Resource Shortage News
May 6, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 5:33pm EDT

More Resource Shortage News
May 6, 2015

Simulating Seasons: Researchers Use Supercomputing to Assess Impact of Climate Change on Malawi's Growing Season

May 5, 2015 — Malawi, a small landlocked country in southeast Africa, is home to 13 million people and is one of the least-developed countries in the world. Its security is highly dependent on rain-fed ... read more

Energy Consumption Rises With Automated Bill Payment

Apr. 29, 2015 — The adage 'out of sight, out of mind' applies to utility consumption, according to new research. A study of 16 years of billing records from one South Carolina electric utility found that ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Researchers uncover the areas in the United States that best weathered the recessions and the housing bubble crisis of the 2000s. Among other things, the study found that neighborhoods that started ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Several species of fish — including the peppered chub and the plains minnow — were found to be severely declining in the Great Plains. A new article documents a reduction in water flow in Great ... read more

Program Puts a Dent in Summer Hunger

Apr. 26, 2015 — When schools close their doors for the summer, many low-income children who rely on subsidized breakfasts and lunches don't know when they will get their next meal. An innovative program to fill ... read more

Excess Deaths of British Children: Relative Poverty or Lack of Healthcare Funding?

Apr. 21, 2015 — The UK has the fourth highest child mortality rate, third worst relative poverty and lowest funded health care in the Western world, new research concludes. The study did present some good news, as ... read more

Road Salt Guidelines Need Review to Protect Food Chain in Lakes

Apr. 9, 2015 — Lake and highway authorities should consider adjusting road salt use protocols to protect aquatic life such as the water flea, by taking the nutritional status of the lakes into account, experts ... read more

Rise of UK Food Banks Linked to Local Spending and Central Welfare Cuts

Apr. 9, 2015 — The expansion of food banks across the United Kingdom is associated with cuts in spending on local services, welfare benefits and higher unemployment rates, conclude researchers in a new report. This ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — With the global population rising, analysts and policymakers have targeted Africa's vast wet savannas as a place to produce staple foods and bioenergy groups at low environmental costs. But a ... read more

Mar. 11, 2015 — The number of people potentially exposed to future sea level rise and associated storm surge flooding may be highest in low-elevation coastal zones in Asia and ... read more

Depression Puts Low-Income Population at Even Greater Risk for Obesity and Poor Nutrition

Mar. 10, 2015 — In a new study, researchers report that for people receiving food assistance there are significant links between depression, poor dietary quality, and high body mass index (BMI). They suggest that ... read more

Researchers Connect Climate Change to Food Safety

Mar. 6, 2015 — Climate change can affect our food safety in a number of ways. In a European study, researchers state that there is often a relationship between long-term changes in temperature and rainfall and ... read more

Mar. 5, 2015 — While many blame the 'teenage brain' for high rates of teen crime, violence, and driving incidents, an important factor has been ignored: teenagers as a group suffer much higher average ... read more

Stigma of Mental Illness in India Linked to Poverty

Mar. 4, 2015 — The stigma surrounding people with severe mental illness in India leads to increased poverty among them, especially women, according to new research. "Mental health professionals must ... read more

Mar. 4, 2015 — A consortium of environmental scientists has expressed strong concern about the impact of a controversial Central American canal across Nicaragua. The path of the Nicaragua Interoceanic Grand Canal ... read more

Mar. 2, 2015 — In order to cope, conservation organizations need to adapt like the organisms they seek to protect, a new paper suggests, arguing that conservation organizations need to be bolder in their adaptation ... read more

Economic Models Provide Insights Into Global Sustainability Challenges

Feb. 26, 2015 — Using models that blend global economics, geography, ecology and environmental sciences is essential to understanding how changes in trade and natural systems in one part of the world affect those in ... read more

Feb. 26, 2015 — The world has little use -- and precious little time -- for detached experts. A group of scientists -- each of them experts -- makes a compelling case that the growing global challenges has rendered ... read more

Team Approach Boosts Human and Environmental Wellbeing, Researcher Says

Feb. 26, 2015 — Even seemingly intractable problems such as the antibiotic crisis and the obesity epidemic could be resolved by treating human health and society as an integral part of an ecosystem, researchers say. ... read more

IPCC Sea-Level Rise Scenarios Not Fit for Purpose for High-Risk Coastal Areas

Feb. 26, 2015 — The sea-level rise scenarios of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) do not necessarily provide the right information for high-risk coastal decision-making and management, according ... read more

Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Monday, December 15, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Sunday, November 2, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014
Monday, October 13, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Monday, October 6, 2014