Food News
April 26, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 1:38pm EDT

More Food News
April 26, 2017

Gut Bacteria May Turn Common Nutrient Into Clot-Enhancing Compound

Apr. 24, 2017 — Gut bacteria can produce a clot-enhancing compound when people eat a nutrient found in a variety of foods including meat, eggs and milk, according to new ... read more

Plant Protein May Protect Against Type 2 Diabetes, Meat Eaters at Greater Risk

Apr. 19, 2017 — A new study adds to the growing body of evidence indicating that the source of dietary protein may play a role in the risk of developing type 2 diabetes. The researchers found that plant protein was ... read more

Giant Sloth Was Vegetarian: Diet of Fossil Megatherium Decoded

Apr. 18, 2017 — Scientists have examined the diet of the extinct Giant Sloth Megatherium. Based on analyses of the collagen in the fossil bones, the researchers concluded in their study that Megatherium subsisted on ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Different than expected, wild boars do not come to Berlin in order to use garbage or other anthropogenic food resources. In fact, also in the city they predominantly consume natural ... read more

Apr. 13, 2017 — Researchers show empirically: when population pressure increases, food is imported. The big issue, say authors of a new report, is that people may not even be aware that they have chosen dependency ... read more

How Common Fats, a Lazy Lifestyle and Diabetes Are Connected

Apr. 12, 2017 — A researcher is suggesting the types of cooking oils people consume may be sabotaging their efforts to stay healthy and avoid illnesses such as ... read more

Fresh Fruit Consumption Linked to Lower Risk of Diabetes and Diabetic Complications

Apr. 11, 2017 — Greater consumption of fresh fruit was associated with a lower incidence of diabetes, as well as reduced occurrence of complications in people with diabetes, in a Chinese ... read more

Avocados May Help Combat the Metabolic Syndrome

Apr. 10, 2017 — A new review investigates the effects of avocados on different components of metabolic syndrome, which is a clustering of risk factors including high blood sugar, cholesterol, blood pressure, and ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Reconstructed food webs from the Ancestral Puebloan southwestern United States show the complexity and interconnectedness of humans, other animals, crops and the environment, in an area of uncertain ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Seeds from a site in Northern Israel are the ancestors of today's fava beans, report researchers. Understanding the ecology of the wild plants' environment and the evolution they underwent ... read more

Apr. 7, 2017 — Humans are able to interpret the behavior of others by attributing mental states to them (and to themselves). By adopting the perspectives of other persons, they can assume their emotions, needs and ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — The first experimental evidence to suggest that AM fungi also get lipids from the plant has now been released by researchers, providing a clue to understanding the obligate nature of AM ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — A new study links increased dietary potassium with lower blood ... read more

Apr. 5, 2017 — Researchers have come up with a new way to test food for bacterial contamination. The test is based on a novel type of liquid droplet that can bind to bacterial proteins. This interaction, which can ... read more

Mar. 29, 2017 — The bacteria Listeria monocytogenes can live inside the tissue of romaine lettuce, researchers have found, suggesting that conventional post-harvest sanitization practices might not be sufficient to ... read more

Wealth and Knowledge Drive Bushmeat Consumption During the West African Ebola Crisis

Mar. 29, 2017 — Bushmeat, or wild animal meat, is an essential source of protein for many people in tropical regions. But handling and eating bushmeat carries the risk of contracting diseases, such as Ebola virus ... read more

Cookbooks Give Readers (Mostly) Bad Advice on Food Safety

Mar. 27, 2017 — A recent study finds bestselling cookbooks offer readers little useful advice about reducing food-safety risks, and much of the advice they do provide is inaccurate and not based on sound ... read more

Mar. 27, 2017 — Researchers have found -- for the first time -- that a diet yielding high amounts of the short-chain fatty acids acetate and butyrate provided a beneficial effect on the immune system and protected ... read more

Are Tree Nut Allergies Diagnosed Too Often?

Mar. 27, 2017 — About 50 percent of those who thought they were allergic to all tree nuts were able to pass an oral food challenge without a reaction, new research ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — As wolf populations plummeted, the eastern coyote assumed the role of apex predator in forests along the Atlantic Coast. New research, however, shows that the eastern coyote is no match for the wolf. ... read more

Monday, April 24, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Friday, April 7, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Monday, March 27, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Friday, February 24, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Sunday, February 19, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Monday, February 6, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017