Construction News
August 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 7:16am EDT

More Construction News
August 30, 2016

Researchers Combine Simulation, Experiment for Nanoscale 3-D Printing

Aug. 6, 2016 — A research team has created a high-power simulation and design process to print free-standing 3-D structures on the nanoscale using focused electron beam induced deposition. The simulation-guided ... read more

Research Pinpoints Most Dangerous HGV Designs

July 29, 2016 — HGVs with high cabs have the most blind spots and pose the greatest risk to vulnerable road users, research has ... read more

New Nano Tech to Cool Down Buildings

July 27, 2016 — A new system can lower room temperature in ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Engineers have documented a new approach for monitoring the structural health of roads, bridges and other structures. The method applies a noninvasive medical imaging technique to a carbon ... read more

June 30, 2016 — Scientists used high-speed photography and digital image analysis to observe both the events that cause cracks and the speed with which the cracks ... read more

June 17, 2016 — A new semiconducting material that is only three atomic-layers thick has emerged with more exotic, malleable electronic properties than those of traditional ... read more

LED Technology Used in Indonesia to Monitor Safety at Construction Sites

June 17, 2016 — A safety monitoring method called On-Site Visualization has been implemented in metro system construction sites in Jakarta, Indonesia as part of a Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) ... read more

June 17, 2016 — Smart threads can be woven into pressure-sensitive electronic skin for robots or medical ... read more

Non-Invasive Analysis of Damages to Materials Based on Advanced Signal Processing Techniques

June 2, 2016 — Researchers have developed a non-invasive means of determining the general state-of-repair of all kinds of materials in real time, which will help avoid potential safety ... read more

May 26, 2016 — Researchers are seeking to redesign concrete -- the most widely used human-made material in the world -- by following nature's blueprints. In a new paper, the team contrasts cement paste -- ... read more

Making Some of the World's Most Durable Materials Corrosion-Resistant

May 25, 2016 — Borides are among the hardest and most heat-resistant substances on the planet, but their Achilles' Heel, like so many materials', is that they oxidize at high temperatures. Researchers ... read more

Finding the Next New Tech Material: The Computational Hunt for the Weird and Unusual

May 11, 2016 — Scientists are turning to the world of computation to guide their search for the next new material. Their program uses software code developed to map and predict the distinct structural, electronic, ... read more

Seismic Response of Fiber-Reinforced Concrete Coupled Walls

May 6, 2016 — Use of Fiber-Reinforced Concrete in construction will allow for the use of less and simpler steel reinforcement while maintaining good structural behavior and potentially reducing the amount of ... read more

May 5, 2016 — Newly created material that can be used on highways absorbs solar energy, and returns it to the environment, it can last for up to 100 years, report ... read more

Apr. 28, 2016 — Normally, it takes weeks to repair the cracking or spalling of columns on just one bridge damaged in an earthquake. Now a team of researchers has developed a new process of fixing damaged bridge ... read more

Flake-Like Nanoparticles Offer Reliable Rust Protection

Apr. 13, 2016 — Large quantities of steel are used in architecture, bridge construction and ship-building. Structures of this type are intended to be long-lasting, and have extensive and durable protection against ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — London's first timber skyscraper could be a step closer to reality this week after researchers presented Mayor of London Boris Johnson with conceptual plans for an 80-storey, 300m high wooden ... read more

Mar. 31, 2016 — Scientists study the most efficient way to conserve energy in hot and cold ... read more

Mar. 30, 2016 — When it comes to indoor lighting, nothing beats the sun's rays streaming in through windows. Soon, that natural light could be shining through walls, too. Scientists have developed transparent ... read more

Mar. 15, 2016 — Research shows that utilizing recycled rubber derived from scrap vehicle tires can significantly contribute to the development of semi-lightweight and lightweight ... read more

Saturday, August 6, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Thursday, April 28, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Monday, January 18, 2016
Thursday, January 14, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Thursday, January 7, 2016
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Friday, October 23, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Monday, August 24, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Tuesday, August 4, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Thursday, July 16, 2015
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Friday, July 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Friday, June 26, 2015
Thursday, June 25, 2015
Wednesday, June 24, 2015
Friday, June 19, 2015
Thursday, June 18, 2015
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Friday, May 22, 2015
Thursday, May 21, 2015
Friday, May 15, 2015
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Friday, April 24, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Monday, April 13, 2015
Friday, April 10, 2015
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Monday, March 16, 2015
Friday, March 13, 2015
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Monday, March 9, 2015
Wednesday, March 4, 2015
Monday, February 23, 2015
Monday, February 16, 2015
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Thursday, January 22, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Monday, January 5, 2015
Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Wednesday, December 10, 2014