Severe Weather News
July 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:58am EDT

More Severe Weather News
July 30, 2016

July 27, 2016 — A hazy sky and dirty cars are well-known consequences of Saharan dust carried to Europe by air currents. As part of the “PerduS” project, researchers are currently examining how dust – as haze ... read more

Hot Desert Storms Increase Risk of Bacterial Meningitis in Africa

July 25, 2016 — Exposure to airborne dust and high temperatures are significant risk factors for bacterial meningitis, a new study has found. The Sahel region of West Africa has the highest number of bacterial ... read more

July 19, 2016 — In western North America, mountain pine beetles infest and ravage thousands of acres of forest lands. Landsat satellites bear witness to the onslaught in a way that neither humans nor most other ... read more

July 15, 2016 — Ptarmigan, which live in cold ecosystems, are not strongly affected by fluctuations in seasonal weather at two populations studied in Colorado, report ... read more

Climate Experts Help Communities Cope With Impact of the Indian Monsoon

July 14, 2016 — New work by experts to predict the weather in India could help millions of people prepare for the devastating effects of the country's summer ... read more

To Save Water on Lawns, Throw Some Shade

July 14, 2016 — How much water does your lawn really need? A study re-evaluated lawn watering recommendations by measuring water use by lawns in Los Angeles. The standard model of turfgrass water needs, they found, ... read more

Modeling Predicts Which Counties Could Store More Carbon in Soil by Growing Bioenergy Crops

July 13, 2016 — To help stakeholders in government and business make smart decisions about the best types of land and local climates for planting bioenergy crops, researchers are using computational modeling to ... read more

July 12, 2016 — The Northeast Pacific's largest marine heatwave on record was at least in part caused by El Niño climate patterns. And unusually warm water events in that ocean could potentially become more ... read more

Subtropical Cornwall Climate Could Mean Exotic New Crops

July 11, 2016 — The subtropical weather in Cornwall, England means new exotic crops such as quinoa and Japanese persimmon are now more likely to succeed, according to a new technique developed experts to monitor the ... read more

100s of Deaths in 2 Cities in 2003 Heatwave Due to Human-Made Climate Change

July 7, 2016 — Scientists have specified how many deaths can be attributed to human-made climate change during an extreme heatwave. Researchers calculate that in Paris, the hottest city in Europe during the ... read more

Model for Predicting Coastal Storm Damage in the North Sea

July 7, 2016 — A system for predicting storm damage by waves in northern areas of the North Sea has been developed by mathematicians. The north-east Scottish coast was found to be more exposed to swell arriving ... read more

Butterflies' Wing Patterns Change With the Seasons

July 7, 2016 — Tropical butterflies adapt to their environment to improve their chances of survival. The changes are triggered by hormone signals that transmit information about temperature to the butterflies' ... read more

New Study Calls for Old Methods of Coastal Management

July 6, 2016 — A recent collaborative research effort seeks to highlight this enclave of stability against the stark reality of Louisiana's predominantly sediment-starved, sinking deltaic ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

July 5, 2016 — A combination of characteristics is the key to success for the genetic improvement of beans to make them resistant to droughts, say scientists, whose research can improve crop yield in Central and ... read more

July 5, 2016 — Droughts in California are mainly controlled by wind, not by the amount of evaporated moisture in the air, new research has found. The research increases the understanding of how the water cycle is ... read more

June 30, 2016 — The Mediterranean Basin has been witness to increased droughts for at least five decades, but has this always been the case? A research team has been successful in reconstructing, for the first time, ... read more

El Niño Could Drive Intense Season for Amazon Fires

June 29, 2016 — The long-lasting effects of El Niño are projected to cause an intense fire season in the Amazon, according to the 2016 seasonal forecast from ... read more

Northern Bird Found to Be More Resilient to Winter Weather

June 29, 2016 — Northern wrens are larger and more resilient to winter weather than those living in the south, new research reveals. The research means that populations inhabiting regions where winters are more ... read more

June 29, 2016 — Poor weather can often make the operation of rescue helicopters a highly risky business, and sometimes even impossible. A new helmet-mounted display may in the future be able to help pilots detect ... read more

Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Friday, April 29, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016