Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
April 24, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 5:11pm EDT

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
April 24, 2017

Apr. 3, 2017 — Tiny 'black holes' on a silicon wafer make for a new type of photodetector that could move more data at lower cost around the world or across a ... read more

Robot Epigenetics: Adding Complexity to Embodied Robot Evolution

Apr. 3, 2017 — For the first time, researchers in the field of evolutionary robotics have used physically embodied robots to study epigenetic effects on robot evolution. The study confirms the great importance of ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — In 2013, materials scientists grew a 'garden' of self-assembled crystal microstructures. Now, applied mathematicians have developed a framework to better understand and control the ... read more

Modern Alchemy Creates Luminescent Iron Molecules

Mar. 30, 2017 — Scientists have made the first iron-based molecule capable of emitting light. This could contribute to the development of affordable and environmentally friendly materials for e.g. solar cells, light ... read more

Mar. 24, 2017 — Our understanding of the world is mostly built on basic perceptions, such as that events follow each other in a well-defined order. Such definite orders are required in the macroscopic world, for ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have developed a new method that can be used to construct custom hybrid structures using DNA and proteins. The method opens new opportunities for fundamental research in cell biology and ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Nanocars will compete for the first time ever during an international molecule-car race on April 28-29, 2017 in Toulouse (south-western France). The vehicles, which consist of a few hundred atoms, ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers have developed a technique that uses light to get flat, plastic sheets to curve into spheres, tubes or ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers have developed the next step in microbial fuel cells (MFCs) with the first micro-scale self-sustaining cell, which generated power for 13 straight days through symbiotic interactions of ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — A research group has demonstrated that by changing only its parameter related to speed, a quadruped robot can spontaneously change its ... read more

Mar. 21, 2017 — A team of scientists has discovered that a law controlling the bizarre behavior of black holes out in space -- is also true for cold helium atoms that can be studied in laboratories. This finding may ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Engineers have created a 'tree-on-a-chip' -- a microfluidic pump inspired by the way trees and plants circulate nutrients. The chip pumps water for days, at constant rates that could power ... read more

Mar. 20, 2017 — Researchers have described a material that, when heated to about 450 degrees Celsius, transforms from an atomically thin, two-dimensional sheet into an array of one-dimensional nanowires, each just a ... read more

Can Quantum Theory Explain Why Jokes Are Funny?

Mar. 17, 2017 — Researchers are taking the first steps towards of a quantum theory model of humor, to explain what really happens on the cognitive level in the moment when we 'get the ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — Picture a tablet that you can fold into the size of a phone and put away in your pocket, or an artificial skin that can sense your body's movements and vital signs. A new, inexpensive sensor ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Music, more than any art, is a beautiful mix of science and emotion. It follows a set of patterns almost mathematically to extract feelings from its audience. Machines that make music focus on these ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — One bit of digital information can now be successfully stored in an individual atom. This result is a breakthrough in the miniaturization of storage media and has the potential to serve as a basis ... read more

Mar. 9, 2017 — Chemical computers are becoming ever more of a reality. It turns out that after an appropriate teaching procedure even a relatively simple chemical system can perform non-trivial operations. In their ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Scientists are reporting on the creation of a phase of matter, dubbed a time crystal, in which atoms move in a pattern that repeats in time rather than in ... read more

Ionization Mechanisms of Captive Atoms Struck by Light Matter

Mar. 8, 2017 — Light interacting with hydrogen atoms enclosed in hollow cages composed of carbon atoms produces ionization. This phenomenon is particularly interesting because the light rays can have dramatic ... read more

Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Friday, March 17, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Friday, March 3, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Thursday, February 23, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, December 26, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016