Energy and the Environment News
May 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:02pm EDT

More Energy and the Environment News
May 5, 2015

Space Technology 'Could Reduce Cost of Renewable Energy'

May 4, 2015 — Space-based radar technology could be harnessed by the renewable energy sector to drive down costs, according to ... read more

Energy Consumption Rises With Automated Bill Payment

Apr. 29, 2015 — The adage 'out of sight, out of mind' applies to utility consumption, according to new research. A study of 16 years of billing records from one South Carolina electric utility found that ... read more

Climate Change: How Brits Feel About 'Smart' Energy

Apr. 27, 2015 — Reluctance to share data about personal energy use is likely to be a major obstacle when implementing 'smart' technologies designed to monitor use and support energy efficient behaviors, ... read more

Vehicle Cost, Lack of Consumer Information Hinder Purchases of Plug-in Electric Vehicles

Apr. 22, 2015 — Vehicle cost, current battery technology, and inadequate consumer knowledge are some of the barriers preventing widespread adoption of plug-in electric vehicles, says a new congressionally mandated ... read more

Apr. 22, 2015 — Gas hydrate is also known as the ice that burns. And all that burns releases energy. And a lot of energy is stored in hydrates and there are gigatons of it stored in the sediments of the ... read more

How Radiative Fluxes Are Affected by Cloud and Particle Characteristics

Apr. 17, 2015 — Climate models calculate a changing mix of clouds and emissions that interact with solar energy. To narrow the broad range of possible answers from a climate model, researchers analyzed the effect of ... read more

Burying the Climate Change Problem

Apr. 13, 2015 — Burying the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide, a byproduct of burning fossil fuels, has been mooted as one geoengineering approach to ameliorating climate change. Now, a team of researchers has reviewed ... read more

Apr. 13, 2015 — Researchers will genetically modify tobacco plants to produce enzymes that can break down biomass from forest raw materials. This may lead to a more effective, economic and sustainable production of ... read more

Big Data Technology Finds Ideal River Locations to Generate Hydro-Power

Apr. 13, 2015 — A new software app will improve sourcing of renewable energy from rivers. Researchers say hydropower is a cut-above solar and wind, as they provide a constant and reliable energy source with rivers ... read more

Apr. 10, 2015 — Researchers have made a significant breakthrough in the development of synthetic pathways that will enable renewable biosynthesis of the gas propane. This research is part of a program of work aimed ... read more

Plant Cell Structure Discovery Could Lead to Improved Renewable Materials

Apr. 10, 2015 — Major steps forward in the use of plants for renewable materials, energy and for building construction could soon arise, thanks to a key advance in understanding the structure of wood. The step ... read more

Shifts in Electricity Generation Spur Net Job Growth, but Coal Jobs Decline

Apr. 7, 2015 — In four years following the 2008 recession, the US coal industry lost more than 49,000 jobs, while the natural gas, solar, and wind industries together created nearly four times that amount, ... read more

Apr. 6, 2015 — Unlike other hydrogen fuel production methods that rely on highly processed sugars, the team used dirty biomass -- the husks and stalks of corn plants -- to create their fuel. This not only reduces ... read more

Apr. 2, 2015 — Maintaining food in places where high temperatures prevail, using little energy at a low cost,  it is now possible with new technology, thanks to the creation of a solar cooling ... read more

How to Make a Profit from Rotting Garbage

Mar. 31, 2015 — Landfills can make a profit from all their rotting waste and a new patent explains exactly how to make the most out of the stinky garbage sites. Decomposing trash produces methane, a landfill gas ... read more

Mar. 30, 2015 — Researchers will study the vibrations of wind turbines at a large Chilean wind farm along with health impacts on nearby residents. The goal is to make wind turbines more acceptable. Currently, ... read more

Green Roofs: Passive Cooling for Buildings

Mar. 27, 2015 — Researchers have found that green roofs with high vegetation density are 60% more efficient than non-green ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Researchers have developed a new kind of solar cell that combines two different layers of sunlight-absorbing material in order to harvest a broader range of the sun's energy. The development ... read more

Mar. 24, 2015 — Researchers use metabolic engineering and directed evolution to develop a new, mutant yeast strain that could lead to a more efficient biofuel production ... read more

Discovery Could Yield More Efficient Portable Electronics, Solar Cells

Mar. 23, 2015 — A team of chemists has set the stage for more efficient and sturdier portable electronic devices and possibly a new generation of solar cells based on organic ... read more

Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Friday, April 17, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Friday, February 20, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Saturday, February 14, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Friday, January 30, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Friday, January 9, 2015