Human Quirks: Health & Medicine
May 29, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 3:30am EDT

More Human Quirks: Health & Medicine
May 29, 2017

Virtual Humans Help Aspiring Doctors Learn Empathy

Apr. 27, 2017 — Delivering bad news in a caring way -- and coping with a patient's reaction -- is a key skill for doctors. Intuitive technology is helping medical students learn the best ... read more

Skin Stem Cells Used to Generate New Brain Cells

Apr. 25, 2017 — Using human skin cells, neurobiologists have created a method to generate one of the principle cell types of the brain called microglia, which play a key role in preserving the function of neural ... read more

Apr. 10, 2017 — Scientists have succeeded in growing miniature functional models of the lining of the womb (uterus) in culture. These organoids, as they are known, could provide new insights into the early stages of ... read more

Apr. 6, 2017 — Synthetic biologists have engineered gut bacteria capable of sensing colitis in mice. The research points the way to new experiments for studying how gut bacteria and human hosts interact at a ... read more

Love It or Hate It: Marmite May Affect Brain Function

Apr. 5, 2017 — A potential link between eating Marmite and activity in the brain has been identified by researchers, through the apparent increase of a chemical messenger associated with healthy brain function. ... read more

Apr. 4, 2017 — Michelangelo often surreptitiously inserted pagan symbols into his works of art, many of them possibly associated with anatomical representations. A new analysis suggests that Michelangelo may have ... read more

Apr. 3, 2017 — A new study finds that a noninvasive electromagnetic brain stimulation technique helps obese people lose weight, partly by changing the composition of their intestinal bacteria -- the so-called gut ... read more

Technique for 'Three-Parent Baby' Revealed

Apr. 3, 2017 — Details of a pioneering IVF technique using mitochondrial replacement therapy (MRT) have been published, giving hope to those families with inheritable mitochondrial disorders that they may be able ... read more

Mar. 30, 2017 — Blind tadpoles were able to process visual information from eyes grafted onto their tails after being treated with a small molecule neurotransmitter drug that augmented innervation, integration, and ... read more

Mar. 28, 2017 — A miniature female reproductive tract that fits in the palm of your hand has now been developed by researchers. It could eventually change the future of research and treatment of diseases in ... read more

Researchers Turn Urine Into Research Tools

Mar. 28, 2017 — Researchers have developed a breakthrough technique to harvest cells directly from urine, and grow them into durable, clinically relevant stem cells to study Down ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have developed a new method that can be used to construct custom hybrid structures using DNA and proteins. The method opens new opportunities for fundamental research in cell biology and ... read more

Mar. 23, 2017 — Scientists have created a new technique that simplifies the production of human brain and muscle cells -- allowing millions of functional cells to be generated in just a few days. The results open ... read more

Mar. 22, 2017 — Researchers face a fundamental challenge as they seek to scale up human tissue regeneration from small lab samples to full-size tissues and organs: how to establish a vascular system that delivers ... read more

Research Reveals How Family History Can Affect Your Memory of Hangovers

Mar. 20, 2017 — People with a family history of alcoholism are already known to be at a greater risk of developing a drinking problem, but new research has found they are also more likely to hold onto the painful ... read more

Mar. 15, 2017 — A less strenuous form of exercise known as whole-body vibration (WBV) can mimic the muscle and bone health benefits of regular exercise in mice, according to a new study. WBV consists of a person ... read more

Mar. 13, 2017 — Research reveals likelihood of finding and identifying Mary Jane Kelly -- and using DNA to determine her true ... read more

Mar. 8, 2017 — Physicists have designed a handheld device inspired by the sonic screwdriver in Doctor Who and the tricorder in Star Trek that will use the power of MRI and mass spectrometry to perform a chemical ... read more

Mar. 7, 2017 — Concrete links between the symptoms of autism and synesthesia have been discovered and clarified for the first time. New research finds similarities between the two conditions and suggests how they ... read more

Cognitive Enhancing Drugs Can Improve Chess Play, Scientists Show

Mar. 6, 2017 — The first study to both show and measure the effects of cognitive-enhancing drugs such as modafinil, methylphenidate (best known under the trade name Ritalin), and caffeine, on chess play is being ... read more

Thursday, April 27, 2017
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Monday, April 10, 2017
Thursday, April 6, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Monday, March 6, 2017
Thursday, March 2, 2017
Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, December 21, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Friday, November 4, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Friday, October 28, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Monday, October 3, 2016
Friday, September 30, 2016
Monday, September 26, 2016
Friday, September 23, 2016
Thursday, September 22, 2016
Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Thursday, September 15, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Monday, September 12, 2016
Friday, September 9, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Tuesday, August 30, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016