Food News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:50pm EDT

More Food News
August 30, 2016

Mediterranean Diet Associated With Lower Risk of Early Death in Cardiovascular Disease Patients

Aug. 29, 2016 — The Mediterranean diet is associated with a reduced risk of death in patients with a history of cardiovascular disease, according to results from the observational ... read more

Could the Paleo Diet Benefit Heart Health?

Aug. 26, 2016 — Findings from a small study suggest that people who followed the Paleo diet for only eight weeks experienced positive effects on heart ... read more

A Brain Circuit to Push Past Nutritional Stress

Aug. 24, 2016 — Nutritional stress is a normal part of life; going hungry on a short-term basis generally does not impair important functions. The brain coordinates the response to nutritional stress but how it does ... read more

Aug. 24, 2016 — In the first large-scale and comprehensive study on the impacts of transporting honey bees to pollinate various crops, research shows that travel can adversely affect bee health and lifespan. Some of ... read more

Sewage Sludge Could Make Great Sustainable Fertilizer

Aug. 15, 2016 — Ever thought of putting sewage on your plants? Scientists say thermally conditioned sewage sludge serves as an excellent fertilizer to improve soil properties. The major advantage over commercial ... read more

Sequencing of Fungal Disease Genomes May Help Prevent Banana Armageddon

Aug. 11, 2016 — Researchers have discovered how a group of three closely related fungal pathogens have evolved into a lethal threat to the world's bananas, whilst scientists have unraveled the DNA of the fungus ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — In urban neighborhoods, magpies often nest near their cousin corvid species, crows. Nesting near a bigger bird affords them some extra defense against predators. But do they pay a food penalty? To ... read more

Adding Milk, Meat to Diet Dramatically Improves Nutrition for Poor in Zambia

Aug. 10, 2016 — Adding livestock to poor households in developing countries such as Zambia is shown to improve their financial status, but how the addition of milk and meat to their diet effects their nutrition has ... read more

Isotopic Analysis of Teeth May Identify Starvation in Victims of the Great Irish Famine

Aug. 10, 2016 — Isotopic analysis of teeth may identify signs of starvation in human tissues from 19th century Irish workhouse residents, according to a new ... read more

Frankfurter Fraud: Finding out What's in Your Hot Dog

Aug. 10, 2016 — Hot dogs are a common summer fare. But knowing for sure what you're getting inside a bun can be difficult. Now scientists have devised a method that could help prevent frankfurter fraud, which ... read more

Rising Water Temperatures and Acidification Affect Important Plankton Organism

Aug. 9, 2016 — In an experiment with organisms from the Kiel Fjord, a team of biologists has demonstrated for the first time, that ocean acidification and rising water temperatures harms the fatty acid composition ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Researchers are rethinking plant breeding strategies to improve the development of new high-yielding, stress-tolerant cereal varieties. They say small gene-regulating molecules found in plant cells ... read more

Pesticides Used to Help Bees May Actually Harm Them

Aug. 8, 2016 — Honeybees from chlorothalanil-treated hives showed the greatest change in gut microbiome, a new study has concluded. The discovery is a concern because alterations can affect the gut's ability ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Scientists have identified four new pathogens previously not found in Australian chilies, raising the stakes for the country's quarantine and disease resistance ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Materials scientists have created a 'superhydrophobic' coating that easily slicks away viscous liquids like syrup, honey and ketchup. They detail the engineering feat in a new paper that ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — The largest study to examine the effects of different sources of dietary protein found that a high intake of proteins from animal sources -- particularly processed and unprocessed red meats -- was ... read more

Meat Consumption Contributing to Global Obesity

Aug. 1, 2016 — Should we be warning consumers about over-consumption of meat as well as ... read more

New Framework for Human Nutrition

Aug. 1, 2016 — Existing models for measuring health impacts of the human diet are limiting our capacity to solve obesity and its related health problems, nutritional scientists ... read more

July 29, 2016 — A diet high in saturated fat can make your brain struggle to control what you eat, says a new study. Consuming fish oil instead of lard can make a significant difference, the study ... read more

Frequent Nut Consumption Associated With Less Inflammation

July 29, 2016 — In a study of more than 5,000 people, investigators have found that greater intake of nuts was associated with lower levels of biomarkers of inflammation, a finding that may help explain the health ... read more

Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Friday, July 1, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Friday, June 10, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Saturday, June 4, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016