Government Regulation News
August 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:24am EDT

More Government Regulation News
August 29, 2015

15 Percent of Cigarettes Sold in NYC Have Illegal Tax Stamps, Study Finds

Aug. 27, 2015 — Licensed tobacco retailers throughout New York City are selling a substantial number of cigarette packs carrying either counterfeit or out-of-state tax ... read more

Voter ID Law Effects Hard to Pinpoint

Aug. 24, 2015 — Indiana's strict voter identification law may have prevented some elderly citizens from voting in the last two presidential elections, but there's little evidence it kept large numbers of ... read more

Blacks Hit Hardest by Public-Sector Job Losses During Recession

Aug. 24, 2015 — A new study found that public-sector job cuts during and after the Great Recession disproportionately impacted African-Americans, especially women, and have increased racial disparity in the public ... read more

Regulatory, Certification Systems Creating Paralysis in Use of Genetically Altered Trees

Aug. 20, 2015 — Myriad regulations and certification requirements around the world are making it virtually impossible to use genetically engineered trees to combat catastrophic forest threats, according to a new ... read more

New Internet Technology Could Aid Police, Courts and Prisons

Aug. 17, 2015 — Technology that can improve criminal databases, remotely conducted criminal trials and help police officers stop autonomous cars can all aid the criminal justice system in the future. But a key to ... read more

Study Examines How, Why States Adopt Drunk Driving Laws

Aug. 10, 2015 — The severity of drunk driving within a state is not the most important predictor of whether states adopt new laws to restrict drunk driving -- nor is the political makeup of the state government. ... read more

Texas Voter Photo ID Requirement Discourages Turnout

Aug. 7, 2015 — A new study examines the impact of the controversial Texas law in US Congressional District ... read more

New Survey on Americans' Views on Law Enforcement, Violence, and Race

Aug. 5, 2015 — A new American national survey reveals a disparity among blacks' and whites' perception of violence against civilians by ... read more

Cybersecurity Experts to Discuss Tricky Balance Between Data Sharing and Privacy

Aug. 4, 2015 — In its efforts to curb criminal activity, should the government be allowed to see confidential consumer data collected by businesses? Or does the right to privacy trump such intrusions? The conflict ... read more

Internet Accessibility an Important Factor in Government Transparency

Aug. 3, 2015 — County governments in densely populated urban areas tend to be more transparent on their official websites if their citizens have good Internet access, a new study has ... read more

When Farm to Table Means Crossing International Borders

Aug. 3, 2015 — Consumers are more likely to buy meat that is identified as a US product, but that effect diminishes if they are told that processing standards in other countries are equivalent to US ... read more

Nonprofit Calls for Less Talk, More Action to Make the Scientific Enterprise Sustainable

July 20, 2015 — Scientists have described eight steps that should improve the sustainability of the scientific ... read more

Adverse Effects of Clinical Trial Data Transparency: Should We Worry?

July 13, 2015 — New legislation forces drug developers to disclose most of their clinical trials data when applying for approval of a new drug. Many will probably think that this is a good idea. However, too much ... read more

Why Organizations Fight Data Breaches Differently

July 9, 2015 — In the wake of recent high-profile security breaches at retail stores such as Target and Neiman Marcus, a new study determines why differences exist in the level of information security control ... read more

June 30, 2015 — 10 years after graduating, many have found financially solid and meaningful employment in the private sector, according to a new ... read more

Hepatitis C: Life-Threatening Barriers in Access to Breakthrough Drugs in US

June 29, 2015 — Most states violate federal Medicaid law because they deny coverage for sofosbuvir, a new and highly effective treatment to cure hepatitis C. According to a team of researchers who examined Medicaid ... read more

Little Faith in Carbon Capture in the EU and USA

June 29, 2015 — Pessimism prevails about the future of carbon capture and storage in both the USA and EU. This is despite the fine promises that it was precisely this technology that would save the oil and gas ... read more

Head Start Program Played Anti-Segregation Role in the Deep South

June 26, 2015 — A federal preschool program did more than improve educational opportunities for poor children in Mississippi during the 1960s. The program also gave a political and economic boost to the state's ... read more

India's Abortion Law Puts Women at Risk, Should Be Changed, Experts Say

June 26, 2015 — Proposed amendments to India's abortion law are 'contradictory' and need 'urgent redrafting' to prevent women from making ill informed decisions and risking their lives with ... read more

Laws Needed Against Intrusive Face Recognition Tech Applied to Online Images, Experts Say

June 19, 2015 — A telecommunications law academic in Australia has recommended for laws to be enacted criminalizing the application of face recognition technology to visual images online that enable the identity of ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Wednesday, May 20, 2015
Monday, May 18, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Sunday, May 3, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 27, 2015
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Friday, February 27, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Thursday, February 19, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 6, 2015