Funding Policy News
May 23, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 10:51am EDT

More Funding Policy News
May 23, 2015

Key Strategies Can Boosting Donations at Crowdfunding Sites, Experts Say

May 18, 2015 — Computer scientists have shown how crowdfunding websites can use data science to boost cash value of donations. Their research confirms, among other findings, the importance of a timely thank ... read more

Age-Friendly Communities Essential to Urban Elders' Well-Being

May 15, 2015 — The future of communities around the world will in large part be determined by the efforts to achieve a high quality of life for their older citizens, according to a new article. Age-friendly ... read more

How to Build a New Global Health Framework

May 7, 2015 — Can a true, robust global health framework be created to help prevent tragedies like Ebola while at the same time allow countries to meet everyday health needs? Global health and law experts say it ... read more

Seven in 10 Take Early Pension Payout

May 12, 2015 — As governments and corporations around the world face pension shortfalls, a groundbreaking study in Croatia by a team of US researchers explores the likelihood and circumstances under which people ... read more

Global Health Leaders Call for Global Biomedical Research and Development Fund, Mechanism

May 11, 2015 — World leaders should consider the establishment of a global biomedical research and development fund and a mechanism to address the dearth in innovation for today's most pressing global health ... read more

Nobody Wants to Foot the Bill for New Antibiotics: Norwegian Study

May 7, 2015 — The Norwegian government is working on a strategy to handle problems with antibiotic resistant bacteria after an outbreak of Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) at a pig farm in ... read more

Pharmaceutical Industry Regulation Undermines NICE Drugs Appraisal Work in U.K., Experts Say

Apr. 29, 2015 — Government policies that support UK pharmaceutical science and enhance export income are costing the NHS millions and undermine the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, experts ... read more

Tax Cuts for Middle, Lower Income Americans Boost Economy While Tax Breaks for the Rich Do Little to Help

Apr. 29, 2015 — Tax cuts for ordinary Americans boost economic growth and create jobs, while tax breaks for the rich do little to help the ... read more

Energy Consumption Rises With Automated Bill Payment

Apr. 29, 2015 — The adage 'out of sight, out of mind' applies to utility consumption, according to new research. A study of 16 years of billing records from one South Carolina electric utility found that ... read more

Shrinking Budget? Consumers Choose Less Variety When Investing or Shopping

Apr. 29, 2015 — When consumer budgets grow or shrink, how do spending habits change? A common view is that people with a budget will spend their money on the same number of products, even when their previous budget ... read more

Vehicle Cost, Lack of Consumer Information Hinder Purchases of Plug-in Electric Vehicles

Apr. 22, 2015 — Vehicle cost, current battery technology, and inadequate consumer knowledge are some of the barriers preventing widespread adoption of plug-in electric vehicles, says a new congressionally mandated ... read more

Schools Must Track Academic Progress of Homeless Students, Researchers Argue

Apr. 19, 2015 — Schools must track the academic progress of homeless students with as much care as they track special education, Title I and English language learner students, according to researchers. And funds ... read more

Expecting Higher Prices Can Spur Spending

Apr. 16, 2015 — When consumers expect higher inflation ahead, they become more willing to spend on the spot, according to new research. In other words, consumers will buy more because money saved would be less ... read more

Building Healthier Communities Should Be a Priority When Preparing for and Recovering from Disasters

Apr. 15, 2015 — US communities and federal agencies should more intentionally seek to create healthier communities during disaster preparation and recovery efforts -- something that rarely happens now, says a new ... read more

How Limiting CEO Pay Can Be More Effective, Less Costly

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new article offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation reform. The analysis also offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation ... read more

UK Research Cash for Dementia, Stroke Still Way Too Low, Experts Say

Apr. 13, 2015 — The amount of government money pumped into dementia and stroke research in the UK has risen significantly in recent years, but it is still way too low when compared with the economic and personal ... read more

Rise of UK Food Banks Linked to Local Spending and Central Welfare Cuts

Apr. 9, 2015 — The expansion of food banks across the United Kingdom is associated with cuts in spending on local services, welfare benefits and higher unemployment rates, conclude researchers in a new report. This ... read more

Spending Cuts in India Will Hurt Already Inadequate Health Services, Experts Say

Apr. 9, 2015 — Deep cuts in health spending by the Indian government will lead to continued inadequate health services and delays in achieving universal access to healthcare, argue experts. The Bharatiya Janata ... read more

California's Solar Incentive Program Has Had Only Modest Impact on Adoption Rates

Apr. 8, 2015 — According to a new analysis, California's aggressive incentive program for installing rooftop solar-electric systems has not been as effective as generally ... read more

Saving Lives by Making Malaria Drugs More Affordable

Apr. 6, 2015 — The 'shelf life' of malaria-fighting drugs plays a significant role in how donors should subsidize the medicine in order to ensure better affordability for patients, a new report suggests. ... read more

Monday, May 18, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014