Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
April 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 6:08pm EDT

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
April 28, 2016

Apr. 15, 2016 — An innovative form of heat engine operates using only one single ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Researchers have used a modified Tesla coil to assemble nanoparticles into a wire from a distance. Their process, 'Teslaphoresis,' may be used for the self-assembly of nano- and macro-scale ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A new state of matter in which current flows only through a set of surface channels that resemble an hourglass is the subject of new research. The team theorized that a new particle, the ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Researchers who are working to develop wearable electronics have reached a milestone: They are able to embroider circuits into fabric with 0.1 mm precision -- the perfect size to integrate electronic ... read more

Recyclable, Sugar-Derived Foam: A Renewable Alternative to Traditional Polyurethanes?

Apr. 13, 2016 — Polyurethanes in products from cushy sofas to stretchy spandex have made sitting, sleeping and walking more comfortable. But once they have served their purpose, most of the non-degradable materials ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Smart synthetic skins have the potential to allow robots to touch and sense what's around them, but keeping them powered up and highly sensitive at low cost has been a challenge. Now scientists ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — A new experimental setup with a motorized catapult and high-speed camera now documents in detail what happens when one of the popular small hobby drones hit objects or people. In the first film from ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — If you go out after a rain, you may notice spider webs glistening with water droplets. The soggy webs resemble human-made meshes for fog collection: They both have thin fibers that collect water from ... read more

Tumble-Proof Cargo Transporter in Biological Cells

Apr. 12, 2016 — Ever wondered how molecular nanomotors work when transporting material such as organelles in the cell? Typically, nanomotors move along biopolymer filaments to go about their duties in the cell. ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — A team of researchers has found that moving bodies can be attracted to each other, even when they're quite far apart and separated by many other ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Using your skin as a touchscreen has been brought a step closer after scientists successfully created tactile sensations on the palm using ultrasound sent through the ... read more

Apr. 11, 2016 — Applying a magnetic field to PdCo2, a non-magnetic metal, made it conduct 70% more electricity, even though basic physics principles would have predicted the ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — London's first timber skyscraper could be a step closer to reality this week after researchers presented Mayor of London Boris Johnson with conceptual plans for an 80-storey, 300m high wooden ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Robots do many things formerly done only by humans - from bartending and farming to driving cars -- but a researchers have now invented a 'smart' paint spray can that robotically reproduces ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Tissue engineering is a process that uses novel biomaterials seeded with stem cells to grow and replace missing tissues. When certain types of materials are used, the 'scaffold' that are ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Physicists have combined light and sound to control electron states in an atom-like system, providing a new tool in efforts to move toward quantum-computing ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — A research team has achieved unparalleled levels of control over the angular momentum (AM) of light in an integrated nanophotonic chip. The work leads the way for compact on-chip AM applications like ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Engineers have shown a new approach for making transistors and other electrical devices: sequentially depositing their components in the form of liquid nanocrystal ... read more

Apr. 7, 2016 — Researchers have developed one of the first complete systems to store digital data in DNA -- allowing companies to store data that today would fill a big box store supercenter in a space the size of ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — High-tech sponges of the infinitely small, nanoporous materials can capture and release gaseous or liquid chemicals in a controlled way. Scientists have developed and described one of these ... read more

Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 29, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Monday, February 15, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016