Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
February 13, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:11am EST

More Bizarre Things: Computers & Math
February 13, 2016

Ten Fingers Not Needed for Fast Typing

Feb. 9, 2016 — The number of fingers does not determine typing speed, new study shows. People using self-taught typing strategies were found to be as fast as trained ... read more

Jan. 4, 2016 — Our choices seem to be freer than previously thought. Using computer-based brain experiments, researchers studied the decision-making processes involved in voluntary movements. The question was: Is ... read more

Dec. 29, 2015 — Say hello to Nadine, a "receptionist" at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore. She is friendly, and will greet you back. Next time you meet her, she will remember your name and ... read more

Dec. 23, 2015 — The back of a tiger could have been a blank canvas. Instead, nature painted the big cat with parallel stripes, evenly spaced and perpendicular to the spine. Scientists don't know exactly how ... read more

Snake Bellies Help Scientists Get a Grip

Dec. 17, 2015 — A new study sheds light on how snakes' sharp-edged belly keels improve climbing abilities, which could lead to bio-inspired robotic designs and new methods to prevent snake ... read more

Understanding Body Language of Mice

Dec. 16, 2015 — Mouse behavior naturally divides into movement motifs lasting less than a second. These 'behavioral syllables' can be reused by the brain to achieve specific ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — Thanks to a new revolutionary laser printing nanotechnology, it is now possible to print this article in color on an area no bigger than a hair, say ... read more

Dec. 15, 2015 — The enduring popularity of and interest in droids like C-3PO and R2-D2 speaks to the fascination many people have with robotics and artificial intelligence. Although no one will have their own C-3PO ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — Most people can tell if you're angry based on the way you're acting. Professor Jeffrey Jenkins can tell if you're angry by the way you move a computer mouse.The information systems ... read more

Dec. 11, 2015 — A pair of socks embedded with miniaturized microbial fuel cells and fueled with urine pumped by the wearer's footsteps has powered a wireless transmitter to send a signal to a PC. This is the ... read more

Dec. 10, 2015 — A team of scientists has developed an algorithm that captures our learning abilities, enabling computers to recognize and draw simple visual concepts that are mostly indistinguishable from those ... read more

Dec. 10, 2015 — By studying videos from high-stakes court cases, researchers are building unique lie-detecting software based on real-world ... read more

Quantum Physics Problem Proved Unsolvable

Dec. 9, 2015 — A mathematical problem underlying fundamental questions in particle and quantum physics is provably unsolvable, according to scientists. It is the first major problem in physics for which such a ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — Why send a message back in time, but lock it so that no one can ever read the contents? Because it may be the key to solving currently intractable problems. That's the claim of an international ... read more

Dec. 8, 2015 — People are less willing to rely on their knowledge and say they know something when they have access to the Internet, suggesting that our connection to the web is affecting how we ... read more

Text Messages That End in a Period Seen as Less Sincere

Dec. 8, 2015 — Participants in a study read a series of exchanges that appeared either as text messages or as handwritten notes. Based on the participants’ responses, text messages that ended with a period were ... read more

Dec. 7, 2015 — Researchers have reconstructed 3-D models of celebrities such as Tom Hanks from large Internet photo collections. The models can deliver speeches that the real actor never performed - one step toward ... read more

In Social Movements, 'Slactivists' Matter

Dec. 7, 2015 — People who casually like or retweet activist content on social media are often criticized as 'slacktivists.' But in analyzing millions of tweets surrounding social protests, researchers ... read more

Dec. 7, 2015 — Researchers have, for the first time, harnessed the molecular machinery of living systems to power an integrated circuit from ATP, the energy currency of life. They achieved this by integrating a ... read more

Dec. 3, 2015 — Researchers have developed power paper -- a new material with an outstanding ability to store energy. The material consists of nanocellulose and a conductive ... read more

Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, January 4, 2016
Tuesday, December 29, 2015
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Monday, December 7, 2015
Thursday, December 3, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Sunday, November 22, 2015
Friday, November 20, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Friday, November 6, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Friday, October 30, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Thursday, October 15, 2015
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Friday, October 9, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Thursday, October 1, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Thursday, September 17, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015