Energy and the Environment News
August 31, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 4:29am EDT

More Energy and the Environment News
August 31, 2016

Plug-in Hybrids Drive Electrically Half of the Time

Aug. 16, 2016 — Plug-in hybrids drive electrically with power from the grid 55% of the time. Battery electric vehicles are driven more in total and in everyday ... read more

Warming Climate Likely to Have 'Minor' Impact on Power Plant Output

Aug. 15, 2016 — Future climate warming will likely cause only minor cuts in energy output at most US coal- or gas-fired power plants, a new study finds. The study -- based on records of changes in output levels and ... read more

Aug. 15, 2016 — Scientists have developed a novel method that could yield lower-cost, higher-efficiency systems for water heating in residential buildings, outlines a new report. The newly termed ... read more

Aug. 12, 2016 — An international team's findings provide important clues for designing polymer solar cells approaching target for power conversion efficiency and optimized for roll-to-roll ... read more

Wind Power Fiercer Than Expected

Aug. 11, 2016 — As the US' first wind farm is installed in Rhode Island this week, a new study shows offshore wind may be even more powerful and turbulent than expected in the Northeast. The findings could have ... read more

World Should Consider Limits to Future Internet Expansion to Control Energy Consumption

Aug. 11, 2016 — The world should consider ways to limit data growth on the internet to prevent run-away energy consumption and help limit carbon emissions, say leading computer ... read more

Getting to Know More About Sun Storms

Aug. 10, 2016 — A violent solar eruption can disrupt Earth’s magnetic field, which in turn can interfere with power grids. Electrical power sector experts around the world are making contingency ... read more

Strategies Needed for Light-Duty Vehicle Greenhouse Gas Reduction

Aug. 9, 2016 — Solutions including electric and hydrogen fuel cell vehicles, vehicle connectivity, and automation are ... read more

Aug. 4, 2016 — Scientists have developed an oxygen-assisted aluminum/carbon dioxide power cell that uses electrochemical reactions to both sequester the carbon dioxide and produce ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — Turning carbon dioxide into stored energy sounds like science fiction: researchers have long tried to find simple ways to convert this greenhouse gas into fuels and other useful chemicals. Now, ... read more

Aug. 3, 2016 — By investigating 'fossilized' sand cylinders made by lightning strikes, sometimes thousands of years old, a geology professor's study provides a unique history of lightning and a new ... read more

Aug. 2, 2016 — Thanks to a reaction that resembles a sort of proton pinball game, a thin layer of moisture on the surface of a catalysts can improve the efficiency of fuel cells, devices used to transform chemical ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — If you want to save on your monthly electric bill and reduce your greenhouse gas emissions at the same time, you might buy a new, energy-efficient refrigerator. Or water heater. Or clothes dryer. But ... read more

Modeling Sunlight Harvesting in Nanostructures

July 30, 2016 — To create the next generation of solar panels, scientists must model how complex interactions occur. Modeling across different scales provides needed insights. In a review article, scientists ... read more

July 30, 2016 — Researchers have found a way to convert carbon dioxide into a usable energy source. Produced by the burning of fossil fuels in power plants and car engines, carbon dioxide continues to accumulate in ... read more

July 29, 2016 — Climate and energy scientists have developed a new method to pinpoint which electrical service areas will be most vulnerable as populations grow and temperatures ... read more

July 28, 2016 — Researchers have engineered a potentially game-changing solar cell that cheaply and efficiently converts atmospheric carbon dioxide directly into usable hydrocarbon fuel, using only sunlight for ... read more

July 27, 2016 — A hazy sky and dirty cars are well-known consequences of Saharan dust carried to Europe by air currents. As part of the “PerduS” project, researchers are currently examining how dust – as haze ... read more

July 27, 2016 — Perovskite solar cells are the rising star in the photovoltaic landscape. Since their invention, less than ten years ago, their efficiency has doubled twice and it is now over 22% -- an astonishing ... read more

July 27, 2016 — A new wrinkle on an old technology -- solid-state thermophotovoltaics (TPV) -- could provide a high-efficiency alternative for directly converting high-temperature heat from concentrated solar ... read more

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016
Friday, June 3, 2016
Thursday, June 2, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Friday, May 27, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Friday, May 20, 2016
Thursday, May 19, 2016
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Thursday, May 12, 2016
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Monday, May 9, 2016
Thursday, May 5, 2016