Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
August 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 10:11pm EDT

More Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
August 28, 2016

We Understand That Social Media Does Not Equal Social Interaction

Aug. 11, 2016 — If you worry that people today are using social media as a crutch for a real social life, a study will set you at ease. A new study found that people are actually quite adept at discerning the ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — Scientists have created randomly spiking neurons using phase-change materials to store and process data. This demonstration marks a significant step forward in the development of energy-efficient, ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Engineers have developed a microfluidic device that replicates the neuromuscular junction -- the vital connection where nerve meets muscle. The device, about the size of a US quarter, contains a ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Scientists have introduced the first fully programmable and reconfigurable quantum computer ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — A new technique called Interactive Dynamic Video (IDV) lets you reach in and 'touch' objects in videos. IDV has many possible uses, from filmmakers producing new kinds of visual effects to ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Machines are taking over more and more tasks. Ideally, they should also be capable to support the human in case of poor performance. To intervene appropriately, the machine should understand what is ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Strong coupling in specific light-matter interactions, previously believed to be a quantum phenomenon, is explained with classical models and ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Researchers discover that ultrasonic vibrations reduce friction on flat screens by causing the fingertip to bounce on pockets of trapped ... read more

People Not Technology Will Drive Success of Autonomous Vehicles

Aug. 2, 2016 — As the world moves closer to autonomous and self-driving vehicles, road safety experts are turning from technology to psychology to better understand the road to safer ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — One ecologist wants to change the way we think about prescribed burns. The professor says he can harness extreme fire to restore grasslands on the Great Plains -- and he has created a small drone ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — The first single actuator wave-like robot (SAW) has been developed. The 3D-printed robot can move forward or backward in a wave-like motion, moving much like a worm would in a perpendicular ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Like a whirlpool, a new light-based communication tool carries data in a swift, circular motion. The optics advancement could become a central component of next generation computers designed to ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Researchers have successfully pulled off a feat that both sci-fi fans and Michael Phelps could appreciate. Using a rotating magnetic field they show how multiple chains of microscopic magnetic ... read more

July 26, 2016 — Any picture or text could be inkjet-printed as a solar cell, using a newly developed technology. When light is absorbed in an ordinary ink, it generates heat. A photovoltaic ink, however, coverts ... read more

July 25, 2016 — Theoretical physicists have analyzed the electronic consequences of creating circuits in two dimensions by simulating the juxtaposition of different atom-thick materials like graphene and hexagonal ... read more

July 25, 2016 — It looks like a bicycle chain, but has just twelve segments about the size of a fist. In each segment there is a motor. This describes pretty much the robot developed by the four bachelor students in ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new method for building microrobots that could be used in the body to deliver drugs and perform other medical ... read more

July 22, 2016 — Researchers have used computer simulations and robotics to uncover a surprising insight into the mechanics of locomotion, namely that taming instability -- a factor that might be a disadvantage -- is ... read more

July 21, 2016 — Engineers have programmed cells to remember and respond to events. This approach to circuit design enables scientists to create complex cellular state machines and track cell ... read more

Atmospheric Chemistry on Paper

July 21, 2016 — Normally computers speed up calculations. But with his new pen-and-paper formula, a researcher gets his results thousands of times faster than using conventional computer codes. The astrophysicist ... read more

Thursday, August 11, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016