Ecology News
May 4, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 1:58am EDT

More Ecology News
May 4, 2016

Remote Sensing Maps Threats to Malaysia’s Mangroves

May 2, 2016 — Remote sensing data reveals land use and land cover changes over an 18-year period at one of the best-managed mangrove forests in the ... read more

Landscape Ecology Must Play a Role in Policymaking

Apr. 27, 2016 — Landscape ecology considers the influence of time and space on environmental patterns. Because of this focus, it is uniquely positioned to inform crucial policy decisions -- in particular, those ... read more

US National Forests and Grasslands Could Yield Less Water in Future Climate

Apr. 21, 2016 — A warmer climate may lead to higher growth and productivity on US national forests and grasslands, but researchers say this could reduce quantities of freshwater flowing from most of these lands, ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers have shown for the first time that some corals surviving bleaching events can acquire and host new types of algae from their environment, which may make the coral more heat-tolerant and ... read more

Apr. 20, 2016 — Researchers working on the African flowering plant genus Macowania -- mostly endemic to the Drakensberg of South Africa and Lesotho, and a relative of the sunflower -- have shown that one of its ... read more

Apr. 19, 2016 — Impacts associated with shoreline armoring can scale up to have cumulative, large-scale effects on the characteristics of Salish Sea shorelines and the diversity of life they support, new research ... read more

Feeding the World Without Further Deforestation Is Possible

Apr. 19, 2016 — Deforestation is necessary to feed the growing global population – this is a common belief that has now been disproven by researchers. In a new study, they present results that reveal that it is ... read more

30 Years After Chernobyl, Camera Study Reveals Wildlife Abundance in Chernobyl Exclusion Zone

Apr. 18, 2016 — While humans are now scarce in the Chernobyl Exclusion Zone, continued studies--including a just-published camera study--validate findings that wildlife populations are abundant at the site. The ... read more

Apr. 15, 2016 — Scientists have described three new species of mouse lemurs. They live in the South and East of Madagascar and increase the number of known mouse lemur species to 24. As little as 20 years ago, only ... read more

Apr. 14, 2016 — Researchers visited Christmas Island, the world's largest coral atoll, to measure the effects of El Nino. Eighty percent of the coral is dead, they report. Corals are communities of animals that ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Researchers have created a novel method using micro-computed tomography scans to expose how bioerosion and secondary accretion of corals -- critical processes for reef sustainability -- respond to ... read more

Apr. 13, 2016 — Plastic pollution limits the mobility of water fleas, new research indicates. Microplastics are tiny particles of plastic less than five millimeters in size. They are polluting rivers and ponds along ... read more

Apr. 12, 2016 — Researchers warn that the extinction to two amphibian species -- the southern toad and the southern leopard frog -- may be hastened by the combined effects of climate change and copper-contaminated ... read more

Top Predators Play an Important Role in Human-Dominated Ecosystems

Apr. 11, 2016 — Also in human-dominated landscapes large carnivores such as brown bears or wolves -- so-called top predators -- play a crucial role in the regulation of wildlife populations. The study is one of few ... read more

When Life Returned After a Volcanic Mass Extinction

Apr. 8, 2016 — A new study used fossils and mercury isotopes from volcanic gas deposited in ancient proto-Pacific Ocean sediment deposits in Nevada to determine when life recovered following the end-Triassic mass ... read more

Apr. 8, 2016 — Ecologists have issued a warning of underdocumented results of ecological restorations. The researchers show that continuous and systematic evaluations of cost-efficiency, planning, implementations ... read more

Current Methods Cannot Predict Damage to Coral Reefs

Apr. 6, 2016 — Coral reefs are severely endangered by a warming and increasingly acidic ocean. Although species-level effects have been studied, these pieces of the puzzle have not been assembled into a broader ... read more

Apr. 6, 2016 — A new study has found that multiple stressors might be too much for corals. The findings have important implications for the resilience of coral reefs to climate ... read more

New Database Gives Scientists Hope for Helping Coral Reefs

Apr. 6, 2016 — With the future of coral reefs threatened now more than ever, researchers have announced the release of a new global database that enables scientists and managers to more quickly and effectively help ... read more

Apr. 5, 2016 — Urban gardeners have the potential to contribute to ecosystem services by growing a diverse array of plants that could benefit wildlife. In Chicago, African American, Chinese-origin, and ... read more

Monday, May 2, 2016
Wednesday, April 27, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Friday, April 15, 2016
Thursday, April 14, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Friday, April 8, 2016
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Monday, April 4, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Friday, March 25, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Friday, March 18, 2016
Thursday, March 17, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Thursday, March 10, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Thursday, March 3, 2016
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Friday, February 26, 2016
Thursday, February 25, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Friday, February 19, 2016
Thursday, February 18, 2016
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Friday, February 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
Monday, February 8, 2016
Friday, February 5, 2016
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Friday, January 29, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Wednesday, January 27, 2016
Tuesday, January 26, 2016