Weather News
May 24, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:27am EDT

More Weather News
May 24, 2016

May 16, 2016 — New technology for cleaning oil from lakes is best suited for lakes with thick sediments: stony, clay or sandy bottom, report scienitsts. This method allows cleaning both sediments and water and ... read more

May 13, 2016 — A volcano erupting and spewing ash into the sky can cover nearby areas under a thick coating of ash and can also have consequences for aviation safety. Airline traffic changes due to a recent ... read more

May 6, 2016 — Understanding how small water droplets behave improves our ability to describe evaporation and condensation of water at widely different scales, which has implications for everything from ... read more

Changing Climate Conditions in Michigan Pose an Emerging Public Health Threat

Apr. 25, 2016 — Changing climate conditions—including warmer temperatures and an increased frequency of heavy rainstorms—represent "an emerging threat to public health in Michigan," according to a new ... read more

Apr. 22, 2016 — In the face of scientific dogma that faults the population decline of monarch butterflies on a lack of milkweed, herbicides and genetically modified crops, a new study casts wider blame: sparse ... read more

1.5 C Vs 2 C Global Warming: New Study Shows Why Half a Degree Matters

Apr. 21, 2016 — Researchers have found substantially different climate change impacts for a global warming of 1.5°C and 2°C by 2100, the two temperature limits included in the Paris climate agreement. The ... read more

Apr. 21, 2016 — Sea ice physicists are anticipating that the sea ice cover in the Arctic Ocean this summer may shrink to the record low of 2012. The scientists made this projection after evaluating current satellite ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — The vast majority of Americans have experienced more favorable weather conditions over the past 40 years, researchers have found. The trend is projected to reverse over the course of the coming ... read more

Indian Monsoon: Novel Approach Allows Early Forecasting

Apr. 20, 2016 — The Indian monsoon's yearly onset and withdrawal can now be forecasted significantly earlier than previously possible. A team of scientists developed a novel prediction method based on a network ... read more

Record Balkan Floods Linked to Jamming of Giant Airstreams

Apr. 16, 2016 — Disastrous floods in the Balkans two years ago are likely linked to the temporary slowdown of giant airstreams, scientists found. These wind patterns, circling the globe in the form of huge waves ... read more

Satellite Images Reveal Dramatic Tropical Glacier Retreat

Apr. 13, 2016 — Scientists use high resolution satellite imagery to provide a decadal study of ablation of equatorial glaciers in West Papua. The images taken from the Pleaides satellites reveal that the formerly ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — The massive icefield that feeds Alaska's Mendenhall Glacier may be gone by 2200 if warming trend predictions hold ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — A new way of modeling the effects of climate change on islands shows that previous analyses underestimated the number of islands that would become substantially more arid by mid century -- 73 ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — Longer monsoon seasons with increased daily rainfall, aspects of climate change, are contributing to reduced tea yield in regions of China, with implications for crop management and harvesting ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — Despite only being in orbit a matter of weeks, Sentinel-3A has already delivered some impressive first images. With the thermal-infrared channels now turned on, the satellite completes its set of ... read more

Apr. 4, 2016 — El Nino years can have a big impact on the littlest plants in the ocean, and scientists are studying the relationship between the ... read more

Apr. 1, 2016 — The energy associated with air temperature and moisture content, rather than radiant energy from the sun, was responsible for more melt during the 2012 exceptional melt episodes on the Greenland Ice ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — For the first time, scientists have three-dimensional snapshots of raindrops and snowflakes around the world from ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — A new study analyzes cloud cover around the world over 15 years. It finds that variations in cloud cover can help researchers predict where different species live -- information that could aid ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — As the Navy's Ice Exercise 2016 winds to a close this week in the frigid waters of the Arctic Ocean, officials at the Office of Naval Research today reported new scientific research that took ... read more

Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Wednesday, March 9, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Sunday, February 14, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 25, 2016
Friday, January 22, 2016
Wednesday, January 20, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Friday, January 15, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015