Ethics News
August 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 8:55pm EDT

More Ethics News
August 30, 2015

Aug. 27, 2015 — Products labeled with a Fair Trade logo cause prospective buyers to dig deeper into their pockets. Participants were willing to pay on average 30 percent more for ethically produced goods, compared ... read more

New Survey on Americans' Views on Papal Encyclical on Climate Change

Aug. 26, 2015 — A new national survey found that fewer than one in three Americans, and 40 percent of Catholics, are aware of Pope Francis's efforts to publicize global warming as a priority issue for the ... read more

Both Sides Framed Keystone XL Pipeline Debate in Nebraska

Aug. 22, 2015 — As supporters and opponents of the proposed Keystone XL Pipeline testified at public hearings in Nebraska between 2010-2013, several interest groups attempted to frame the debate in different ... read more

Research Reveals Link Between Age and Opinions About Video Games

Aug. 19, 2015 — A new study analyzes the opinions of 109 clinicians asking them whether video games are a problem for society. The older the clinician, the more likely they are to think playing video games leads to ... read more

The Global Cost of Unsafe Abortion

Aug. 19, 2015 — Seven million women a year in the developing world are treated in healthcare facilities for complications following unsafe abortion, finds a new study, and every day, approximately 800 women die from ... read more

Foresight Food Security: From Hunger, Poverty to Food System Approach

Aug. 18, 2015 — Long considered in relation to malnutrition and humanitarian aid, food security policy should be moving towards a much broader landscape and focusing on regular access to food for a population ... read more

Republicans Have Happier Marriages Than Democrats, Study Indicates

Aug. 18, 2015 — Republicans tend to be happier in their marriages than Democrats, and are less likely to be divorced, reveals a new article. The findings add to an ongoing debate over which set of political ideals ... read more

Breastfeeding Could Reduce Commons Infections Among Indigenous Infants

Aug. 17, 2015 — Promoting breastfeeding could lead to a substantial reduction in common infections and even deaths that are more common in Indigenous infants than non-Indigenous infants, a new study ... read more

Aug. 13, 2015 — In Rhode Island heat-related emergency department visits and deaths increase notably among people of all ages as temperatures rise above 75 degrees. The study projects that if the population were ... read more

One in Two Dies in Hospital in Germany

Aug. 13, 2015 — At home on the sofa, in a hospital bed, or in a care home: where a death takes place is always recorded on the death certificate. Until now, however, this information has never been collated and ... read more

Aug. 10, 2015 — A newly released study offers hope of conservation to the world’s low-profile and more unloved members of the animal kingdom. The study demonstrates that a “Wisdom of Crowds” method can ... read more

First Steps Towards Preventing Suicide Attempts by Offenders

Aug. 9, 2015 — While the risk of suicide by offenders in prison has been identified as a priority for action, understanding and preventing suicides among offenders after release has received far less ... read more

Linking Survey and Administrative Data Better Gauges Impact of Federal Anitpovery Efforts

Aug. 9, 2015 — Linking survey data with administrative records will enable the federal government to better gauge the effectiveness of social welfare programs such as food stamps and federal housing assistance, as ... read more

Patient-Funded Trials May Do More Harm Than Good, Ethicists Warn

Aug. 6, 2015 — A new article outlines how patient-funded trials may seem like a beneficial new way to involve more patients in research and establish new funding opportunities, but instead they threaten scientific ... read more

Communities With Beautiful Scenery, Weather Have Lower Rates of Religious Affiliation

Aug. 5, 2015 — Counties in the United States with more beautiful weather and scenery have lower rates of membership and affiliation with religious organizations, according to a ... read more

New Medicaid Health Care Program for Disabled Adults Improves Aspects of Patients' Care, Report Says

Aug. 4, 2015 — Care linked to heart attacks and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, or COPD, among disabled adults covered by Medicaid has improved with the expansion of a new health care program in Texas over ... read more

Progress Has Been Made in Reducing Rates of Violence in US; Overall Numbers Remain High

Aug. 4, 2015 — Even though homicide and assault rates have decreased in the US in recent years, the number of these and other types of violent acts remains high, according to a new report. The authors write that ... read more

Researcher Calls for Improved Firearm Safety Counseling by Physicians

Aug. 4, 2015 — Physicians should improve the way they discuss firearm safety with patients by showing more respect for the viewpoints of gun owners, according to a new ... read more

Profit, People and Planet: Balancing Revenue Vs. Responsibility in Fashion

Aug. 4, 2015 — Businesses within the fashion industry face many ethical decisions over the importance of profit vs. social responsibility. Exploitation is rife in developing countries where cheap, unregulated labor ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — Social factors, such as education, income and race, could erase gains made in reducing deaths from cardiovascular disease, experts say. Failing to address social factors could undermine the American ... read more

Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Saturday, August 22, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Sunday, August 9, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Monday, July 20, 2015
Friday, July 17, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Monday, June 29, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Friday, June 12, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Thursday, June 4, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Monday, June 1, 2015