Geography News
May 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:28pm EDT

More Geography News
May 28, 2016

The Future of Sonar in Semiheated Oceans

May 25, 2016 — Light doesn't travel very far underwater so the navy uses sound to transmit messages. The speed of underwater sound depends on a combination of temperature, salinity and pressure. Understanding ... read more

A Fiery World Aids the Peopling of America

May 23, 2016 — North America experienced regular fires for thousands of years before the arrival of humans in North America according to new ... read more

May 19, 2016 — Heavier snow over Antarctica was supposed to be one of the few brakes on sea-level rise in a warming world. But that prediction is not reliable, says a new study of Antarctic snowfall over the past ... read more

May 18, 2016 — A three-decade-old open air laboratory, where warm water from a nuclear power station is pumped into an enclosed basin in the Baltic Sea off the Swedish coast, gives researchers an unparalleled ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Current rates of climate change could trigger instability in a major Antarctic glacier, ultimately leading to more than 2m of sea-level ... read more

May 18, 2016 — Ocean acidification expected to accompany climate change may slow development and reduce survival of the larval stages of Dungeness crab, a key component of the Northwest marine ecosystem and the ... read more

May 17, 2016 — A study of the 15-mile length of Coos Bay, from the ocean to the city of the same name, finds the bay is free of toxic levels of reduced oxygen that often affect other Oregon locations in the summer ... read more

May 17, 2016 — Climate change creates more shrub vegetation in barren, Arctic ecosystems. A new study shows that organisms, such as bacteria and fungi, are triggered to break down particularly nutritious dead parts ... read more

May 17, 2016 — While populations of moose have been declining in much of their North American range, research shows how these icons of the northern boreal forest are finding success by moving south into farmers’ ... read more

Poor Countries to Bear Brunt of Climate Change Despite Emitting Least Carbon Dioxide

May 16, 2016 — Many of the world's poorest countries are expected to experience daily heat extremes due to climate change sooner than wealthier nations. New research shows that the poorest fifth of the global ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Over the past half-million years, the equatorial Pacific Ocean has seen five spikes in the amount of iron-laden dust blown in from the continents. In theory, those bursts should have turbo-charged ... read more

More Sea Turtles Survive With Less Beach Debris

May 16, 2016 — Clearing the beach of flotsam and jetsam increased the number of nests by as much as 200 percent, while leaving the detritus decreased the number by nearly 50 percent, report scientists at the ... read more

May 16, 2016 — As climatologists closely monitor the impact of human activity on the world's oceans, researchers have found yet another worrying trend impacting the health of the Pacific ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Australian researchers have raised fresh concerns that a major shipping disaster could harm the Great Barrier Reef, with new research revealing coal dust in seawater can kill corals and slow down the ... read more

May 16, 2016 — Scientists have found evidence of a huge asteroid that struck the Earth early in its life with an impact larger than anything humans have experienced. Tiny glass beads called spherules, found in ... read more

New Ice Age Knowledge

May 13, 2016 — An international team of researchers has gained new insights into the carbon dioxide exchange between ocean and atmosphere, thus making a significant contribution to solving one of the great ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Methane was seeping from the seafloor for thousands of years following the retreat of the Barents Sea ice sheet, shows a groundbreaking new ... read more

May 13, 2016 — Seabirds nest by the hundreds of thousands in colonies along the Norwegian coast. By combining an ocean current model with fish larvae transport modeling and bird population numbers, researchers have ... read more

May 13, 2016 — A volcano erupting and spewing ash into the sky can cover nearby areas under a thick coating of ash and can also have consequences for aviation safety. Airline traffic changes due to a recent ... read more

May 13, 2016 — A team of researchers have estimated the probability of a Magnitude 9+ earthquake in the Aleutian Islands -- an event with sufficient power to create a mega-tsunami especially threatening to ... read more

Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Monday, May 23, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016