Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
July 26, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 12:41am EDT

More Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
July 26, 2016

July 20, 2016 — Getting fit and athletic -- while sitting? Researchers are developing an active chair. At first glance, the chair looks just like another other reclining chair with a footrest you would find in a ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Every day, modern society creates more than a billion gigabytes of new data. To store all this data, it is increasingly important that each single bit occupies as little space as possible. A team of ... read more

July 18, 2016 — Researchers have combined tissues from a sea slug with flexible 3-D printed components to build 'biohybrid' robots to manage different tasks than an animal or purely humanmade robot ... read more

July 13, 2016 — A researcher has discovered how to control multiple robotic drones using the human brain. A controller wears a skull cap outfitted with 128 electrodes wired to a computer. The device records ... read more

Playing Action Video Games Boosts Visual Motor Skill Underlying Driving

July 13, 2016 — Playing action-based video games may boost players' ability to coordinate incoming visual information with their motor control, a skill critical to many real-world behaviors including driving, ... read more

July 13, 2016 — An analysis of ant colony behavior could yield better algorithms for network communication, say investigators. Biologists have long suspected that ants base their population-density estimates on the ... read more

Advancing Self-Driving Car Design, Other Shared Human And Machine-Controlled Systems

July 13, 2016 — Computer scientists have described a new approach to managing the challenge of transferring control between a human and an autonomous ... read more

July 12, 2016 — A technique that allows humanmade DNA shapes to be placed wherever desired -- to within a margin of error of just 20 nanometers -- now removes a major hurdle for the large-scale integration of ... read more

July 8, 2016 — A team of scientists has shown how the natural movement of bacteria could be harnessed to assemble and power microscopic 'windfarms' -- or other human-made micromachines such as smartphone ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Researchers have created a robotic mimic of a stingray that's powered and guided by light-sensitive rat heart cells. The work exhibits a new method for building bio-inspired robots by means of ... read more

July 7, 2016 — When early terrestrial animals began moving about on mud and sand 360 million years ago, the powerful tails they used as fish may have been more important than scientists previously realized. ... read more

July 6, 2016 — Mathematicians have shown it is theoretically possible to design ideal climbing ropes to safely slow falling rock and mountain climbers like brakes decelerate a car. They hope someone develops a ... read more

Teaching Drones About the Birds and the Bees

July 4, 2016 — Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) of the future will be able to visually coordinate their flight and navigation just like birds and flying insects do, without needing human input, radar or even GPS ... read more

Grade-School Students Teach a Robot to Help Themselves Learn Geometry

June 30, 2016 — Researchers create rTAG, a tangible learning environment that utilizes teachable agent framing, together with a physical robotic agent to get students away from the traditional computer monitor, ... read more

June 28, 2016 — A team of engineers is looking to capitalize on the sense of smell in locusts to create new biorobotic sensing systems that could be used in homeland security ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Artificial intelligence recently won out during simulated aerial combat against US expert tacticians. Importantly, it did so using no more than the processing power available in a tiny, affordable ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Sometimes all it takes to get help from someone is to wave at them, or point. Now the same is true for robots. Researchers have completed work on a project aimed at enabling robots to cooperate with ... read more

June 24, 2016 — A scientist has helped develop an innovative mathematical model for exploring why some individuals evolve to be genetically programmed to be nice, while others stay ... read more

June 22, 2016 — Physicists in Innsbruck have realized the first quantum simulation of lattice gauge theories, building a bridge between high-energy theory and atomic physics. Research teams describe how they ... read more

June 22, 2016 — What must an intelligent apartment provide in order to make everyday life safe, healthy, and comfortable? Robotics experts have developed the service robot Floka. Floka is fitted with a new ... read more

Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Friday, April 22, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Saturday, April 16, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, April 7, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Tuesday, March 22, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016