Drought News
September 25, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 11:21pm EDT

More Drought News
September 25, 2016

Sep. 5, 2016 — Over the past decades forests in different parts of the world have suffered sudden massive tree mortality. Now an international team of scientists has found a way to spot from satellite images which ... read more

Aug. 11, 2016 — A plant molecule once regarded as a biological dead end now offers new leads into the development of hardier plants, scientists ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Douglas fir trees are consistently sensitive to drought conditions that occur throughout the species' range in the United States, according to a ... read more

Aug. 8, 2016 — Researchers are rethinking plant breeding strategies to improve the development of new high-yielding, stress-tolerant cereal varieties. They say small gene-regulating molecules found in plant cells ... read more

Hidden, Local Climate Impacts of Drought-Friendly Vegetation

Aug. 5, 2016 — Scientists determined that if a many Los Angeles property owners switch their lawns to drought-tolerant landscaping, it could increase local temperatures and exacerbate heat waves, and would have ... read more

Early Snowmelt Reduces Forests' Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide Uptake, Decreases Streamflow Volume

Aug. 3, 2016 — Earlier, slower snowmelt hinders a subalpine forest's ability to regulate atmospheric carbon dioxide and reduces streamflow, a phenomenon with potentially drastic consequences for agriculture, ... read more

Aug. 1, 2016 — One ecologist wants to change the way we think about prescribed burns. The professor says he can harness extreme fire to restore grasslands on the Great Plains -- and he has created a small drone ... read more

Morphology Suggests an Endangered Goby in Southern California Is a New Species

July 27, 2016 — An endangered fish along the coast of California -- the tidewater goby -- may actually be two species rather than one, according a new ... read more

July 21, 2016 — This is the first study to show that deciduous tree water uptake of snowmelt water represents a large but overlooked aspect of the water balance in boreal watersheds. For the boreal forest of Alaska ... read more

July 19, 2016 — International research has found how plants, such as rice and wheat, sense and respond to extreme drought stress, in a breakthrough that could lead to the development of next-generation drought-proof ... read more

July 11, 2016 — With a growing world population and a changing climate, understanding how agriculturally important plants respond to drought is crucial. A team has discovered a strategy employed by grasses in ... read more

July 7, 2016 — Breeding populations of white-naped cranes have decreased by 60 percent in Ulz River basin, an important stronghold for the species in Eastern Mongolia, a new study ... read more

July 6, 2016 — A recent drought completely shut down the Amazon Basin's carbon sink, by killing trees and slowing their growth, a ground-breaking study has ... read more

July 5, 2016 — A combination of characteristics is the key to success for the genetic improvement of beans to make them resistant to droughts, say scientists, whose research can improve crop yield in Central and ... read more

June 30, 2016 — The Mediterranean Basin has been witness to increased droughts for at least five decades, but has this always been the case? A research team has been successful in reconstructing, for the first time, ... read more

El Niño Could Drive Intense Season for Amazon Fires

June 29, 2016 — The long-lasting effects of El Niño are projected to cause an intense fire season in the Amazon, according to the 2016 seasonal forecast from ... read more

June 27, 2016 — Scientists have analyzed the genomes of plants that grow in harsh, serpentine soils to find out how they survive . It appears that they have used two strategies: adapting to their environment through ... read more

June 21, 2016 — Future food security depends on a variety of factors -- but better soil data could substantially help improve projections of future crop yields, shows new ... read more

Which Animals Will Cope With Climate Change Droughts?

June 21, 2016 — Scientists believe the current rate of climate change is unprecedented in Earth's history and will lead to more and worse droughts in many areas. Now a research team may have found a way to ... read more

Animal Hormone Is Involved in Plant Stress Memory

June 17, 2016 — Regulating melatonin production in plants via drought priming could be a promising approach to enhancing abiotic stress tolerance of crops in future climate scenarios, report ... read more

Monday, September 5, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Monday, August 8, 2016
Friday, August 5, 2016
Wednesday, August 3, 2016
Monday, August 1, 2016
Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Thursday, July 21, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 11, 2016
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Tuesday, July 5, 2016
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016
Monday, June 27, 2016
Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Friday, June 17, 2016
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Thursday, May 26, 2016
Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
Tuesday, May 3, 2016
Monday, April 25, 2016
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Monday, April 18, 2016
Wednesday, April 13, 2016
Thursday, March 31, 2016
Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Monday, March 28, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015