NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Severe Weather News
September 29, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:00am EDT

More Severe Weather News
September 29, 2016

'Funneling' Behind Severe Flooding on the Clyde

Sep. 15, 2016 — A “funneling” effect has been a major factor in severe flooding on the River Clyde in recent years, according to a study by English ... read more

Sep. 13, 2016 — The winds that gust across the Tibetan Plateau have done so for far longer than previously believed, showing they are resilient to the formation of mountains and changes in carbon dioxide and ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — A team of scientists has discovered an unexpected disruption in one of the most repeatable atmospheric ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — As global temperatures rise, how will lake ecosystems respond? As they warm, will lakes -- which make up only 3 percent of the landscape, but bury more carbon than the world's oceans combined -- ... read more

Pushing a Parasite from Land to Sea

Sep. 6, 2016 — Higher levels of rainfall and coastal development increase the risk of disease-causing organisms flowing to the ocean, according to a study. The work advances earlier work by tracking the parasite T. ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — For the first time, a study shows that remote sensing data from weather surveillance radar and on-the-ground data from the eBird citizen science database both yield robust indices of migration ... read more

New Tool Can Calculate Renewable Energy Output Anywhere in the World

Sep. 6, 2016 — An interactive web tool to estimate the amount of energy that could be generated by wind or solar farms at any location has now been created by ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Ocean warming is affecting humans in direct ways and the impacts are already being felt, including effects on fish stocks and crop yields, more extreme weather events and increased risk from ... read more

Sep. 5, 2016 — Over the past decades forests in different parts of the world have suffered sudden massive tree mortality. Now an international team of scientists has found a way to spot from satellite images which ... read more

Sep. 5, 2016 — Newly published research finds that low relative humidity in the atmosphere is a significant, growing and often under-appreciated cause of plant stress in hot, dry weather conditions. The finding ... read more

Sep. 2, 2016 — High above Earth's tropics, a pattern of winds changed recently in a way that scientists had never seen in more than 60 years of consistent ... read more

Sep. 2, 2016 — A new analysis finds that human-induced climate change complicates projecting the future position of ... read more

Time Window for Action to Limit Climate Change Is Closing Rapidly

Sep. 1, 2016 — The window of opportunity for limiting climate warming up to 2°C is closing rapidly. However, a reinforcing upward spiral of national government policy, non-state actions and transformative ... read more

Aug. 31, 2016 — Thunderstorms have 50 percent higher concentrations of mercury than other rain events, new research shows. Mercury is a naturally occurring chemical element that is used in several devices such as ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — As a multiyear drought grinds on in the Southwestern United States, many wonder about the impact of global climate change on more frequent and longer dry spells. As humans emit more carbon dioxide ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — Violent thunderstorms can often cause torrential rain, which pose a threat for both humans and the infrastructure. Until now such extreme weather phenomena have been very poorly understood. However, ... read more

A Better Way to Predict the Weather on Sea and Over Land

Aug. 26, 2016 — Scientists have made new updates to old technology that will enable weather forecasters to make improved predictions of severe ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — In-depth review charts the scientific understanding of rainbows and highlights the many practical applications of this fascinating interaction between light, liquid and ... read more

Saving Irrigation Water With Superabsorbent Polymers

Aug. 25, 2016 — Soil conditioners called superabsorbent polymers have the potential to reduce irrigation needs for agricultural crops by storing water and nutrients and then releasing them in drought conditions, ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Using a detection network based in Japan, scientists have uncovered a rare type of deep-earth tremor that they attribute to a distant North Atlantic storm called a 'weather bomb.' The ... read more

Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Monday, September 5, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016