NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Ecology News
February 21, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 12:30pm EST

More Ecology News
February 21, 2017

New Research to Help Preserve the Benefits People Receive from Nature

Feb. 9, 2017 — Humans rely on things that come from nature -- including clean air, water, food, and timber. But how can we tell if these natural services that people rely on, are at risk of being lost, potentially ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — 'Relationships' in the soil become stronger during nature restoration. Although all major groups of soil life are already present in former agricultural soils, they are not really ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — High levels of selenium have been found in the tissues of fish in North Carolina lakes that receive coal ash effluents from power plants. Concentrations of selenium exceeding EPA-recommended ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — The Amazonian rainforest was transformed over 2,000 years ago by ancient people who built hundreds of large, mysterious ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Scientists have determined ecologically valuable areas within China. The country plans to protect these areas as part of an ecological ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — World-first research on the Great Barrier Reef has shown how 'weed-like' algae will kill vital coral because of increased carbon dioxide concentrations in the ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Remote cameras can transform monitoring wildlife and habitat biodiversity worldwide, outlines a new ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Climate change is one of the most powerful stressors threatening marine biomes. It is hoped that identifying areas of resilience will provide managers valuable decision-making guidance. A survey of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — A recent review of studies of submarine canyons has identified that they are at risk from human activities, and require better ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — While coastal wetlands serve as effective 'blue carbon' storage reservoirs for carbon dioxide, other marine ecosystems do not store carbon for long periods of time, a new analysis ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — China's rapid ascent to global economic superpower is taking a toll on some of its ancient ways. For millennia, people have patterned their lives and diets around the vast fisheries of the East ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — New research shows there may have been more nitrogen in the ocean between one and two billion years ago than previously thought, allowing marine organisms to proliferate at a time when ... read more

Jan. 30, 2017 — After more than a year of data collection, analysis and mapping, experts have published a comprehensive survey of Southeastern watersheds and the diverse aquatic wildlife that live in these ... read more

Challenging Traditional Theories on Organisms' 'Range Expansion'

Jan. 27, 2017 — As climate change and biological invasions continue to impact global biodiversity, scientists suggest that the way organisms move to new areas, called range expansion, can be impacted directly by ... read more

Jan. 26, 2017 — New remote sensing maps of the forest canopy in Peru identify new regions for conservation effort. Scientists used airborne laser-guided imaging spectroscopy, to identify preservation targets by ... read more

Jan. 25, 2017 — Mountain regions of the world are under direct threat from human-induced climate change which could radically alter these fragile habitats, warn an international team of ... read more

A Crab's Eye View of Rising Tides in a Changing World

Jan. 25, 2017 — Coastal ecosystems and aquifers will be greatly affected by climate change, not only from rising temperatures and more volatile weather, including changes in precipitation patterns, but also from sea ... read more

Synthetic Chemicals Understudied Drivers of Environmental Change

Jan. 24, 2017 — The growing use of synthetic chemicals, including pesticides and pharmaceuticals to attack unwanted organisms, has outpaced rising atmospheric CO2 concentrations and other agents of global change in ... read more

Jan. 24, 2017 — Researchers have found evidence of that climate change upends selection of face characteristics in the collared flycatcher. During the study the annual fitness selection on forehead patch size ... read more

Jan. 23, 2017 — Scientists have developed a 3,000-year record of the abundance of parrotfish and urchins on reefs from the Caribbean side of Panama to help unravel the cause of the alarming modern-day shift from ... read more

Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016