NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Food News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:21pm EST

More Food News
February 21, 2017

Feb. 15, 2017 — Researchers are are unpacking the entire DNA sequences of 50 influential animals dating back to the 1950s, then honing in on the genes associated with specific traits in order to capture the best ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — People who eat a gluten-free diet may be at risk for increased exposure to arsenic and mercury -- toxic metals that can lead to cardiovascular disease, cancer and neurological effects, according to a ... read more

Feb. 11, 2017 — It’s all about the layers, say scientists. Encapsulating a drug in corn protein nanoparticles and then covering with them milk protein can make children’s medications better tasting and ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Despite having few taste genes, honey bees are fine-tuned to know what minerals the colony may lack and proactively seek out nutrients in conjunction with the season when their floral diet ... read more

Eating Whole Grains Led to Modest Improvements in Gut Microbiota and Immune Response

Feb. 8, 2017 — In a clinical trial, adults who consumed a diet rich in whole grains rather than refined grains had modest improvements in healthy gut microbiota and certain immune ... read more

Wolfing It Down: Brown Bears Reduce Wolf Kill Rates Says Usu Ecologist

Feb. 8, 2017 — The influence of predation on an ecosystem may depend on the composition of the predator community, researchers ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — Any animal, living or dead, can be placed on a 'scavenging scale' based on variations in a few key biological traits and the environment at hand. This scale suggests that long-extinct ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Cats and dogs may be longtime enemies, but when teamed up, they keep rodents away, a new study ... read more

Researchers Seek to Improve Welfare in Captive Birds of Prey Through Olfactory Enrichment

Feb. 6, 2017 — For the first time, researchers are exploring ways to improve welfare in captive birds of prey through olfactory enrichment -- or using scent cues to alleviate boredom and encourage ... read more

Hard Shell, Healthy Kernel: Nuts Can Inhibit the Growth of Cancer Cells

Feb. 6, 2017 — Roasted and salted, ground as a baking ingredient or fresh from the shell – for all those who enjoy eating nuts, there is good news from nutritionists. Their latest research shows that nuts can ... read more

Feb. 6, 2017 — Nitrogen deposition caused by human activities can lead to an increased phytoplankton production in boreal lakes. The response of boreal lakes to nitrogen deposition will strongly depend on each ... read more

Genetically Modified Insects Could Disrupt International Food Trade

Feb. 1, 2017 — Genetically modified organisms for pest control could end up as contaminants in agricultural products throughout the ... read more

Mediterranean Diet Linked to a Lower Risk of Attention-Deficit/hyperactivity Disorder

Feb. 1, 2017 — Dietary patterns of the Mediterranean diet can be related to a lower diagnose of the attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to a ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — New research shows that red-footed tortoises can remember the location of their favorite food sources and the biggest stashes for at least 18 ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — A highly toxic form of mercury could jump by 300 to 600 percent in zooplankton – tiny animals at the base of the marine food chain – if land runoff increases by 15 to 30 percent, according to a ... read more

Jan. 27, 2017 — Dogs also share their food, albeit mainly with four-legged friends rather than strangers. A new study has now confirmed this prosocial behavior among canines. The more complex methodology of the ... read more

Nanoparticle Fertilizer Could Contribute to New 'Green Revolution'

Jan. 25, 2017 — The 'Green Revolution' of the '60s and '70s has been credited with helping to feed billions around the world, with fertilizers being one of the key drivers spurring the ... read more

Too Little Food from Animal Sources May Increase Risk of Preterm Birth

Jan. 24, 2017 — Pregnant women increase their chances of vitamin B12 deficiency if they don't consume enough meat, milk or eggs. This vitamin is found only in animal products. A deficiency of the vitamin during ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — There are about 400,000 species of plants in the world. Humans use approximately 10-15% of them to cover our basic needs, such as food, medicine and shelter, as well as other needs, such as ... read more

Jan. 19, 2017 — These findings may provide further evidence to help researchers solve the $6 billion-a-year disease that continues to evolve and torment potato and tomato growers around the ... read more

Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Thursday, December 29, 2016
Friday, December 30, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Friday, December 9, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016