes -- such as landslides or river erosion -- and tectonics to shape the landscape that we see. In some regions, the sheer force of these ... read more

Aug. 23, 2016 — An international team of researchers have shown that vulnerable coral populations in the eastern tropical Pacific have been completely isolated from the rest of the Pacific Ocean for at least the ... read more

Biological Invasions Threaten Developing Countries

Aug. 23, 2016 — Invasions from alien species such as Japanese knotweed and grey squirrels threaten the economies and livelihoods of residents of some of the world's poorest nations, new research ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — The April 2015 Gorkha earthquake in Nepal killed more than 8,000 people and injured more than 21,000. With a magnitude of 7.8, it was the worst natural disaster to strike Nepal since the 1934 ... read more

Some Signs of Induced Seismicity Spotted in Salton Trough's Geothermal Production Fields

Aug. 22, 2016 — In some parts of Southern California's Brawley Seismic Zone, geothermal energy production may be increasing the background seismicity rate, but changes in earthquake rates elsewhere in the area ... read more

Antarctica's Past Shows Region's Vulnerability to Climate Change

Aug. 22, 2016 — Fresh understanding of West Antarctica has revealed how the region's ice sheet could become unstable in a warming ... read more

Aug. 22, 2016 — Geographers have completed a large scale data and mapping project to track the flow of internal human migration in low and middle income countries. Researchers have, for the first time, mapped ... read more

Aug. 19, 2016 — This year's melt season in the Arctic Ocean and surrounding seas started with a bang, with a record low maximum extent in March and relatively rapid ice loss through May. One NASA sea ice ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — 'Ecosystem canaries' can provide early warning signals of large, potentially catastrophic, changes or tipping points in ecosystems, say researchers. Like canaries that coal miners used to ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — Sea level changes in the Pacific Ocean can be used to estimate future global surface temperatures, according to a new paper. Scientists knew both the rate at which global surface temperature is ... read more

Aug. 18, 2016 — The availability of accurate and reliable information on the location of impoverished zones is surprisingly lacking for much of the world. Applying machine learning to satellite images could identify ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — Long ago, one great ocean flowed between North and South America. When the Isthmus of Panama joined the continents, it also separated the Atlantic from the Pacific Ocean. If this took place much ... read more

Climate Change Alters the Rules of Sperm Competition in the Sea

Aug. 17, 2016 — Increasing ocean acidification, brought about by humanmade carbon emissions, reduces sperm performance in a species of sea urchin, say scientists. The impact of climate change on global seawater ... read more

Aug. 17, 2016 — July 2016 was the warmest July in 136 years of modern record-keeping, according to a monthly analysis of global temperatures by NASA. The record warm July continued a streak of 10 consecutive months ... read more

Alaska's 'Sleeping Lady'

Aug. 17, 2016 — Every year countless Alaskans and visitors gaze across Cook Inlet from Anchorage at the 'Sleeping Lady' silhouette of Mount Susitna. This scenic mountain and the more rounded Beluga ... read more

Mix of Marine Zones Matters Most for Prey Fish

Aug. 17, 2016 — In a first-of-its-kind study, scientists have discovered a mosaic mix of marine zones could benefit populations of prey ... read more

Friday, August 26, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016