Government Regulation News
October 13, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 2:25pm EDT

More Government Regulation News
October 13, 2015

Rebates a Cost-Effective Way to Boost Healthy Eating Among Low-Income People, Study Finds

Oct. 6, 2015 — Nationwide expansion of USDA's Healthy Incentives Pilot would promote purchase, consumption of fruits, vegetables, and slightly increase longevity of SNAP recipients, a new report ... read more

Concerns Over FDA's Increasing Use of Expedited Development and Approval Pathways

Sep. 23, 2015 — Two studies carried out by US researchers raise questions about whether most new drugs are any more effective than existing products or whether they have been adequately assessed before ... read more

Sep. 23, 2015 — American researchers in a new study found that rather being treated as an effective public safety tool that can prevent deaths, ignition interlock laws are typically viewed like normal regulatory ... read more

New Report Examines Regulation of Federally Funded Research

Sep. 22, 2015 — Continuing expansion of federal research regulations and requirements is diminishing the effectiveness of the US scientific enterprise and lowering the return on the federal investment in research by ... read more

Obamacare Saps Enthusiasm for Government Health-Care Spending

Sep. 21, 2015 — The Affordable Care Act has eroded support for federal health care spending not just from Republicans, but also from Democrats and independents, a study has ... read more

New Report Examines Implications of Growing Gap in Life Span by Income for Entitlement Programs

Sep. 17, 2015 — As the gap in life expectancy between the highest and lowest earners in the US has widened over time, high earners have disproportionately received larger lifetime benefits from government programs ... read more

Criminals Acquire Guns Through Social Connections, Study Shows

Sep. 16, 2015 — Criminals are far more likely to acquire guns from family and acquaintances than by theft, according to new research. The findings suggest that targeting by law enforcement of the intermediaries in ... read more

Physicians Have Greater Ability to Help Child Abuse Victims

Sep. 8, 2015 — New state laws in Pennsylvania are shaping the fight against child abuse through physicians and other healthcare ... read more

Understanding the Deep Sea Is Key to a Sustainable Blue Economy

Sep. 1, 2015 — Once considered remote and inaccessible, commercial interest to exploit the deep sea is rising due to economic drivers and technology developments. However, exploitation activities in the deep sea ... read more

Forget Cash: Plastic Is the New Sign of Criminal Activity

Aug. 31, 2015 — The ERAD Prepaid Card Reader is a small, handheld device that uses wireless connectivity to allow law enforcement officers in the field to check the balance of ... read more

15 Percent of Cigarettes Sold in NYC Have Illegal Tax Stamps, Study Finds

Aug. 27, 2015 — Licensed tobacco retailers throughout New York City are selling a substantial number of cigarette packs carrying either counterfeit or out-of-state tax ... read more

Voter ID Law Effects Hard to Pinpoint

Aug. 24, 2015 — Indiana's strict voter identification law may have prevented some elderly citizens from voting in the last two presidential elections, but there's little evidence it kept large numbers of ... read more

Blacks Hit Hardest by Public-Sector Job Losses During Recession

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new study found that public-sector job cuts during and after the Great Recession disproportionately impacted African-Americans, especially women, and have increased racial disparity in the public ... read more

Regulatory, Certification Systems Creating Paralysis in Use of Genetically Altered Trees

Aug. 20, 2015 — Myriad regulations and certification requirements around the world are making it virtually impossible to use genetically engineered trees to combat catastrophic forest threats, according to a new ... read more

New Internet Technology Could Aid Police, Courts and Prisons

Aug. 17, 2015 — Technology that can improve criminal databases, remotely conducted criminal trials and help police officers stop autonomous cars can all aid the criminal justice system in the future. But a key to ... read more

Study Examines How, Why States Adopt Drunk Driving Laws

Aug. 10, 2015 — The severity of drunk driving within a state is not the most important predictor of whether states adopt new laws to restrict drunk driving -- nor is the political makeup of the state government. ... read more

Texas Voter Photo ID Requirement Discourages Turnout

Aug. 7, 2015 — A new study examines the impact of the controversial Texas law in US Congressional District ... read more

New Survey on Americans' Views on Law Enforcement, Violence, and Race

Aug. 5, 2015 — A new American national survey reveals a disparity among blacks' and whites' perception of violence against civilians by ... read more

Cybersecurity Experts to Discuss Tricky Balance Between Data Sharing and Privacy

Aug. 4, 2015 — In its efforts to curb criminal activity, should the government be allowed to see confidential consumer data collected by businesses? Or does the right to privacy trump such intrusions? The conflict ... read more

Internet Accessibility an Important Factor in Government Transparency

Aug. 3, 2015 — County governments in densely populated urban areas tend to be more transparent on their official websites if their citizens have good Internet access, a new study has ... read more

Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015