Funding Policy News
May 5, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:02pm EDT

More Funding Policy News
May 5, 2015

Pharmaceutical Industry Regulation Undermines NICE Drugs Appraisal Work in U.K., Experts Say

Apr. 29, 2015 — Government policies that support UK pharmaceutical science and enhance export income are costing the NHS millions and undermine the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, experts ... read more

Tax Cuts for Middle, Lower Income Americans Boost Economy While Tax Breaks for the Rich Do Little to Help

Apr. 29, 2015 — Tax cuts for ordinary Americans boost economic growth and create jobs, while tax breaks for the rich do little to help the ... read more

Energy Consumption Rises With Automated Bill Payment

Apr. 29, 2015 — The adage 'out of sight, out of mind' applies to utility consumption, according to new research. A study of 16 years of billing records from one South Carolina electric utility found that ... read more

Shrinking Budget? Consumers Choose Less Variety When Investing or Shopping

Apr. 29, 2015 — When consumer budgets grow or shrink, how do spending habits change? A common view is that people with a budget will spend their money on the same number of products, even when their previous budget ... read more

Vehicle Cost, Lack of Consumer Information Hinder Purchases of Plug-in Electric Vehicles

Apr. 22, 2015 — Vehicle cost, current battery technology, and inadequate consumer knowledge are some of the barriers preventing widespread adoption of plug-in electric vehicles, says a new congressionally mandated ... read more

Schools Must Track Academic Progress of Homeless Students, Researchers Argue

Apr. 19, 2015 — Schools must track the academic progress of homeless students with as much care as they track special education, Title I and English language learner students, according to researchers. And funds ... read more

Expecting Higher Prices Can Spur Spending

Apr. 16, 2015 — When consumers expect higher inflation ahead, they become more willing to spend on the spot, according to new research. In other words, consumers will buy more because money saved would be less ... read more

Building Healthier Communities Should Be a Priority When Preparing for and Recovering from Disasters

Apr. 15, 2015 — US communities and federal agencies should more intentionally seek to create healthier communities during disaster preparation and recovery efforts -- something that rarely happens now, says a new ... read more

How Limiting CEO Pay Can Be More Effective, Less Costly

Apr. 15, 2015 — A new article offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation reform. The analysis also offers insights into the political economy of executive-compensation ... read more

UK Research Cash for Dementia, Stroke Still Way Too Low, Experts Say

Apr. 13, 2015 — The amount of government money pumped into dementia and stroke research in the UK has risen significantly in recent years, but it is still way too low when compared with the economic and personal ... read more

Spending Cuts in India Will Hurt Already Inadequate Health Services, Experts Say

Apr. 9, 2015 — Deep cuts in health spending by the Indian government will lead to continued inadequate health services and delays in achieving universal access to healthcare, argue experts. The Bharatiya Janata ... read more

Rise of UK Food Banks Linked to Local Spending and Central Welfare Cuts

Apr. 9, 2015 — The expansion of food banks across the United Kingdom is associated with cuts in spending on local services, welfare benefits and higher unemployment rates, conclude researchers in a new report. This ... read more

California's Solar Incentive Program Has Had Only Modest Impact on Adoption Rates

Apr. 8, 2015 — According to a new analysis, California's aggressive incentive program for installing rooftop solar-electric systems has not been as effective as generally ... read more

Saving Lives by Making Malaria Drugs More Affordable

Apr. 6, 2015 — The 'shelf life' of malaria-fighting drugs plays a significant role in how donors should subsidize the medicine in order to ensure better affordability for patients, a new report suggests. ... read more

Apr. 1, 2015 — America's welfare state is quietly evolving from needs-based to an employment-based safety net that rewards working families and fuels dreams of a better life, indicates a new study. The major ... read more

Saving Money: Do Consumers Spend Less If They Think About the Future?

Mar. 31, 2015 — Why is it so hard for consumers to save money? According to a new study, consumers are often impatient and do not think about the long-term consequences of spending ... read more

Interim Report on UK Alcohol Industry's 'Billion Units Pledge' Is Flawed, Say Researchers

Mar. 24, 2015 — The UK's Department of Health's interim evaluation of an alcohol industry pledge to remove one billion alcohol units from the market is flawed, argue researchers. In 2012, the UK government ... read more

Preparing for Natural Disasters: What Policies Protect the Vulnerable Consumer?

Mar. 24, 2015 — Despite catastrophic earthquakes, the most vulnerable residents do not take steps to prepare themselves against future disaster, according to a new study. The authors provide an example from southern ... read more

New Hepatitis C Drugs Predicted to Place a Dramatic Financial Strain on Health Care System

Mar. 16, 2015 — The cost of treating people infected with the hepatitis C virus (HCV) with newly approved therapies will likely place a tremendous economic burden on the health care system in the United States. This ... read more

Payments for Ecosystem Services? Here's the Guidebook

Mar. 12, 2015 — A team of investors, development organizations, conservationists, economists, and ecologists have published six natural science principles to ensure success of Payments for Ecosystem Services, ... read more

Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Sunday, April 19, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Monday, December 22, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Saturday, November 1, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Tuesday, September 30, 2014
Monday, September 29, 2014
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Monday, September 8, 2014
Thursday, September 4, 2014