Drought News
April 30, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:21pm EDT

More Drought News
April 30, 2016

Impacts of Salinity Determined for Agave

Mar. 28, 2016 — Hydroponic experiments evaluated the effects of salinity on biomass accumulation and nutrient levels of four types of Agave. Several Agave species showed variation in response to high levels of ... read more

Mar. 21, 2016 — In much of France and Switzerland, the best wine years are traditionally those with an exceptionally hot summer and late-season drought. Now, a study out this week shows that warming climate has ... read more

Mar. 16, 2016 — Researchers recently released 40 varieties of early-flowering sorghum bred for use in cooler, more temperate areas. These early-flowering varieties of sorghum are critical for the spread of the crop ... read more

Mar. 15, 2016 — The circular, barren patches of land, forming a highly regular pattern over the dry grassland of Namibia, were thought to be the only ones of their kind anywhere in the world. But a new study shows ... read more

Mar. 14, 2016 — Researchers have uncovered a family of proteins that play a vital role in coordinating the cellular response of plants to various environmental stresses, in particular drought and temperature ... read more

Wildland Fire Emissions Worse in Polluted Areas

Mar. 11, 2016 — When plant matter burns, it releases a complex mixture of gases and aerosols into the atmosphere. In forests subject to air pollution, these emissions may be more toxic than in areas of good air ... read more

Mar. 8, 2016 — Over thousands of years, most forests in the eastern United States evolved with frequent fire, which promoted tree species and ecosystems that were both fire and drought resistant. In little more ... read more

Urgent Need to Transform Key Food Producing Regions in Africa by 2025

Mar. 7, 2016 — Agriculture in parts of sub-Saharan Africa must undergo significant transformation if it is to continue to produce key food crops, according to a new study. The study shows that maize, beans and ... read more

Feb. 29, 2016 — Grasslands across North America will face higher summer temperatures and widespread drought by the end of the century, according to a new study. But those negative effects in vegetation growth will ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — An Ibero-American team of scientists decoded the Mesoamerican variety of the bean genome. Sequencing such a common source of plant-based proteins for people around the globe will be key not only for ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — The first computer simulation that grows realistic forests down to the branches, leaves and roots of individual trees has been developed by scientists. They are using the simulation to determine how ... read more

Feb. 24, 2016 — A new long-term research study shows the potential for biomass production from perennial grasslands in the Conservation Reserve Program (CRP). Biomass yield varied with nitrogen fertilization, ... read more

Feb. 22, 2016 — Forests across the United States are feeling the heat from increasing drought and climate change, according to a study by scientists from 14 research institutions. While the effects have been most ... read more

Large-Scale Environmental Variation Affects Reproduction and Survival of Plants

Feb. 22, 2016 — A new analysis looks at how rates of reproduction and survival of 26 shrub species with fire-dependent life cycles in the Cape Floristic Region in South Africa respond to environmental ... read more

Feb. 11, 2016 — A dynamic model that focuses on site scale conservation has been developed to give conservation decision-makers the capacity to assess multiple interacting stressors at the local scale, identify the ... read more

US Forest Service Releases Findings on the Effects of Drought for Forests, Rangelands

Feb. 1, 2016 — The US Forest Service has released a new report that provides a national assessment of peer-reviewed scientific research on the impacts of drought on US forests and rangelands. This report will help ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — With California in the fourth year of a historic drought, there is much controversy over how to supply cities, farms, and ecosystems with the water they need. Technology may help solve the ... read more

Feb. 1, 2016 — The native ferns that form a lush green understory in coastal redwood forests are well adapted to dry summers and periodic droughts, but California's current prolonged drought has taken a toll ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Worldwide responses to climate change could leave people worse off in the future according to a recent study. The paper discusses how certain adaptation strategies may have a negative impact on ... read more

Jan. 28, 2016 — Andean beans (for example, red kidney beans) were overlooked by researchers because other beans were easier to breed. However, researchers took notice of the Andean bean. They recognized its ... read more

Monday, March 28, 2016
Monday, March 21, 2016
Wednesday, March 16, 2016
Tuesday, March 15, 2016
Monday, March 14, 2016
Friday, March 11, 2016
Tuesday, March 8, 2016
Monday, March 7, 2016
Monday, February 29, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Monday, February 22, 2016
Thursday, February 11, 2016
Monday, February 1, 2016
Thursday, January 28, 2016
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
Monday, January 11, 2016
Friday, January 8, 2016
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Tuesday, January 5, 2016
Monday, December 28, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Monday, December 21, 2015
Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Friday, December 4, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Wednesday, November 11, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Monday, November 2, 2015
Sunday, November 1, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Monday, October 19, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Monday, October 5, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Monday, September 28, 2015
Friday, September 25, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Thursday, September 3, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Saturday, August 29, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Friday, August 14, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Thursday, July 23, 2015
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Thursday, July 9, 2015
Wednesday, July 8, 2015
Monday, June 22, 2015
Thursday, June 11, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Tuesday, June 9, 2015
Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Monday, May 11, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Monday, April 20, 2015
Thursday, April 9, 2015
Friday, April 3, 2015
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Thursday, March 26, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Monday, March 23, 2015
Friday, March 20, 2015