Justice News
May 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:54am EDT

More Justice News
May 30, 2015

News May Influence Racial Bias

May 28, 2015 — A recent study suggests that long-term exposure to news may negatively influence racial bias towards social ... read more

Health Factors Influence Ex-Prisoners' Chances of Returning to Jail

May 28, 2015 — Ex-prisoners with a history of risky drug use, mental illness or poverty are more likely to end up back behind bars. Those who are obese, are chronically ill or have attempted suicide are more likely ... read more

ER Doctors Stress Need for Good Communications With Police

May 26, 2015 — Not surprisingly, differences of opinion arise from time to time over a health care worker's duty to protect patient privacy and the police need to conduct a criminal investigation. A good ... read more

Study Identifies Barriers to Intimate Partner Violence Services

May 19, 2015 — Texas has a shortage of beds for survivors of intimate partner violence, and although alternatives may be offered, survivors may find themselves isolated from much-needed services, such as crisis ... read more

Nudge, Don't Judge, Shoplifters

May 19, 2015 — Specially designed shopping centers geared at encouraging shoplifters to think twice before they commit a crime are the way forward, according to ... read more

Those Who Believe in Pure Evil Support More Harsh Criminal Punishments, Study Finds

May 14, 2015 — People who believe in pure evil are more likely support sentences such as life in prison without parole and the death penalty for criminals, a psychology study finds. The researchers added that ... read more

Protocol Developed for Preserving Forensic Evidence After a Terrorist Attack

Apr. 21, 2015 — Pathologists have developed a set of protocols for processing and preserving forensic evidence, such as shrapnel, bullets and other projectiles, in surgical specimens (i.e. amputated limbs, injured ... read more

To Improve Bicycle Safety, Crash Reports Need to Capture More Data

Apr. 2, 2015 — American researchers are calling upon police in all states to improve their reporting of crashes involving vehicles and bicycles. Currently, details on crashes are handwritten by police on paper and ... read more

Mar. 23, 2015 — A parenting trial that aims to improve child behavior in Panama City – the place with the eighth highest murder rate in the world -- has been piloted by researchers. "We felt that a lack of ... read more

On the Origin of Theory: Were Forensic Examiners First to Uncover 'Ecological Succession'?

Mar. 18, 2015 — Generations of students have learned that "ecological succession" originated with plant scientists. Yet, according to a new article, it was forensic examiners who first explored the ... read more

Australian Police Not Prepared for Death Investigations, Researchers Say

Mar. 16, 2015 — Police are ill-equipped to investigate non-criminal deaths and face a challenge to avoid re-traumatizing bereaved families as well as emotionally protecting themselves, according to Australian ... read more

Mar. 5, 2015 — While many blame the 'teenage brain' for high rates of teen crime, violence, and driving incidents, an important factor has been ignored: teenagers as a group suffer much higher average ... read more

Improving Inmate Health Can Lead to Better Community Health, Safety

Feb. 25, 2015 — If prisoners received better health care while behind bars and after release, both their health and the community's health would improve, new research has found. Offering treatment to prisoners ... read more

Use of Neuroscience in Law May Face Political Resistance

Feb. 24, 2015 — Republicans and Independents disapprove of neuroscience-informed criminal justice reforms when the reforms are seen as being too lenient with criminal defendants. When framed differently, however, ... read more

Hair Dye 'CSI' Could Help Police Solve Crimes

Feb. 18, 2015 — Criminals with a penchant for dyeing their hair could soon pay for their vanity. Scientists have found a way to analyze hair samples at crime scenes to rapidly determine whether it was colored and ... read more

Feb. 16, 2015 — When terrorists strike, emergency workers who have the proper training, information access and a positive work environment will make better decisions, according to ... read more

Third of High School Seniors in U.S. Support Legalized Marijuana, Study Suggests

Feb. 4, 2015 — New research has found that 33 percent of high school seniors support legalized marijuana and 25.6 percent believe marijuana should be considered a crime. As debate has swept the country -- with ... read more

Cops and College: Researchers Look at Impact of Higher Education on Policing

Feb. 5, 2015 — A new study suggests college-educated cops are dissatisfied with the job, have negative views of their supervisors and don't necessarily favor community policing. But a criminologist said the ... read more

Many Universities Undercount Sexual Assaults on Campus, Research Finds

Feb. 2, 2015 — A pattern of underreporting of on-campus sexual assaults by universities and colleges across the United States has been uncovered by researchers. Some schools have continued to underreport even after ... read more

Sexual Offending Treatment Programs in Prisons, Hospitals Are Ineffective

Jan. 27, 2015 — The current rehabilitation program for sexual offenders is not proven to work and leaves the public at risk, experts report. In the UK, in prisons and secure psychiatric hospitals, sexual offenders ... read more

Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Wednesday, December 24, 2014
Tuesday, December 23, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Friday, October 17, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Thursday, October 2, 2014
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Sunday, September 21, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Thursday, September 18, 2014
Wednesday, September 17, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Thursday, September 11, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Wednesday, September 3, 2014
Friday, August 29, 2014
Friday, August 22, 2014
Monday, August 18, 2014
Tuesday, August 12, 2014
Monday, August 11, 2014
Friday, August 8, 2014
Wednesday, August 6, 2014
Monday, August 4, 2014
Sunday, August 3, 2014
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Thursday, July 17, 2014
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Wednesday, July 9, 2014
Wednesday, July 2, 2014
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Wednesday, June 18, 2014
Tuesday, June 17, 2014
Monday, June 16, 2014
Tuesday, June 10, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Monday, June 2, 2014
Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Tuesday, June 3, 2014
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Wednesday, May 21, 2014