NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Ecology News
February 27, 2017

Latest Headlines
updated 4:31am EST

More Ecology News
February 27, 2017

Feb. 17, 2017 — New research provides compelling evidence that a group of strange-looking fish living near the mouth of the Congo River are evolving due to the intense hydraulics of the river's rapids and deep ... read more

Feb. 17, 2017 — Roads are causing rapid evolutionary change in wild populations of plants and animals according to a new paper. The study looks at the evolutionary changes that are being caused by the way roads ... read more

Scientists Find Evidence of Alaskan Ecosystem Health in Harlequin Ducks

Feb. 16, 2017 — Harlequin Ducks in coastal areas of Alaska’s Kodiak and Unalaska islands are exposed to environmental sources of mercury and that mercury concentrations in their blood are associated with their ... read more

How Much Biomass Grows in the Savannah?

Feb. 16, 2017 — The ability of the savannahs to store the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide is ultimately determined by the amount of aboveground woody biomass. So far, though, it has been difficult to measure this ... read more

Deep Reefs Unlikely to Save Shallow Coral Reefs

Feb. 15, 2017 — Often highlighted as important ecological refuges, deep sections of coral reefs (30-60 m depth) can offer protection from the full force of climate change-related impacts, such as intensifying storms ... read more

Feb. 15, 2017 — If degraded and logged areas of tropical forests are left to nature, the populations of certain endangered tree species are not able to recover. This applies in particular to trees with large fruit ... read more

Feb. 14, 2017 — Both species diversity and habitat diversity are critical to understand the functioning of ecosystems, scientists have concluded in a new ... read more

Feb. 13, 2017 — Biological invasions pose major threats to biodiversity, but little is known about how evolution might alter their impacts over time. Now, Rutgers University scientists have performed the first study ... read more

New Research to Help Preserve the Benefits People Receive from Nature

Feb. 9, 2017 — Humans rely on things that come from nature -- including clean air, water, food, and timber. But how can we tell if these natural services that people rely on, are at risk of being lost, potentially ... read more

Feb. 8, 2017 — 'Relationships' in the soil become stronger during nature restoration. Although all major groups of soil life are already present in former agricultural soils, they are not really ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — High levels of selenium have been found in the tissues of fish in North Carolina lakes that receive coal ash effluents from power plants. Concentrations of selenium exceeding EPA-recommended ... read more

Feb. 7, 2017 — The Amazonian rainforest was transformed over 2,000 years ago by ancient people who built hundreds of large, mysterious ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — Scientists have determined ecologically valuable areas within China. The country plans to protect these areas as part of an ecological ... read more

Feb. 3, 2017 — World-first research on the Great Barrier Reef has shown how 'weed-like' algae will kill vital coral because of increased carbon dioxide concentrations in the ... read more

Feb. 2, 2017 — Remote cameras can transform monitoring wildlife and habitat biodiversity worldwide, outlines a new ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — Climate change is one of the most powerful stressors threatening marine biomes. It is hoped that identifying areas of resilience will provide managers valuable decision-making guidance. A survey of ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — A recent review of studies of submarine canyons has identified that they are at risk from human activities, and require better ... read more

Feb. 1, 2017 — While coastal wetlands serve as effective 'blue carbon' storage reservoirs for carbon dioxide, other marine ecosystems do not store carbon for long periods of time, a new analysis ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — China's rapid ascent to global economic superpower is taking a toll on some of its ancient ways. For millennia, people have patterned their lives and diets around the vast fisheries of the East ... read more

Jan. 31, 2017 — New research shows there may have been more nitrogen in the ocean between one and two billion years ago than previously thought, allowing marine organisms to proliferate at a time when ... read more

Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Monday, February 13, 2017
Thursday, February 9, 2017
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
Friday, February 3, 2017
Thursday, February 2, 2017
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Monday, January 23, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017
Friday, January 6, 2017
Thursday, January 5, 2017
Wednesday, January 4, 2017
Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Friday, December 30, 2016
Monday, December 26, 2016
Friday, December 23, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016
Monday, December 19, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Monday, December 12, 2016
Tuesday, December 6, 2016
Monday, December 5, 2016
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016
Monday, November 14, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016
Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Monday, November 7, 2016
Monday, October 31, 2016
Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016