Weather News
April 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 8:12pm EDT

More Weather News
April 27, 2017

Winemakers Lose Billions of Dollars Every Year Due to Natural Disasters

Apr. 27, 2017 — Every year, worldwide wine industry suffers losses of more than ten billion US dollars from damaged assets, production losses, and lost profits due to extreme weather events and natural disasters. A ... read more

Geologist Discovers Whirlwind Phenomena in Andes Mountains

Apr. 24, 2017 — There's a lot to be learned from the winds in a Chilean desert--everything from surviving tornadoes on Earth to planning travel to Mars, with surviving climate change in between, suggests a ... read more

Ambulances Respond More Slowly in Summer and Winter

Apr. 24, 2017 — Ambulance response times in London worsen when air temperatures rise or fall beyond certain limits in summer and winter, according to a new ... read more

Mild, Wet Summer in the Midwest Predicted by Weather Expert

Apr. 10, 2017 — A professor of atmospheric science says normal temperatures and average rainfall this summer should help boost agriculture in the region after a dry ... read more

The Forecaster's Dilemma: Evaluating Forecasts of Extreme Events

Apr. 10, 2017 — Accurate predictions of extreme events do not necessarily indicate the scientific superiority of the forecaster or the forecast method from which they originate. The way forecast evaluation is ... read more

'Weather Whiplash' Triggered by Changing Climate Will Degrade Midwest's Drinking Water

Mar. 29, 2017 — New research shows weather whiplash in the American Midwest's agricultural regions will drive the deterioration of water quality, forcing municipalities to seek costly remedies to provide safe ... read more

Adding Grads, Going Green Can Brighten Economic Outlook

Mar. 29, 2017 — Attracting college graduates and boosting natural amenities may give communities a double shot of economic growth potential, according to ... read more

Can Intergenerational Cooperation Defeat Climate Change?

Mar. 28, 2017 — Older adults are powerful allies in addressing climate change, say researchers. Research shows that older adults are at risk for the effects of extreme weather events and climate change; but they are ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — The same kind of large-scale planetary waves that meander through the atmosphere high above Earth's surface may also exist on the sun, according to a new ... read more

Farming Becoming Riskier Under Climate Change

Mar. 27, 2017 — Climate change is predicted to impact agriculture, but a new study puts these changes in terms that are directly applicable to farmers. For Illinois, the corn planting window will be split in two to ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Unprecedented summer warmth and flooding, forest fires, drought and torrential rain -- extreme weather events are occurring more and more often, but now an international team of climate scientists ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — In the South China Sea, a 2°C rise in the sea surface temperature in June 2015 was amplified to produce a 6°C rise on Dongsha Atoll, a shallow coral reef ecosystem, killing approximately 40 percent ... read more

When Air Pollution Is Bad, Know How to Protect Yourself

Mar. 23, 2017 — There are steps we can take to protect ourselves and our families from air pollution, which has well-documented negative consequences for childhood asthma, birth outcomes, pregnancy risks, ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — The Arctic sea ice maximum extent and Antarctic minimum extent are both record lows this year. Combined, sea ice numbers are at their lowest point since satellites began to continuously measure sea ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Nearly 1,000 feet below the bed of the Dead Sea, scientists have found evidence that during past warm periods, the Mideast has suffered drought on scales never recorded by humans -- a possible ... read more

Heat Exposure Associated With Mental Illness

Mar. 21, 2017 — A mental hospital-based study in Hanoi, Vietnam looked at if there is a relationship between heat exposure and mental health problems. The results showed significant increase in hospital admissions ... read more

Transport Systems Face Disruption by Extreme Weather

Mar. 20, 2017 — Extreme weather conditions due to climate change pose a new threat to aging infrastructure, and authors of a new report, we need to be better ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — With tornado season fast approaching or already underway in vulnerable states throughout the US, new supercomputer simulations are giving meteorologists unprecedented insight into the structure of ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Scientists have found the seasonal 'fingerprints' of Arctic sea ice, El Nino, and other climate phenomena in a new study that probes the global interactions between weather and ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — The dramatic decline of Arctic sea ice in recent decades is caused by a mixture of global warming and a natural, decades-long atmospheric hot spot over Greenland and the Canadian ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
Thursday, December 22, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Thursday, November 3, 2016