Consumerism News
November 30, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 3:32pm EST

More Consumerism News
November 30, 2015

Thinking of Bagging Yourself a Black Friday Bargain?

Nov. 27, 2015 — Revealing the motives, characteristics and experiences of sale shoppers, a new article lends some information to would-be shoppers, advice that will be useful even long after Black Friday ... read more

Hiding Tobacco Products at Convenience Stores Reduces Teens' Risk of Future Tobacco Use

Nov. 23, 2015 — A one-of-a-kind laboratory replica of a convenience store is the first to use a realistic setting to examine whether limiting displays of cigarettes and other tobacco products in retail outlets can ... read more

Overweight Men Just as Likely as Overweight Women to Face Discrimination

Nov. 16, 2015 — Men who are overweight are just as likely as overweight women to experience interpersonal discrimination when applying for a job or shopping at retail stores, according to new ... read more

Do You Buy Local? Your Consumer Ethnocentrism May Be Showing

Nov. 2, 2015 — Are you are one of the many consumers who prefer domestic to foreign products, even when the domestic products are lower in quality and cost more? Why is that? As a new study explains, you are ... read more

Buying a New Furnace: Will You Use Your Savings or Assume More Debt?

Nov. 2, 2015 — It's getting closer to winter, and all of a sudden you need a new HVAC system that'll cost $5,000. You've got the money in a savings account. Will you spend that money, or pay with a ... read more

Internet Too Slow? You May Be Paying Too Much to Save a Few Seconds

Nov. 2, 2015 — Your current printer prints only twenty pages per minute. Wanting to save time, you buy a new printer that prints fifty pages per minute. But do you really save time? Probably not, says a new study. ... read more

Increasing Cigarette Taxes Shifts Consumers to More Dangerous Products

Oct. 29, 2015 — Increasing cigarette exercise taxes may have the unintended consequence of encouraging consumers to seek higher nicotine content and more dangerous cigarette products, according to a ... read more

Research Investigates Impact of Carbon Footprint Label

Oct. 26, 2015 — An initiative to show consumers which products are more environmentally friendly needs to be easy to understand to be effective, say ... read more

Internet TV Means More Options, Not Viewing Time, Even for Binge Watchers

Oct. 21, 2015 — The option of watching television online will not influence the amount of time a person spends viewing TV, but it does make the experience more pleasurable, according to a new ... read more

Male Suicide on Rise as Result of Austerity, Report Suggests

Oct. 6, 2015 — Young males between the ages of 10 and 24 have committed suicide in growing numbers as a direct result of austerity measures brought in across Europe following the 2009 recession, a new report ... read more

Rebates a Cost-Effective Way to Boost Healthy Eating Among Low-Income People, Study Finds

Oct. 6, 2015 — Nationwide expansion of USDA's Healthy Incentives Pilot would promote purchase, consumption of fruits, vegetables, and slightly increase longevity of SNAP recipients, a new report ... read more

Hotel 'Greenwashing' Dirties Eco-Friendly Reputation

Oct. 1, 2015 — Hotels across the globe are increasingly encouraging guests to embrace green practices. Yet while guests think they are supporting the environment by shutting off lights and reusing towels, they may ... read more

Sep. 30, 2015 — Mobile apps are changing the way brands connect with consumers and have the potential to boost a company's bottom line. According to a new study, there is a direct link between app use and ... read more

Frequently Discounting Maximizes Retailer Revenues

Sep. 29, 2015 — The 'discount-frequently' pricing strategy allows retailers to charge high prices when demand is high and is flexible unlike an 'every day low price' strategy or 'static ... read more

Cash: Friend or Foe?

Oct. 1, 2015 — Investigation into cash-rich companies is revealing insights into corporate governance and shareholder value, according to new ... read more

Companies Increase Profits With Multichannel Shoppers: Study in INFORMS' Marketing Science

Sep. 25, 2015 — Companies can increase profits by getting customers to buy through more than one channel, for example the bricks-and-mortar store and the Internet rather than the store alone. However, this strategy ... read more

Researchers' Model Helps Predict Consumer Spending

Sep. 25, 2015 — When a business wants to predict consumer expenditures at a competing firm, the task can be difficult. Now a new methodology is being used to predict consumer spending at ... read more

Marketing: How Does Business Debt Affect Firm Value and Consumer Satisfaction?

Sep. 23, 2015 — Feeling less satisfied with the businesses you patronize? It might be because those businesses are in a lot of debt. According to a new study, a company that has a lot of financial leverage -- that ... read more

Consumer Idea Generation Is Not One-Size-Fits-All

Sep. 23, 2015 — Listen up, Dell and Starbucks and all companies that turn to consumers for ideas about products and services. There's a better way to pry ideas out of your customers than through the same old ... read more

Understanding Self-Control: Eating and Spending Are Different Public Policy Issues

Sep. 23, 2015 — You can resist buying candy while you're waiting in the checkout line, but you'll buy any pair of shoes that are on sale. Your best friend, in contrast, wouldn't dream of buying a pair ... read more

Friday, November 27, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015