Funding Policy News
October 10, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:25pm EDT

More Funding Policy News
October 10, 2015

New Tools Help Provide Vital Demographics, Population Statistics to Policymakers

Oct. 6, 2015 — Those looking for data and analytical reports often turn to the American Community Survey (ACS) from the US Census, which provides data such as unemployment, median household income, and housing ... read more

Male Suicide on Rise as Result of Austerity, Report Suggests

Oct. 6, 2015 — Young males between the ages of 10 and 24 have committed suicide in growing numbers as a direct result of austerity measures brought in across Europe following the 2009 recession, a new report ... read more

Rebates a Cost-Effective Way to Boost Healthy Eating Among Low-Income People, Study Finds

Oct. 6, 2015 — Nationwide expansion of USDA's Healthy Incentives Pilot would promote purchase, consumption of fruits, vegetables, and slightly increase longevity of SNAP recipients, a new report ... read more

New Report Examines Regulation of Federally Funded Research

Sep. 22, 2015 — Continuing expansion of federal research regulations and requirements is diminishing the effectiveness of the US scientific enterprise and lowering the return on the federal investment in research by ... read more

Obamacare Saps Enthusiasm for Government Health-Care Spending

Sep. 21, 2015 — The Affordable Care Act has eroded support for federal health care spending not just from Republicans, but also from Democrats and independents, a study has ... read more

When Fed Locks Up Funds, Small Businesses Suffer

Sep. 17, 2015 — When the Federal Reserve raises interest rates to slow down a speeding economy -- effectively raising the price of money -- banks often sell down their stockpile of securities to keep the financial ... read more

US Defense Agencies Increase Investment in Federal Synthetic Biology Research

Sep. 16, 2015 — In the United States, the Defense Department and its Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency funds much of the US government's research in synthetic biology, with less than 1 percent of total ... read more

Data-Driven Approach Could Help Improve Allocation of Biomedical Research Resources

Sep. 15, 2015 — A new computational model could help improve the allocation of US biomedical research resources. The tool, called the Research Opportunity Index (ROI), measures disparities between resources ... read more

Students in Credit Crisis

Sep. 15, 2015 — College students are well aware that they should be personally responsible for their finances, including their card obligations, but this awareness rarely correlates with limiting the debts they ... read more

Financial Distress Can Hinder Success of Academically Prepared Minority Students

Sep. 10, 2015 — A new study of more than 500 black and Latino college students has confirmed that many encounter obstacles after enrolling in college without adequate financial ... read more

Universities Should Boast Research Developments, Not Dollars

Sep. 9, 2015 — Visit the website of a notable research university, and you'll likely read about the amount of federal dollars the institution won and spent in some recent year. But these types of marketing ... read more

Study Shows How Investments Reflected Shift in Environmental Views

Sep. 3, 2015 — A new study is the first to use financial investors' actions, rather than self-reported opinions, to investigate the trans-Atlantic difference in public opinion on climate change and the ... read more

Risk of Financial Crisis Higher Than Previously Estimated

Sep. 2, 2015 — The risk of a financial crisis is substantially higher than previously estimated, according to new research that accounts for multiple levels of interconnectedness in the financial ... read more

Blacks Hit Hardest by Public-Sector Job Losses During Recession

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new study found that public-sector job cuts during and after the Great Recession disproportionately impacted African-Americans, especially women, and have increased racial disparity in the public ... read more

Researchers Sound Off on the Dangers of Hospital Consolidation

Aug. 18, 2015 — Consolidation of hospitals into massive chains threatens healthy competition, reduces patient choice and could drive up medical expenses, experts say in a new ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A newly released study offers hope of conservation to the world’s low-profile and more unloved members of the animal kingdom. The study demonstrates that a “Wisdom of Crowds” method can ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — Small cities and rural areas lag behind in environmental protection policymaking because they often lack the financial or technical resources needed. According to newly published research, places ... read more

Study Examines How, Why States Adopt Drunk Driving Laws

Aug. 10, 2015 — The severity of drunk driving within a state is not the most important predictor of whether states adopt new laws to restrict drunk driving -- nor is the political makeup of the state government. ... read more

Patient-Funded Trials May Do More Harm Than Good, Ethicists Warn

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new article outlines how patient-funded trials may seem like a beneficial new way to involve more patients in research and establish new funding opportunities, but instead they threaten scientific ... read more

How Stock Market's 'Spare Tire' Keeps Economy Churning During Banking Crises

Aug. 5, 2015 — In countries with strong legislation to prevent fraudulent corporate behavior, banking crises have a less severe impact on firms and the economy in general, a new study ... read more

Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Sunday, July 12, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Friday, July 3, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Saturday, June 27, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015