Ecology News
August 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:28am EDT

More Ecology News
August 25, 2016

Aug. 9, 2016 — The Gulf of Maine coastline, historically home to one of the richest shellfish populations in the US, is undergoing a dramatic change, with once-flourishing wild blue mussels all but disappearing, ... read more

Double Whammy for Important Baltic Seaweed

Aug. 9, 2016 — Rising seawater temperatures and increased nutrient concentrations could lead to a decline of the bladder wrack Fucus vesiculosus in the Baltic Sea in the future, according to experiments conducted ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Douglas fir trees are consistently sensitive to drought conditions that occur throughout the species' range in the United States, according to a ... read more

Integrating Ecological Analysis Into Massive Sequencing Studies

Aug. 8, 2016 — Researchers have proposed a change in the way massive sequencing studies into the microbial composition of biological samples are carried out. Their new article suggests that the data should be ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — All living toothed whales rely upon echoes of their own calls to navigate and hunt underwater, a skill that works best in conjunction with high-frequency hearing. Now, researchers who studied one of ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Despite reported differences in appearance and behavior, DNA evidence finds that Namibian desert elephants share the same DNA as African savanna elephants. However, Namibian desert-dwelling elephants ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Scientists have revealed how a tiny Arctic microbe, crucial to shaping the surface of glaciers, survives in such extreme ... read more

Creating Bigger, Better and More Joined-Up Habitat Networks

Aug. 2, 2016 — Scientists have developed a new 'route planner' tool that could help conservationists aid the movement of species as they adapt to a changing ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Could periodic forest thinning and prescribed burns intended to prevent dangerous "megafires" help conserve owls in the long run? Or are those benefits outweighed by their short-term harm ... read more

Managing Uncertainty: How Soil Carbon Feedbacks Could Affect Climate Change

Aug. 2, 2016 — A new article makes the case that developing meaningful climate projections depends upon a better understanding of the role of 'soil carbon ... read more

Impact of Extreme Weather Events on Striped Bass

Aug. 2, 2016 — Thanks to global warming, waterways that make up important habitat for fish are likely to experience an increased frequency of such extreme conditions. Researchers wanted to know the impact of severe ... read more

Mountain Environments More Vulnerable to Climate Change Than Previously Reported

Aug. 2, 2016 — New research by a forest landscape ecology professor shows that organisms will face more hardships as they relocate when climate change makes their current homes ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — One ecologist wants to change the way we think about prescribed burns. The professor says he can harness extreme fire to restore grasslands on the Great Plains -- and he has created a small drone ... read more

Study: Bioenergy Decisions Involve Wildlife Habitat and Land Use Trade-Offs

Aug. 1, 2016 — New research finds that choosing how to meet bioenergy goals means making trade-offs about which wildlife species and ecosystems will be most impacted. The work focuses on the southeastern United ... read more

Life on the Edge: How Forest Fragmentation Is Impacting on Amphibian and Reptile Species

Aug. 1, 2016 — Experts call for new conservation guidelines after research shows 90% of tropical amphibian and reptile species are affected by the 'edge effect' and forest islands less than 500m in ... read more

Oceans Are Full of Barriers for Small Organisms

Aug. 1, 2016 — Subtle and short-lived differences in ocean salinity or temperature function as physical barriers for phytoplankton, and result in a patchy distribution of the oceans' most important food ... read more

Animal 'Roles' Could Provide Key to Accurate Forest Restoration Findings, Says New Study

July 29, 2016 — Replanting cleared forests can recover animal communities and important ecological processes relatively quickly, says a new study. But, warn the research team, the traditional way of evaluating such ... read more

July 29, 2016 — Scientists discovered impressive abundance and diversity among the creatures living on the seafloor in the Clarion-Clipperton Zone -- an area in the equatorial Pacific Ocean being targeted for ... read more

How Invasive Plants Influence an Ecosystem

July 28, 2016 — A research team uses the example of the acacia to show how interaction between native and invasive species varies. Their findings are outlined in a new ... read more

Forests, Species on Four Continents Threatened by Palm Oil Expansion

July 27, 2016 — As palm oil production expands from Southeast Asia into the Americas and Africa, vulnerable tropical forests and species on four continents face increased risk of loss, a new study finds. The largest ... read more

Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Tuesday, June 28, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Thursday, June 23, 2016
Wednesday, June 22, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Saturday, May 7, 2016
Friday, May 6, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
Monday, May 2, 2016