Resource Shortage News
August 28, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 12:55am EDT

More Resource Shortage News
August 28, 2015

New Survey on Americans' Views on Papal Encyclical on Climate Change

Aug. 26, 2015 — A new national survey found that fewer than one in three Americans, and 40 percent of Catholics, are aware of Pope Francis's efforts to publicize global warming as a priority issue for the ... read more

Aug. 26, 2015 — A new model for recovering would-be wasted -- or surplus -- food and repurposing it to feed hungry people, generate revenue and even create jobs was recently piloted in West Philadelphia. The report ... read more

Aug. 18, 2015 — A multifaceted farming intervention can reduce food insecurity while improving HIV outcomes in patients in Kenya, according to a randomized, controlled ... read more

Foresight Food Security: From Hunger, Poverty to Food System Approach

Aug. 18, 2015 — Long considered in relation to malnutrition and humanitarian aid, food security policy should be moving towards a much broader landscape and focusing on regular access to food for a population ... read more

UK Bottom of European Avoidable Food Waste League

Aug. 11, 2015 — The UK produces the highest amount of avoidable food waste in Europe -- equivalent to a tin of beans per person per day, new research demonstrates. The study found that the bulk of the avoidable food ... read more

How Stock Market's 'Spare Tire' Keeps Economy Churning During Banking Crises

Aug. 5, 2015 — In countries with strong legislation to prevent fraudulent corporate behavior, banking crises have a less severe impact on firms and the economy in general, a new study ... read more

Aug. 3, 2015 — In an unprecedented effort to understand the connections between mountain water supply and urban demand, more than 50 researchers from 22 different lab groups and seven universities gathered to study ... read more

American Poverty Prospects Higher Than Expected

July 23, 2015 — For Americans, the likelihood of experiencing relative poverty at least once in their lifetime is surprisingly high, finds a new analysis from a noted poverty ... read more

Accounting for Short-Lived Forcers in Carbon Budgets

July 15, 2015 — New research shows how measures to reduce emissions of short-lived climate forcers can impact global carbon budgets for limiting climate change to below 2 degrees C over pre-industrial ... read more

July 13, 2015 — A new study has used a drone to measure the temperature, humidity, luminosity and carbon dioxide concentration in a greenhouse. The capacity of an aerial vehicle to move in three-dimensional space ... read more

IT-Based Concepts for Effective Coordination of Public Authorities, General Population

July 8, 2015 — To get a handle on crisis situations you need volunteers from the general population. A new project investigates how volunteers’ help can be incorporated into the crisis management efforts of ... read more

July 8, 2015 — Thirsty cities, fields and livestock drink deeply from aquifers, natural sources of groundwater. But a study of three of the most-tapped aquifers in the United States shows that overdrawing from ... read more

Rubber Expansion Threatens Biodiversity, Livelihoods Research Suggests

July 7, 2015 — Increasing amounts of environmentally valuable and protected land are being cleared for rubber plantations that are economically unsustainable, new research suggests. More widespread monitoring is ... read more

July 6, 2015 — Converting large tracts of the Midwest's marginal farming land to perennial biofuel crops carries with it some key unknowns, including how it could affect the balance of water between rainfall, ... read more

Stronger Action Needed to Transform UK's Energy System

July 5, 2015 — An ambitious policy package is essential for the UK to transform its energy system to achieve the deep reductions in carbon emissions required to avoid dangerous climate change, according to new ... read more

Epidemic of Obesity, Overweight Linked to Increased Food Energy Supply

June 30, 2015 — This study investigates the associations between changes in national food energy supply and average population body weight in 24 high-, 27 middle- and 18 low-income countries. The authors found that ... read more

Pension Funds Are Losing Billions Annually Due to End of Month Trading

June 30, 2015 — Pension funds around the world could be losing out on billions of euros and dollars of the stock market gains they would have made because they are obliged to sell part of their portfolios before the ... read more

Optimizing Shale Gas Production from Well to Wire

June 25, 2015 — A researcher has analyzed the life-cycle of the shale gas supply chain and operations and found that the process systems can be made more environmentally and economically ... read more

Most of America's Poor Have Jobs, Study Finds

June 25, 2015 — Sociologists evaluated 129 existing methods for defining the 'working poor' and propose one method as a unified definition. Their estimate is that 10 percent of all working households are ... read more

How Companies Can Reduce Sovereign Risk

June 25, 2015 — In a new study of five-year spreads on credit default swap contracts for more than 2,000 U.S. and international firms, a finance researcher found that strong property rights and transparency are key ... read more

Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Wednesday, August 5, 2015
Monday, August 3, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Monday, July 13, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Tuesday, July 7, 2015
Monday, July 6, 2015
Sunday, July 5, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Monday, June 15, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Sunday, June 7, 2015
Tuesday, June 2, 2015
Friday, May 29, 2015
Thursday, May 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Thursday, April 23, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Friday, March 27, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015