Ethics News
November 29, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 9:31pm EST

More Ethics News
November 29, 2015

NTDs Disproportionately Found in Areas of Poverty in Islamic Nations

Nov. 25, 2015 — The Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation is an inter-governmental organization of 57 Muslim-majority countries with a mission to promote human rights and advance science and technology ... read more

Doctors Give Chilling Account of Treating Casualties of Paris Terrorist Attacks

Nov. 24, 2015 — A group of doctors from the Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris describe in chilling detail how they coped with the large influx of wounded on the night of Friday Nov. 13, 2015, following the ... read more

What Leads to the Local Adoption and Implementation of Recreational Marijuana Policies?

Nov. 17, 2015 — When states move to legalize marijuana, local governments are faced with enacting -- or in some cases restricting -- the policy change in their jurisdictions. Using Colorado as a case study, a new ... read more

Empathy Is Key to Political Persuasion, Shows New Research

Nov. 16, 2015 — It's not news that liberals and conservatives are lousy at winning each other over. But if they really care about making even modest in-roads with each other, they'll pay attention to ... read more

Disparities in Colorectal Cancer Death Rates Take a Large Economic Toll

Nov. 13, 2015 — Disparities in colorectal cancer death rates take a large toll on the national economy, with poorer, less-educated communities bearing the greatest burden, according to new ... read more

Youth Involvement in Justice System Linked to Increased Risk of Early Death

Nov. 12, 2015 — In the US, the chances of being arrested are one in three by age 23. Youth offenders face a greater risk for early death than the rest of the population, according to a new study, that risk increases ... read more

Affordable Care Act Architect: What Is Role of Radiology in Transformed Health Care System?

Nov. 11, 2015 — A former White House adviser who helped devise the Affordable Care Act (ACA), will provide advice for radiologists on how to adapt to the new health care environment, including responding to downward ... read more

Childhood Obesity Linked to Poverty, Parenting Style

Nov. 10, 2015 — With childhood obesity rates on the rise, a team of based researchers embarked on a study to show how authoritarian parenting and household income combine to affect kid's obesity ... read more

End 'Stem Cell Tourism,' Experts Urge

Nov. 9, 2015 — The continued marketing and use of experimental stem cell-based interventions inside and outside the United States is problematic and unsustainable, according to a new paper by science policy and ... read more

People Routinely Attribute Moral Obligations to People Who Cannot Fulfill Them

Nov. 6, 2015 — New research debunks the age-old moral philosophy that if you are unable to do something, then you are not morally obligated to do ... read more

Researchers Urge Lifting of NIH Funding Restrictions on Chimeric Research

Nov. 5, 2015 — Citing the 'tremendous potential' of research on human stem cells in nonhuman embryos, scientists and a bioethicist have co-authored a letter urging the removal of funding restrictions ... read more

State School Pupils Do Better at University, Research Confirms

Nov. 5, 2015 — State school pupils are likely to do better at university than independent school pupils with similar A Level results, new research confirms. Researchers were investigating how effective the A* grade ... read more

Scientists Evaluate Food Safety Practices to Help Support Nonprofit Food Pantries

Nov. 2, 2015 — Researchers have done an in-depth analysis of food safety at nonprofit food pantries that distribute food directly to people in need. While the work has identified shortcomings at many such pantries, ... read more

Internet Too Slow? You May Be Paying Too Much to Save a Few Seconds

Nov. 2, 2015 — Your current printer prints only twenty pages per minute. Wanting to save time, you buy a new printer that prints fifty pages per minute. But do you really save time? Probably not, says a new study. ... read more

Oct. 30, 2015 — Across Africa, lion populations are threatened by continued reductions in their range and associated genetic isolation. A new study published this month in Landscape Ecology shows that strategic ... read more

How to Make Web Advertising More Effective

Oct. 29, 2015 — Every day, users are bombarded with animated ads across the Web, and companies fight to cut through the clutter. New research has pinpointed one attribute online ads should have to influence ... read more

HIV/AIDS Deaths Are Down in South Africa, but Most Are Still Unacknowledged

Oct. 29, 2015 — After peaking in 2007, AIDS mortality in South Africa has decreased with the widespread introduction of effective antiretroviral therapy, according to new updated ... read more

Oct. 29, 2015 — A group of researchers has found that p62, a host molecule, played an important role in exerting immune effects of an experimental pathogenic parasite toxoplasma-inactivated vaccine. This ... read more

Oct. 28, 2015 — Secondary transfer of human DNA through intermediary contact is far more common than previously thought, a finding that could have serious repercussions for medical science and the criminal justice ... read more

Guidelines on Sharing Individual Genomic Research Findings With Family

Oct. 28, 2015 — The first consensus guidelines on how researchers should share genomic findings in research on adults and children with other family members has now been published. The recommendations offer ... read more

Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Monday, November 9, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Monday, October 12, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Saturday, September 19, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015