NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
February 25, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:09am EST

More Bizarre Things: Matter & Energy
February 25, 2017

Feb. 9, 2017 — Matters of the heart can be complicated, but scientists have now found a way to create 3-D heart tissue that beats in synchronized harmony, like a heart in love, that will lead to better ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — The bacterial world is rife with unusual talents, among them a knack for producing electricity. In the wild, 'electrogenic' bacteria generate current as part of their metabolism, and now ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — As bees slip onto the endangered species lists, researchers in Japan are pollinating lilies with insect-sized drones. The undersides of these artificial pollinators are coated with horse hairs and an ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Electromagnetic pulses lasting one millionth of a millionth of a second may hold the key to advances in medical imaging, communications and drug development. But the pulses, called terahertz waves, ... read more

Feb. 9, 2017 — Scientists have controlled wave-generated currents to make previously unimaginable liquid materials for new technological innovations, including techniques to manipulate ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Transparent window coatings that keep buildings and cars cool on sunny days. Devices that could more than triple solar cell efficiencies. Thin, lightweight shields that block thermal detection. These ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Researchers have developed a self-contained robotic bat -- dubbed Bat Bot (B2) -- with soft, articulated wings that can mimic the key flight mechanisms of biological ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Engineers have fabricated transparent, gel-based robots that move when water is pumped in and out of them. The bots can perform a number of fast, forceful tasks, including kicking a ball underwater, ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — New measurements of neutrino oscillations, observed at the IceCube Neutrino Observatory at the South Pole, have shed light on outstanding questions regarding fundamental properties of neutrinos. The ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — A prototype biomimetic tree has been built that generates electricity when wind blows through its artificial leaves. The researchers think such technology may help people charge household appliances ... read more

Spider Silk Demonstrates Spider Man-Like Abilities

Jan. 31, 2017 — Spider silk offers new inspiration for developments in artificial muscle technology. The silk of the Ornithoctonus Huwena spider demonstrates impressive weight-lifting abilities with efficient, ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — Biomedical researchers have engineered the first examples of biomimetic structures composed from a mysterious class of proteins that lack any sort of internal structure. Researchers reveal the ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — A UK, Canadian and Italian study has provided what researchers believe is the first observational evidence that our universe could be a vast and complex hologram. Theoretical physicists and ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — Normal crystals, likes diamond, are an atomic lattice that repeats in space, but physicists recently suggested making materials that repeat in time. Last year, reseachers sketched out the phases ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — Mechanical engineers have demonstrated a tiny whirlpool that can concentrate nanoparticles using nothing but sound. The innovation could gather proteins and other biological structures from blood or ... read more

'Knitted Muscles' Provide Power: Normal Fabric With Electroactive Coating Adds 'Muscle'

Jan. 25, 2017 — Researchers have coated normal fabric with an electroactive material, and in this way given it the ability to actuate in the same way as muscle fibers. The technology opens new opportunities to ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Advanced photonic nanostructures are well on their way to revolutionizing quantum technology for quantum networks based on light. Researchers have now developed the first building blocks needed to ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Adhesive mechanisms in the natural world have many advantages: they are always strongly adhesive -- and without any glues or residues. Scientists are researching how these mechanisms can be ... read more

How Water Can Split Into Two Liquids Below Zero

Jan. 25, 2017 — Did you know that water can still remain liquid below zero degrees Celsius? It is called supercooled water and is present in refrigerators. At even smaller temperatures, supercooled water could exist ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Physicists have invented a tiny device that creates the highest quality holographic images ever achieved, opening the door to imaging technologies seen in science fiction movies such as 'Star ... read more

Thursday, February 9, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Monday, December 26, 2016
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Thursday, December 8, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Wednesday, November 2, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Friday, October 7, 2016
Thursday, October 6, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016