Resource Shortage News
May 25, 2015

Latest Headlines
updated 11:54am EDT

More Resource Shortage News
May 25, 2015

Study Identifies Barriers to Intimate Partner Violence Services

May 19, 2015 — Texas has a shortage of beds for survivors of intimate partner violence, and although alternatives may be offered, survivors may find themselves isolated from much-needed services, such as crisis ... read more

Fresh Milk, Off the Grid

May 19, 2015 — Milk preservation depends upon refrigeration and boiling, but in developing countries these methods are costly and often impractical due to the sporadic availability of continuous electricity. New ... read more

Nerve Tracts for the Smart City

May 19, 2015 — The Smart City is one of today's major hypes. Everything is to become more progressive, more efficient, cleaner. A lot of projects are working towards this goal. What is lacking, however, is a ... read more

How to Build a New Global Health Framework

May 7, 2015 — Can a true, robust global health framework be created to help prevent tragedies like Ebola while at the same time allow countries to meet everyday health needs? Global health and law experts say it ... read more

Simulating Seasons: Researchers Use Supercomputing to Assess Impact of Climate Change on Malawi's Growing Season

May 5, 2015 — Malawi, a small landlocked country in southeast Africa, is home to 13 million people and is one of the least-developed countries in the world. Its security is highly dependent on rain-fed ... read more

Excess Deaths of British Children: Relative Poverty or Lack of Healthcare Funding?

Apr. 21, 2015 — The UK has the fourth highest child mortality rate, third worst relative poverty and lowest funded health care in the Western world, new research concludes. The study did present some good news, as ... read more

Energy Consumption Rises With Automated Bill Payment

Apr. 29, 2015 — The adage 'out of sight, out of mind' applies to utility consumption, according to new research. A study of 16 years of billing records from one South Carolina electric utility found that ... read more

Apr. 29, 2015 — Researchers uncover the areas in the United States that best weathered the recessions and the housing bubble crisis of the 2000s. Among other things, the study found that neighborhoods that started ... read more

Apr. 28, 2015 — Several species of fish — including the peppered chub and the plains minnow — were found to be severely declining in the Great Plains. A new article documents a reduction in water flow in Great ... read more

Program Puts a Dent in Summer Hunger

Apr. 26, 2015 — When schools close their doors for the summer, many low-income children who rely on subsidized breakfasts and lunches don't know when they will get their next meal. An innovative program to fill ... read more

Rise of UK Food Banks Linked to Local Spending and Central Welfare Cuts

Apr. 9, 2015 — The expansion of food banks across the United Kingdom is associated with cuts in spending on local services, welfare benefits and higher unemployment rates, conclude researchers in a new report. This ... read more

Road Salt Guidelines Need Review to Protect Food Chain in Lakes

Apr. 9, 2015 — Lake and highway authorities should consider adjusting road salt use protocols to protect aquatic life such as the water flea, by taking the nutritional status of the lakes into account, experts ... read more

Mar. 25, 2015 — Natural wetlands usually emit methane and sequester carbon dioxide. Anthropogenic interventions, in particular the conversion of wetlands for agriculture, result in a significant increase in carbon ... read more

Adapting to Climate Change Will Bring New Environmental Problems

Mar. 20, 2015 — Adapting to climate change could have profound environmental repercussions, according to a new study. Research reveals that adaptation measures have the potential to generate further pressures and ... read more

Coping With the Anthropocene: How We Became Nature

Mar. 17, 2015 — Overpopulation, the greenhouse effect, warming temperatures and overall climate disruption are all well recognized as a major threat to the ecology and biodiversity of the Earth.  The issue of ... read more

Mar. 16, 2015 — With the global population rising, analysts and policymakers have targeted Africa's vast wet savannas as a place to produce staple foods and bioenergy groups at low environmental costs. But a ... read more

Mar. 11, 2015 — The number of people potentially exposed to future sea level rise and associated storm surge flooding may be highest in low-elevation coastal zones in Asia and ... read more

Depression Puts Low-Income Population at Even Greater Risk for Obesity and Poor Nutrition

Mar. 10, 2015 — In a new study, researchers report that for people receiving food assistance there are significant links between depression, poor dietary quality, and high body mass index (BMI). They suggest that ... read more

Researchers Connect Climate Change to Food Safety

Mar. 6, 2015 — Climate change can affect our food safety in a number of ways. In a European study, researchers state that there is often a relationship between long-term changes in temperature and rainfall and ... read more

Mar. 5, 2015 — A heads-up to New York, Baltimore, Houston and Miami: a new study suggests that these metropolitan areas and others will increase their exposure to floods even in the absence of climate ... read more

Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Sunday, April 26, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 25, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Friday, March 6, 2015
Thursday, March 5, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, March 2, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Wednesday, February 18, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Monday, February 9, 2015
Friday, February 13, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Thursday, January 29, 2015
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Friday, January 23, 2015
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 12, 2015
Tuesday, January 6, 2015
Wednesday, January 7, 2015
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Sunday, November 2, 2014
Friday, December 12, 2014
Monday, December 15, 2014
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Monday, December 8, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, December 4, 2014
Wednesday, December 3, 2014
Monday, December 1, 2014
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Monday, November 24, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Monday, November 17, 2014
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Friday, November 7, 2014
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Monday, November 3, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, October 20, 2014
Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Tuesday, October 14, 2014