NEW: Find great deals on the latest gadgets and more in the ScienceDaily Store!
Energy and the Environment News
September 28, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 2:58am EDT

More Energy and the Environment News
September 28, 2016

Stronger Turbine Blades With Molybdenum Silicides

Sep. 23, 2016 — Molybdenum silicides can improve the efficiency of turbine blades in ultrahigh-temperature combustion systems, researchers have ... read more

Nine Innovative Approaches That Utilities Are Using to Plan for Increased Rooftop Solar

Sep. 20, 2016 — A new report surveys utility planning practices from roughly 30 studies across the United States. The rapid growth of rooftop solar has not been distributed equally across U.S. utility territories, ... read more

Sep. 8, 2016 — The mining and milling of Canadian uranium contributes very few greenhouse gases to nuclear power’s already low emissions, a research group has ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Industrial interest is expected in a vehicular fuel cell membrane able to excrete protons at the most effective temperature ranges, allowing electrons to form an unimpeded electric ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — 'Promising' and 'remarkable' are two words a scientist has used to describe recent research results on organolead mixed-halide perovskites. Perovskites are optically active, ... read more

Sep. 7, 2016 — Scientists have reengineered the fundamental process of photosynthesis to power useful chemical reactions that could be used to produce biofuels, pharmaceuticals and fine ... read more

Incubating Climate Change Research

Sep. 7, 2016 — A group of scientists have designed and built an inexpensive incubator that could boost research into how animals and plants will be affected by climate ... read more

Insights from Higher Wind and Solar Generation in Eastern Grid, USA

Sep. 6, 2016 — A new study used high-performance computing capabilities and innovative visualization tools to model, in unprecedented detail, how the power grid of the eastern United States could operationally ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — Large quantities of fish are consumed in India on a daily basis, which generates a huge amount of fish 'biowaste' materials. In an attempt to do something positive with this biowaste, a ... read more

New Tool Can Calculate Renewable Energy Output Anywhere in the World

Sep. 6, 2016 — An interactive web tool to estimate the amount of energy that could be generated by wind or solar farms at any location has now been created by ... read more

Sep. 6, 2016 — A novel, low-cost solar thermal energy conversion system has been developed that can easily generate steam from sunlight. The solar conversion system can help make technologies that rely on steam, ... read more

A New Technique Opens Up Advanced Solar Cells

Sep. 2, 2016 — Using a novel spectroscopic technique, scientists have made a much-needed breakthrough in cutting-edge ... read more

Sep. 1, 2016 — Researchers have developed a tough new catalyst that carries out a solar-powered reaction 100 times faster than ever before, works better as time goes on and stands up to ... read more

Sep. 1, 2016 — Oxygen inhibits hydrogenases, a group of enzymes that are able to produce and split hydrogen. This degradation is fatal for possible biotechnological applications of these enzymes for the production ... read more

Aug. 29, 2016 — A team of researchers has developed a new solar cell that combines two different layers of sunlight-absorbing material to harvest a broader range of the sun's energy and that costs less than its ... read more

Chemists Develop Promising Cheap, Sustainable Battery for Grid Energy Storage

Aug. 26, 2016 — Chemists have developed a long-lasting zinc-ion battery that costs half the price of current lithium-ion batteries and could help enable communities to shift away from traditional power plants and ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Every year, humans advance climate change and global warming by injecting about 30 billion tons of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. Scientists believe they've found a way to convert all these ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Large swarms of jellyfish reach the coast of Israel when the sea temperature ranges between 28.2 and 30 degrees Celsius and during the full moon, according to a new study. The study reveals, for the ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — Solar energy can be stored by converting it into hydrogen. But current methods are too expensive and don't last long. Using commercially available solar cells and none of the usual rare metals, ... read more

Aug. 25, 2016 — A new study challenges the widely held assumption that biofuels such as ethanol and biodiesel are inherently carbon ... read more

Friday, September 23, 2016
Tuesday, September 20, 2016
Thursday, September 8, 2016
Wednesday, September 7, 2016
Tuesday, September 6, 2016
Friday, September 2, 2016
Thursday, September 1, 2016
Monday, August 29, 2016
Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 9, 2016
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Tuesday, August 2, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Saturday, July 30, 2016
Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Friday, July 8, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Monday, July 4, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Friday, June 24, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Monday, June 20, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Thursday, June 16, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Monday, June 13, 2016
Thursday, June 9, 2016
Wednesday, June 8, 2016
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
Monday, June 6, 2016