Energy and the Environment News
August 4, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:19pm EDT

More Energy and the Environment News
August 4, 2015

Smart Building Monitoring to Respond to All Climate Conditions

July 22, 2015 — A grid of sensors embedded into an innovative building insulation activates specific façade components to optimise energy savings while improving ... read more

Perovskite Solar Technology Shows Quick Energy Returns

July 20, 2015 — In the solar power research community, a new class of materials called perovskites is causing quite a buzz, as scientists search for technology that has a better 'energy payback time' than ... read more

Siting Wind Farms More Quickly, Cheaply

July 17, 2015 — A new statistical technique that yields better wind-speed predictions than existing techniques do -- even when it uses only three months' worth of data -- has been revealed by researchers. That ... read more

Unique Material Created for the Next Generation Solar Cells

July 17, 2015 — Researchers have developed material which offers much cheaper alternative to the one which is currently being used in hybrid solar cells. The efficiency of the semi-conductors created by the team of ... read more

Tradable Energy Quotas Offer Fair, Effective Route to Low Carbon Society

July 16, 2015 — To achieve public support for a transformation to a low carbon society, politicians would be advised to implement a quantity-based energy quota system, with a fixed and decreasing cap on total use, ... read more

July 15, 2015 — The Sun can be a better chemist, thanks to zinc oxide nanorod arrays grown on a graphene substrate and 'decorated' with dots of cadmium sulphide. In the presence of solar radiation, this ... read more

Are Fuel Cells Environmentally Friendly? Not Always

July 15, 2015 — Fuel cells are regarded as the technology of the future for both cars and household heating systems. As a result, they have a key role to play in the switch to renewable energies. But are fuel cells ... read more

July 12, 2015 — A new material design could make low-cost solar panels far more efficient by greatly enhancing their ability to collect the sun’s energy and release it as ... read more

Norway Could Be Europe's 'Green Battery'

July 10, 2015 — Norwegian hydropower could make Norway the "green battery" of Europe -- not by building new power plants, but by further developing the hydropower installations that were built out ... read more

Smart Stuff: IQ of Northwest Power Grid Raised, Energy Saved

July 10, 2015 — Smart grid technologies and approaches can improve energy efficiency and possibly reduce power costs, according to the Pacific Northwest Smart Grid Demonstration Project's final ... read more

Future Deployment of Distributed Solar Hinges on Electricity Rate Design

July 9, 2015 — Future distributed solar photovoltaic (PV) deployment levels are highly sensitive to retail electricity rate design, according to a newly released report. The study also explores the feedback effects ... read more

July 7, 2015 — Researchers are working to lower the cost of solar energy systems and improve efficiencies in a big way, thanks to a system of small particles. Falling particle receiver technology is expected to ... read more

Switzerland's Transition Away from Nuclear Power

July 7, 2015 — Switzerland has a long history of trying to be as self-sufficient and energy independent as possible. Although its energy supply system has served it well in the past, the country is now looking to ... read more

July 7, 2015 — On Saint Patrick’s Day (17 March) the northern lights danced a lively green jig across the skies of Ireland and Britain. The source of these magnetic storms was not just one but two huge eruptions ... read more

Stronger Action Needed to Transform UK's Energy System

July 5, 2015 — An ambitious policy package is essential for the UK to transform its energy system to achieve the deep reductions in carbon emissions required to avoid dangerous climate change, according to new ... read more

July 3, 2015 — The longest and most difficult leg of the Round the World Solar Flight attempted since last March by Swiss explorers Bertrand Piccard and André Borschberg ended successfully in Hawaii. At the ... read more

July 1, 2015 — Widely hailed as 'green' sources of renewable energy, hydroelectric dams have been built worldwide at an unprecedented scale. But new research reveals that these major infrastructure ... read more

July 1, 2015 — A materials science and engineering team has developed a new energy cell that can store large-scale solar energy even when it's ... read more

Rising Fossil Fuel Energy Costs Spell Trouble for Global Food Security

July 1, 2015 — In an analysis of food preservation and transportation trends, scientists warn that new sustainable technologies will be needed for humanity just to stay even in the arms race against the ... read more

The Public's Political Views Are Strongly Linked to Attitudes on Environmental Issues

July 1, 2015 — This report examines the general public's views on a range of science-related topics and explores the degree to which political views, educational attainment, religion and demographic factors ... read more

Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 25, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015