Energy and the Environment News
February 11, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:58am EST

More Energy and the Environment News
February 11, 2016

Jan. 28, 2016 — An international research team has simplified the steps to create highly efficient silicon solar cells by applying a new mix of materials to a standard design. Arrays of solar cells are used in solar ... read more

Recognizing Health Concerns in Wind Energy Development a Key Recommendation in New Study

Jan. 26, 2016 — As wind energy development blossoms in Canada and around the world, opposition at the community level is challenging the viability of the industry. A new study identifies four major factors leading ... read more

Jan. 21, 2016 — Scientists have created the first computational model that simulates the light-harvesting activity of thousands of antenna proteins that would interact in the chloroplast of an actual leaf. The ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — A 'high-gravity' one-pot process for producing ethanol from cellulosic biomass has been developed by scientists that gives unprecedented yields while minimizing water use and waste ... read more

Jan. 19, 2016 — The price of solar photovoltaic (PV) systems installed on homes and small businesses spans a wide range, and researchers have published a new study that reveals the key market and system drivers for ... read more

Defects Could Improve Solar Cells, Researchers Theorize

Jan. 19, 2016 — Scientists are studying what may seem paradoxical -- certain defects in silicon solar cells may actually improve their performance. The findings run counter to conventional wisdom, according to a new ... read more

Study Provides Insights on Sources of Environmental Contamination Following Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Disaster

Jan. 19, 2016 — Four years after Japan's Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Plant disaster that led to major releases of radioactivity to environment, questions still remain regarding the original sources of ... read more

Jan. 18, 2016 — A solar-panel material that can cut down on photovoltaic costs while achieving competitive power-conversion efficiency of 20.2 percent has been created by ... read more

Jan. 18, 2016 — An international team of researchers has taken a step toward achieving controlled nuclear fusion -- a process that powers the sun and other stars, and has the potential to supply the world with ... read more

How Will Climate Policy Affect Energy Access Goals?

Jan. 14, 2016 — Without new subsidies and policies to support increased energy access, new climate policies could push access to modern energy out of reach for millions in Asia. Currently, three billion people ... read more

Jan. 13, 2016 — Researchers demonstrate in a new study the precise mechanism by which sunlight generates electrical charge within cutting-edge solar cell film, yielding potential benefits for solar power ... read more

Second-Generation Biofuels Can Reduce Emissions

Jan. 11, 2016 — Second-generation biofuel crops like the perennial grasses Miscanthus and switchgrass can efficiently meet emission reduction goals without significantly displacing cropland used for food production, ... read more

Global Learning Is Needed to Save Carbon Capture and Storage from Being Abandoned

Jan. 11, 2016 — Governments should not be abandoning carbon capture and storage, argues a researcher, as it is the only realistic way of dramatically reducing carbon emissions. Instead, they should be investing in ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — The Paris climate summit ended last year with landmark national commitments for greenhouse gas reductions, but much of the hard work of reducing emissions will fall on cities to change their ... read more

Jan. 8, 2016 — Plastic solar cells are light, easy to install, and readily produced using a printer. Nevertheless, the processes that take place on the molecular scale during the production of organic solar cells ... read more

Optimum Band Gap for Hybrid Silicon/perovskite Tandem Solar Cell

Jan. 8, 2016 — Tandem solar cells based on silicon and perovskites have raised high hopes for future high efficiency solar modules. A team has now shown that an ultimate efficiency of 30 percent should be ... read more

Jan. 6, 2016 — In the quest for sustainable alternative energy and fuel sources, one viable solution may be the conversion of the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide into liquid fuels, say ... read more

Renewable Energy for State Renewable Portfolio Standards Yielded Sizable Benefits

Jan. 6, 2016 — Billions in dollars in benefits come from reduced greenhouse gas emissions, and from reductions in other air pollution for state renewable portfolio standard policies operating in 2013, a new study ... read more

Jan. 4, 2016 — Researchers have successfully demonstrated that desert sand from the UAE could be used in concentrated solar power (CSP) facilities to store thermal energy up to 1000°C. The research project called ... read more

Worldwide Electricity Production Vulnerable to Climate and Water Resource Change

Jan. 4, 2016 — Climate change impacts on rivers and streams may substantially reduce electricity production capacity around the world. A new study calls for a greater focus on adaptation efforts in order to ... read more

Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Thursday, January 21, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Friday, December 18, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 19, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015