Government Regulation News
May 22, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 6:21pm EDT

More Government Regulation News
May 22, 2015

May 22, 2015 — School disciplinary actions handed down to students at Utah public schools disproportionately impact American Indian children over all other ethnicities enrolled in the state's public education ... read more

How Big Tobacco Is Able to Woo Parliamentarians

May 20, 2015 — An investigation asks to what extent is the tobacco industry able to reach out and influence parliamentarians? The findings raise important questions about how far the vested interests of the tobacco ... read more

Occupational Sun-Safety Policies Examined for Local Government Workers in Colorado

May 20, 2015 — Few local government organizations in Colorado had policies on environmental controls, such as the provision of outdoor shade, or administrative procedures, including training and resource ... read more

Gun Violence Restraining Orders: A Promising Strategy to Reduce Gun Violence in U.S.

May 20, 2015 — Gun violence restraining orders (GVROs) are a promising strategy for reducing firearm homicide and suicide in the United States, and should be considered by states seeking to address gun violence, ... read more

The Fear of Dying in Misery in a Hospital Is Driving the Assisted Dying Debate, Says Medical Ethics Expert

May 20, 2015 — The fear of a miserable death in a hospital bed rather than at home is driving public support for mercy-killing law in the UK, an academic has ... read more

How to Build a New Global Health Framework

May 7, 2015 — Can a true, robust global health framework be created to help prevent tragedies like Ebola while at the same time allow countries to meet everyday health needs? Global health and law experts say it ... read more

High-Level Commission Focuses on Law's Power to Significantly Improve World's Health

Apr. 21, 2015 — Law should be viewed as a major determinant of health and safety and can be utilized as a powerful and innovative tool to address pressing global health concerns, says a newly formed, high-level ... read more

Concerns Over UK Government Plan to Increase Participation in School Rugby

Apr. 21, 2015 — The UK government plan to fund and to increase participation in rugby in schools has not been informed by injury data, warn ... read more

Apr. 27, 2015 — Police have seized a shipment of pangolins headed to China, valued at approximately 1.8 million US dollars (USD). The pangolin smuggler involved in the case has been ... read more

Pharmaceutical Industry Regulation Undermines NICE Drugs Appraisal Work in U.K., Experts Say

Apr. 29, 2015 — Government policies that support UK pharmaceutical science and enhance export income are costing the NHS millions and undermine the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, experts ... read more

Make Calorie Labels Compulsory on All Alcoholic Drinks, Says Public Health Expert

Apr. 28, 2015 — Calorie counts should be mandatory on all alcoholic drinks as a matter of urgency, argues a leading public health doctor. She explains that, since 2011, packaged foods in the European Union have been ... read more

Vehicle Cost, Lack of Consumer Information Hinder Purchases of Plug-in Electric Vehicles

Apr. 22, 2015 — Vehicle cost, current battery technology, and inadequate consumer knowledge are some of the barriers preventing widespread adoption of plug-in electric vehicles, says a new congressionally mandated ... read more

Zombie Family Values: The Walking Dead TV Program Analyzed

Apr. 15, 2015 — Researchers studying the first three seasons of the AMC hit show The Walking Dead found the show and its characters push family as the best hope for the end times, rather than government, science or ... read more

Intellectual Property in 3-D Printing

Apr. 16, 2015 — The implications of intellectual property in 3D printing have been outlined in two documents created for the UK ... read more

59 Percent of California Physicians Support Affordable Care Act, Study Shows

Apr. 15, 2015 — 77 percent of California primary care and specialty physicians understand the basics of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and 59 percent support it, a new study ... read more

Spending Cuts in India Will Hurt Already Inadequate Health Services, Experts Say

Apr. 9, 2015 — Deep cuts in health spending by the Indian government will lead to continued inadequate health services and delays in achieving universal access to healthcare, argue experts. The Bharatiya Janata ... read more

Criminologist Challenges Effectiveness of Solitary Confinement

Mar. 31, 2015 — A criminologist finds that solitary confinement does not deter inmates from committing further violence in prison. The prisoners in the study who received solitary confinement were no more -- or less ... read more

Domestic Violence Victims May Be Hurt by Mandatory Arrest Laws

Mar. 26, 2015 — Mandatory arrest is a law enforcement policy that was created in an effort to curb domestic violence in the United States. But a recent study by sociologists suggests that the law may be intimidating ... read more

Questions Over Value of New Antibiotics to Tackle Resistance

Mar. 25, 2015 — This week, investigators raise questions over the value of new antibiotics and other medical products approved through fast-tracked approval policies. Antimicrobial resistance is a major health care ... read more

What Is the Definition of 'Natural' Foods? Consumers Want to Know

Mar. 24, 2015 — After decades of debate there remains no generally accepted definition of a "natural" food product. Regulatory agencies have refused to settle the issue but may be under new pressure from ... read more

Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Monday, January 26, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, December 1, 2014
Friday, January 2, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Friday, December 5, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Monday, November 10, 2014
Thursday, November 6, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, November 4, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Saturday, October 25, 2014