New! Sign up for our free email newsletter.

Drought News

April 16, 2024

Top Headlines

 

Plants with multiple sets of chromosomes, known as polyploids, are salt-tolerant or drought-resistant and often achieve higher yields. However, newly formed polyploid plants are often sterile or have reduced fertility and are unsuitable for breeding ...
Researchers have identified 14 genes that thale cress -- a plant commonly used in genetic investigations since its genome is well documented -- express more when responding to five specific stressors, as well as eight genes that the plant ...
Australia could soon see megadroughts that last for more than 20 years, according to new modelling. The researchers' bleak findings are before factoring in human impact on the climate since the Industrial Revolution. According to the scientists, the ...
Restored salmon habitat should resemble financial portfolios, offering fish diverse options for feeding and survival so that they can weather various conditions as the climate changes, a new study ...

Latest Headlines

updated 10:50pm EDT

Earlier Headlines

 

Three decades of data have informed a new Nebraska-led study that shows how the depletion of groundwater -- the same that many farmers rely on for irrigation -- can threaten food production amid ...

The so-called Rice Yellow Mottle Virus (for short: RYMV) is responsible for high crop losses in Africa, particularly among small-scale farmers. A research team has now produced rice lines that are ...

Peatlands are affected more by drought than expected. This is concerning, as these ecosystems are an important ally in the fight against climate change. Following long periods of drought, peat is ...

A global study shows that the effects of extreme drought -- which is expected to increase in frequency with climate change -- has been greatly underestimated for grasslands and shrublands. The ...

Wild North American grapes are now less of a mystery after researchers decoded and catalogued the genetic diversity of nine species of this valuable wine ...

The word 'drought' typically conjures images of parched soil, dust-swept prairies, depleted reservoirs, and dry creek beds, all the result of weeks or seasons of persistently dry ...

This holiday season brings surprising news about your Christmas tree. Scientists just discovered that globally, trees growing in wetter regions are more sensitive to drought. That means if your tree ...

White, wealthy neighborhoods in the LA area -- and likely around the world -- are about to start feeling the same heat that has plagued poorer, Hispanic neighborhoods for generations. A new study ...

Researchers have discovered that the waxy protective barrier around plants might play a role in sending chemical signals to other plants and ...

The San Joaquin Valley in California has experienced vast variability in climate extremes, with droughts and floods that were more severe and lasted longer than what has been seen in the modern ...

Quinoa and many other extremely resilient plants are covered with strange balloon-like 'bladders' that for 127 years were believed to be responsible for protecting them from drought and ...

Wildfires and drought have led to $11.2 billion in damages to privately held timberland in California, Oregon and Washington over the past two decades, a new Oregon State University study ...

Researchers studied how young trees respond to a hotter, drier climate. Their findings can help shape forest management policy and our understanding of how landscapes will ...

Adding crushed volcanic rock to farmland can pull carbon dioxide out of the air. In a field test, scientists found that the process works even in dry ...

A new study reveals how reduced water flows and rising atmospheric temperatures are set to heat our rivers -- creating major challenges for aquatic life, ecosystems, and ...

Now is the time to identify the conditions that cause plants to die. Doing so will allow us to better protect plants by choosing conservation targets more strategically, botanists ...

Despite steps toward decreasing deforestation, uncontrolled wildfires are threatening environmental gains in Brazilian Amazonia, one of the world's most critical carbon sinks and a region of ...

Ancient Maya reservoirs, which used aquatic plants to filter and clean the water, 'can serve as archetypes for natural, sustainable water systems to address future water needs.' The Maya ...

Reducing CO2 levels in the atmosphere will take more than cutting emissions -- we will also need to capture and store the excessive volumes of already-emitted carbon. A team of plant scientists argue ...

Trees depend on fungi for their well-being. As climate change and global warming cause higher temperatures and amplified drought, little is known about how these important fungi will respond. To ...

Monday, January 15, 2024

Friday, January 12, 2024

Wednesday, January 10, 2024

Monday, January 8, 2024

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Friday, December 15, 2023

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Thursday, November 30, 2023

Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Wednesday, November 22, 2023

Monday, November 13, 2023

Friday, November 3, 2023

Tuesday, October 24, 2023

Wednesday, October 18, 2023

Tuesday, October 17, 2023

Monday, October 16, 2023

Monday, October 9, 2023

Thursday, September 21, 2023

Monday, September 4, 2023

Thursday, August 31, 2023

Wednesday, August 30, 2023

Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Thursday, August 17, 2023

Monday, August 14, 2023

Wednesday, August 2, 2023

Monday, July 31, 2023

Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Friday, July 14, 2023

Wednesday, July 12, 2023

Monday, July 10, 2023

Wednesday, June 28, 2023

Monday, June 26, 2023

Monday, May 22, 2023

Thursday, May 11, 2023

Wednesday, May 10, 2023

Wednesday, April 26, 2023

Monday, April 17, 2023

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

Wednesday, April 5, 2023

Friday, March 31, 2023

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

Thursday, March 23, 2023

Monday, March 20, 2023

Friday, March 17, 2023

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

Monday, February 27, 2023

Thursday, February 23, 2023

Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Tuesday, February 21, 2023

Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Monday, February 6, 2023

Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Tuesday, January 24, 2023

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Monday, January 16, 2023

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Thursday, December 15, 2022

Monday, December 12, 2022

Thursday, December 8, 2022

Monday, December 5, 2022

Thursday, December 1, 2022

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

Monday, November 14, 2022

Thursday, November 10, 2022

Friday, October 28, 2022

Thursday, October 27, 2022

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

Wednesday, October 5, 2022

Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Thursday, September 22, 2022

Monday, September 19, 2022

Wednesday, September 7, 2022

Thursday, September 1, 2022

Monday, August 29, 2022

Wednesday, August 24, 2022

Tuesday, August 23, 2022

Friday, August 19, 2022

Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Monday, August 8, 2022

Friday, August 5, 2022

Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Monday, August 1, 2022

Monday, July 25, 2022

Thursday, July 21, 2022

Tuesday, July 19, 2022

Thursday, July 14, 2022