Food News
May 22, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 7:08pm EDT

More Food News
May 22, 2017

May 19, 2017 — Culinary treatments (boiling, microwaving, grilling, and deep frying) influence on proximate composition and antioxidant capacity of most cultivated mushrooms worlwide. A study has shown that ... read more

Study on Blue Tits: Smell First, and Then Beg

May 12, 2017 — Nestling blue tits can discriminate between the smell of other nestlings and adapt their begging behavior accordingly, suggests a new ... read more

May 11, 2017 — Farming crickets for human consumption is less of a burden on the environment than other livestock production systems according to a new study. Results suggest that insect farming systems can be ... read more

May 10, 2017 — The largest observational study to date of dairy intakes and bone and frailty measurements in older adults has found that increased yogurt consumption was associated with a higher hip bone density ... read more

May 10, 2017 — Using fruit flies, researchers say they have identified a specific and very small set of brain cells -- dubbed dopamine wedge neurons -- responsible for driving the insects' food preferences ... read more

Kicking the Salt Shaker Habit May Not Be Enough

May 8, 2017 — Restaurant foods and commercially processed foods sold in stores accounted for about 70 percent of dietary sodium intake in a study in three US regions. Salt added at home during food preparation or ... read more

Garden-Enhanced Intervention Improved BMI, Nutrition Knowledge of California Students

May 8, 2017 — The factors that affect rates of childhood obesity are complex. For example, parent feeding practices have been shown to be influential, but that influence has also been shown to change with age. ... read more

May 8, 2017 — Studying how our bodies metabolize lipids such as fatty acids, triglycerides, and cholesterol can teach us about cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and other health problems, as well as reveal basic ... read more

May 6, 2017 — Cinnamon may lessen the risk of cardiovascular damage of a high-fat diet by activating the body's antioxidant and anti-inflammatory systems and slowing the fat-storing process, according to a ... read more

Edible Insects Could Play Key Role in Cutting Harmful Emissions

May 4, 2017 — Eating insects instead of beef could help tackle climate change by reducing harmful emissions linked to livestock production, research ... read more

May 4, 2017 — Much like gym enthusiasts, every year Asiatic black bears seem to be on the lookout for protein-rich food ahead of the summer, so that they can bulk up on lean muscle mass in place of the fat tissue ... read more

First EPA-Approved Outdoor Field Trial for Genetically Engineered Algae

May 4, 2017 — Scientists have successfully completed the first outdoor field trial sanctioned by the US Environmental Protection Agency for genetically engineered algae. The researchers tested a genetically ... read more

Turning Chicken Feces, Weeds Into Biofuel

May 3, 2017 — Chicken is a favorite, inexpensive meat across the globe. But the bird's popularity results in a lot of waste that can pollute soil and water. One strategy for dealing with poultry poop is to ... read more

Got a Sweet Tooth? Blame Your Liver

May 2, 2017 — A hormone called FGF21 that is secreted by the liver after eating sweets may determine who has a sweet tooth and who doesn't, according to a new study. Researchers found that people with ... read more

May 2, 2017 — It's usually used as livestock feed, but wheat bran's value in human nutrition and medicine may soon reach its full potential with a new sustainable processing ... read more

May 2, 2017 — Being the vertebrates with the highest metabolic rate thanks to their rapid wing flaps, the hummingbirds have evolved various feeding behaviors. While they tend to go for food high in energy, strong ... read more

May 1, 2017 — Increases in climate variability have placed new emphasis on the need for resilient wheat varieties. Now climate-resilient wheat varieties with increased nutritional values are possible, report ... read more

Further Knowledge Required About the Differences Between Milk Proteins

Apr. 28, 2017 — Recent years have witnessed significant debates on proteins in milk, in particular the differences between A1 and A2 proteins. However, there is still no scientific evidence to determine whether milk ... read more

Apr. 28, 2017 — Bacterial symbionts transition between plant pathogenicity and insect defensive mutualism, a new report demonstrates. The bacterium Burkholderia gladioli lives in specific organs of a plant-feeding ... read more

Weather Extremes and Trade Policies Were Main Drivers of Wheat Price Peaks

Apr. 28, 2017 — Price peaks of wheat on the world market are mainly caused by production shocks such as induced for example by droughts, researchers found. These shocks get exacerbated by low storage levels as well ... read more

Friday, May 19, 2017
Friday, May 12, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017
Wednesday, May 10, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Saturday, May 6, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Monday, May 1, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 24, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017