Disaster Plan News
August 31, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 7:54pm EDT

More Disaster Plan News
August 31, 2015

Blacks Hit Hardest by Public-Sector Job Losses During Recession

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new study found that public-sector job cuts during and after the Great Recession disproportionately impacted African-Americans, especially women, and have increased racial disparity in the public ... read more

Exploring the Link Between Globalization and Stress

Aug. 21, 2015 — A direct relationship exists between stress and globalization -- for instance, transnational corporations and transnational economics -- according to a recent ... read more

Identifying the Factors That Contribute to Flood Fatalities

Aug. 21, 2015 — Levels of economic development, population, investment, openness and education can all impact the total amount of human misery and economic devastation caused by floods, according to a new ... read more

Social Security, Social Safety

Aug. 20, 2015 — Security and safety could be improved if researchers from very disparate disciplines - humanities, computer science and politics - were to work together, according to new research. Moreover, such ... read more

Social Media Is Transforming Emergency Communications

Aug. 19, 2015 — Emergency organizations have only started using social media mainly as a response to the presence of the public in them. in the case of an emergency (a terror attack, hurricane or an earthquake), ... read more

Cybersecurity Experts to Discuss Tricky Balance Between Data Sharing and Privacy

Aug. 4, 2015 — In its efforts to curb criminal activity, should the government be allowed to see confidential consumer data collected by businesses? Or does the right to privacy trump such intrusions? The conflict ... read more

Not-for-Profit Hospitals May Not Trump for-Profits in Providing Uncompensated Care

Aug. 3, 2015 — While not-for-profit hospitals receive substantial tax benefits, some do not provide free or subsidized care for a higher percentage of patients living in poverty than their for-profit counterparts, ... read more

Internet Accessibility an Important Factor in Government Transparency

Aug. 3, 2015 — County governments in densely populated urban areas tend to be more transparent on their official websites if their citizens have good Internet access, a new study has ... read more

Many Dialysis Patients Are Unprepared for Natural Disasters

July 28, 2015 — Among patients scheduled to have dialysis during the landfall of Hurricane Sandy at clinics where electricity had been deprived, 26.3 percent missed dialysis sessions and 66.1 percent received ... read more

Researchers Find Reasons Behind Increases in Urban Flooding

July 27, 2015 — While rising sea levels are the main driver for increasing flood risk to American cities, storm surges caused by weather patterns that favor high precipitation exacerbates 'compound ... read more

Residential Tourism Model Implemented in Tourist Destinations Has Increased Earthquake Risk

July 24, 2015 — Researchers warn that "because of real estate speculation and the management of public budgets based on income from the real estate business, seismic risk has been forgotten." Taking as ... read more

How Can You Plan for Events That Are Unlikely, Hard to Predict and Highly Disruptive Should They Occur?

July 16, 2015 — The Ebola epidemic and resulting international public health emergency is referred to as a “Black Swan” event in medical circles because of its unpredictable and impactful nature. However, a new ... read more

July 15, 2015 — Urban wildlife such as deer, foxes and badgers should be cherished for the ecological benefits they bring to towns and cities, rather than feared as potentially harmful pests, scientists argue in a ... read more

Social Engagement Aids Disaster Preparedness

July 8, 2015 — Community participation and strong social networks can aid preparedness to natural disaster such as tsunamis in vulnerable regions, shows new research conducted in the south of ... read more

July 8, 2015 — A team of researchers is working with the residents of Canvey Island to record the unique history of those families affected by the North Sea Flood of ... read more

Scoring System Can Help Trauma Centers Improve Care During Surges in Trauma Cases

June 29, 2015 — A scoring system that can identify periods of high activity and increased trauma patient deaths in hospital emergency rooms may help hospitals better prepare for surges in trauma patient volume that ... read more

New Strategies, Solutions to Fight Pediatric Asthma

June 27, 2015 — Low flu vaccination rates, medication compliance and limited access to primary care providers have contributed to the high pediatric asthma rates in California, researchers conclude. This new study ... read more

Lax Rules Put Congo's Forests, Key Carbon Reserve, at Risk

June 25, 2015 — Without new conservation efforts, the Democratic Republic of Congo could lose up to 20 percent of its forests, unleashing a 60 percent increase in carbon emissions from one of the largest carbon ... read more

June 24, 2015 — With all sea turtles being currently on the list of endangered species, authors now offer a critical review of what is being done towards saving injured Mediterranean loggerhead and green turtles. ... read more

Middle East Respiratory Syndrome: A Global Health Challenge

June 17, 2015 — Two public health experts outline strategies for managing MERS-CoV, focusing on transparency, trust and infection control in health care settings. The duo also outlines weaknesses in a World Health ... read more

Monday, August 24, 2015
Friday, August 21, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Friday, July 24, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Monday, May 4, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Thursday, January 8, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014