Consumerism News
February 7, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 3:33am EST

More Consumerism News
February 7, 2016

Simplified Nutritional Labels Spur Healthier Choices in Grocery Stores

Feb. 2, 2016 — Looking at single number -- a score that represents the nutritional value of what's inside the packaging -- leads to healthier buying choices. The study compares consumer buyer behavior using ... read more

Tax Evasion Impacts Country Credit Ratings and Lending Costs Says New Study

Jan. 19, 2016 — High levels of tax evasion are linked to higher interest rates and can be a predictor of a country’s credit risk, according to a new ... read more

Are High-Deductible Health Plans Enrollees Better Health Care Price Shoppers?

Jan. 19, 2016 — Enrollees in high-deductible health plans were no more likely than enrollees in traditional plans to consider going to another health care professional or to compare out-of-pocket cost differences ... read more

Streaming Services Are a Blessing and a Curse for the Music Industry

Jan. 18, 2016 — Paid music streaming services can increase revenues for the music industry and lead consumers to spend more money on music overall. Free streaming, in contrast, is less beneficial. These are the ... read more

Why Daring to Compare Online Prices Pays Off Offline

Jan. 5, 2016 — When setting in-store prices or offering price-matching guarantees, offline retailers should focus more on online retailer ratings than on offering the lowest prices, new research ... read more

Some Consumers Use ‘servant’ Brands to Gain Sense of Power, Study Finds

Jan. 5, 2016 — A recent study states that some consumers -- materialists who strongly link possessions to happiness and who tend to have poor personal relationships -- regard anthropomorphized popular products as ... read more

The Ugly Consumer: Ridiculing Those Who Shop Ethically

Jan. 4, 2016 — No one wants to knowingly buy products made with child labor or that harm the environment. But a new study shows that we also don't want to work too hard to find out whether our favorite ... read more

Dec. 22, 2015 — Some consumers have an unerring knack for buying unpopular products. Amazingly, the same group of consumers has an outsized tendency to purchase all kinds of failed products, time after time, flop ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — Researchers say a rising trend in narcissism is cause for retailing and manufacturing firms offering customizable products to rethink their marketing ... read more

Dec. 3, 2015 — Researchers have found that everyday shoppers make assumptions about brands that use green colors. The findings hold ethical implications for environmentally friendly ... read more

Thinking of Bagging Yourself a Black Friday Bargain?

Nov. 27, 2015 — Revealing the motives, characteristics and experiences of sale shoppers, a new article lends some information to would-be shoppers, advice that will be useful even long after Black Friday ... read more

Hiding Tobacco Products at Convenience Stores Reduces Teens' Risk of Future Tobacco Use

Nov. 23, 2015 — A one-of-a-kind laboratory replica of a convenience store is the first to use a realistic setting to examine whether limiting displays of cigarettes and other tobacco products in retail outlets can ... read more

Overweight Men Just as Likely as Overweight Women to Face Discrimination

Nov. 16, 2015 — Men who are overweight are just as likely as overweight women to experience interpersonal discrimination when applying for a job or shopping at retail stores, according to new ... read more

Do You Buy Local? Your Consumer Ethnocentrism May Be Showing

Nov. 2, 2015 — Are you are one of the many consumers who prefer domestic to foreign products, even when the domestic products are lower in quality and cost more? Why is that? As a new study explains, you are ... read more

Buying a New Furnace: Will You Use Your Savings or Assume More Debt?

Nov. 2, 2015 — It's getting closer to winter, and all of a sudden you need a new HVAC system that'll cost $5,000. You've got the money in a savings account. Will you spend that money, or pay with a ... read more

Internet Too Slow? You May Be Paying Too Much to Save a Few Seconds

Nov. 2, 2015 — Your current printer prints only twenty pages per minute. Wanting to save time, you buy a new printer that prints fifty pages per minute. But do you really save time? Probably not, says a new study. ... read more

Increasing Cigarette Taxes Shifts Consumers to More Dangerous Products

Oct. 29, 2015 — Increasing cigarette exercise taxes may have the unintended consequence of encouraging consumers to seek higher nicotine content and more dangerous cigarette products, according to a ... read more

Research Investigates Impact of Carbon Footprint Label

Oct. 26, 2015 — An initiative to show consumers which products are more environmentally friendly needs to be easy to understand to be effective, say ... read more

Internet TV Means More Options, Not Viewing Time, Even for Binge Watchers

Oct. 21, 2015 — The option of watching television online will not influence the amount of time a person spends viewing TV, but it does make the experience more pleasurable, according to a new ... read more

Oct. 7, 2015 — A new study addresses questions about the efficacy of a voter-approved soda tax passed in 2014. Voters in Berkeley approved the first excise tax in the country on sugar-sweetened beverages, but ... read more

Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Wednesday, September 16, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Monday, July 27, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Thursday, July 2, 2015
Wednesday, July 1, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 14, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Friday, May 1, 2015
Thursday, April 30, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Wednesday, April 8, 2015
Tuesday, April 7, 2015
Monday, April 6, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015